Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 145 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
CalPak 17" rolling backpack - very good
 from Irvine, CA,  Apr 9, 2009

This rolling backpack 17" is a great size for elementary to junior high students. Additional pockets help to keep things organized. My ten year old loves the extendable handle and it is not uncomfortable to use it as a backpack as well. Rolls easily, wheels are sturdy and smooth. Zippers are fine so far. Adequate room for books and his lunch. It is currently three months old and seems to be holding up well on all fronts. Surprizingly light for a rolling backpack. I would recommend this for elementary students and for junior high students that dont have a ton of thick books to tote around. It does expand somewhat and will handle quite a bit of stuff.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall great value for the price!
 from Bay Area, CA,  Jan 19, 2012

First of all, I would like to point out to the people with reviews regarding the handle being too short - PULL IT ! People are putting in reviews here and says that it's too short, but it is ADJUSTABLE and you can pull out to make it LONGER! As for my review, I ordered this backpack for my 8yr. old and she loves it. She has gone through 2 regular backpacks and 1 rolling backpack since September and hopefully this is the one that will last through the year. I ordered the backpack on Friday and I received it today. The zipper looks very well made and the material is made with heavy duty material. The backpack does not tip over like all the others I've seen and it is high enough off the ground the the backpack does not get dirty.There is plenty of room inside and has plenty of pockets, including the side mesh for water bottles. Overall, this is a great backpack and seems to be made of sturdy materials. I am planning on buying another one for myself.

  • How accurate was the sizing? It says 17" on the web but on the backpack it has a label that says 18".
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy, well built.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CalPak
 from Springfield, IL,  Mar 18, 2011

I was disappointed by the length of the handle of this pak/luggage. I am relatively short...but still have to bend to reach handle which would not be productive in hurrying through an airport to plane. Yes, could put it on my shoulder, but the fact that it has a handle - promoting ease, I really can't give it lots of stars. I will give to my granddaughter who is 3, her height will allow her to use this item better.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CalPak Grand 17 in Rolling Backpack
 from Chaska, MN,  Dec 11, 2009

We purchased the backpack for our daughter who recently fractured her spine. We noticed she was bringing home multiple books daily. The weight of her previous backpack with books was averaging 19-20 pounds. Adding that weight to a lower back fracture was riduclus. We checked several local retail stores and sporting good stores and were unable to find a satisfactory backpack that had wheels, wasn't overly clumpy and had the necessary space to store school books/supplies. Delivery from overstock was quick. The backpack arrived and she has been using for about two weeks now. This Calpak is, overall, very sturdy. The wheels have stayed in tacked even though our daughter is having to drudge through the snow and there is plenty of room for books. We've been pleased with results to this point.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cancerous materials
 from SF, California,  Jul 18, 2012

The bag just arrived after much research. What was not disclosed on this description and in reviews is that the bag comes with a tag with a clear warning that the bag contains materials known to cause cancer. This kind of information should be disclosed up front to save buyers the hassle of returning these types of products. The intent was to give this to my 6 year old and that is certainly not going to happen now. It appears the ingredient is LEAD - definitely something to keep children away from.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big enough to carry all of her books and more
 from morgantown wv,  May 10, 2011

I bought this for my Grandaughter. She is in the fifth grade and had to carry alot of books. Her old backpack was so heavy that I thought she would hurt her back. So I bought this one for her and now she don't have to put it on her back. She loves it and it is big enough to carry everything she needs plus more.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor
not pleased
 from central coast, ca,  Aug 25, 2014

we bought 3 of these backpacks. on the first day 2 of the zippers broke. very disappointed.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Holds up Well for an 8-9 Year Old's Abuse!
 from Mississippi,  Oct 16, 2013

Bought the CalPak Grand Stand Rolling Backpack for the 2012-13 school year (2nd grade girl). It lasted all year. The handle was a little temperamental on that one, and one of the handle "bars" came out on the last day of school. My daughter was REALLY rough on it though - dragging it up and down the bus steps, slamming the handle up and down - you know how impatient kids are when things aren't working the way they want them! But we made it through the entire school year with that backpack. I bought a new one again this year for the 2013-14 school year. She's now 9 and in the 3rd grade. She's not so rough with it this year. The handle isn't at all sticky like the first one was, so she's not slamming on the handle like last year. We've been using it 2 months now and I'm very pleased with it. I'll probably buy another one for the 4th grade.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy, uncomfortable, not durable
 from CA.,  Oct 22, 2012

Too heavy on its own, it was impossible to use with my son's books inside. The roller helped but he tried to wear it as a backpack when biking and it was not only SUPER heavy by also built in a way that the metal was hurting his back he could not wear it, only pull it. It lasted only 5 or 6 months and the handle came apart, it is constructed in metal body and plastic handles held with two screws, first the screws kept getting loose and then they cracked the plastic handles. To the garbage it went! Not a good value!

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. bad
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? only bad design
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CalPak Rolling Backpack
 from Durango, CO,  Nov 7, 2011

I bought this at the end of July, school started at the end of August, and by the end of September, the screws attaching the handle to the pull-out rods had fallen out, and before my husband could replace them, the plastic handle had broken as well.

  • How accurate was the sizing? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Upon arrival, yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good
Great for my Needs
 from Denver, CO,  Oct 29, 2014

I needed something stylish but easy to move around. This does both! Very cute and roomy.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor
Already Tore No More than 2 months
 from Alexandria, VA,  Oct 23, 2014

Bought for Daugther, we have had for less than 2 months and it already tore.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent
Great for grade schoolers
 from Doylestown, Ps,  Aug 12, 2014

Very attractive and spacious rolling backpack. Excellent value for the price.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
4th grade
 from Atlanta, GA,  Aug 5, 2014

My daughter wanted a rolling backpack and just loves this one! She likes the pockets and the look but most of all she loves that it is on wheels!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent

This is a great invention! I use it to carry more than clothes - works great to carry food (not cold) into hotels. Have not used the backpack. Only negative would be that it's very difficult to lower the handle. There are no 'buttons' to push - you just have to 'pound' on the handle to get it to go back down.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Sporty Look
 from Philadelphia, Pa,  Jul 9, 2014

I use this backpack when I go work out. It maneuvers very well, it has plenty of space and it's light. I am happy with this purchase. I recommend this product.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good

When I first received my package I liked how it was delivered and I could track my package online and by e-mail. It has now been about 1 month and I love the product great for carrying heavy things and rolling them instead of havung the weight on your back =, amazing product!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent
Good value
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Jan 22, 2014

This is an attractive, roomy backpack that is lightweight but also sturdy. The wheels roll smoothly, which is essential for a full backpack. My daughter loves it!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good
Very light weight
 from Troy, Al,  Nov 7, 2013

rolls easily and is very lightweight for its size. Travels well up stairs.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Love it
 from Los Angeles,  Sep 29, 2013

When my daughter ask for this rolling backpack , I was like no way Jose but after seeing how much relive she got by carrying those heavies books, I was like yeah

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 145 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top