Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A devil to put together
 from Columbus, OH,  Dec 14, 2013

Thirty-six tiny and cheap screws are the first thing that you have to experience. That means you have to put them all somewhere! The screws get damaged easily, especially with a power drill driving them in ever-so gently. One of the slides was put together backwards, but I couldn't wait for a new one to be sent, so I was able to drill a hole to allow me to mount it into the location for the drawer to slide on. The hanging folder rails are a joke. don't count on putting real pendaflexes in the bottom drawer. It looks nice when put together, but it takes more than an hour to assemble, especially if they send you the wrong parts.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good but poor quality control
 from Florida,  Sep 30, 2013

I really wanted to like this cabinet. The materials it is made of seem sturdy enough, however, I had two defective parts. There are only four tiny screws that hold the drawer fronts on and one screw hole was missing on the large drawer front. This is really a problem because this is the drawer that will hold the most weight. I know the large file drawer is going to fall apart with only three screws. Also one of the drawer sliders was missing a hole where the screw is supposed to go. I don't understand how this can happen with mass-produced machine-stamped metal parts. I have contacted the manufacturer on their website and hopefully they will replace the defective parts. If not, I will have to send it back. I agree with the other reviews that the drawers are not easy to put together. It took me a while to figure it out because it feels like you are going to bend the metal. But that is exactly how it is supposed to work. The little stickers with letters identifying the parts are impossible to remove cleanly. I gave up and decided to leave them on. Now that it is together the drawers look like they don't quite line up. I think the design is good but the execution could be a lot better. Quality control at the manufacturing plant definitely need to be stepped up. (Made in China.) If I had it to do over again I would probably keep looking for a filing cabinet of better quality.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice sturdy file cabinet with heavy glass top,
 from Perry, MI,  Jan 24, 2014

This is a very nice looking unit, sturdy, and went together very nicely. The only problem is the wire hangers to hold the file folders in the file drawer, there was not a way to secure them, we ended up securing them with gorilla tape, otherwise I would have given it excellent on the quality.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Value
 from St Petersburg, FL,  Jan 11, 2014

This is a good looking, well constructed utility cabinet. It is easily assembled with a Phillips head screwdriver and the hex key (provided).The assembly instructions are a series of pictures and, while easy to follow, could use some written instructions to accompany the pictures. For example, I found it easier to lay the unit on its side to install the drawers. One side of the unit was scratched and dented in shipment, but great customer service at Overstock and the supplier replaced the whole side very quickly and without hassle. The unit comes well packaged, but I think there was not enough padding between layers in the box. It's an excellent addition to my office and I would recommend purchase.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good file cabinet
 from Houston TX,  Dec 27, 2013

I've purchased two of these, and I'm happy with both of them. The parts fit together relatively well. The drawers move smoothly and easily.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great file cabinet
 from Tallahassee,  Aug 15, 2013

Very nice file cabinet. It looks great finished, it just took it a bit to put it together.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kinda hard to put together
 from Chicago,  Aug 10, 2013

The product looks better than it is but does the job required. It took way to long to build and I work on sets in major Theaters here in Chicago. The drawers in particular were hard to do alone, when the sides and back go together the pieces do not feel like they were machined properly and you have to bend them to fit. NOT A SMOOTH DESIGN AT ALL. Instructions are pretty much all pictures so you are left to your own devices. The cabinet looks nice though and does it's job but one piece came dented and scratched on the inside luckily so it didn't matter much The two stick hooks they supply for the hanging folders fall in constantly until you fill the cabinet with folders, again kinda cheap design flaws, but for the price after some of the stuff I looked at it is a good value, not great but good.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for my painting studio!
 from Gainesville, GA,  Jun 25, 2013

I needed rolling cabinets to house my paints and brushes. I bought 2 of them and they both roll underneath my work desk. I can roll them out if I need extra surface space while painting. They perfectly go with my 'GALANT' desk and look amazing. It took me and my husband working together to assemble, but it was fairly easy to assemble. Don't think you could do it alone! I stripped one screw by over tightening with a power screw driver. THE COMPANY ALREADY HAS A REPLACEMENT PART in the mail!! I learned when to use a manual and when to use the power! I guess I would recommend that for most people use a manual altogether...unless you are excellent in when knowing when to back off!! Using a magnetic screw driver would be the best (which I did NOT have) It is impossible to hold the tiny screws with your fingers to fasten them to the drawer rails..thus why I used my power driver. But the result is a very attractive, modern looking file drawer, which is PERFECT for my needs.

  • How accurate was the sizing? EXACT
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. EXCELLENT
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? YES
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Misleading Advertising
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Apr 27, 2013

I wouldn't recommend this product. I'm actually surprised that overstock.com would feel comfortable and proud with selling this product on its website. Why? For a number of reasons: 1.) The website photo included isn't how the product actually looks. 2.) The instructions (or lack there of) are horrible. 3.) Buyer beware - clearly mass produced. A company without a brick and mortar store need to do a much better job at portraying the product since you can't actually physically see it. I'm very disappointed in this purchase and probably won't be buying from overstock.com anymore. That's a shame too - since I just moved into a new apartment and have a number of items to purchase.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid product
 from Boulder, CO,  Apr 9, 2013

Easy to assemble, though time consuming. The directions were spot on and the pieces all labeled. I think it was a great purchase, looks stylish and I'd recommend it to a friend. I might even buy another one.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality fit and finish
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great modern twist on a filing cabinet!
 from Bay Area, CA,  Feb 9, 2013

Great sturdy filing cabinet. Matches my modern black glass & chrome desk!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is the perfect solution for my paperwork. I can wheel it over to the desk when working and then put it back by the couch when done.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I was a little concerned about the drawers being sturdy enough as I assembled it, but they seem fine
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very handy and compact personal file
 from Dallas, Texas,  Oct 27, 2012

I liked this file cabinet very much, in fact, ordered an additional one right after assembling the first one.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect size
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good Quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Some scratches on the metal, but not bad
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black filing cabinet
 from San Francisci,  Oct 5, 2012

Easy to assemble, a stylish compact filing cabinet

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to assemble and looks great
 from Des Moines, Iowa,  Aug 18, 2012

filing cabinet is of good quality - I actually purchased a second unit.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well worth the price - I ordered a second one!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top