Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 27 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good but not too impressed
 from Sarasota, FL,  Aug 21, 2011

We travel quite a bit and needed a new carry-on. Our last one gave up after a major overload with foreign goodies. We only had few requirements for our new carry-on: spinner, lightweight, second bag/personal item must be able to ride on top, easily fits into overhead compartments. Weíve tested it on three recent trips and came to the following conclusions: PROS: 1. It is most definitely lightweight. It is great for people like us, who use carry-on allowance to the max. 2. Itís quite spacious. Switching from a nylon 22Ē to hardshell 20Ē, I was concerned I will lose a lot of space. We were pleasantly surprised to have been able to pack almost as much into this bag as we did in our old one. One feature I am still not use to is, unlike non-hardshell bags, this one has two almost equal halves to fill (vs stuffing everything into one side and simply covering it with the top). However, it does have straps to keep everything in place. 3. It rolls nicely on asphalt, airport tiles and linoleum (more difficult on carpets, especially, when full). It rolls over metal joints in floors and jet bridges or any uneven surfaces very well 4. A second bag easily sits on top of it 5. Expands nicely! 6. Fits perfectly into overhead compartments. In business elite, itís a breeze, but even in coach on most birds, such as MD88s, itís quite easy to stuff it into the bin CONS: 1. Wheels are small and have harder time rolling on carpet that some airports have. Sometimes it keeps pulling to one side, trying to twist to its front facing forward. 2. In fact, this is my major complaint about this item: handle is extremely flimsy. In fact itís one of the reasons I am on a fence about recommending it. When fully loaded (40lb or so), poor handle actually twists a bit. If second bag is not riding on top, one could use a second height positing to push, but then the quality of handle is not great either and it pushes itself all the way in. 3. No handle on the side to help put it in and take it out of bins. Itís not that big of a deal for me but I wanted to mention it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not the the size specified by manufacturer
 from Atlanta, Ga,  Jul 30, 2011

Looked at this set and the Coleman. Picked this one because Heys is a more well known manufacturer and the was less expensive with a much more expensive retail price. We were most concerened with the 30" piece unfortuanatly it is not 30 it is 27-27.5 not as large as we needed. Can not believe thet the manufacturer can give the wrong dimensions and Overstock does not independently varify it. I also can not believe that reviewers have not brought this up. I am thinking about returning and getting the Coleman set but at 28 buck shipping I am now on the fence if a 27' bag will be ok for you then this is a nice set.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Suppose to be 30X19X 12 actual 27.5X19X12
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seams ok but will write a review after we travel with it.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT POLYCARBONITE its ABS
 from Houston,  Aug 3, 2011

The description Says that it is made from Polycarbonite and that was what I was looking for. However when it arrived I found that this model is actually ABS plastic. I was kind of up set and looked the this model up on the Heys website and it actually says it is ABS. I have seen this model advertises in a number of different stores online and all say Polycarb. Anyway it was too close to my leaving for this trip so I discussed the issue with customer service, who only want to make sure I was satisfied, actully they went out of their way to be sure. I decided to keep the set with an added discount rather than send them back. So far I am pleased but I am only on the first leg of my journey. To even though they are made from ABS they are still very light when they are empty.

  • How accurate was the sizing? sizing was correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Just started my international travel but so far it is holding up fine
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heys
 from Alabama,  Dec 16, 2010

Great luggage set. I already had 1 piece of black Heys 4WD hardtop luggage. Bought this for my boyfriend. He loves it and the color is great too. We're about to go to England so it is great that the set also has one small carry-on size that we can share for carry-on items.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heys Luggage
 from Atlanta, GA,  Sep 18, 2011

The suitcases seem a little cheap, the handles seem a little flimsy and don't go up and down easily. The suitcases do not roll easily on any carpet, even very short outdoor carpet. They are also difficult to pull behind you, but roll forward nicely on very smooth surfaces.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The handles seem a little flimsy and don't go up and down easily. The suitcases do not roll easily on any carpet, even very short outdoor carpet.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this luggage!
 from Hollywood, MD,  Apr 4, 2011

Ordered these just before going on an 18-day vacation. They held so much more than standard luggage. The expandable feature and zip-up divider inside were wonderful extras. The hardside was so tough and held up well after being handled in 3 different airports...no scratches or dings! Like the lighter weight. The red color was a standout on the luggage carousel. The spinner wheels made life much easier when moving around. This luggage will follow you anywhere! We love these so much better than our old soft side luggage. We'll never go back to softside again. We highly recommend this luggage.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very cool luggage
 from League City, TX,  Mar 14, 2011

We got the orange heys spinner luggate set. We like that it is bold, just not tacky. Very fun and sturdy and expands in the middle. They spin in any direction so it's easy to walk with. Definitely recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
UNIQUE and STURDY
 from San Francisco, CA,  Feb 23, 2011

Perfect for what I was looking for- light weight, sturdy and I LOVE that there are 4 wheels so it can spin in any direction for ease of use through airports and to/from transportation. I got a unique color, I wouldn't recommend the lighter color luggages as they tend to show scuff marks and scratches a lot more. The darker colors hide imperfections.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sophisticated and elegant
 from Ny ny,  Apr 19, 2012

I will definitely purchase more of this product. The luggages survived my usual 50 lbs travel weight and had not given up on me after 18 to 20 hours of flights between transcontinental flights.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I have been using these luggages for 2 years and has not given up my long distance travels!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No damages
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My husband loves these
 from Kansas City, Mo,  Mar 24, 2012

We kept the set anyway. We took it on a trip to Cancun and it was light, easy to maneuver and great to spot on the baggage claim conveyor.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality, however, one of the sewn panels in the inside was not able to be hooked correctly do to a piece that was missed by the sewing machine.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great luggage
 from VA,  Jan 9, 2012

i ordered the Heys 4WD 3 piece hardside spinner luggage set in red. I received the Heys 4WD 3 piece set in metallica instead. I did not complain, as I liked the color on the metallica set better. I ordered a set of Heys because I've had a large Heys spinner for several years, and I wanted a carry-on size with the same features as the large suitcase. My large suitcase has gone around the world several times--it carries a substantial amount and rolls flawlessly. I used the new carry on during a recent trip. It expanded perfectly and everything functioned well. It wheeled like a dream, even with another bag propped on top of it. The flexibility these expandable suitcases offer, in addition to the rolling feature which is the best I've used, suggest that I may never need/want another brand of suitcase.

  • How accurate was the sizing? did not measure the bags
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not durrable
 from Wake Forest, NC,  Jan 2, 2012

I was very impressed with my new Heys luggage set for the first month but then the luggage started to have problems. First the handle on the largest suit case broken then the liner on the middle sized piece broke. The luggage is also very hard to roll on carpets. When I contacted Heys to have the luggage repaired or replaced I was told that I have to send it to their repair center. I am still trying to get both pieces fixed and I have had the luggage for less than a year. I would not recommend Heys luggage.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LASTED TWO TRIPS BEFORE IT CAME APART
 from Texas,  Dec 16, 2011

Before purchasing this luggage, I read all the reviews so I should have known what I was getting. The first trip I took with this luggage was in my car and the luggage was handled only by me, very gently. However, the second trip was via air and the baggage handlers were not as gentle as I was. When I went to baggage claim to pick up my luggage, it didn't look good as there were pieces of my clothing hanging out. I only had about 37 lbs of stuff in it so it was not overloaded. It just came apart. I have some more gripes about it also. I know it is true of most hard side luggage, but there are not outside pockets and it needs to have handles on both ends if lifting a heavy bag. I also have another brand of a hard side bag and it rolls much easier on carpet than does the Heys luggage. However the four wheel concept is a great idea, but this brand is not the one to buy, unless your are costing it out per trip, two trips, $$$, is only $$$ per trip, but that seems a little high to me. I only had the luggage two months, so that is $$$ per month. I guess that is not a good bet either. the more expensive hard side spinner is not too much better than the Heys, and it did cost a lot more. Both brands are light weight so you can pack a lot more into them without exceeding the 50 lb. weight limit imposed. If I had it to do over, I would buy the more expenaive brand rather than the Heys as it is still working great. So this is a good buy if you treat is gently, but don't let the baggage handlers touch it.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Poor
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Disappointed--Save your money.
 from Redondo Beach, CA,  Dec 4, 2011

A Hardside Spinner luggage set was at the top of my Christmas list last year (2010) and my husband selected this 3 piece set in Orange. I was thrilled with the purchase initially. The luggage is easy to pull (or push) and does not topple over easily at all (my complaint with our last luggage). We took 3 family trips this year and the luggage is already falling apart. The locks pop open--even when switched to "lock". Our bags have arrived on the conveyer with more than half of the locks popped open. The handle on the largest broke this year (screws pulled out on one side) when we lifted it off the conveyer belt (it had met the weight restrictions of 50lb for the flight, so was not too full). The sides show scratches and wear easily, so this luggage looks quite "worn" despite being used 3 times.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from NY,  Nov 10, 2011

I have not used the luggage but can not wait to use it (I love it)

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heys luggage is the best!
 from Charlotte, NC,  Nov 10, 2011

I purchased a piece of Heys luggage several years ago. I loved it so much, I asked for a set for my birthday. I received a similar product sold here on Overstock, but it just didn't fare well. Every piece of the other luggage has broken, leaving us with useless luggage. I went ahead and purchased this set and couldn't be happier. It will withstand the airport luggage handlers for years!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do not purchase
 from MA,  Oct 29, 2011

Do not buy this luggage set. After reading and re-reading reviews, we settled on this Heys 4wd 3 piece set. It is our first time purchasing a hard shell luggage set. The first set came with 1 wheel completely dented in. UPS was blamed and the item was returned; however, it made me nervous that the shell could be dented in like that. The second set arrived and we packed it a few days before our trip. Then in standing up the packed suitcase, the top fixed handle (next to the handle that extends) completely snapped off on one side. Can you imagine what will happen when they are thrown around by the airline?! The bag is full but not ridiculously heavy - and you should be able to pack a bag to capacity. It was a waste of money and here we thought we were purchasing something that was middle ground, spending a little more thinking we would get good quality. It is terrible quality.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Terrible
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Luggage
 from New York,  Sep 25, 2011

The product is good for frequent travellers, the luggage is sturdy and worth the money. The spinner wheel allows a trouble free transport of the luggage. Highly recommended!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Durable hard side luggage
 from Thompson Falls, MT,  Sep 23, 2011

I travel extensively and damaged luggage is a serious problem. I have not had problems or concerns with the Heys luggage and I am on my second set. Very easy to roll on smooth and rough surfaces and the zippers allow for expansion when you have too much for one case. Reinforced corners are a must,,they work very well! A real value for the price through Overstock!!

  • How accurate was the sizing? exactly as advertised
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent product for the price
 from Chicago,  Sep 9, 2011

Used it one time for domestic travel. No damage. Will recommend to others.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 27 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought