Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 78 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nicely built but know this:
 from Columbus, OH,  Sep 12, 2012

After reading reviews and shopping for stacking/folding shelves all over the net, I found best pricing for size from The O. I was shopping to match my mohagany coffee table and wooded feet of various chairs. THIS IS NOT "MAHAGANY", it is more like REDWOOD, nowhere even NEAR what mahagany should be; definitely a deeper redwood. I ordered two of them to stack and I only ened-up keeping them because the theme of my apartment is lots of deep reds/burgandy/black and aquas, and they are deep enough color to atually compliment everything else. Someone else may feel let-down if expecting truely rich mahogany. These seem well-made and are solid, even when stacked on carpeting, and were very well packed with no damage at all. This ened-up being one of those "happy accidentals" in life and love how easy they were to set-up. It literally took me 10x more time upackaging them. The "O" had a 7% discount I used on order and am very pleased with them.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well-built and packaged VERY well
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have owned two sets (stacked, pine finish) for over 19 years and they've held up well, through my college years and into my kids' youth. I ordered two more sets for my other son to stack in his room. I was skeptical based on poor quality reviews I found here (and other web sites) but trusted my instincts based on my 19-year ownership and I'm glad I was right. The walnut finish was nice and even, the hardware lined up (for folding the shelves down), and I’m pleased to find out that the units now come with wood plugs to cover the screw holes. Nice touch. I had slight difficulty when stacking the units for the first time, as though the holes were blocked with varnish, but once I pushed them together (hard) they were fine from then out. Products were shipped in boxes not much bigger than the shelves themselves nestled in formed styrofoam. There wasn’t any box damage done in shipping but I was nervous as to the condition of the shelves (I also bought 2 sets of the 14” wide ones, they were packed/shipped the same way), but all four sets were fine and not damaged. They shipped pretty quick, too. These are fantastic shelves that will last a long, long time. They’ve held everything over the years (the 19-year-old ones) from folded clothing, trophies, toys, displays, books, stereos (that just dated me, didn’t it?), and much more. The 14” wide ones are great to sneak in extra organization in small closets. I would highly recommend these shelves from Overstock.com

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate sizing
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I bought two sets, no marks, good finish, hardware lined up well.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As escribed - best book cases
 from EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ,  Sep 15, 2012

out of the box - put together - actually just opened up the side panels and shelves fit right in - no effort

  • How accurate was the sizing? 100%
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. better than expected
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase simple
 from Pgh, PA,  Aug 23, 2012

The hinges were poorly attached making the product somewhat shaky. These are not as sturdy as the ones that I still have from 15 years ago. They are also smaller. On the plus side they don't require any work. Just unpack, open up, and you're ready to go. Also light enough for a woman to carry. Side bars are a good thing too.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I would give it a C.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great folding bookcase
 from CA,  Sep 5, 2014

The bookcases arrived well packed and without any damage. There is no assembly required. I got the honey walnut option which looks great in my living room. Overall I am extremely happy with my purchase and will probably buy one more of these bookcases.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

My first folding stackable bookcase cost *** unfinished about 20 years ago. It was a little bigger than these, and a little sturdier, but this is comparable in every respect to the ones I've been able to get since. Last week I couldn't find one in my neighborhood for ***, only online for ***, so this seemed like good deal. The two I ordered survived shipping without damage even though they looked like they'd been tossed onto my porch. The "honey" oak is a nice warm color. I put "good" quality instead of "excellent" because when I stacked them they were a little wobbly. I imagine the load of books plus tacking it to the wall will fix that but I'd prefer the bookcase seem more steady before the safety measures. I'm glad I ordered it to replace some old shelves (completely different from these) that were on their last legs. I may even order another one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very solid
 from Portland, OR,  Aug 26, 2014

Foldable just as advertised, and is indeed stackable. If you do stack, you might want to support by fastening to the wall with the provided bracket. Looks nice, feels solid, no complaints!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Has held up nicely
 from NY, NY,  Aug 26, 2014

I've had this for several months. I was annoyed that there was a chip in the wood on delivery but that was on the backside so I let it go. I have tons of stuff on here and it has held up well. Easy to move around if you need to redecorate your room and it doesn't look cheap.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Foldable Stacking Bookcases
 from Connecticut,  Jul 11, 2014

I purchased another set of folding, stackable bookcases some years ago. Those were made of solid wood, and each unit had a raised piece on the top and an indentation on the bottom, to aid in stacking them. These bookcases are nice-looking, but the wood is not as heavy, Each has a small hole drilled in the top and bottom, and a rounded piece of plastic to fit into the holes to keep the pieces aligned when stacking them. They are still useful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Folding bookcase
 from Tuscola IL,  Jun 13, 2014

Very easy to assemble, in future can stack another case,, lots of space, using as a room divider in jewelry studio

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for Office or Home use
 from Broomfield, CO,  May 7, 2013

These stacking, folding shelves are easy to put together. You don't need any tools as they simply fold out and the shelves are already attached. They hold a lot and I use them for a combination of office files for my home-based business, books and a few ornaments. They hold a lot of weight and there is no sign of shelves bending or otherwise getting out of shape, as I have seen with other units. A friend of mine has had these shelves for a number of years and has had the same experience with them as me. The only thing I do with them is secure the top to the wall with a couple if wall screws but this is just a personal safety preference and not necessary as part of the installation of the shelves. Depending on the size of your books, you can have 20+ on the wider shelves per level and 10+ on the narrower ones quite comfortably. I have two of each type and they stack very easily on top of each other, thanks to the design, so I have 6 levels on each one. The 11¼" x 9½" x 3" office file/document storage files fit 8 across on the wider shelf units and 4 across on the narrower ones. All-in-all, I love these shelves and, if you move, there is no dismantling because they simply fold down into an easily manageable size. They are an excellent design and, as previously noted, very sturdy. I recommend them for any location, be it an apartment, house or office.

  • How accurate was the sizing? 100% accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product quality is very good and the shelves are sturdy and hold a lot.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love These Bookshelves!!!!
 from Long Island, NY,  Nov 20, 2012

I am so happy with these bookshelves. I bought two because they said they were stackable. I replaced a plastic toybox with these shelves in the same amount of space. The shelves hold so much more and look so much better. Took them out of the box unfolded them and stacked them couln't have been easier! Great quality too!!!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awesome quality! Did not have to put together!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Excellent Condition!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Every larger purchase I've made from Overstock is delivered by UPS. They don't even bother taking the packages up to my apartment, just the post-it note that says I wasn't home (not true), the package required signing for (nobody knocked on the door, big clue there), and they left the large heavy boxes at the apartment office. Last order of this type for me from Overstock. Your delivery choice is flawed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelves for the price!
 from okc,ok,  Jun 3, 2014

Great shelves.No installation necessary.Ichose the mahogany..a little red for my taste but still more than satisfactory. Great find.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Middle of the Road review
 from Connecticut,  Mar 29, 2014

I recently ordered 2 of the smaller bookshelves (same style) - they arrived in great condition, sturdy, etc. However, the full size one at 27.5 inches, arrived with screws loosened, a big chip of wood missing on the top left back rail - scratch and gouge under one shelf. I honestly don't know if it left OS like this or if it was damaged in shipping. No evidence of the piece of wood in the box. Shipping box was flimsy at best - one pass of tape to hold shut. Up to now, I've been very happy with my OS orders. At this price, I was not expecting the world, but certainly something a little better than what arrived.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These are perfect to use for my craft displays
 from Carpentersville, Illinois,  Oct 30, 2012

The quality is very good, and will work perfect for my needs.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. They are sturdy and fold flat
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? the quality was very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Very lightweight and easy to put together. I have not loaded it with heavy books, but it seems like it would hold up.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far so good
 Jun 27, 2015

I love that these are solid wood. I order 2 bookcases but feel a little hesitant to stack them without additional bracing. These aren't quite as sturdy as other folding wood bookcases I've had in the past, but for the money they are great value! I would buy again. They look great, the color is images are accurate, and I love that they have bars across the back to keep books from falling off! Thanks!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just as expected
 Jun 24, 2015

I couldn't be more pleased with this product. It took a couple of minutes to unpackage and set up and looks great. No damage. I may get another.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Alittle tough to put up by myself...., but it did keep me busy for a whe day! I enjoy the smell of good wood. !! I had it up in 2 1/2 hours. Sti tweekin some things inf anyone woul ik

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 78 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought