Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 98 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Boss Big and Tall Desk Chair
 from Rancho Cucamonga, Ca,  Nov 2, 2012

I did my research all over the Internet on office chairs before I bought this one and after reading the 81 reviews. I ordered the Boss 990 from OVERSTOCK. I ordered it on a Sunday and it arrived on Tuesday morning. The reviews indicated it was difficult to assemble and took 2 people to do it. Two people would work but I was able to do it slowly by myself . The short story how I did it goes like this: Take your time then take your time. Read the directions then read the directions again. Look at the pictures and look at the chair. All the bolts are on the bottom of the seat. DO NOT TAKE ALL OF THEM OUT AT ONCE. Remove them as needed for each part as you go along and don't tighten them down all the way until the whole chair is assembled. Added feature, each bolt comes with LOCK TIGHT already on it. Believe me, if I can put it together so can you. I am 67 years old, 6 feet and weigh in at 325 lbs and every joint in my body hurts at various times and degrees. This chair is wonderful. The seat is larger than my petite buttocks and is ever so comfortable. The lumbar feature hits the small of my back perfect for support. It reclines just right so I don't flip over backwards and the cushioned arms are the right height and comfortable. I probably won't fall asleep in it but that is what my recliner is for. I really like this chair. Bottom line, this is a big beefy office chair for a big beefy person and feels like it will stand up for many years to come.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Deal
 from MO,  Aug 11, 2010

Over $100 less than other sites and a great heavy duty chair. Are you tired of breaking chairs and buying new ones every year. This is the best I've had in over 30 years in the office.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chair for a big guy
 from Texas,  Jul 13, 2007

It was easy to put together. It is the perfect chair for a 6'3"+ 300lbs person. If your small and weigh only say less than 200lbs the set can be stiff and may be uncomfortable because like it says it is made for Big and Tall people. I love mine!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT Easy to Assemble
 from Hartford, CT,  Feb 27, 2010

I would have given this chair 4 or possibly 5 stars had it been much easier to assemble as suggested by previous reviews. I am diabetic with foot and leg problems and find lifting quite difficult. This is a heavy, albeit well made chair. I barely managed to assemble it alone but definitely could have used some help. An extra pair of hands is needed to hold parts in place for a proper alignment so that screws are inserted properly. As a result, some screws did not tighten all the way in and I don't think some would have tightened correctly even if they were aligned. I found it very difficult to align the arm assembly without another pair of hands. Also, I absolutely could not insert the back "hex" bolt. It would not catch in the threads. This does not seem to affect the feel and operation of the chair -- so far -- but I think the bolt could have been longer or some other design for insertion is necessary. All this being said, the chair does seem very sturdy, ample enough for a large person (300 lb.+) and so far very comfortable. I do not think it's easy for one person to assemble however.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Appearance isn't everything
 from Newport News VA,  Jan 7, 2007

The chair is easy to put together. It looks good and the fabric wipes clean easily. However, it is the most uncomfortable chair I have ever sat in. It is like sitting in a hard kitchen chair. I am going to have to go out and buy a seat cushion for it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this chair!
 from Central Minnesota,  Aug 12, 2011

I am overweight and have also injured my tailbone on a couple of occasions and was having difficulty finding a chair that had firm yet comfortable cushions that supported my back correctly. I tried multiple chairs and even more numerous back and tailbone support cushions, but I was still miserable after sitting at my desk for any length of time. I also wanted a chair that would support my weight and not break after a short period of use. This chair has been a God-send! The seat is quite large and I have to slide back a bit when I sit down, but since the seat has a bit of a down-turn at the front, my feet still comfortably reach the ground and I'm about 5'6". I would not recommend this to anyone of average weight (unless he/she likes an extra firm seat) because the cushion might seem too hard, but for me it is just right. It was also relatively easy to set up. The only problem we had was that one of the plastic adjuster levers broke while we were assembling it, but we glued it back on and it's nearly impossible to see and works just fine. It was not a fault with the manufacturing or shipping of the product.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
to be continued
 from Pittsburgh, Pa,  Mar 12, 2011

First of all, I just wanted to applaud the reviewers of this product. I wish more products had such quality reviews, revealing the good and the bad about a product, especially one of such importance (Comfort), was extremely helpful..... The reviews were the reason I knew where to find the screws for the chair, also they were the one main reason I chose to buy the chair......... Second, don't believe every review......... As someone who has time and time again (6ft. 280lbs) broken every chair I thought I could by now, especially the leather chairs w/the plastic base and casters, I was finally relieved to see this chair on the product page. (Up to 350lbs?) Sounds like my type of chair....... "Now" In the past, I have bought many products from Overstock, thus far satisfied with 95% of them (except that leather chair) and I know not to believe everything, especially when it looks too good to be true, but I was very excited when this product showed up within 4 days of my purchase.... "It's time to put this thing to the test"..... As previously stated, the box was big and heavy, but once I opened it up, it looked like I had found the office chair I had been looking for. Just unwrapping the cushions were fun.......... Agreed, the instructions are very basic, but not detailed with information. However, if you take your time and take the time to actually look at them, study them (a few minutes), they are pretty simple....... Overall, it took me about 40-50 mins. to put together by myself. I also agree, that 2 people would be better, It's a bit awkward to put together by yourself, so you may need the help of a table, stand or ladder, something to brace the chair against...... (May I also suggest a screw gun or a drill with a Philips head extension).... Also, follow the instructions; DO NOT tighten the screws all the way, especially in the beginning. You will need the wiggle/tweaking room when trying to fit on the arm bar/rest to the chair, especially in the back. It will take some slight, I mean slight, squeezing/adjusting of the chair to get the peg in the hole in the back of the chair. But in the end, (Back screw fits fine), very tight........ Make sure you line up the holes equally, as best as you can........ DO NOT just plug a screw in a hole and call it good. if you can put every screw in the middle of the holes, then do it, but you may need to put some screws up and some in the middle, but even it out as much as you can........ This makes a huge difference in the overall balance/stance of the chair....... The fabric is soft, very nice........ I had seen where people earlier said, the seat was too hard and I disagree. It's not hard, it's just firm, like sleeping on a firm mattress, so this chair isn't for everyone, but it is extremely comfortable to me....... The {bad news}: It does not tilt back as much as I would like, but it's justtttttt enough to keep me from being unhappy with my purchase, so "I think I can live with it"........ So in the end, the chair has been just about everything (95%) of what I had expected...... Now the only question left is, longevity... so time will tell. (to be continued)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy
 from Kansas,  Aug 4, 2010

I have only had this chair for approximately a month, however so far this chair is everything it advertises. I am tall and a little overweight, and I've found this chair to fit BOTH my height and my weight wonderfully. Some others said they found this chair to be uncomfortable, however I disagree. Everyone that has used my chair since I got it had REALLY liked it- big and small. Shipping took awhile however I did order it the Friday before 4th of July, so I'm sure that had something to do with the delay. When it arrived, it was fairly easy to assemble, once we figured out that all the hardware was screwed into the underside of the BOTTOM of the seat. I would say it took 2 people approximately an hour to put this chair together. The instructions definitely could've been better, as it was just pictures. Overall assembly was pretty easy. So far I do not see any cons to ordering this chair- it is exactly as advertised- a chair for BIG and TALL people. I have enjoyed this chair thoroughly in the time I've had it. Definitely one I would recommend

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
He Loved It!
 from Springfield, Illinois,  Sep 12, 2007

I purchased this chair for my husbands birthday and he loves it. My husband is a big man and it is hard to find chairs which will accomodate him, but this one is more than large enough and comfortable too. Office supply stores were asking three times the price for a comparable chair so the value was excellent.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy-Duty as advertised
 from Tulare, Ca,  Sep 22, 2011

Very well made. Very comfortable. This chair is for bigger and taller people. If you don't fit that description you may not like it. I'm 6'2" and 280 lbs. What a relief to finally have a chair that fits me. I'm sure in the long run I will come out ahead with this purchase. It really looks like it will last.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made. Heavy-Duty.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Boston, MA,  Oct 11, 2011

Very sturdy, wide back and base. Easy to assemble. Nice feel to the chair, and the fabric is both comfortable and easy to clean (because of course I already spilled something on it)

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The chair is excellent, sturdy and comfortable.
 from Montpelier, VT,  Aug 23, 2011

The chair came quickly and was easy to assemble. It is stable, large and comfortable. I would recommend this chair for any bigger guy/girl that spends a lot of time on a computer.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The chair is excellent, sturdy and comfortable.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
heavy duty office chair
 from lorain, ohio,  Sep 7, 2008

only of average quality, we were expecting a little better. we have questions on the longterm durability of this chair, fairly difficult to assemble, need two people or four hands

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BIG CHAIR
 from Illinois,  Mar 29, 2013

When the description said 'big', they weren't kidding. We have big guys well over 6 feet tall using this desk chair. Eventually, the tilt mechanisms always break. This chair seems much more sturdy than our others. The microfiber fabric looks fine. If your looking for a formal look, this is not the chair for you. The bar across the back is just plain ugly. I'm going to remove it and spray paint it black so it is not so noticeable. In all, I will be happy to see people leaning back in this chair and know that it won't break.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy chair. Well made.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hard and uncomfortable
 from Houston, TX,  Aug 10, 2010

I just purchased the Boss B990 chair. First it was not that difficult to assemble. The worst part is that it is the most uncomfortable chair I ever bought. To say it is hard is an understatement. A carpeted floor is softer. The bottom is way too short so that your thighs have no support at all. You feel that you are going to slide off the chair. Especially if you are over 6 ft tall like I am. The back is not that high so that a person that is tall cannot use it as a head rest. Again like others I would send it back but that requires taking it apart and packing it up. Not worth the hassel. I will donate to goodwill and take the tax credit. I strongly recommend that you go to a store that sells office chairs sit in them to see how they feel. Then buy from overstock. They are good. I put in my order on Friday and the chair was her Tuesday morning.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This chair is excellent for a over sized person
 from Palestine, Tx,  Jun 28, 2013

After a couple of broken chairs, we purchased this one. For a "big" man, this is an excellent buy. Wish we had gotten it sooner!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chair
 from NC,  Jan 4, 2013

My guy is big and this is a big chair. I think he likes it

  • How accurate was the sizing? OK, it does have a VERY large profile so you do need some office space for it!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be of good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? One of the levers arrived broken. There was a manufacturers sheet in the box so I called the # and they shipped me a lever gratis in 3 days!!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Solid Chair.
 from Palm Springs, CA,  Oct 25, 2012

Very good & solid chair. Very easy to set up. Would recommend.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Without any defects.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not enough padding in seat
 from munster.in,  Oct 7, 2012

needs more padding on the seat, otherwise is great. My knees no longer hurt when I stand up after sitting for a long time

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT CHAIR; GREAT PRICE!
 from Los Angeles,  Oct 6, 2012

THIS CHAIR IS REALLY COMFORTABLE....A BIT BIGGER THAN I ENVISIONED,; I AM A SHORT, STOCKY PERSON, BUT CAN SEE HOW THIS WOULD BE GOOD FOR A TALL, LARGE PERSON. ALL IN ALL, A VERY GOOD CHAIR FOR THE PRICE AND EASY TO TO PUT TOGETHER.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 98 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought