Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 34 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

Great office chair with ample support & nice looking. No tools required to assemble this chair. When I received it, all I had to do was slip the base on. The back of the chair is folded over, you lift up the back & it pops into place. One of the most comfortable office chairs I have ever owned, needless to say the easiest I have ever assembled! I would highly recommend this chair.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
TERRIBLE DESIGN
 from WI,  Apr 20, 2010

This chair design is absolutely terrible and frustrating as heck to put together (if you can even get it put together!) There is a latching mechanism that locks the backrest into place to the bottom of the seat, however the latch is very poorly designed and will not lock, leaving the chair's backrest to flop over directly onto the seat bottom! I contacted the manufacturer and they shipped me a replacement backrest to remedy the problem. Upon receiving the part (which took 2 weeks) I installed it immediately, only to discover that again the part will not latch properly like it should! This is a design flaw that needs to be changed ASAP. I'm currently trying to get a refund from the manufacturer because overstock wants to charge me fifty five dollars to return the item! I used to work in a warehouse putting furniture together so I know what I am talking about. This is a design flaw and is very unfortunate since the quality of the leather was very good. Bottom line, buy at your own risk. I will go elsewhere.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Figured out how to put this chair together!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Sep 25, 2013

I searched many chairs until I found this one, the Boss Italian Top Grain Leather Executive Chair. I didn't want to purchase another bonded/faux leather chair which would likely wear, peel, or flake off within a year. I wanted to buy genuine leather and this is it. When you first sit in the chair, the leather is a little stiff (as it should be until it's broken in). The bottom and back cushions are adequate in that I can sit in this chair for hours at a time without feeling tired, however it doesn't have as much cushion as I'd like, as if I were sitting in a cloud. I highly recommend using leather creamer / cleaner to help wipe down your chair and to give it a good lather before you use it. According to the instructions, the hydraulic cylinder only supports up to 250lbs, but I'm over 280 and it's still working just fine. I'm sure the cylinder will wear out faster for me vs someone who's lighter. Oh well, I can always replace the cylinder later with a heavier duty one. Comfort: There's good lower back support by way of some lower back cushion as it bulges out more than the top head rest cushion. Great for sitting back against the chair and resting your head on the headrest without losing balance. The seat bottom has adequate cushioning and doesn't dig into my legs. When I sit in this chair, I feel that all the weight contact is on my buttocks and not my front legs, so I feel weel balanced while sitting. The chair also doesn't creek and feels pretty stable under my weight, even when I roll around. There is a one gripe however. Like many reviewers here, I think I got a little too excited and couldn't figure out how to put this darn thing together. The bracket that sticks out from the bottom of the seat-back didn't seem to reach the locking jaw mechanism under the rear of the seat-bottom. The trick is to get a helper: First, install the seat onto the cylinder and the wheel base. Then with the seat-back in default, folded position, pull it up until it's almost 90 degrees perpendicular with the seat bottom. Then, while still holding the seat-back, lift it up while keeping the seat-bottom and wheel base from lifting along with it. Have your helper pull the seat-bottom's tab downwards to open the locking jaw mechanism as wide as possible. Then at this point, you'll likely need to angle the seat-back a little from 90 degrees to say 110 degrees, until the bracket is angled closer towards the open locking jaw mechanism. Either lift or lower the seat-back until it goes into place and your partner can then let go of the tab so that the locking jaw mechanism closes, holding the seat-back's lower bracket in place. Easy right? I just wished the instructions were more detailed. For under $300 I'd purchase this chair again when it comes time to replace. I'd order it again from Overstock.com as they did a great job at shipping my chair within 2 business days from my order.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Chair!
 from www.DashyApps.com,  Aug 28, 2012

This chair is a great chair especially for sitting at long periods of time. I would highly recommend it.

  • How accurate was the sizing? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The chair is very comfortable and strong
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? none
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
average
 from Texas,  Jan 10, 2010

This is an ok chair,however, in the back of the chair some of the leather is coming off,,, I expected a little more but overall it is ok for a home office.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent chair
 from Tucson, AZ,  May 15, 2009

It is excellent in every way. Easy to assemble, nice cushiony seat, great lumbar for your back, nice arm padding with good leather, and extremely nice looking. You will not be disappointed. I cannot imagine anyone stating anything negative about this chair. Shipment was on time and packaged nicely.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Cushy and Soft
 from Jefferson City, MO,  Aug 24, 2012

The Fed Ex man helped me bring the box into the house and it was a cinch to put together. The wheel base and the chair just fit together and you unfold the chair and click it in. It's so soft and cushy, I may stay in the chair a little longer.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far so Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Free of defects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous chair
 from Tucson, AZ,  Jun 11, 2012

I bought this chair for my grandson, 6 ft. tall, 210 pounds, and he loves it! His last two chairs were broken quickly and thrown away. This chair has lasted and is perfect for someone his size. He loves the soft leather and it is very sturdy construction!! I would definitely recommend it for anyone who needs a great desk chair.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Soft leather with sturdy construction
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a comfortable chair
 from Tracy, CA,  Jul 15, 2009

I bought this chair based on the user reviews. I am not disappointed but i am not satisfied with the chair.Here are the problems...1) Assembly is simple but the lock behind the chair to hold the back is not easy to fit.2) The seating cushion is less. It gets uncomfortable after sometime. You may need some extra cushion if you plan to sit 8 hours a day.3)This is my second purchase in overstock.com and i am disappointed by the products i purchased from them.-Raj

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product for the money
 from Highland, UT,  Aug 25, 2014

Unlike those who had negative reviews on assembling this chair, I found it quite easy. Some of the detractors say they could not snap the chair back into its locking position, saying things like misaligned, bad design. Well, I found just the opposite. The one sheet pictorial instructions was quite adequate. I followed the instructions precisely. Flipping the back to locking position was easy. It clicked right in. However, it did not go all the way down to its full locking position and will easily flip back down. But, I simply sat down on the chair and then it went down to its full locking position. The whole process took less than 5 minutes. Easiest chair that I ever assembled. I am 5' 6" and 175 lbs. and it works just great for me. I am a computer programmer and I sit for many hours at a time and this chair has been wonderful.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Chair
 from Arkansas,  Mar 12, 2014

This is a nice leather chair for the money. It snaps together without tools but it took effort. My adult son struggled with it for quite a while trying to get the chair to lock in place. Once he did, the chair was very nice.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chair
 from Dallas, TX,  Jan 15, 2014

Very comfy and the leather feels great. Has the two most common basic chair controls, a knob for seat tilt adjustment and a lever that controls both the height adjustment and locking upright vs rocking back. There's no adjusting the backrest angle, lumbar support, arm rest height or arm rest angle so it may not suit everyone but it's perfect for me. I'm 6'1" and a bit over 220lbs in case that helps anyone judge. Also, it was fun being able to buy it with Bitcoin as my first overstock.com purchase. It arrived quickly in a very large box. There's not much protective packing foam so if the box has holes or slices in it, I'd open it before accepting it to make sure the leather isn't damaged. The packing is probably adequate for typical rough handling but doesn't give much margin for punctures. Mine arrived in perfect condition. As a few others have mentioned, it's not entirely obvious how to get the back to latch to the seat properly and took me a few tries. What worked for me was putting the chair seat upside-down on the floor -- so it's like an A shaped tent. I aligned the latching mechanism and pushed down with my knee to force the seat and back apart and the latch together. It's probably best to do this before you put the cylinder and base on. It took a fair amount of weight and some wiggling to get it aligned and latched firmly. I'm assuming this is by design (it's supposed to be tight so the padding has to be compressed a bunch) but you'd think there'd be a better way... and some instructions. Still a much better experience than other chairs I've bought since this one comes mostly assembled with just 3 pieces (base with casters, cylinder, seat) that go together very easily.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
leather chair
 from florida,  Jan 2, 2014

Love my new chair, was very easy to put together. Just put it together upside down. Leather was soft and it was comfortable right away. Price was right also.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great home office chair
 from Houston, TX,  Oct 29, 2013

We found delivery in 3 days (we ordered on a Saturday night, received on a Wednesday). Product as advertised, attractive leather like chair, good support. We did not have trouble with the back staying upright upon unpacking. Took my husband 10 minutes to assemble, but he was tired after long day at work, and took breaks while telling me about his day. Casters on legs, pole into leg support, chair on, unfold. Throw out the Ikea-like instructions.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor design
 from Weatherford, TX,  Aug 14, 2013

Prior to ordering the Boss Italian Top Grain Leather Executive Chair, I did look at previous reviews and found that others had the same problem I am having. Just received the chair and it is pretty simple to put together. The back of the chair can lay flat across the seat. There is a locking bracket that comes out of the bottom of the chair back and is supposed to lock into a locking mechanism which is on the bottom of the chair seat. Similar issue to other review...the locking mechanism and chair back bracket are not aligned properly and the chair back will not lock in place allowing the seat back to fall forward across the chair seat. I called Overstock and they have been helpful and are trying to see if this is a known problem (it should be) and to see if Norstar Office Products/Boss Chair knows about the issue and if they have a working replacement locking mechanism hardware kit to send out vs. me sending the chair back to Overstock. I ALSO CALLED NORSTAR OFFICE PRODUCTS/BOSS CHAIR (contact info provided in the box the chair shipped in) and the customer service was not good. I had taken pics of the problem hardware and offered to email to them, while we were on the phone, as they did not understand the issue or were not listening. Finally they agreed to receive the pics and said someone would get back with me. I also sent the pics to Overstock. Waiting to hear back from someone as to a solution, short of sending the whole chair back. It does seem that most people who purchased this chair have not had a problem...but buy at own risk as I am not feeling confident that either company will have a known solution short of sending the whole chair back. I CANNOT RECOMMEND DUE TO THE HEADACHE IF YOU RECEIVE A CHAIR WITH BAD LOCKING MECHANISM.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Leather Executive Chair
 from Orlando, FL,  Dec 2, 2012

I bought this chair several years ago, used it as my main chair at work. It still looks brand new, has functioned very well with no issues. A great purchase, highly recommended purchase item!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High Quality Leather Chair Shipped Fast
 from Madison, Wisconsin USA,  Jun 9, 2012

Very comfortable and easy assembly just snap in to lock seat-backrest. You may have to hold the trip lever open as I did for the top loop to pass to the bottom latch. No big deal. This chair is built for working at a desk or computer --not lounging back as most are. The front edge of the seat does not dig into your legs. If you want to lounge in it you can of course but more importantly you can work extended periods without your chair killing your legs and circulation.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Exactly as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Appears well made with no frills and no tools required to asssemble this cushy chair
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? The shipping box was battered but no damage to the chair
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buy this chair now!
 from Jamestown ND,  May 26, 2012

Beyond easy assembly! Great chair - couldn't be happier.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Boss Italian Leather Executive Chair
 from California,  Nov 2, 2010

Had to force the back to the seat. Chair is now offset. Chair does not go low enough for typing on a computer desk. Going to adjust with the chair, breaking it in.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality Office Chair
 from Orange County, CA,  Aug 6, 2010

This is a good looking leather office chair nicer for the price than the ones I found at the major office supply stores. It has a quality look and comfortable padded cushions. Very pleased with both quality and price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 34 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top