Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Our Biggest Labor Day Sale Ever
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 43 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Who knew....
 from Roseville, CA,  Feb 17, 2013

I began looking for desks as we were redoing our home office. We have a dedicated office, double door entrance, and it is nearly 10x10. Not a huge room, but because it is a designated office and not sharing space for anything else, I wanted to put a large desk in there. I always go to Costco.com first...and I used to say, "if you can buy it at Costco, you can't get it anywhere else for less." I was wrong. I really loved the two tone color of this desk. Because I have a tray ceiling with ceiling fan that is made out of honey oak, in addition to honey oak floors, the light colored surface on this desk was just what I wanted. I first saw this on Costco's website, but it was called "Merrick." I found that odd because when I started searching online, I kept on seeing "Manhattan" as the name of this model. I called the manufacturer and was very pleased with her knowledge. She confirmed that Costco was selling the "Manhattan" and that they often buy lots of items and rename them, which they did in this case. Okay, so I knew that it was the same--now I just had to start doing some price comparison. Costco sold the desk for $***. Even though it was free shipping, there was tax. Bottom line, I got the same desk from Overstock for over $*** less than if I had purchased it at Costco. It arrived about 7-10 days from the day I ordered it. They called our house and set up a time/date that my husband would be home for the shipment. I already knew it was over 400 pounds and that it would be in the garage and I would probably build it slowly...piece by piece. Well, it was built in about a day and a half. I enjoyed putting it together, although my kitty-cat kept on trying to sneak pieces out of the room! Sneaky girl. Anyway, every time the instruction indicated two people, I would call my husband up and he would help me do whatever step I was on...and if it shows two people--trust me, YOU NEED two people, I don't care how strong and/or coordinated you may think you are....that's not relevant. There was a small hiccup near the end. Because there are a few options for the "bridge," there were no holes drilled for the support beam that connects to either side of the desk. So other than husband having to drill a few holes on either side for that, it was super easy to assembly. I did buy the pencil drawer that goes under the desk. I'm so glad I did....I ended up finding it on Office Depot for half the cost on Bestar's website. I found a lot of drawers that would fit that were 1" deep--but I really wanted the 2" deep drawer and it is perfect. There was a slight defect in one of the doors (#61)...almost as if water had gotten to it awhile back and the compressed wood was starting to separate. After I was finished, I contacted Bestar and they shipped out one immediately for no cost. Also, the area underneath the desk is HUGE. I have a little stand that I used to have my printer on under there. It fits PERFECT in the corner and you can't even see it and it is so far away from your legs you never bump into it (big area under there!). I have one of those metal in baskets that have about six slots and I have my extra ink cartridges, envelopes, a few cords for various devices. One thing to mention while you are building your desk. BE CAREFUL with the pieces. I don't know exactly what this is made out of but it does scratch. You have to be mindful of this and only set it down on blankets and such, but it will scratch. Why the company doesn't send a crayon stick with the desk is beyond me, but I asked for one when I requested the replacement door. Oddly enough, there must be a shortage because I got a crayon about the size of 1/6 of a regular sized crayon! But it was all I needed so I guess they know what they are doing. I am so glad I took a chance and ordered this desk....I absolutely love it and I couldn't imagine anything else in my office. Dawn

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Mostly...
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
3D jigsaw puzzle
 from Temecula, CA,  Apr 18, 2013

If you love a challenge and have all day to put a 3D jigsaw puzzle together, this is the desk for you! It arrived in three enormous boxes with over 80 pieces, not including drawer guides, handles and hardware, all which had to be assembled. Two people who are both handy and have put many pieces of furniture together worked for an entire day to get this desk put together. Had the quality been better or the price much lower, it would be justified. The completed desk looks nice, but only has three drawers, one of them a filing drawer, and shelves in cabinets are not adjustable, so it is not the most functional either.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The desktop is good quality, but the particle board cabinet doors and drawers and sides are poor quality.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? One box was punctured and left a hole in one of the particle board desk sides.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It is exactly what I had hoped for
 from Hooksett, NH 03106,  Jan 21, 2012

It fit into my new office perfectly. Everything in the description was on the money. I received the shipment in record time as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy and easily put together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Recommend to get
 from Philadelphia,  Jan 11, 2012

Beautiful desk & cabinetry. It is also very sturdy. Needed 2 people to put together and took several hours, but once finished, it was worth it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor workmanship
 Jan 22, 2016

Very poor workmanship, many pieces were scuffed up and I was missing pieces. If it was not as much for the shipping I would have returned it. I had to go to home depot and get stuff to finish putting it together. They did not return my calls in time. If you don't mind waiting about 3 weeks for delivery and don't mind buying extra stuff to complete the desk, then this is the one for you, not for me. I expected alot more for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Broke During shipment
 from California,  Sep 14, 2013

Product took a month to arrive from Canada. All that wait and it came broken in pieces. id recommend buying something that is more local.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mrs.
 Jul 26, 2016

7 months after purchase, I'm very please with the desk!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For the price
 Jul 5, 2016

it is hard to beat. We use separated in the same home office.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 May 30, 2016

Nice...easily assembled but takes some time. Good value

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
More Then Happy!
 May 8, 2016

Received desk in 3 boxes from a big delivery truck. Very heavy boxes but all peices were damage free. Good packaging job. Took all Saturday for my Wife and I to put together. Simple but takes time. Finished product was more then we expected. Looks great! Functional and user friendly design for home office. Very happy and recomend this product. We did not attach desk to bridge but instead placed it opposite the bridge which provides a bigger area for office chair.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk
 Mar 14, 2016

This is one of my best purchases. It was surprisingly easy to put together. It is a absolutely great work area.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GOOD BUY FOR THE MONEY
 Mar 12, 2016

NICE ! TAKES A BIT TO BUILD, TWO PEOPLE YOU'LL NEED. NOT PERFECT BUT I WOULD BUY AGAIN, THIS DESK AT MY SHOP GET A LOT OF COMENTS,MY CUSTOMERS LOVE IT . RON

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very well built
 Mar 5, 2016

Love the desk now that it's put together and functioning. See my different categories below for more detail: SHIPPING & DELIVERY Shipped and got here well before estimated time, so that was awesome. Delivery by freight was very well done by that company and the desk boxes (3) were in great condition, as were all the parts. Unless you're a superhuman, if you have flights of stairs to climb like the 3 we do, you will need 2 people to move it inside. Boxes are tall, wide, flat, and HEAVY. Wife and I struggled to hand truck two of the boxes upstairs, but we did it. The heaviest box (#2) we had to open on the ground and take up by pieces. ASSEMBLY Instructions, as mentioned by others, leave something to be desired with basically just pictures. But if you take your time and think each step through, it's not too bad. Try to open one box at a time until you can't find something then go to the next. But everything fit well, just be patient! USE Sturdy, beautiful and very functional! Enjoy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect office desk
 Feb 7, 2016

Great piece but paid 2people to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GOOD DESK
 Jan 31, 2016

EXCELLENT MATERIAL, SIMPLE ASSEMBLY

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent value
 Jan 21, 2016

one of the panels was broken and when I called costumer service I received a new part. excellent service

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk
 Jan 18, 2016

Nice desk however the directions are very hard to read, and sometimes I felt I needed to be a rocket scientist to put together. It will take a good day to put together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 Dec 20, 2015

Great product for the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ms
 Nov 30, 2015

I bought this 6 months ago. It came in 2 large boxes and they were very heavy. need at least 2 people to put it together. it is sturdy and worth the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Home Office
 Nov 20, 2015

Been using this furniture for about a month now. My spare bedroom is multi-purposed, so I set up the unit as an L shaped desk and a stand alone desk. I use the collaboration desk for my primary desk, a purpose it excels at due to the extra depth of the desktop. With a 28" wide-format monitor and the keyboard tray attached, there is plenty of room for manuals, binders and legal pads. The L shaped desk serves as the desk for my personal computer. and I use the surface under the hutch to house a color laser printer, and use the hutch for typical office supply storage. Very pleased with the way it works for me, but there are two pretty big cons that detract from this being an excellent purchase: 1). The drawers under the hutch are complete crap, with only about 3" of storage height in the top two. 2). The drawers also do not line up, and make it obvious that this isn't a quality product. The doors on the hutch are similar, but at least they can be adjusted, and made to hang in a fairly uniform manner. I would recommend buying the unit especially if you can avoid getting the filing cabinet. The saving grace of this system is the desk surface, which is very good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 43 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought