Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 2042 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 103 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Product!
 from Raleigh, N. C.,  Sep 16, 2006

We purchased the Amsterdam 4 piece luggage set for our recent trip to Germany. The appearance is just as nice as much higher priced items. I was especially pleased by the way this luggage held up through 3 airports in the US and 2 in Germany (both leaving and coming home) it still looks as good as the day we bought it. This includes being lost (isn't everyone's luggage these days?) and a hurried trip from Philadelphia , where it stayed while we left , to a small village outside of Bamberg Germany. I'm very pleased!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great luggage great deal
 from Moses Lake, WA,  Apr 23, 2007

We travel often, this set gives us many choices on sizes. Great for big trips when you need larger luggage and wonderful for short weekends. The sizes are great. The quality of this lugage is ever bit as good as much more expensive luggage that we have purchased in the past. Great deal for the buck. You don't mind spending this kind of money of luggage. this luggage will roll through any airport just as easy as more expensive. I would highly recommend this to anyone that travels.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do Not Buy Before Reading This Review!
 from El Dorado Hills, CA,  Nov 2, 2006

Unlike most people that have reviewd this luggage set, I actually waited for 10 months...and 8 - 12 trips...to submit my review. What can I say about this luggage now? I was excited when I bought this set. It looked great, sounded like a great buy and thought that I couldn't go wrong. Here is what happened: The large piece lasted about 4 trips before the handle broke. Very cheap plastic handles not made to handle the weight. The middle piece lasted about 6 trips and now all of the zippers are broke and there are two big rips in the nylon on the front of the bag. The middle piece is still in great condition. We use it for light trips (15 pounds of clothes and supplies) and usually use it as a carry on or for trips that we make in the car. This piece is what the quality of this luggage is suitable for, not the larger pieces. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money to get sturdier pieces. Oherwise you will be disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good luggage for the price
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Jun 16, 2007

I read the others reviews before purchasing this set of luggage, and I admit I was apprehensive in doing so due to the comments about durability. I made the decision to purchase the luggage, and I am pretty happy with it so for. I used to take 2 suitcases when going on a 2 week business trip, now only need to take one. However, with that convenience means you¿re likely to pay extra charges at the airport because that one suitcase may now weigh more than 50lbs, and they¿ll charge you for the extra weight. I guess I'm lucky because nothing broke or ended up damaged from my first two trips (unlike what others have written). What people really need to consider is that while luggage should indeed be made durable, the folks at the airport do not care one bit about your luggage or how much you paid for it, and will handle it quite roughly... you WILL incur some damage with your luggage over the course of a few trips no matter how much you paid for it. As an experienced traveler, you simply learn to accept that. I think the only exception to experiencing damage to luggage is if you use the Samsonite hard suitcases, but with a set like that comes a very hefty price tag. For the traveler who only makes a few trips a year, this set of luggage will do just fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value for the money
 from Saratoga, New York,  Sep 27, 2006

I looked for luggage for quite awhile and I am known by my friends as a great shopper. I looked at all the major department stores, discount houses and outlets before buying this set. This set was better than all the sets I looked at for $50-$100 more. It has pockets for shoes and a small net zipper compartment on the lid. What it didn't say in the ad, but I was delighted to see, was the adjustable straps to hold the clothes while in transit. I received the set on the date promised. This is the first time I shopped on Overstock. com, but it definately won't be the last!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT PRICE!!!!GREAT QUALITY!!!!
 from Gulfport, MS,  Jul 10, 2006

My husband and I bought this luggage for a trip we took with our three children to New York and Boston during the Christmas holidays, so the airports were very busy...I just knew that my luggage would be destroyed. Suprisingly nothing happened to this luggage...not a rip, tare, or scratch. We had two other sets of luggage with us the other two did not hold up so well. The brand tag ripped off one the the other sets of luggage and we ended up with small rips, but not with this luggage....and the price!!! We shopped around for luggage in the stores and other websites and noone even came close to this price. We can see that we will have this luggage for years to come. Oh, and we purchased the red (more like burgandy) and we were able to pick out our luggage easily on the luggage wheel. I didn't realize how quick that would get us out of the airport. Color helps!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No So Tough
 from South Jersey,  Apr 25, 2006

We were very excited to get this luggage, all the reviews were great! Well, we now have two pieces with the telescoping handles broken off from normal wear and tear, they bend very easy and can no longer be pushed back in to the luggage, the handles are not strong enough to handle any amount of weight. We complained to the Manufacturer direct with no satisfaction, we now only have the two small bags left after only using the two larger ones once to travel to the Caribbean. Would not recommend for the long trip.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from NYC,  Jan 30, 2006

Okay, first off, the luggage is an awesome deal. I certainly agree with everyone about the aesthetic side of the luggage. Unlike other reviewers, I decided to wait until I actually tried them out on my UK trip UK before crafting a review. The luggage is lightweight & does not have any extra compartments. Unfortunately, the handle is somewhat flimsy and doesn't appear to hold up to extreme weight and abuse. Inside, there is only one thin lining and the suitcase overall, seems to have a thin shell. Although it didn't rip on my trip, I don't feel that it'll put up with much wear and tear over time. The two tone color is great for identification.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT VALUE!
 from Salem, OR,  Oct 15, 2010

This is the second time that I've purchased this luggage set; the first time was for my oldest daughter, for a Christmas present & I bought it this year for my youngest daughter. After receiving the first set, I was VERY impressed with the quality & ruggedness of this luggage. My middle daughter had purchased a set of luggage for over $1,000 at a local out-let mall & this is just as nice, or better! (She wishes that she had bought this instead!) My oldest daughter & her husband use it FREQUENTLY & have never had any problems with any of it. Very roomy, does not show dirt , takes a beating & still looks great after 1 year of heavy use. Yes, there is a bit of an odor to it, but it doesn't linger & that's pretty typical of anything brand-new, just out of the box. I'm planning on buying a set of this for myself, after Christmas, of course! My youngest daughter is going to get a single matching piece for her boyfriend. On another note, the gray color is a nice, dark charcoal, so it goes with everything.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I received this set (and the matching rolling garment bag) two years ago for Christmas and am happy to say that all of the pieces are still as sturdy and handsome as when they arrived! I have the red, which is more of a red/black, and I can always spot my luggage easily. I'm on the lookout for a new set with the four inline wheels, but I haven't purchased any because I love this set so much!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Look Elsewhere
 from Palo Alto, Ca,  Dec 1, 2006

I often use the carry-on bag, which is second to the smallest bag. After less than a year of use, the stitching loosened and now I have a big hole in the bag. After just a few uses of the second to the largest bag, one of the zippers broke. In addition, I found better prices for the same types of bags elsewhere after purchasing the bags. The luggage looks nice, but there are plenty other options out there that you'll be more satisfied with.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall Good Value
 from Boulder, CO,  May 16, 2009

I purchased the Amsterdam 4-piece luggage set after the telescoping handle on the largest case of my former luggage (not this brand) became almost impossible to retract. When the luggage arrived (I chose the red set) I was extremely pleased by its appearance, but dissappointed with the intense new vinyl odor it emitted. However, after allowing the set to air out for a day or two before use the problem corrected itself. I delayed writing this review until I could use the luggage, which I did, three of the pieces anyway, on a recent trip by air from Colorado to Indiana and back again. The roll of the luggage throught the airport was quite smooth and the largest of the cases performed wonderfully. The smallest of the rolling cases also rolled well, but I was disappointed to find that it too had difficulty retracting without my having to align the telescoping handle parts very carefully. The other odd issue I encountered was that the luggage, which only has the reddish color on the front, tended to turn face down on the luggage carousel causing it to look like a black suitcase. Therefore, I allowed the pieces to pass me numerous times before I realized the cases were mine. On the return trip I paid more attention to the luggage tag, which I wish had been less visible to others, and in the future will mark the pieces with a unique ribbon on the handle to assist in this regard. Despite these limitations I would definitely recommend this luggage to others as it held up beautifully during the entire trip.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A wonderful value in luggage for a tight budget!
 from Corning, NY,  Sep 1, 2007

I purchased this luggage recently for a trip to California. I live in New York State and had to make connection flights in both directions along with enduring a two hour bus trip each way too. This luggage worked great for me! It absolutely held up wonderfully! On the way out I even nestled the two largest pieces before packing so that upon my return I'd have an extra piece of luggage to fill with any new "treasures" I found shopping... particularly those special treasures and bargains found only at yard/garage sales and thrift stores... and find them I did! The worthiness of this luggage was truly tested by my trip and by the weight, sizes, and shapes of some of the items I ended up packing. Everything arrived safely and the luggage is completely intact and in great enough shape to make another trip there in the future. Considering the more than reasonable discounted price for this set of luggage, I feel I've already gotten my monies worth from just this one trip... and still having it to use for future trips is icing on the cake as they say! So, if you are debating about whether to purchase it or not, I'd have to say don't hesitate by giving it a second thought as you should make out just fine like I did with it. I also want to say how grateful I am for Overstock implementing this review system of it's products as it is what caused me to even consider buying such a cheaply priced set of luggage... sight unseen. It's understandable that my initial thoughts were... for the price this luggage couldn't possibly be made well enough to hold up on a trip like mine. But, after reading the reviews from others and their experiences on long trips with it, I was sold on taking a chance and giving it a try myself... and I'm glad I did!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great set but skip if you travel a lot
 from Austin, TX,  Jan 4, 2008

Let me preface this with saying that I bought a different Traveler's Choice set in 2000 that I have used and still use until now. I have had to add new roller wheels to the suitcases and ditch the carry-on, but otherwise, no complaints. This set went on two international trips per year and the medium sized bag went on a couple of other trips per year. I was IMPRESSED with this luggage so I bought the second set... OK, so about this set. I bought this set in October 2007 because of an upcoming trip to French Polynesia. Air Tahiti Nui had strict limitations on the dimensions of luggage (L+H+W), which ruled out the largest of the "old" luggage. Also, since we were going for 17 days and had to be able to handle our own luggage (ferries, etc..), we were limited with the number of bags we could bring but needed a large suitcase. So the luggage arrived in October. We took all three pieces in addition to another carryon. The luggage survived Austin to LAX fine, including transfers to the shuttle to the overnight hotel to the shuttle to the airport to the airport screening machines for our flight from LAX to PPT. When we arrived in Tahiti, the top handle on the medium bag and the side handle on the large bag both tore at one end. The bags were weighed in both AUS and LAX and neither exceeded the 50 lb weight limit. The other side of the medium bag tore at the other rivet when I tried to use the remainder to position it onto the customs screening device (basically the entire top handle tore off). Needless to say, it was miserable trying to deal with the luggage after that point. Otherwise, this was a good set. LOL. I just don't know what to think about it. I wouldn't buy this particular set but the last Traveler's Choice set was good once we replaced the wheels. Thanks, Heather P.S. I am an Engineer which is why I detail so much

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For both domestic and international travels
 from St. Louis, MO,  Dec 13, 2009

The four piece luggage set held everything, including shopping, for all of us - we had these bags packed with clothes and jackets and our books. The two large uprights were still well underweight for checked international. I use the small bag a lot for overnight travels. It fits easily in the overhead bins, and is good size for my frequent travels. I was actually able to guide the carry-on next to me while walking down the airport corridors, instead of pulling it behind me; weightless and effortless. The skins are durable and the handles are strong. The wheels are perfect on flooring, okay for minimal distance on sidewalks on two wheels, but a little small for extended city-street wheeling. The interiors have many pockets and are perfect for shoes. All four pieces can be nested inside each other for storage. All in all, this luggage survived many plane changes. It's beautiful. Definitely recommended!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice Set of Luggage
 from Roanoke, Va,  Dec 8, 2010

I bought this luggage set for a Christmas present. I was very impressed with the easy transaction and fast delivery. The set is very becoming and seems to be sturdy. Of course, it has not been used yet cause it is all wrapped up for Christmas but I feel pretty confident that my daughter in law will love the luggage. (especially the unique color of burnt orange which is easier to spot at an airport when you are waiting for your suitcases to roll around the conveyer belt). The only complaint is the largest of the suitcases is really much smaller then I imagined. But i contribute that misunderstanding to me because I did not look at the messurements and just assumed the set was larger. I would definitely buy from overstock again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not all I hoped for
 from Seattle, WA,  Jun 27, 2006

I have had my set for about three months now. My first trip with the largest piece, the back panel got ripped. I filed an airline claim but I think the material covering the back could be more durable. Then this past week on the 3rd trip with the next to largest bag -- one of the studs holding the top handle came out. At 35lbs the bag was not overloaded. Also, regarding the color. I ordered red because I was sick of looking for a big black bag at baggage claim. As it turns out, only the front panel is red. The rest of the bag is black and when it is facedown at baggage claim, the color is not much help.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Ashford, Connecticut,  Jan 30, 2006

Really liked the luggage until I used it for the first time; the handle on the large piece broke off on my first trip. Otherwise it's great, but if the handle breaks, it's rather hard to use it...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor lining
 from South Florida,  Jan 19, 2007

generally pleased with this set. biggest dissapointment is the thin "cheapy" lining. it seems more like a plastic grocery bag than anything else. i have seen similar lining in very cheap luggage pieces. and the handle seems like it will break if not handled with care. for the money i paid this is still a good set... but i used the original price of $390 as a guide to the value, and it is deffinaltley NOT worth even $200. for a frequent traveler i would recomend investing more in a better quality set, for the occasional traveler i think this is fine...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product
 from Hawthorne, ca,  Dec 10, 2007

I purchased this set as a Christmas gift for my parents. I gave them the set early for their trip to Hawaii and they absolutely loved it. The large case was roomy enough to fit snorkle gear and all other items with room to spare for items they brought home. Also the smallest of the cases was still small enough to carry on the plane with them. The actual carry on is very small but my mom felt this was perfect because she couldn't carry anything too heavy due to a back injury. They said the luggage held up great from their trip. So far I would definately recommend this set.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 2042 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 103 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top