Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 138 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
CalPak 17" rolling backpack - very good
 from Irvine, CA,  Apr 9, 2009

This rolling backpack 17" is a great size for elementary to junior high students. Additional pockets help to keep things organized. My ten year old loves the extendable handle and it is not uncomfortable to use it as a backpack as well. Rolls easily, wheels are sturdy and smooth. Zippers are fine so far. Adequate room for books and his lunch. It is currently three months old and seems to be holding up well on all fronts. Surprizingly light for a rolling backpack. I would recommend this for elementary students and for junior high students that dont have a ton of thick books to tote around. It does expand somewhat and will handle quite a bit of stuff.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall great value for the price!
 from Bay Area, CA,  Jan 19, 2012

First of all, I would like to point out to the people with reviews regarding the handle being too short - PULL IT ! People are putting in reviews here and says that it's too short, but it is ADJUSTABLE and you can pull out to make it LONGER! As for my review, I ordered this backpack for my 8yr. old and she loves it. She has gone through 2 regular backpacks and 1 rolling backpack since September and hopefully this is the one that will last through the year. I ordered the backpack on Friday and I received it today. The zipper looks very well made and the material is made with heavy duty material. The backpack does not tip over like all the others I've seen and it is high enough off the ground the the backpack does not get dirty.There is plenty of room inside and has plenty of pockets, including the side mesh for water bottles. Overall, this is a great backpack and seems to be made of sturdy materials. I am planning on buying another one for myself.

  • How accurate was the sizing? It says 17" on the web but on the backpack it has a label that says 18".
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy, well built.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CalPak
 from Springfield, IL,  Mar 18, 2011

I was disappointed by the length of the handle of this pak/luggage. I am relatively short...but still have to bend to reach handle which would not be productive in hurrying through an airport to plane. Yes, could put it on my shoulder, but the fact that it has a handle - promoting ease, I really can't give it lots of stars. I will give to my granddaughter who is 3, her height will allow her to use this item better.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CalPak Grand 17 in Rolling Backpack
 from Chaska, MN,  Dec 11, 2009

We purchased the backpack for our daughter who recently fractured her spine. We noticed she was bringing home multiple books daily. The weight of her previous backpack with books was averaging 19-20 pounds. Adding that weight to a lower back fracture was riduclus. We checked several local retail stores and sporting good stores and were unable to find a satisfactory backpack that had wheels, wasn't overly clumpy and had the necessary space to store school books/supplies. Delivery from overstock was quick. The backpack arrived and she has been using for about two weeks now. This Calpak is, overall, very sturdy. The wheels have stayed in tacked even though our daughter is having to drudge through the snow and there is plenty of room for books. We've been pleased with results to this point.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big enough to carry all of her books and more
 from morgantown wv,  May 10, 2011

I bought this for my Grandaughter. She is in the fifth grade and had to carry alot of books. Her old backpack was so heavy that I thought she would hurt her back. So I bought this one for her and now she don't have to put it on her back. She loves it and it is big enough to carry everything she needs plus more.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Holds up Well for an 8-9 Year Old's Abuse!
 from Mississippi,  Oct 16, 2013

Bought the CalPak Grand Stand Rolling Backpack for the 2012-13 school year (2nd grade girl). It lasted all year. The handle was a little temperamental on that one, and one of the handle "bars" came out on the last day of school. My daughter was REALLY rough on it though - dragging it up and down the bus steps, slamming the handle up and down - you know how impatient kids are when things aren't working the way they want them! But we made it through the entire school year with that backpack. I bought a new one again this year for the 2013-14 school year. She's now 9 and in the 3rd grade. She's not so rough with it this year. The handle isn't at all sticky like the first one was, so she's not slamming on the handle like last year. We've been using it 2 months now and I'm very pleased with it. I'll probably buy another one for the 4th grade.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy, uncomfortable, not durable
 from CA.,  Oct 22, 2012

Too heavy on its own, it was impossible to use with my son's books inside. The roller helped but he tried to wear it as a backpack when biking and it was not only SUPER heavy by also built in a way that the metal was hurting his back he could not wear it, only pull it. It lasted only 5 or 6 months and the handle came apart, it is constructed in metal body and plastic handles held with two screws, first the screws kept getting loose and then they cracked the plastic handles. To the garbage it went! Not a good value!

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. bad
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? only bad design
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cancerous materials
 from SF, California,  Jul 18, 2012

The bag just arrived after much research. What was not disclosed on this description and in reviews is that the bag comes with a tag with a clear warning that the bag contains materials known to cause cancer. This kind of information should be disclosed up front to save buyers the hassle of returning these types of products. The intent was to give this to my 6 year old and that is certainly not going to happen now. It appears the ingredient is LEAD - definitely something to keep children away from.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CalPak Rolling Backpack
 from Durango, CO,  Nov 7, 2011

I bought this at the end of July, school started at the end of August, and by the end of September, the screws attaching the handle to the pull-out rods had fallen out, and before my husband could replace them, the plastic handle had broken as well.

  • How accurate was the sizing? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Upon arrival, yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

When I first received my package I liked how it was delivered and I could track my package online and by e-mail. It has now been about 1 month and I love the product great for carrying heavy things and rolling them instead of havung the weight on your back =, amazing product!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Jan 22, 2014

This is an attractive, roomy backpack that is lightweight but also sturdy. The wheels roll smoothly, which is essential for a full backpack. My daughter loves it!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very light weight
 from Troy, Al,  Nov 7, 2013

rolls easily and is very lightweight for its size. Travels well up stairs.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Los Angeles,  Sep 29, 2013

When my daughter ask for this rolling backpack , I was like no way Jose but after seeing how much relive she got by carrying those heavies books, I was like yeah

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ROLLING BACKPACK
 from Woodbridge, VA,  Sep 20, 2013

It is nice but a little on the heavy side. I bought it for my 7 yr old grandson, he loves it but struggles with it as well.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great backpack
 from Chandler, AZ,  Sep 13, 2013

Rolling backpacks are so expensive, so I was excited to get this one for such a great price...under thirty dollars! It is sturdy and is perfect for a 6-10 year old. The only thing that isn't great about it is that it is a little heavy so my daughter has a hard time lugging it in and out of our giant SUV.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive
 from Waycross Ga,  Aug 20, 2013

Purchased two for my grandsons ages 5 and 9 to travel with. Been looking in stores for months for a great product for a good price. Perfect for rolling beside them in airports and carry on luggage.GREAT price too.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good product for the price
 from Washington, DC,  Aug 18, 2013

So far so good! I've had it for a few weeks now and I've had no problem. The wheels work as they should and the handle is pretty smooth. I have to hit it with enough stength to go down, but not too forcefully. I use it for work and didn't want a typical black bag or to look like a kid. The grey w/ pink was a cool, feminine touch. Just right! Overall: very good product for the price.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sports backpack
 from Arizona,  May 1, 2013

We have not taken this backpack on our airplane trip yet but it seems to be the perfect size and just what we need. We will see.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Our second
 from El Paso, TX,  Nov 27, 2012

We bought a larger Cal Pak years ago in Santa Fe. Then our granddaughter used it for two years in grammar school. It replaced a kids backpack from Target. It took a lot of abuse but really helped, especially with wheels when pulling a heavily loaded backpack. Then we bought this one for our 2nd granddaughter in Kindergarten. Even though it's smaller, it works very well. And the wheels get covered!!!

  • How accurate was the sizing? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made and tough.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
shipping is pathetic
 from Sunnyvale,CA,  Nov 16, 2012

These guys don't take care of shipping at all. It was pathetic. I ordered a bag and it's struck. Now I need to talk to UPS about this.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 138 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top