Your coupon has been activated.
Up to 45% off Dining Room Furniture* Up to 65% off Jewelry & Watches* Up to 70% off Select Area Rugs* Up to 25% off Select Bedroom Furniture*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Cosco Retro Counter Chair/Step Stool
 from Housatonic, MA,  Jul 2, 2013

This step stool works perfectly in my newly redone kitchen. However, I did ask the question as to whether it was assembled or not, and was told it was. It was not, but my husband put it together in short order and I love it.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of the product was fine - nothing is made as well as it was back in the day, but this serves my purpose.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from Taos, NM,  May 2, 2014

This little ladder chair is awful! The first item I took out of the box was the seat. It has a plastic bottom. It should be wood or steel. When I was assembling it there were two screw posts that didn't aline with the corresponding holes in the other piece. One was on the seat bottom and one was on the first step, both critical areas to be secured properly fastened as they are weight-bearing. Not safe. When you sit in the chair the back is too close so you feel as though you are being pushed forward. The seat is too short front to back. When you put your feet on the step it is positioned so far back that only your heels can rest on the step. If feels as though it was designed for a child. Another place where plastic was used is for the glides along the sides where the ladder slides in and out. This should be metal because plastic will wear out break or quickly. The pins that are on the ladder that slide in the glides are metal as they should be. Also the bands that wrap around the legs for the chair are bent and formed to fit snuggle around the legs but they don't line up properly leaving unsightly gaps. The cushion and the back fabric were fine. I took this all apart and boxed it back up and returned it and my account was credited.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Step Stool
 from Stockton on Tees TS202NU,  Apr 29, 2014

The step stool was smaller then what I was expecting, it is quiet flimsy and tinny and not robust it seems narrow and unstable and not at all reassuring when you use it. The whole thing is awkward to use, I thought it was going to be safer then using a chair, but it isn't.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
review
 from brandon ms,  Mar 2, 2014

Read directions and pay attention when putting it together. Had to fix several times as my grandson was trying to help. It's easy to get parts turned around. Like chair so far. Stable , doesnt tip over

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just like the good old days
 from Richmond, VA,  Feb 25, 2014

This is a handy step stool to have around for both the Grandkids and reaching into those high shelves. I wish the step component was a little more stable when pulling out. Otherwise, a great purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Vicksburg, MS,  Feb 19, 2014

I remember my family having a step stool like this years ago. I knew I had to get one. My grandson loves it and evens wants to use it in the living room:) It was no problem putting together. It is a bright addition to my kitchen.I highly recommend it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing stool - perfect in my kitchen!
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Jan 8, 2014

This stool is so much like the stool that I had back in the 70's except that the step slides out where the old ones did more of a fold in and out. It works perfect in my kitchen as it is small enough to keep on a small wall space next to my countertop, comfortable to sit on and great to use as a step to reach my tall cabinet shelves. It's easier to move around as needed and very sturdy. And I totally love the Red color which is true to the picture! It would be great to use for children when they outgrow a high chair but aren't quite high enough to reach the table in a normal chair. Material on the chair is nice and smooth and not sticky like the ones from days gone by. I absolutely love this stool and highly recommend it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great customer service
 from california,  Jan 1, 2014

We received our stool in just a few days. we opened the box and found that one of the padded back cushion was cut/torn. I called the manufacture customer service with little explaination she said that they would send me a new one.to my amazement we received the replacement in just a few days .Great customer service. thank you !

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not happy
 from stamford ct,  Dec 20, 2013

the description said it did not need to be put together..not so...it is waiting for someone with a healthy back or someone without arthritic hands to put it together......

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT assembled but still pretty awesome
 from New York,  Sep 6, 2013

I was looking for cute counter height stools that would easily be used by my pre-school aged kids. Saw an original one of these at someones house and was so glad to find this great reproduction of the original at such a reasonable price. Arrived well packaged- but most definitely NOT assembled as Q/A section of this listing suggested. It's about as un-assembled as can be. Not to difficult to put together though a bit time consuming. My daughter saw this first thing this morning and has been climbing all over it- loves it so much for sitting at our kitchen island as she can get on and off it w/ out help. Great buy, great product!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Perfect for end-of-counter spot in my kitchen. I get comments all the time from friends telling me it's just like one my Mother had years ago. What a nice compliment! My mother had one just like it too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 Jan 14, 2015

I am a previous owner of this step stool. It is simply great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
stepstool
 from North Carolina,  Jan 10, 2015

Putting it together was a real castle but the product itself is stable and a must have for our kitchen.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Quality
 Jan 7, 2015

This stool is cheaply made. There is a sharp nail or screw (not from assembly) poking through the seat back. It will likely rip the fabric and we stopped using the stool as it poses an injury risk to us and our children. We will likely return it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Retro Counter/Step Stool
 from San Francisco, California,  Jan 3, 2015

Great product! Great gift! Made people I sent this to last month (Dec) reminisce of the good old days when their grandmas had them in their kitchen. Thank you Overstock for carrying this well-built product that made a lot of people happy! Another thing, your customer service is simply out of this world!! You're the best! Please stay that way.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This retro stool is sturdy and handy for help reaching the top shelves of cabinets, and also doubles as a booster chair for my granddaughter.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CUTE but you get what you pay for.
 from Pittsburgh, Pa,  Dec 25, 2014

for my husband & I, this chair brought back childhood memories in our grandparents kitchens, plus its also my husband favorite color, red :) we knew what to expect based on other reviews (like the underside of the seat being plastic & some people having trouble putting it togetherů we always take reviews of such lightly because you got to remember you don't know who is writing them). However, we were both disappointed when the two steps did not 'hinge' inů the steps are stationary and slide as a whole unit underneath the seat on rails. this was our only surprise while putting together, which took my husband 15mins and a phillips head screwdriver. all in all, it was $** well spent. we love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Retro Step STool Chair
 from New Mexico,  Dec 24, 2014

Just finished putting this cute step stool chair together. It took me about an hour - I took my time, read directions thoroughly - got everything lined up on the floor before starting. The only additional tool you will need is a Phillips screwdriver. If I can put it together, any one can! This chair is not the hunky old chair I remember in my grandmother's kitchen, but it is a great substitute and at a very fair price. I love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Adds a bright spot of color
 from Eastern Washington,  Dec 19, 2014

I like this chair very much because it is perfect for my 5' frame and is just right for my apartment.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cosco Retro Counter Chair / Step Stool
 from AMARILLO, TX.,  Nov 12, 2014

NOT AS GREAT AS THE ORIGINAL RETRO CHAIR BUT OK. i LIKE IT AS A COUNTER CHAIR.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought