Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 60 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Watch . . . if only it worked
 from Virginia Beach, VA,  Jan 4, 2010

I bought this watch as a birthday present for my husband. He loves it. The large face is stricking and bold. The see-through backplate makes it fun.However, the first watch was doa. Overstock was extremely helpful with the return and exchange. The second watch worked for the first three months, then began to stop in the middle of the night. Yes, it is an automatic wind watch so we just shook it off. Then the time between taking it off and it stopping became ever shorter. Now the winding lasts an hour or two before it stops and must be reset.It has been less than three months since the replacement watch arrived and it no longer keeps accurate time. It now requires resetting multiple times a day.Yes, it is a beautiful watch. We hope and expect that Overstock or Sturling will resolve the problem. But until then it is a beautiful watch than keeps time poorly and cannot keep a wind for more than a few hours.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Watch Face Much Larger than Expected
 from Texas,  Dec 3, 2007

Overstock used to have a feature where they had a ruler next to the watch to show you the actual dimensions. The watch face on this particular watch is HUGE. Don't buy this watch unless you're 6'6" and 350 lbs. The watch itself runs beautifully and is striking in appearance. Bring back the ruler!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The whole experience was great. The watch is beautiful, but does have a larger dial than most watches. This is what I wanted but Buyer be ware. I really can't believe how great the service was! I ordered around 10 AM on Monday and by 11 AM on Tuesday watch was in my hand.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gorgeous watch
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jan 9, 2010

This really is a very handsome looking watch. With so many gold tone watches out there, wouldn't you really rather own a watch whose case was plated in silky rose gold? The selling point for me was that the face and the circle around the distinctive letters are identical to a copy of a Patek Phillipe battery watch that I word for about 25 years and that wore out. "Automatic" watches aren't without certain rules. I learned that by googling the words "Winding a watch with a jeweled movement" and also reading the instructional material that came with the watch. But don't be afraid of them. It is actually very difficult to "overwind" them, as had been my fear. If you are intrigued by this watch, I would say, go ahead and order it. Chances are, you will not be disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Temporary Watch
 from AR,  May 4, 2009

I bought this watch for one purpose. It is needed to take the place of my battery powered quartz watches while the batteries are being replaced. I wear these watches until all the batteries are worn out and then replace the batteries all at once. I went for two months without a watch the last time this happened. The watch had too satisfy three main criteria. 1) It had to be a wind up type of watch (no battery power), 2) it had to be easy to read, and 3) it should be very simple in terms of the watch movement (no fancy chrono type watch). This watch satisfies all three criteria and looks beautiful to boot. In fact, it looks better than any of my other watches with its very nice classic styling and interesting face design. I have been testing it for the last four days and it keeps very accurate time, only dropping behind about six seconds a day. Just a final note to those that think this watch is large. This is actually a small watch in terms of today's standards for a mans watch. It only has a 40mm case and 22mm strap. Many modern watches are 44mm or larger.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stuhrling Original Cuvette Mens Watch
 from San Diego, CA,  Mar 22, 2009

I purchased the Stuhrling watch for my husband as a 35th anniversary present. And when I recieved it I was so elated by it's beautiful qualities and the care given to the displaying of the watch I just couldnt wait to give it to him. He was so surprised with the watch and how absoutely beautiful it was. My husband loves watches and I must say this is his favorite. He loves the rose gold case on the watch and the beautiful dial. I took him to dinner and even the waitress complimented his handsome watch. I made the perfect choice and am so happy with the detail given in the craftmanship of this fine time piece. Thank you

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A stunning Stuhrling!
 from Columbus, OH,  Feb 14, 2008

I recently purchased this watch for my husband, for our fifth anniversary. I ordered it early, and was soooo taken by it when it arrived that I couldn't wait for our anniversary to give it to him, so I turned it into an early Valentine's Day gift instead! As other reviewers have mentioned, the design is simply breathtaking. The shape of the watch and the numbering is along traditional, conservative lines, but the background on the face (which catches the light beautifully as you move) and the blue hands add just enough of a modern take to make it evident that this is a very special timepiece. It is also a large watch, which looks absolutely perfect on my tall husband's wrist. The quality of the workmanship is clear, and I am thrilled to have found such a special piece at such a great price! I hope this watch lasts a long time, since my husband and I both adore it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Stunning Stuhrling Watch!!!
 from Albuquerque, New Mexico,  Jan 23, 2008

Well, ...I was anxious to received this Stuhrling Watch and when it arrived I got real excited, mainly because I never owned a mechanical watch before. When I opened the box, I was stunned by it's beauty, truly no picture can capture the beauty of this watch, you have to see in person to believe it! The wavy sun dial is mesmerizing! you seem to get lost in time simply looking at it yet the iridescent blue hands promptly remind you of the time and suddenly one of these come across your face!:-) The back of the case is semi-skeletal with a swinging pendulum, it¿s soooo cooool! ¿you get a real sense of quality with this watch. However, I have to tell you though, the feel of this watch is another dimension all of it¿s own. Do you now see why a picture is unable to capture this? And! ¿it all adds-up to the making of an heirloom, now that¿s really cool!¿I¿m sure to pass it on, even if it ever stops running, it will always remain timeless!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pure class
 from Long Island, NY,  Nov 27, 2007

This is my second Stuhrling and the thrill continues. First, the description of the watch proved to be meticulously accurate. Second, the picture fails to capture the unique design and extraordinary craftsmanship of the dial. Third, watch arrived almost immediately after the order was placed. Fourth, the modest price in no way reflects the quality or value. The watch is a beauty -- I recommend it without any reservation whatsoever. Be smart, buy it -- be smarter ,buy one for yourself and others for gifts.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I ordered this watch late Tuesday night and I had it in hand on Thursday morning. The watch is better looking than I expected. I thought it was very conservative looking on the website but it is more catchy with a 1 1/2" face, a very cool swirly background behind larger, raised numbers and the hands of the watch are really an iridescent blue, not navy. The back of the watch also has an opening where you can see the working mechanics. This is a gift for my brother-in-law but when my husband and I opened the package we both wished we had a Stuhrling of our own. This is a great watch that is tasteful, classy and still has a unique look.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stuhrling Cuvette
 from Indianapolis,  Nov 10, 2007

Beautiful watch! Easy to read and very thin for an automatic. The picture does not do it justice. I collect and wear all types of watches in all price ranges and this one is at the top...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classic watch
 from Miami, FL,  Jul 31, 2011

I received this Stuhrling Cuvette watch as a birthday present from my wife three week ago. Overstock shipping was great. It is a really pretty and elegant time piece, look like a classic watch built 50 years ago. There are two disappointments: The accuracy isn’t good, I shouldn’t wait similar accuracy as a quartz movement watch, but I need to set it up 4 min per week, the second one is the very minuscule size of the date window, it is difficult to read. The packaging itself is impressive. The watch looks very expensive...much more so than I paid for on Overstock! NICE. All in all I am pleased with my watch.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • How accurate was the sizing? Not very similar.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Watch
 from Washington, DC,  Feb 4, 2010

Really is a noticeably thinner movement and case than most other Stuhrling watches (I own four others). The dial is truly beautiful. The dial numbers look black and painted on in the website photo but they are actually raised numbers with lapped edges done in a very pleasing, pewter color. Removed the OEM black strap and added a nice brown genuine alligator strap and now it looks like a Patek Philippe at first glance. Sit back and let the complements roll in.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dead as a doorknob
 from Nappanee, IN,  Dec 4, 2009

It is sad to say that I have had to return this watch. I was very disappointed because this was my third watch purchsed from Overstock, and have been extremely pleased with the first two. When I wear them, I receive many compliments. This watch ran per the instructions for about three weeks. Then one evening at dinner I moved my left arm and the self-winding mechanism was clearly audible. Something also seemed to be very loose. Per the instructions, I wound the watch and if it was worn for most of the day it would stay running until the next day. After being able to hear the winding mechanism, taking off the watch for even a few minutes the watch would stop completely. So back it has gone. On a couple of other notes: 1) the rose gold is more pink than I would really like, and it is advertised as a thin case. It is not. When compared to my Movado which is about thickness of two credit cards, and my Jacques Lehman, this watch is not THIN.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impressive
 Dec 3, 2009

The packaging itself is impressive. The watch looks very expensive...much more so than I paid for on Overstock! NICE!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mens watch
 Oct 14, 2009

Bought this for my husband as a gift . It is a beautiful watch but a little large looking. My husband is happy and wears it to work every day. So far no problems.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this watch!
 from New Jersey,  Oct 10, 2009

Having been a long time owner of a Tag Heuer which eventually just wore out I spent the intervening years with cheap 'last two years' watches which suited my purpose. However my wife bought me this Stuhrling for my 50th birthday and, to be quite honest, it is perfect.I needed an easy to read face and the face is very high contrast with larger numbers, I've seen people at the airport glance at the watch for the time as it is easy to see across a room. That said it is also beautifully designed and made and I am really sorry I didn't get one years ago.I'm going to get another of the same design this year, maybe a different color but just as likely to get this same one. The reason is that I wear the watch ALL the time and I sometimes forget to take it off when doing manual labor, swimming in the ocean etc. While it is still great looking I've scratched the case so I'd like one to only wear now and again. Going forward If I buy one for a present I will be buying the Stuhrlings.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gets compliments
 from New York, NY,  Aug 21, 2009

I got this watch as a present (OK, I asked for it). When I wear it I keep getting compliments, mostly to the effect of "that looks like a very expensive watch." I was a bit wary of the rose-tinted gold tone, but it's fairly restrained. The wavy pattern on the face is also a touch of subtle elegance, and the blued hands are simply beautiful. The watch itself is a bit heavy, as are most self-winding watches, and I'm no fan of the oversized face look, but this watch can pull it off. The curved back helps keep it from being uncomfortable on my wrist. It keeps good time, really the only time I need to set it is if I haven't worn it for a couple of days, or at the beginning of months with fewer than 31 days, to adjust the date.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Watch
 from McLean, VA,  Mar 25, 2009

This watch arrived quickly and is stunning. The box makes this watch easy to store, and a perfect gift for anyone with a great presentation. The watch itself looks great, and seems to work perfectly. I have had it for a month and am extremely pleased. One caution -- someone else posted this as well -- the watch is for someone with very large wrists. I had a jeweler add another hole and it is probably still too loose. With the large face and large band, if you have small wrists this is not the watch for you. I would describe myself as average size -- and the face still covers my entire wrist and the band is extremely large. But that's a minor complaint for an overall excellent purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Happy Watch Collector
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Dec 19, 2008

Words can not describe my glee when this watch arrived yesterday evening. This is the first Stuhrling that I have purchased. The gift box that it arrived in was tasteful and presented the watch handsomely. The photograph that Overstock.com uses does not serve this watch justice. The face is ornate yet at the same time simple and conservatively done. You will easily gain compliments while wearing this time piece. The face is also large enough to easily glance down and quickly tell time. Thus far, the piece is keeping perfect time and is working like a charm. As I stated before this is my first Stuhrling and it will certainly will not be my last!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 60 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top