Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
An OK Chair, With Some Concerns...
 from Rochester, NY,  Aug 12, 2008

I was in the market for a new office chair that would hold up for longer than the $50 weekly specials that turn up at office warehouses every Sunday for the basic desk chair that remains comfortable for about a year before becoming intolerably uncomfortable or breaks. The Mayline chair is definitely a substantial chair. Weighing some 65 pounds, this is not a flimsy piece of furniture. If only the workmanship could match the heft. If you've assembled office chairs before, assembling this one will be a familiar experience. Attach the wheels to the star shaped base, place the pneumatic lift inside the hole in the middle, push it aside and then screw on the metal frame to the seat cushion, attach the back to the seat, add the two arms, and place onto the lift and you're finished. As with all of the high back chairs, getting the back of the seat attached to the arms and seat cushion is always the most difficult part. Just be sure not to overtighten the bolts and take your time. You may need to slightly pull the fabric away from the bolt holes on the seat or back to get the bolts to tighten. The fabric has a bit of a pattern to it, but it's barely visible on the black color model, and really doesn't add much anyway. A common complaint about new chairs are the extremely hard cushions. People mistakenly downgrade a chair for having cushioning that feels like a rock when you sit on it just after assembly. This is a critical error in judging a chair. Extremely hard-feeling foams are easily broken in during the first month of use, and they always dramatically outlast cheaper foams placed in chair cushions that feel soft initially, but quickly compress and offer no support. Mayline has a decent quality foam in their cushioning, and you should expect it to be hard and somewhat unforgiving during the first month. After that, things will soften up nicely. The lumbar support inflation device harkens back to a blood pressure cuff, and I did not find much use for it, personally. Be careful with it - it can dramatically press into your lower spine when fully inflated. The bigger problem is the fact there is only one set of clips to hold the inflation tube up under the chair. Inevitably, it falls off and dangles under the chair, looking ridiculous. Now to a significant flaw I did uncover with mine. The fabric covering the seat cushion has a tendency to dramatically pucker after use. It's as if the cover was not pulled tight enough over the foam, and ripples appear after use which show no signs of going away after the foam recovers. Indeed, it's something that will require watching over time. It initially represents a flaw more in appearance than anything else, but my concern is it may eventually reveal a flaw that compromises the longevity of the seat. Obtaining a replacement part under warranty usually requires you to disassemble the chair yourself. Unfortunately, getting the seat cushion off a pneumatic seat lift is nearly impossible after it has been there for a year or more. One final tip I have learned over the years. After assembly, take the spare bolt, bolt tightener, instruction manual, spare bolt hole plastic covers, and the receipt and put them in a quart size zip top bag and take package sealing tape and tape the bag to the bottom of the seat cushion, leaving the bag opening accessible. Then, should a cap go missing, bolt require tightening, or a warranty claim be required, you can just access everything you need from underneath the seat.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
seat end curved
 from Chicago,il.,  Aug 2, 2011

I'm sure this product was designed this way and not a manufactoring errror...but the end of the seat has slight curve upwards. What this means is if you sit in this chair long enough and often enough those curved ends dig into the underside of your thighs. A waterfall seat end would have done this chair justice. It's big and strong enough for even the heafitiest among us, but it will make yoru feet swell because the curved ends cut the circulation from your lower legs.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes/no
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chair for the Well Endowed
 from Phoenix,  Aug 9, 2008

I am a 400 lb guy. I've never had a chair that was so comfortable before. Like most people; I have always bought the "sale" chairs. I'm 58 years old; and I repent of all those wasted years I endured the "toy" chairs for the sake of saving a few bucks. The swing up arms are a nice touch. I've only had it a few weeks; but it looks like I've made a lifetime friend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Prepare for Problems
 from California,  Mar 12, 2012

I bought a version of this chair 2 years ago. I use it daily, and use the arms to help me stand up, so they are literally threadbare--the whitish under-pad is painfully obvious. To use the headrest, you must add a small pillow, so that is well protected. There is no lower back help at all in this older version, so I bought a beanbag for support and it works OK. A year ago, I added a seat cushion, and use heavy folded throws to pad it more, and provide color distraction from the wear on the arms. I can't find a way to make an arm cover that works. The pneumatic seat height adjustment has weaked, so I reset it every weekend to keep it close to right. The chair rocks from side to side and forward due to use, which makes it a bit uncomfortable when you shift around. The flip arms are the feature that I do not want to live without, so I'm stuck with buying another one. Reviews mention that it cost $*** on this site a year or so ago. I find many identical chairs for as little as $170 with mail in rebate for $40, lacking only the balloon back support. My chair looks awful (headrest pillow, back support bag, seat cushions, worn-out armrests) but I can't find anything similar that is not identical (excepting only the lumbar balloon and slightly different stitch patterns for back and seat). Even the fabric looks unchanged, and most indicate the leather is 'remade' or some such, actually containing leather only as a part of the material. I'd pay the current price here if I could believe that the chair would last longer than 2 years . . but read the warranty and you will see the falling-over seat problem, fabric issue, etc. would be labelled "wear and tear", so it's useless. I weigh just over 200 lbs and at 5'8" find the size just OK--arms are too high for comfort, which would not be good for a taller person. I will probably buy another before the support pole breaks . . . and I wish I could find a similar with better quality, but it seems I will be buying another of these. Ironic.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Lasts 2 years with active use
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes, just poorly made, making it hard to assemble
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this chair!!!
 from Washington, DC,  Jul 21, 2012

this chair has everything I was looking for: wide seat, pivoting armrests so I can shift seating positions comfortably -- [sometimes I like to sit kind of sideways with one leg tucked underneath me] -- a nice tall back/headrest, and there's even a squeeze ball thingie -- like on a blood pressure cuff -- that you can pump and it inflates something inside the lower back of the chair, for your back. the chair goes up and down with the lever. the seat is very, very hard, but cushioney. I'm 5/4 and this is a 'big and tall' chair, but it certainly fits the bill for me. I am very pleased with it. plus, it was on sale when I bought it. putting it together was not as hard as I thought it would be. I'm totally non-mechanical, but I was able to do it in under 2 hours, all by myself.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chair is very well made / you must have the space
 from Jensen Beach, Florida,  Jun 18, 2012

The chair, is excellent, but you must have plenty of space, because it is huge. (wide, deep) The fabric is of good quality. Having the arms lift up lets me play my guitar comfortably.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality, worth the money
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Home Office Comfort
 from Rochester, NY,  Sep 14, 2011

After a recently purchased chair failed me in both quality, endurance & comfort, I went searching for a high quality chair for my home office use. I found a great price on the Mayline Pivot Arm Chair at Overstock. My 14-year-old grandson assembled the chair for me easily in less than 30 minutes. I could not be more pleased. It is a beautiful piece of furniture and you can feel the quality the moment you sit in it. I am very, very impressed with the comfort this chair affords me (I swear I've slipped in a nap or two while reclining). While the seat fabric does tend to wrinkle/pucker a bit after use, it is a minor point and can be cured easily by using a thin seat cushion, if desired. I would highly recommend Mayline's Arm Pivot Chair . . . and Overstock offers the best online price!!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Extremely pleased & impressed with the quality of the chair
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfy but Expensive
 from San Francisco, CA,  Apr 23, 2011

As expected, this chair is comfy for both my husband and myself, and we are both quite large. It is quite heavy, so if you live four or five floors up, I would reconsider. The appearance is very much like an airline seat, so not high fashion. In the end, a comfortable chair. Can't say yet whether it will last long enough to justify the expense.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I logged onto Overstock.com to find the receipt for this chair, I purchased it in 2/08 and as of 1/11...I am now looking for its replacement. Just under three years, I'm either going to have to find out how to get it repaired under warranty or get a new chair. Yes, its very comfortable but no--its not any different than any other chair. It just doesn't seem to hold up. Its rated for 450 lbs at 40hrs work week. I'm 350lbs and I work under the 40 hrs a week. After 2 years, 11 months the mechanics are weak and wobbly--and have been for a few months, and getting worse. Just the other day I broke a wheel, luckily that was easy to replace. Sadly, while I like the chair, but at $311 of what I paid...its about $100 a year.. no different than me buying a "sale" chair for $100, every year...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Chair
 from Texas,  Jan 3, 2011

Needed a big heavy duty office chair as I am a big person and so I found this one on Overstock a lot cheaper than anywhere else I had shopped. It is very sturdy and nearly two years later it still looks great with hardly any noticeable wear and we use it constantly. Highly recommend this item if you need a bear of a chair. Thanks Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big & Tall Swivel Exec Chair
 from KS,  Dec 27, 2008

Its a very nice chair, looks good and is comfortable. wasn't as hard to put together as we thought it might be.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Seat
 from IN,  Oct 25, 2008

I am impressed with the quality of the chair. My only comment is that the fabric bundles on the seat where the seat and back meet.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I thought the chair would be bigger and deeper
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Oct 18, 2008

This just fits. Either it's already at it's tallest extension out of the box or there's something wrong with the cylinder. I can't tell. Also, since I'm not mechanically inclined it took me over an hour to assemble it. Probably somebody who is mechanical can do it under 30. It feels comfortable, though. Hope it last me!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Second Production Quality
 from Fort Worth, Texas,  Oct 12, 2008

The chairarrived quickly and once assembled is a comfortable chair. It took almost 45 minutes to assemble and the back and seat fit toghether so tight it was hard to get them together. One screw hole in the arm was missing the threaded section so the screw would not bite. The fabric has several small tears and looks tacky from up-close, from a distance, not bad. Have sat in the chair now about 2 weeks and it is comfortable for this 400+ pound person, during my 8 hour day. Overall not what I expected and am looking for a better choice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mayline big & tall chair
 from Seattle wa,  Oct 1, 2008

Great chair. comfortable even after 8 hrs. The pop up arms are a nice feature. Adjustable lumbar also is very supportive. Other in the call center want the company to buy chairs like it. Only drawback is that it won't lock in the tilt back posistion.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A comfortable chair
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Sep 28, 2008

This chair was fairly easy to put together. I did it myself with only the tools supplied (an Allen wrench and screws). It is quite comfortable and seems sturdy and big enough (I am over 300 pounds). The material on the seat seems to be puckering a little for some reason which detracts from the appearance somewhat.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Office chair
 from Colorado,  Aug 9, 2008

This is a great office chair, very sturdy. The best part is the lumbar region which can be adjusted with a 'bubble hand pump' attached to the chair. It has great low back support.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Superb
 from michigan,  Jul 31, 2008

This chair is of superb quality. Excellence in quality and style.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought