Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 132 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Return after 2 weeks
 from NY NY,  Oct 12, 2010

I ordered this cute rolling backpack on the 25th of September, we received it around the 30th. Today is the 12th of October, and the backpack is falling apart! I bought this cute but tough looking bag for my 6th grader. Yes, it is heavy , when packed full of books- that's why I bought a ROLLING BAG! However, this one is a really bad design! To make it sturdier, they put a hard plastic or metal plate under the handle, which unfortunately is cutting into the material every time she picks up the bag by the handle, and it is already breaking on the top. I don't know if ALL the CalPacks have this design fault , or only this one , but I would definitely not recommend this one! However, if you just gonna use it to roll around and NO PICKING IT UP BY THE HANDLE, no problem; the back is padded, the wheels are tough, the pulling handle is great, it has several pockets---- would be a fantastic bag, if the material was stronger and the top plate was big enough for the WHOLE top. Don't say I didn't warn you!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Materials tore quickly
 from New York, NY,  Jun 13, 2011

I purchased this rolling backpack for my 8 year old son and within 2 months the bottom corners were torn. Within 3 months the inside linings tore off completely. The only positive is that the handle remained intact. Would not recommend for an active child.

  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? not good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Backpack fabric not good in sun.
 from San Diego, CA,  May 9, 2011

Okay backpack if it stays out of the sun. My little boy has now used this backpack for the entire kindergarten school year with a month left to go. Here in SoCal the children park their backpacks outside the classrooms. The sun has faded this backpack so badly it doesn't even look orange anymore. Also, the sun has done such a number on it that it is desintegrating. It is literally falling apart. Other than that, the wheels, handle zippers etc. are all good. The material is just not sun/fade proof.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality/design
 from CA,  Dec 17, 2010

I bought this backpack for my elementary age kids. The backpack colors are nice (I bought the red, orange, and blue). Within a month of use the back pack already ripped on the part close to the handle. The inside packet also ripped from the top part. I am guessing that the backpack ripped because it can not handle the weight of the contents when ever you lift them insted of using the rollers. The bottom part of the back pack also separated from the base. It was only 3 months since my kids have used the back pack and I now have to replace them. I have bought other CalPak backpacks before and they lasted for one school year. I thought that this one will last too because they are more expensive than the previous ones I bought. I was very very disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great, Works Great, Quality Only SO-SO
 from Orange County, CA,  Oct 20, 2010

I waited to review this item because there's no way to really know until it is truly used. My child loves the way it looks and especially not having to shoulder all the weight. Nice, bright colors, lots of compartments. Except the side fabric is already ripping as well as the netting on the side pocket and it is only mid-October. I have to mention that my son doesn't give his things a lot of wear... and has never trashed a backpack. I will try to patch it for it to stop the side rip to continue but we may have get something else (or another one) by mid-year.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Time Will Tell
 from Spokane, WA,  Nov 4, 2010

I really like the backpack, it rolls easily, has lots of storage space in the pockets, nice handle action. But I have a lot of books and binders that I have to put in it, and it seems to be pulling apart slightly at one of the seams. I noticed it the first week of use, and it doesn't appear to to have gotten worse, so we'll see. I love that it has the mesh holders on the side for my water bottle. I really hope it holds up as I like it a lot. I actually bought it because someone else in one of my classes had the same one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I bought this rolling backpack because the telescoping handle on another rolling backpack broke after the first week of use by my 10yr old son. I didn't see complaints about the handle breaking off on this one. I did see concerns of the nylon material ripping too easily on this backpack and that's already happened to the one I ordered (about 1 month of use so far). About a 10" rip alongside one of the zippers on the interior of the backpack. At least the handle seems to be holding up... If it will last the rest of the year without falling apart, I'll be satisfied given the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Broken after two months
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Oct 12, 2010

The backpack is wonderful with plenty of compartments for school stuff. Unfortunately, the retractable handle broke from the backpack making it no longer usable as a roller bag. The bag was used for two months with normal elementary school wear and tear before the handle dislodged. I am working with the CalPak folks to have the backpack replaced. Check the warranty before purchasing!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bad quality
 from FL,  Oct 11, 2010

I purchased two bags and it was like putting my money down the drain. Bad bad quality.My two kids use it for Elementary School and after one month they are ripped inside and holes at the bottom. Don't buy it. Looks good, has nice handle but can't handle 4 books.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bag
 from miami,  Jul 23, 2009

love the bag. it wheels well. its cute. it has tons of pockets, and it was a great price. Highly recommend it! I think it's made for adults but we chose it for as my 1st grade daughter's school book bag and she is so happy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NIce product
 from TX,  Jan 8, 2009

I needed a rolling back pack for my daughter. All the local retail chains had cheap ones. I found this bag on overstock and ordered it for her for Christmas. It's a very nice bag for the price. I think it will hold up to wear and tear nicely. My daughter loved it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Great quality
 from North Carolina,  Aug 3, 2014

Very impressed with the quality and style for the low price

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
great
 from MI,  Jul 30, 2014

I love this backpack. I bought it with two purposes in mind: traveling abroad and then for use in college. It worked great for both.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
3 Years
 from MIAMI,  Jul 26, 2014

Days and days of use for 3 years....., beats, greasy, and still new. The Best!!!! and: In September going to school again!!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Average Value : Fair
Not that great
 from California,  May 26, 2014

Not much room. Hard to get binder and books out because the top part of bag is stiff. The handle broke/keeps sticking a couple months after I started using it. I bought the warranty and thats a joke. I have to spend my own money to send it back even though I bought a warranty? Save your money on this purchase or spend a bit more for something else. I was using this for school only.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good
What I wanted
 from Kansas,  May 13, 2014

I'm a professional who regularly uses the transit system, and wanted a rolling backpack to carry laptop, small lunch, and work files from home-transit-office-transit-home. This one has performed admirably over the last 5 months, and doesn't look too bad, either. My only issue has been that a small rock can occasionally lodge in one of the wheels and make it drag rather than roll. Thus 4 stars instead of 5. A larger wheel opening would fix this. I've probably rolled the bag over approximately 40 cumulative miles by now, with no signs deterioration.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor
Broken Handle
 from San jose,CA,  Mar 4, 2014

Telescope handle broken with 4 months and warranty of Calpak is a joke. We need to ship the product with return shipment and pay *****as service charge. With this money I would buy another back. I would never buy any traveler's choice product.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor
Handle on the backpack is already broken.
 from Peachtree City, GA,  Feb 26, 2014

I bought this backpack for my daughter, her previous rolling backpack lasted 3 years. This backpack lasted less than 3 weeks and the handle that allows you to roll the backpack broke. The zippers are also cheap, they do not zip smoothly. I am very disappointed in this purchase.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good
ok
 from boston,  Feb 22, 2014

Late delivery. I almost cancelled because it stayed not less than two weeks before arrival. May not buy anything I need so urgent from them. The black is not charcoal black. They need to work on their color. Although the base is really strong to carry my heavy books.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Fair Value : Average
Not Worth It
 from New York All Day,  Feb 6, 2014

I bought this bag because I wanted something different than the average looking rolling bag. First off, the first bag I received was not what was advertised. I ordered the purple and it was supposed to have a closed handle. Not. I returned that one only to get the same bag in exchange. The representative stated they don't know what the manufacturer is going to send. Wrong answer. Second, the bag is nowhere near 18 inches. The handle pole/stick (whatever you want to call it) takes up entirely too much space in the bag. Third, the lining and inside zipper all ripped after the second use. I used the bag to carry groceries and work stuff and sometimes as an overnight bag. Right now I use it as a storage bag.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 132 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top