Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
DO NOT BUY!!! Seriously, read this.
 from Fort Lauderdale, FL,  Jul 28, 2011

I hardly know where to begin. This box was already annihilated when it arrived. Ripped. Falling apart. Holes in the corners. When we opened the box, not surprisingly, the inside was a mess too. The styrofoam on the inside was hardly recognizable. It looked like a styrofoam bomb had gone off inside the box. Thousands of little teeny pieces of styrofoam erupted all over my carpet, which was a JOY to clean up since the teeny little pieces stuck to everything. AND THEN. Each and every piece of this bookcase was damaged. Some pieces just had scratches on them, others were flat-out broken. The worst part is, because of the deplorable condition of the box, we are unable to return it until we find a box large enough to accommodate the pieces. I have always been happy with Overstock in the past; but this was a disaster. AVOID.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Couldn't tell because it was destroyed before it arrived.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Again, couldn't tell.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from Evanston, IL,  Jun 7, 2011

I have bought many pieces of furniture from Overstock, among other things, and have always had good results until I bought this bookshelf. It was very poor quality and basically fell apart when I stood it up. I just threw it away. Win some, loose some.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? very poor
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? no. shipping damage
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well...it's a bookcase
 from Middletown, Maryland,  Apr 27, 2011

It is VERY difficult to find a bookcase these days, so I was thrilled when I saw this advertised on Overstock. I ordered the Ergocraft Laguna 3-shelf Wood Veneer Bookcase and it arrived promptly. Then I opened the box....the materials used to make the bookcase were poor quality, the wood on the back of the bookcase was cracked, and the veneer was chipped on the shelves and the top. I would have sent it back but my husband said it would cost more to send it back than it was worth. I put it together and will use it, but I won't put it out where people will see it. What a shame - can't anyone build a reasonably priced, quality bookcase anymore?!!!

  • Did the product fit true to size? The product is size-wise, as specified.
  • How is the quality of the product? Product quality is very poor. Veneer is chipped and thin. The materials used were extremely marginal.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No. Upon arrival there were flaws in the finish, the wood on the back of the bookcase was cracked, and the veneer was chipped.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Damaged product
 from Talent, OR,  Apr 5, 2011

This is one review that will never be published by Overstock.This was my first experience with Overstock and it will be my last. When I pulled the bookcase parts out of the carton, I was amazed at the condition of some of the pieces, so I made sure to take pictures of the heavy damage to the top edges of the bookcase and the scratches. There was no evidence of such heavy damage on the outside of the carton, but the upper left corner of the bookcase was so badly crushed I used Elmer's glue to keep the veneer from separating. Other areas were crushed, also, but not as badly. There were also scratches in the finish and the thin backing showed a very uneven stain pattern. Its a good thing a universal stain applicator was included in the shipment!!! I SERIOUSLY considered sending the bookcase back, but finely decided to do what I could to salvage it and then put it in a relatively dark area where the damage wouldn't show as much. Haven't reviewed the Ts & Cs as I NEVER expect to come back to Overstock again, or EVER expect to recommend this "company."

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
these are perfect
 from nj,  Jun 29, 2013

nice wood construction, i built them into the wall to make it look like it was originally there with trim

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good shelf
 from Georgia,  Jun 14, 2012

Other than the veneer chipping in a few places from shipping, this is a good shelf.

  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? The product arrived a little bit beaten up.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Forget about it
 from San Jose, CA,  May 12, 2012

They must have bought those off the recycle people. They look heavily worn right out of the box. First of all, the packaging is horrible and not suited for anything that heavy. The delivery guy doesn't want a hernia, so he just kind of throws it off his truck and then drags it to your front door. Needless to say, the panels are wrecked up before assembly even starts. I told Overstock about it and they promptly sent out another box. (Now the delivery guy is really getting irritated. He throws it off the truck, backs up over it, and then drags it to your front door. Between the two sets, I couldn't come up with a good one but, hey, I got a pair of matching bookcases that look like 4th generation hand-me-downs. I just tell my friends that those are antiques and that they have sentimental value.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Worst I have seen
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Basic Bookcase
 from Oxford, CT,  Apr 13, 2012

Good basic bookcase to serve the purpose I needed it for. I bought this to put my kids toys on it in the corner of my room to reduce the clutter. The toys fit fine based on the measurments given and it has provided a great storage for the toys. The kids of course are not so gentle so littl nics are occuring but that is what I expected would happen and is why I didn't get a really nice bookcase for this purpose. COlor was pretty true to what I saw on the screen and I am happy with it. My husband did say the directions were horrible in putting it together. He read it a few times and followed-ed it and ended up needing to make shift some wood dowls as he had to break the one that they told him to put in the wrong place. Overall a good bookcase

  • How accurate was the sizing? size was what it stated
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. basic quality for the price paid, has potential to chip, scratch easily
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? There were a few nics in one of the shelves
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK
 from PA,  Dec 2, 2011

It looks better on the picture. I would not recommend this to a friend.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. chip quality, but looks OK. It was damaged when arrived, but was replaced immediately.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No, there wes a water stain on the back panel
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
3-shelf bookcase Ergocraft
 from San Francisco,  Apr 17, 2011

I previously purchased two Ergocraft 4-shelf cases for myself. This time, I bought the 3-shelf for my mother in her smaller condo. It has turned out to be as lovely as I expected. Looks and feels solid wood and the grains are beautiful. I bought the mahogany, dark and rich, and got the walnut for my Mom. It blends with the family pieces she brought from her home when she moved, without looking cheap and out-of-place. I'm very pleased.

  • Did the product fit true to size? excellent
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase great - shipping, not so good
 from Newcastle, WY,  Apr 6, 2011

I ordered two of these lovely bookcases. One of them had been crushed during shipping, but the other one was just fine. They are quite heavy - by the time I had unpacked the parts and noticed the damage, it was too late to re-package all of the materials to return the damaged item. I am 61 years old and could not lift the box by myself. My handyman assembled both bookcases in about one hour. Sadly, one of them has a rough piece of missing wood on the top (so it shows). If it weren't for the damage, I would love both of them.

  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes - I needed a bookcase that was exactly 36 inches high
  • How is the quality of the product? Very good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Defects were the result of shipping (inferior packaging)
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shelves
 from La Jolla, CA,  Mar 22, 2011

I had been looking for a small set of shelves to go next to a Walnut Bed. I have limited space on that side and my wife likes to read at night before bed. I ordered this unit while being a little scared of the quality. The price was reasonable compared to others in my extensive research. I recieved the item complete with easy to read and follow instructions and in minutes it was together. I would suggest some wood glue for those who understand that were dealing with a Laminated Wood Product. It looks great and so far is worth every penny. I would highly recommend this item for a home office or even corporate world buyer on a budget. Thank you OS.com. Carl

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Parts were damaged (chipping venner, big chunks missing from what I presume was the top of the bookcase. Presume because the assembly instructions were missing so I never did put it together. Color was misleading. I ordered the Walnut since on the website's color pallet that was the darkest, reddest color available, but the actual bookcase was more of a dark brown. Maybe they have the Walnut/Mahogany switched up. I gave it two stars because if the parts were not damaged I think I would have kept the bookcase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks nice, but ...
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Nov 21, 2010

I've assembled a lot of pieces of furniture like this, but boy the directions are incredibly hard to follow. Pictures look nothing like the pre-drilled holes on the sections. Looks nice, though. Worth the money if you have a lot of time to spend on the assembly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Average
 from Rochester, MN,  Mar 22, 2010

When I received the bookshelf, it had a bit of damage from shipping. It is functional however, and has a nice look to it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
average
 Mar 4, 2010

The wood is flimsy and was chipping away when it was being put together. Some of the parts were crooked; and the wood has not been completely smoothed down. However, once it has been put together; from a distance it looks good.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ergocraft Laguna 3-shelf Wood Veneer Bookcase
 from Bellmore, NY,  Jan 13, 2010

Nice piece of furniture, purchased two of these and I am not disappointed at all. You will need to invite a friend to put them together, but nothing too complicated for anyone, instructions are somewhat hard to follow (but aren't they all like that), backing is a nice piece of wood instead of the usual cardboard everyone is giving these days. It looks beautiful in my sons' room, there were a couple of scratches but it is being hidden once it is build so it does not really matter.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not worth the money paid.
 from Pgh, PA,  Aug 22, 2009

I thought that this would be a great peice for my children's bedroom with all of the books that they have. However, the workmanship of this product is poor. Once assembled, some parts feel wobbly even though all screws and nuts are tightened.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookshelf assembly
 from Sebastopol CA,  Jul 23, 2009

Bought 3 setts to line a wall. They look great and I feel I got my money's worth. Assembly presented a tiny problem in that the pre-drilled holes were too big for the dowels and it was necessary to use glue. Poblem easily solved.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Bookcase
 from Kannapolis, NC,  May 28, 2009

We bought this bookcase and are not sorry we did. The overall appearance is really nice looking. The shelves are not veneer but solid wood.We did not with UPS that there was some visible damage to the shipping carton but the damaged was contained just to the carton and not any of the bookcase pieces.My husband put the case together and didn't have any issues with the instructions or the parts to get the bookcase together. He's pretty handy and that is a plus for this type of purchase.We love the Mahogany color and the bookcase looks rich and great with our decor. A solid purchase all the way around for us.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top