Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
way too heavy
 from Los Angeles,CA,  Jul 27, 2007

These are nice, but you can't put anything in them & get them on a plane without paying any additional $50 everytime you check them. Coming home the large suit case was partially empty with nothing in the garmet bag portion of the lid and it was just under 50lbs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Brigantine, NJ USA,  Jan 30, 2006

This luggage far exceeded our expectations. Well made, well engineered, lots of pockets and other great options. We are condsiering other pieces from the same manufacturer, also with the ballistic nylon - a must. Great price. Thanks!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Trav Choice El Durado Lugg Collection
 from New York, NY,  Jun 22, 2007

I bought this luggage set in peparation for a long trip, and have used it once so far, on that trip. The bags are sturdy, and held up well to airline baggage handling. (I used all 3 pieces.) Based on its perfomance on my recent trip, I expect this luggage will last several years. Each of the three suitcases in the set has lots of inner and outer pockets, and very good features for expandability. The largest suitcase is very large indeed, and I probably won't use it very often--when packed fully with basic clothing (not anything super-heavy), it easily exceeds most airlines' 50-55 pound weight limits for checked baggage. I ended up paying $25 extra to check the large bag on both AirCanada and Northwest. (I didn't mind this, personally, but that is something to consider before buying/using this large piece.) I will probably use the middle and small suitcases the most, and save the biggest one for long trips of 2 weeks or more. On a final note, the suitcases were offered in 2 colors--black, and reddish. I got the black, but in retrospect, I wish I'd gotten red--that would have made them much easier to spot on the luggage conveyer at the airport!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Materials; Poor Craftsmanship
 from Las Vegas, Nevada,  Feb 3, 2011

I have heard great things about Ballistic Nylon luggage and this set looked like an amazing deal. When I received the bags, they looked great, felt great, and had many great features - especially the built in garment bags. I was very happy with my purchase - until I actually used one of the bags. I took the 29" bag on a trip to Beijing. It was plenty big enough for my contents, I didn't have to stuff it, sit on it to close it, or even use the expander. The bag itself weighs close to 20 pounds, and the packed bag was just over 50 pounds. When the bag came out at baggage claim in Beijing, I saw torn seams and some of my clothing sticking out! First I thought the zipper must have broke. The zippers were just fine, but the seams that connect the zippers to the bag had broken and separated in 2 corners - about 8-10 inch splits in both sections. I don't understand why you would use "ballistic nylon" and heavy duty self fixing zippers, and then have a single stitch of low quality thread holding it all together. I immediately returned the set. This luggage set had so much going for it, if only they would have given a little more thought to the craftsmanship.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You'll need to purchase another carryon piece
 from Richmond, VA,  Jul 12, 2007

The luggage is great! I was so impressed with the quality. Very rugged. I used it on my trip to Italy and it worked well. It had the usual scuffs but no rips or tears. The only complaint I have is that the piece that is supposed to be well within carryon limits is NOT. I had to find this out the hard way at the ticket counter. I then had to go to the side and try frantically to fit my essential items in my purse and my husband's carryon. I had to end up checking this piece. It would not fit into the wire rack that represents the acceptable carryon size. I was very upset about the fact that the carryon piece was too large. Overall, I would purchase this set again. Great value for the money, but again, it would have been nice to know ahead of time that the dimensions for the carryon were not accurate.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value!
 from Houston, Texas,  Apr 11, 2007

after yet another long vacation with less than adiquate luggage.. I found this great set of luggage on Overstocked... I did my homework, checked Consumer Reports as well as several other public opinion polls concerning luggage. This Traveler's Choice El Dorado Luggage Collection seemed to be the best value. That was until it was delivered. I could fit in the largest case, the smallest is perfect for a couple of days on the road. The medium did a wonderful job of taking my husband on a week out of town on business. He says it is the best luggage he has ever had. Believe me, we have been married almost 30 years and have 4 kids with a dozen grandones... we've been through lots of luggage. Not any more... this is great! The only draw back... no luggage tags.. great little combination locks though... Thanks Overstocked!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Boston/MA/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

I have used this set on some business/leisure trips. It has withstood the abuse from the airport baggage claim and others. The handle is easy to grip and carry. I like the side pockets that it provides for small accessories I can place in them. Overall great value for the price and quality I recieve. Will definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Houston, tx,usa,  Jan 30, 2006

this is one of the best luggages i own so far. the quality and the durability is outstanding. so far it is holding up pretty well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Suitcases have traveled with my son and I to many
 from New York City,  Jan 4, 2012

My son traveled with it to Germany, England and around the United States and seems to want to keep it in his possession for his future world jaunts!

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Luggage
 from Sacramento CA,  Mar 27, 2011

I took this luggage set with me on 3 trips within 90 days of purchase. On the biggest suitcase, the handle on the bottom of the suitcase on the first trip. By the third trip, the main handle on the suitcase will not fully extend. To get it to work, I have to yank on it very hard to extend. I had some Samsonite luggage for 10 years and this luggage set was it's replacement. I wish I kept the Samsonite. that I had for 10 years.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value
 from Los Angeles,  Jun 1, 2010

I recently received my luggage set and have traveled with it once so far. I only took my carry-on and it fit perfectly in the overhead bins. I was concerned by some reviews that stated their carry-on would not fit into the bins; but this is a standard size carry-on. It probably will not fit if you pack as much as it can possibly hold. I will be going overseas this summer and I am anxious to use the rest of the luggage set.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 from Dallas, TX,  Jan 24, 2008

I bought the set for Christmas for my husband primarily. He just used it to travel and while packing it said that they thought of everything. He used the smallest bag and carried it on. He appreciates the clear toiletries bag included in the suitcase due to the recent regulations about carrying liquids. He was able to pack 6 days worth of everyday clothes (for a cold climate) including 3 days worth of workout clothes. We highly recommend this luggage.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Mio, MI United States,  Jan 30, 2006

Just buying luggae and want somethinggreat, and well made and that will last' would like a rating from top to bottom. thank you Mary Ann

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Great value!
 from San Jose, CA,  Aug 9, 2014

I researched a lot of luggage before making this purchase. I could not find anything that compared in quality for the price. I look forward to getting years of use from this set!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor
First use bag fell apart
 from Chicago, IL,  Jan 7, 2014

We bought this set of bags to replace another set of Traveler's Choice bags purchased 11 years ago. The first time we used them the seam attaching the back of the bag to the side completely ripped apart all the way across the top of the bag. The only thing holding the bag together was the inside liner. After a roll of duct tape I was able to get the bag home, but it was incredibly disappointing to see the bag fall apart after just one use.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent
Nice and sturdy
 from Billings, MT,  Nov 11, 2013

Sturdy, nice looking, and functionally well designed

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Luggage!
 from Florida,  Mar 30, 2013

We just got home from Walt Disney World and I have no complaints with this luggage. This luggage is durable and easy to travel with.

  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A great suitcase for the world traveler
 from Utah,  Jun 3, 2012

The suitcases came in excellent timing. They were packaged well and free from defects. These suitcases have been well thought out for the world traveler. They are a bit heavy but well constructed for its durability.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Looks good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
best luggage ever!
 from Naples. Fla.,  Feb 16, 2012

I bought this luggage about 5 years ago, and still use it. It has been on multiple flights and trips and is still in perfect shape. Only now is it starting to show signs of some wear. Lots of space and compartments. Great luggage set. For the price, a real bargain!

  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very tough, well made
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy luggage
 from Southern AZ,  Jan 5, 2012

I purchased these after reading the reviews. I searched for a long time trying to find "made in the USA" luggage but was unsuccessful finding anything affordable. Since I had to settle for Chinese made, these had the best reviews for durability and we haven't been dissapointed. The cranberry color makes them easier to identify at the baggage claim and they stack and pull well. We've used them for a couple of cruises and numerous flights and have never had any trouble with the zippers or wheels. Great bang for the buck!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top