Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 197 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Better than I expected
 from Chicagoland, IL,  Aug 4, 2011

I needed a cheap suitcase for an overseas trip a few weeks ago. I figured I had nothing to loose trying out this piece of luggage especially with reviews that lean towards positive, and I like blue. You do have to take into account though that you are buying a piece of luggage for less than it will cost to check it on just about any major airline. When you take that into consideration it's a darn fine suitcase. I had no major problems with it. Sure the handle feels extremely loose when fully extended, but unless you are 7+ feet tall you will do just fine extending it halfway (to it's first notch) and it works and feels good. Overall it looks pretty cheaply made especially when you poke around and look at the backs of rivets and whatnot, and the luggage ID window on the back was hanging half off the suitcase right out of the box, which I immediately took off anyways as I don't like to display my ID info to the entire world, but rather than look at all it's short comings here's what counts... I flew from Chicago Ohare to Paris, Paris to Helsinki, Copenhagen to Riga, Latvia, Riga, Latvia back to Helsinki, Helsinki to Amsterdam then Amsterdam back to Chicago Ohare, it was handled by baggage handlers at each of those airports/airlines and the end result is a missing zipper handle on one of the front pockets along with some minor wear and tear on the corners, but no rips or tears or anything handle is intact and functional, and the wheels still roll freely. And besides all that it endured 2 full weeks of bus travel and regular use around Scandinavia. I'd say right there the bag has already paid for itself and then some, and it's in more than good enough shape to handle many more trips. So basically if you want something super nice you're going to have to shell out a heck of a lot of money for samsonite or whatever, but if you just need a suitcase that's going to get the job done and not look bad doing it, this one fits the bill!

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. acceptable
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Suitcase
 from St Louis, MO,  Apr 29, 2008

I used my Amsterdam Light Weight 25-inch Rolling Upright Suitcase for the first time on a trip to Germany and loved it. It held up very well and suffered no apparent damage during the trip. It was a convenient size and the inside pockets were a welcome bonus. Although I have only used the suitcase once, I would definitly recommend it for travel.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Durable with flaws
 from Washington, DC,  Dec 22, 2010

The Travel Select Amsterdam Light Weight bag is a durable bag that I recently purchased to use for my flight home for Christmas vacation. It was the perfect size for about two weeks worth of clothes and Christmas presents (though I pack light almost always since I am used to just bringing carry-on luggage to avoid fees). While this bag does not count as carry-on, the depth and expandable feature of the bag make it great for checked luggage. Unfortunately I can't give this bag a high review or recommendation. After packing my bag, I tried to pull out the handle used for pulling the bag on its wheels. The handle refused to come out. My roommate and I both fiddled with it, and she even stated that she had the same kind of bag and it often got stuck. I was going to be late for my plane so I ended up pulling the bag by the regular handle (not comfortable or convenient) through the metro and the airport because I would have had to take out everything I had packed to fix it. When I arrived home, my dad took apart the entire handle to find the problem. In the end, the button was BROKEN. The inside contraption was cracked right in half. I don't understand how a company can send broken products like these out. Since it was a cheap buy and I need the bag for my return trip next week, my dad super glued the piece back together, but we'll see how that works. My dad was weary about buying online to begin with, so I convinced him to purchase this product because of the low price. However, our experience with the bag proved him right. Maybe buying in stores is a better bet to ensure quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Size
 from Alden, NY,  Apr 9, 2008

I purchased this suit case for my daughter, she loves it, it's the perfect size, not too big...not too small! After shopping around I found it was tough to find Navy Blue (her favorite color) and this price, well it was terrific. Another fine Overstock purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handle broke after only 2 uses
 from Ohio,  Jun 24, 2011

The handle broke after only two uses and the stitching came loose. I had to dump the bag in Florida and buy something new to get home. I would have just been out the money since it would have cost me $xx just to get it back home for a refund or waranty, but Overstock's customer service was wonderful. Thanks Overstock for making this right with a store credit, I appreciate it.

  • Did the product fit true to size? It does fit in the overhead compartment perfectly. The size is great! I just wish it would have held up.
  • How is the quality of the product? Poor
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lite bag
 from Portland,OR,  Apr 24, 2008

I was looking for a medium size bag for travel that was also light weight. I was starting to have difficulty lifting my older suitcase and pulling it around. Half the price of others I have seen. Plus I was able to purchase in red, my favorite color.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Luggage
 from Philadelphia, Pa,  Dec 23, 2010

This peice is exactly as described and well worth the money. The size is perfect, you can fit everything in you need for a great vacation.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
luggage
 from Whitesboro, Texas,  Mar 10, 2009

I recently purchased 2 of the Amsterdam 25" rolling suitcases for a 2 week trip. My husband and I hate to wait for luggage at the airport and decided to buy 2 carry-ons. Our hope was that we could get everything we needed into the 2 suitcases. We had plenty of room and even brought more stuff home in them! We traveled through 3 airports and a shuttle bus, and they held up perfectly. They still look brand new. I would recommend this suitcase to anyone who needs a lightweight carry-on with lots of room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Choice
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  May 18, 2008

We needed a 3rd suitcase for our trip to Hawaii. This worked perfectly for us. Good quality and sturdy. Wheels work very good.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good and affordable
 from MA,  Jul 29, 2011

Good suitcase to carry on a weekend, exact color as pictured: well built, sturdy and soft. I recommend it with one caveat: it will not fit under an airplane seat if you need a small suitcase to avoid extra airline fees for luggage when you travel for a short time.

  • How accurate was the sizing? I bought it because I thought it was smaller. It was bigger for my purpose so I returned it.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good for the price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Did the job and still in good shape
 from Tacoma, WA,  Jul 27, 2011

Purchased 2 of these and both suitcases held up to a multi-leg international round trip flight with no significant damage. Both suitcases are still in good condition other that the typical scuff marks from automated baggage handling.

  • How accurate was the sizing? It was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect! Not too big, not too small - just right!
 from New Hampshire,  Jul 22, 2011

Seems to be an excellent product... handle works freely, lots of pockets and zippers work fine. Nice bright red color so it should be fine picking off the airport carosel (sp)...

  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. haven't traveled w/it yet (Sept), but checked it all over, seems great...
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
study suitcase!
 from 92530,  Jul 12, 2011

This suitcase has been to Kentucky, Chicago, and Maryland and back already. Made the trip easily and was perfect for my teens trip and easy to find in the loads of suitcases coming off the plane because of the bright red color! Will go back and buy the bigger piece very soon to complete the luggage set.

  • How accurate was the sizing? The suitcase was a bit smaller than I expected, didn't realize there was a bigger one available really my oversight.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? free of manufacturer defects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bag for the money
 from Kelso, WA,  Jun 29, 2011

I needed a bag this size to meet Amtrak restrictions for carry-on luggage. Between it and a flight-bag I was able to pack for a 7-day cruise. The expansion feature allowed me to bring home a load of souvenirs. The 2 outside compartment hold more than you would think, too. It was well balanced and rolled well and had a comfortable handle when pulled. I wasn't real rough on it, but it seemed to be well constructed. A very good value.

  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amsterdam Light Weight Rolling Upright Suitcase
 from Hazel Crest, IL,  Jun 8, 2011

Sturdy, lightweight, easy to maneuver. Excellent value.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Suitcase that survived Europe!
 from California,  May 3, 2011

This inexpensive suitcase made it home from Europe in great shape!

  • How is the quality of the product? very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy with purchase
 from Southern California,  Apr 30, 2011

I was a little hesitant to purchase this suitcase due to the mixed reviews. Well, I am back from a 10 oversees trip and the suitcase held up well. Based on the appearance of the suitcase it would appear that it received some pretty rough treatment from the baggage handlers but it came through with just some scuffing marks. The odor that is mentioned by others was definately present on arrival but a few days of airing it out took care of it. It held plenty of clothing for my 10 day trip and I could of actually put more in it. I'm happy with the purchase and you just can't beat the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Luggage
 from Cleveland, Ohio,  Apr 19, 2011

The size and quality of this suitcase is what I expected for the price I paid. The only problem is that the button to extend the handle was broken. I am waiting for a response from the manufacturer for ma warranty claim. What bothers me most is that I have to pay to ship it back for repair/replacement. OH to CA isn't going to be cheap.

  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? OK
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? NO
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poorly constructed
 from Polk, PA,  Apr 17, 2011

I used this suitcase for one trip. The fabric frayed and pulled out along the bottem back side of the suitcase. It also frayed on the edges of the front pockets. One side was pushed in. This suitcase is not at all durable. I cannot recommend it.

  • Did the product fit true to size? n/a
  • How is the quality of the product? very poor quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? It looked fine when it was received, but was ruined after a single trip.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great suitcase for the price!
 from Silverdale, WA,  Feb 20, 2011

For short (3-day) trips I was looking for a suitcase for my husband that was bigger than a carry on (22 inch), but not large that you would need for a longer vacation. They are hard to find! This suitcase fit our requirements, plus the price was hard to beat. We've only used it once, but the suitcase worked just fine. The only con with this suitcase for us is the shoe holder pouches on the inside - I would much rather have had a regular zippered pouch. But, for the price it was something I was willing to overlook and I can still stuff items in the pouches.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 197 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top