For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Who knew....
 from Roseville, CA,  Feb 17, 2013

I began looking for desks as we were redoing our home office. We have a dedicated office, double door entrance, and it is nearly 10x10. Not a huge room, but because it is a designated office and not sharing space for anything else, I wanted to put a large desk in there. I always go to Costco.com first...and I used to say, "if you can buy it at Costco, you can't get it anywhere else for less." I was wrong. I really loved the two tone color of this desk. Because I have a tray ceiling with ceiling fan that is made out of honey oak, in addition to honey oak floors, the light colored surface on this desk was just what I wanted. I first saw this on Costco's website, but it was called "Merrick." I found that odd because when I started searching online, I kept on seeing "Manhattan" as the name of this model. I called the manufacturer and was very pleased with her knowledge. She confirmed that Costco was selling the "Manhattan" and that they often buy lots of items and rename them, which they did in this case. Okay, so I knew that it was the same--now I just had to start doing some price comparison. Costco sold the desk for $***. Even though it was free shipping, there was tax. Bottom line, I got the same desk from Overstock for over $*** less than if I had purchased it at Costco. It arrived about 7-10 days from the day I ordered it. They called our house and set up a time/date that my husband would be home for the shipment. I already knew it was over 400 pounds and that it would be in the garage and I would probably build it slowly...piece by piece. Well, it was built in about a day and a half. I enjoyed putting it together, although my kitty-cat kept on trying to sneak pieces out of the room! Sneaky girl. Anyway, every time the instruction indicated two people, I would call my husband up and he would help me do whatever step I was on...and if it shows two people--trust me, YOU NEED two people, I don't care how strong and/or coordinated you may think you are....that's not relevant. There was a small hiccup near the end. Because there are a few options for the "bridge," there were no holes drilled for the support beam that connects to either side of the desk. So other than husband having to drill a few holes on either side for that, it was super easy to assembly. I did buy the pencil drawer that goes under the desk. I'm so glad I did....I ended up finding it on Office Depot for half the cost on Bestar's website. I found a lot of drawers that would fit that were 1" deep--but I really wanted the 2" deep drawer and it is perfect. There was a slight defect in one of the doors (#61)...almost as if water had gotten to it awhile back and the compressed wood was starting to separate. After I was finished, I contacted Bestar and they shipped out one immediately for no cost. Also, the area underneath the desk is HUGE. I have a little stand that I used to have my printer on under there. It fits PERFECT in the corner and you can't even see it and it is so far away from your legs you never bump into it (big area under there!). I have one of those metal in baskets that have about six slots and I have my extra ink cartridges, envelopes, a few cords for various devices. One thing to mention while you are building your desk. BE CAREFUL with the pieces. I don't know exactly what this is made out of but it does scratch. You have to be mindful of this and only set it down on blankets and such, but it will scratch. Why the company doesn't send a crayon stick with the desk is beyond me, but I asked for one when I requested the replacement door. Oddly enough, there must be a shortage because I got a crayon about the size of 1/6 of a regular sized crayon! But it was all I needed so I guess they know what they are doing. I am so glad I took a chance and ordered this desk....I absolutely love it and I couldn't imagine anything else in my office. Dawn

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Mostly...
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It is exactly what I had hoped for
 from Hooksett, NH 03106,  Jan 21, 2012

It fit into my new office perfectly. Everything in the description was on the money. I received the shipment in record time as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy and easily put together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Recommend to get
 from Philadelphia,  Jan 11, 2012

Beautiful desk & cabinetry. It is also very sturdy. Needed 2 people to put together and took several hours, but once finished, it was worth it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Broke During shipment
 from California,  Sep 14, 2013

Product took a month to arrive from Canada. All that wait and it came broken in pieces. id recommend buying something that is more local.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
3D jigsaw puzzle
 from Temecula, CA,  Apr 18, 2013

If you love a challenge and have all day to put a 3D jigsaw puzzle together, this is the desk for you! It arrived in three enormous boxes with over 80 pieces, not including drawer guides, handles and hardware, all which had to be assembled. Two people who are both handy and have put many pieces of furniture together worked for an entire day to get this desk put together. Had the quality been better or the price much lower, it would be justified. The completed desk looks nice, but only has three drawers, one of them a filing drawer, and shelves in cabinets are not adjustable, so it is not the most functional either.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The desktop is good quality, but the particle board cabinet doors and drawers and sides are poor quality.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? One box was punctured and left a hole in one of the particle board desk sides.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased
 from Dallas, TX,  Jul 22, 2014

Nice piece of furniture. Definitely not a one man job assembling it. Took a good six hours to assemble it. End result is nice high quality desk though. Solid. Nice looking.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk is great, exactly as shown on screen
 from Ohio,  Feb 22, 2014

For the price, this desk is awesome. After ordering received in less than a week. My husband and I put together over a weekend with not much troubles. Perfect size for our room. The only reason for not giving it an excellant, the wood does show very little bare wood along edges but nothing that can't be touched up. We were short a couple CA-99 plugs, these cover the screw holes, went on Bestar website to order, had them within a week and no charge.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Couldn't be happier
 from Aurora, CO,  Nov 24, 2013

I bought this desk one year ago and have used it nearly every day since then. It is a fabulous desk. The colors are exactly as shown in the picture. It is sturdy and solid. Although it is primarily my office desk, every member of my family uses this desk at one time or another, and it has held up amazingly well! I plan to use it for years to come.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS!
 from FLORIDA,  Jan 26, 2013

GREAT DESK, ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE. TOOK SEVERAL HOURS TO BUILD BUT WELL WORTH IT. PLENTY OF ROOM AND STORAGE SPACE.

  • How accurate was the sizing? VERY ACCURATE
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. EXCELLENT! SLIGHT TOUCH UP ON THE WALNUT PORTION, BUT ONLY BECAUSE I'M A PERFECTIONIST
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? YES
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk with lots of room.
 from Beaver Dam, WI,  Jan 5, 2013

I absolutely love this desk! Lots of room to spead out your work. Easy to put together and very sturdy. Lots of cabinet space.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very durable
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from Ga.,  Dec 27, 2012

I would not recommend this unit to anyone. If the chocolate colored area had been the quality of the blond area, it would have been quite a unit. The instructions for building this unit are horrible. The unit needs more drawers, and the drawers you get are deceiving. They look like their big, and will hold a lot of storage, but their tiny inside. File drawer is ok. My biggest complaint is the quality of the pieces that are chocolate colored. Chips all over the place. Just really poor quality. Will never buy a put together unit ever again

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is where everything goes wrong. The chocolate color of the unit is very poor quality. All around the edges, or seams you can see the bare wood underneath, and we've spent hours with a walnut stain to make the unit look better
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No...read above...screws missing etc.. etc.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
U-Shaped Desk
 from Casper, WY,  Nov 27, 2012

Overall this is a good desk. Easy to put togethet, but definitely takes 2 people. Great work space with plenty of room to spread your work out. Plenty of extra screws and bits.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good. doors & drawers have to be touched up with a stain pen
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from Summerville, SC,  Jan 16, 2012

We never saw the actual product for the pachaging was damaged and we refused the article. We were very disappointed and hesitate to order another article that has kto be shipped that way.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top