Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great watch, good price, sturdy, get compliments!
 from Toronto, Ontario,  Aug 17, 2012

I was really excited about this watch. A week later it arrived. As soon as I opened the box I knew I was going to love this time piece and have it in my collection for a long time to come. It's beautiful, timing is accurate and it's not a light or small watch. In fact, some would think it's oversized, but as a tall person the proportion for me is just right. Don't think about it, buy it - this watch is amazing! Will definitely be getting some more Stuhrling pieces in the near future

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Site doesn't do it justice!
  • How accurate was the sizing? Had to remove 2 links.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality! People have asked me how much I've paid for it and are shocked to find out it was so little, the ones I tell that is. :)
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but...
 from Stafford, VA,  Jul 18, 2012

This was my first Stuhrling and I honestly expected more. Its a beautiful design however seems cheaply made. I have other watches at this price point and lower that have a more solid feel and just seem better made, not that I have any issue with this one. While its an automatic, it only winds when the rotor spins one direction, be sure to set your watch winder to the correct direction. You can also wind it manually.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful watch with large face
 from Utah,  Aug 2, 2011

THis watch is a beautiful piece of jewelry. The ability to view the mechanics inside is fascinating. The watch face is VERY large and the band is also VERY large. Thankfully it is adjustable by having links removed. I plan to enjoy this watch for many years to come.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? This watch has a much larger diameter face than was apparent from the photos.
  • How accurate was the sizing? The band is very large, but adjustable by removing links.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. THe quality seems very good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome watch
 from New York NY,  Sep 6, 2011

This is a solid watch that can be for the collector or casual watch wearer. It being a skeleton watch (see the inside workings) will definitely invite compliments and quizzical looks.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate, i will need to have sized down 2 links
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good watch that will get you compliments
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice, but huge
 Aug 10, 2015

Husband loves this but it was huge and had to have links taken out.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kim
 Apr 21, 2015

Bought this watch for a watch conisure. He loves it! Everyone that sees it likes also. Definitely a great buy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 Mar 31, 2015

Looks very nice. Has a good weight to it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My son loved it
 Mar 13, 2015

My son wanted a watch like this.....he loves it and so far it is working. I bought it at Christmas.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My Son really loves the watch
 from Dallas Tx,  Jan 7, 2015

Bought this watch for my son for Christmas and he really loves it. Nice looking and fits well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very cool watch
 from Brussels, Belgium,  Sep 11, 2014

In perfect condition and beautiful. Arrive on time and without any problems.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
it's huge!
 from Houston, TX,  Sep 9, 2014

That's what she said No, but really, it's a lot bigger than what I thought. I had given it to my boyfriend as a gift and we was speechless :) The watch us heavy and the design is elegant and kind of old timey. He'll have to get links taken out of course, but he loves it. The case is really cool too. Smells great (i know, what? but yes) Awesome all round! My first fancy watch I've bought, and I was in between Stuhrling & Invicta. This won.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Watch
 from ARIZONA,  Aug 13, 2014

It was so much better than I expected. It was good quality and amazing watch. Can't wait to see my boyfriend's face when I give this.He's going to love it. Thank You

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
King Lear Watch
 from auburn,ks,  Mar 19, 2014

This is a very nice watch. It has a very classy look.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Handsome watch.
 from Long Island, New York,  Jan 30, 2014

I saw this watch and fell in love with it, so i bought it for my son for his birthday and he absolutely love it. This one is definately for the gentlemen out there who love the bigger face watches.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My BF loves it
 from Belle Glade, Fl,  Jan 2, 2014

I purchased this watch as a gift for my BF & he loves it. The price is great. If you are looking for something different then I suggest this watch.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stuhrling skeleton watch
 from Dublin, Ireland,  Dec 18, 2013

I am saying excellent about the appearance. It is a Christmas present. If the packaging and appearance indicate the quality, I think I will be very happy. My only complaint is that I live in Ireland and it took over a month to arrive. I usually receive items from the USA in approximately 7-10 days.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Intricate detail; superb styling; amazing accuracy
 from Southern Calfiornia,  Nov 4, 2012

Stuhrling seems to be an internet *only* watch company, and yet they offer an incredible array of men's and ladies watches with a very large touch of class and unique, subtle, detailing that I've never seen before in watches in this price range ($200 to $1000 or less). The phrase "surgical quality stainless steel" really does NOT connote the firm, strong texture of the blending of watch band to watch that the King Lear manages to pull off, it's simply amazing to finally see upon opening the box for the 1st time, at least that was my experience. If you called the Lear overstated and dramatic, it would be misleading to a point, but the design's strengths are its beautiful detailing of the dark gray/black dial itself, large numerals and Roman symbols combining to spell out the hours and minutes which I've never seen before in a dazzling highly polished steel case, bracelet and clear, strong definitions for the front and exhibition rear Krysterna display crystals. Then you have the unreal, virtually impossibly perfect skeleton movement itself, seen through both front and backside view ports. Everything in the movement is highly sculpted, etched, carved, chromed and/or polished... and every detailed part and piece that is visible to the eye is done with absolute perfection that I've frankly never seen in an under $500 skeleton timepiece. The case itself has no rough edges or shapes to it at all; rather it's rounded and curved, highly polished and mirror-finished wherever you look, just like a fantastically crafted BMW, Porsche, or Mercedes-Benz automobile's design: there isn't a straight edge anywhere on those cars, and yet somehow the curves and bends blend together to form a realistic aerodynamic shape that has both form and function of the highest order. If there's anything to be said that describes the overall genre of the King Lear watch it's that it seems to be taking off like a jet airplane blasting from the ground to the sky, in one unique series of motions, and before you know it you're airborne at triple-digit speeds. The Lear has a sense of solitude and strength of parts and pieces that is hard to describe without actually looking at one of the breed up close and personal, and that's what you want in an original skeleton watch's design. Many skeleton watches are somewhat "novelty like" and you get none of that with the King Lear automatic watch. The time pieces are stunning to put it in the vernacular, and I for one have been asked time and time again "how much over $1,000 did it cost to put that on your wrist!?" The emphatically constructed watch band itself, in that amazing polished and satin-finished alternating combination of blocks of curved, never-ending pieces of stainless steel, has a very expensive feeling/looking butterfly catch that snaps together with a solid, yet soft and sure motion. I had to actually pull on the thing hard, once or twice when I first started wearing the King Lear, (on the watch band's clasp itself) just to make sure it had actually fully closed. And it had done just that, but ever-so-softly and silently, no noise whatsoever can be attributed to the closing of the bracelet. Simply unbelievable quality to do such a thing, you know? The mineral crystals front and back side on the King Lear are "Krysterna" by Stuhrling's own definition name, ie I can attest to the lack of scratches or marks that one can put on a watch crystal if you're not careful, and these particular crystals seem durable in the extreme sense of that word. I like their clarity and round-beveled edges very much, made so that the crystal blends into its securing piece without a visible or obvious surface break, they are just perfectly set it seems, the kind of thing you see in much finer and expensive name-brand "hallmark" watches such as Tag Heuer, Rolex, Patek-Philippe, to name a few this concept brings to kind. In fact my finest Bulova Accutron watch, a more than $2500 retail piece itself, does *not* achieve the balance and blend of the Krystena crystals in my King Lear...and that watch has a full-boat Sapphire crystal which the Krysterna emulates or betters easily. To think that this watch can fascinate and command attention like it does without a calendar function, second hand, or other "trick" pony functionality, too! I never even thought about those types of things when I purchased my example of the King Lear, rather I bought it solely on a hunch that its quality and mesmerizing features would overcome any lack of extras which watch fanatics like to call "complications". Again I have to discern to the simplicity and beauty of the King Lear rather than its lack of features or extra complications, it's just so remarkably well-finished and sublime that you can't dwell on such things when thinking about this watch. Then we have the "Cal.ST-900089 20-jewel automatic movement" of the watch to give some reflection to also, as most if not many of my better watches are blessed with supposedly superior 25, 27, 30, or in the case of one of my Seiko multi-tiered functioned designer kinetic watches a whopping 40-jewels in the movement, but then that's a $4500 retail cost watch and you'd expect something quite unusual and different about the movement in it. Here we have a relatively simple Swiss-designed 20-jewel movement that just keeps remarkable time for an automatic watch. I keep my Lear on a name-brand 4-tiered watch winder when I'm not wearing it, and you know it's yet to lose or gain even a minute since new! Amazing! It is maybe 25 seconds "off" computer time, which I set all my watches to by the way (it's actually atomic time, as one of my watches is a radio controlled Titanium-cased and banded timepiece which never gains or loses even one second of time). That's going on two months of ownership also, so it speaks wonders for the automatic movement's accuracy in my example...YMMV on that account, but I think that the Stuhrling 20-jewel Swiss-designed movements are great time keepers overall. The stem is sturdy and bold featured, as I don't think you're going to have trouble with it "breaking off" or failing because it's not constructed properly or heavy-duty enough for a man's watch, which occasionally might need to be wound by hand to give it some extra run time if traveling, for example. The stem itself is a big, textured design with plenty of places for grip and there is no sense of weakness there whatsoever. Suffice to note, also, that the King Lear is waterproof up to 165-feet, or 50-meters depth, with a screw-down type case, front and rear, with seals of high strength (once again, overkill for this much watch!) to prevent H20 from entering the case and destroying the movement. Thus there is little left to be said about the sturdiness of the design that is coincidentally so beautiful and lusty, if for no other word that fits a description of this watch! The King Lear Stuhrling Original Automatic Skeleton Watch is a timeless, ageless meticulously crafted and sculpted designer watch, one that certainly does *not* belie its humble price tag of less than $200 or so here at Overstock.com. I can recommend the watch in either white-dial or gray-black dial styling with full confidence to anyone reading this rather lengthy review. I tried to touch on most of the interesting feelings and features that the Lear possesses to make it such an exceptional dress-up (mostly it is intended to be worn as such I think) watch, although an argument could be made for casual use also I suppose. The King Lear is a large-type watch with a 50+mm sized case, so buyer beware there if you have a small wrist or don't usually purchase such semi-gaudy (not said in a detrimental way at all) time pieces, but it will fulfill all the promises of value, fit and finish, movement accuracy, and an outrageously uniquely designed case, body, and band that surely defines the words "surgical stainless steel", albeit highly polished and/or satin finished in just the right places. You will be blown away with the absolutely perfect execution of the Lear's skeleton design, and how the individual internal pieces that are visible through the Krysterna crystals, front and exhibition back side, are put together with an artistic and precise manner of exposition; in short the watch does NOT want for glitz, glamour, sex appeal, and other virtues you want in a watch like this, why you're drawn to it in the 1st place! Out of 10 points, I give the King Lear in gray/black dial construction a solid "9" (or better if you pushed me for my real feelings about this particular Sturhling Original watch). It is a great entry-level purchase if you've never had one of this brand before-- it will set you up for further adventures in the lineup of such a vast variety that Sturhling makes, for virtually all price ranges up to the big, bad Swiss Turbillions that are at the top of their chain. By all means buy a King Lear if you are "on the fence" about whether or not to get one or not, it's not going to disappoint, and will surely give you the satisfaction in the investment that it gave yours truly: the Lear is a watch to have, not to want to have, so go about your shopping for this style watch all you want, but I doubt if you'll find anything to match the Lear's details, design, execution of the skeleton idea in total, altogether with an automatic movement that will astonish you with accuracy, the highest compliment any watch can give its owner. rexrzerdesign - 11-4-2012

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate overall
  • How accurate was the sizing? described in mm's size, sizing detail was pretty well done...actual product seems larger than the pictures allowed
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Virtually perfect execution of design, details are unique to Stuhrling designed watches, in short the product has few, if any faults
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You can't go wrong with a Stuhrling watch
 from Chicago, IL,  Oct 3, 2012

I bought my first Stuhrling watching from Overstock years ago and still get compliments on it. This watch is no different. It's an oversized face, but not so big that you have a frying pan on your wrist. I have a small wrist, so I stay away from the super large watch faces, this watch is a little bigger, but still looks great. It has the see through center that shows off the moving parts. It gives the watch a lot of character. It's a quality watch that looks great. I highly recommend it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly like the image on the website
  • How accurate was the sizing? Large watch face
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent qualtiy
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

stunning - much better in person! this is a collector's watch - a true show piece yet functional. very unique. Go for it!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • How accurate was the sizing? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful watch, great price!
 from Denver, CO,  Nov 10, 2011

I bought this watch for my boyfriend for his b-day and I was in awe the moment I opened the box! The box itself is awesome, and the watch is even better than I thought it would be. It is comparable to a $5000 watch, easy! Beautiful face & automatic movement. It's a steal for the price, I definitely recommend this watch!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as photo shown
  • How accurate was the sizing? Adjustable
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought