Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Beautiful necklace
 from Chicago, IL,  Sep 19, 2006

The pearls were really beautiful and looked better than AA grade. They were more radiant, larger, and had less blemishes than the AA grade black pearls I purchased for $90 from a jewelry store. The only problem I noticed is that I dislike fishhook clasps. They are really secure and great in case it accidentally comes undone, the necklace won't fall off, but the side where the hook is has scratched the pearl on the end. I guess no one really sees it, but it is just not a good clasp for such delicate pearls. And for anyone buying black freshwater pearls, they should know that "black" pearls are not literally black. They are dyed black but still have the regular iridescence of an undyed pearl, which gives it that rainbow/peacock color. Even Tahitian pearls, which are naturally black, contain a metallic to rainbow-like sheen. Also, real pearls are never perfectly round! The only perfectly round pearls are fake ones. Nature is not perfect. So all the bad reviewers need to educate themselves before purchasing pearls.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely pearls
 Jan 6, 2011

These pearls are a good size and length with a lovely iridescent sheen. A classy look that has been updated. My mother wanted black pearls for Christmas, and this was my gift. She loves them!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Below Average
 from Charlotte, NC,  Oct 12, 2010

Arrived fairly quickly, however the necklace was shipped in a padded envelope. Inside was a plastic bag containing the pearls - Not a huge deal, but I would think they should be in a box. Pearls were many different colors. The image on the web site does not represent the actual item.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful
 May 27, 2010

The strand of pearls is gorgeous. My wife absolutely loved it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pretty
 from CA,  May 24, 2010

I bought these pearls as a mother's day gift. They were very pretty, had a nice weight, and actually had kind of a purple hue to them. My mother absolutely loved them, and I've noticed that she wears them all the time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous
 from OregonDuck,  Feb 12, 2010

I can't say enough how beautiful these black pearls are. The picture doesn't come close to their actual beauty. The rainbowing is plentiful, and in greens, pinks, some grays, even a few bluish rainbows. I will treasure these all my life. Also, the strand is made very strongly. It won't break with proper care. If you buy this, you won't be sorry, I promise.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Disappointing
 from Wheeling, WV,  Feb 7, 2010

This is the first item with Overstock that I have returned...and I couldnt get them sent back fast enough....they shouldnt be called black pearls...more like shinny glass beads in dark green, bluish tint and purple attempting to pass as black pearls. I had purchased them as a gift and would have been embarrassed to give them . Beware of this one!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall - pretty average
 from Pittsburgh,  May 27, 2008

I did not think they even looked like real pearls - very mono-chromactic, but I guess given the price they were fine. I wish there was some certificate saying they were real.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Value
 from Jersey,  Mar 12, 2008

Pearls were almost flawless. Solid weight and the coloring was beautiful. Definatley worth the money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor color
 Feb 5, 2008

The necklace was certainly not black. If I had to guess, I would say it was more along the lines of grayish green. I certainly would not recommend this to anyone I know, and believe it to be overpriced for what it is. It was, however, just a bit better than a bracelet of the same color; but the two did not in any way match. We were truly disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
black pearls
 from west point,pa,  Jan 15, 2008

I have ordered 4 sets of these over the years. This set was dull and had 2 flaws in a row! I sent them back and within days had the set that I was expecting! If you order make sure you get what you ordered!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I was disappointed in this item. The jewelry bag it came with was cheap looking and felt cheap - is this even real cloth? The necklace is strung on some material that is not silky or flexible, but is rather stiff so the necklace does not conform to the body of the wearer. The individual pearls are fine for the price, but they need to be re-strung. I was a bit embarrassed to give this gift.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice pearls
 from NJ,  Jan 1, 2008

NIce pearls. I wanted a set of black pearls for myself, but couldn't afford the best of the best. These are nice, great for the price. Most of the string are uniform, although there are a few here and that that are a little misshapen. And I get a lot of compliments on the colors - irridescent blues and greens - very pretty.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
THESE ARE QUITE CLASSY
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Nov 13, 2007

This a beautiful set of 'black pearls' for the price. Granted it's not a AAA first class natural black pearl necklace... still for the price, you couldn't do better. It is individually hand knotted between each large pearl with the same gold clasp a necklace four times the price would have. When you're looking for a top quality piece of jewelry for evening wear... this is the anxwer. Really, quite beautiful.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
buyer beware
 from new york, ny,  Dec 27, 2006

I had to return these peals, what arrived was a string of very lumpy pitted pearls, lots of flaws. If you are buying something for a child, this might be a good choice, or someone with poor eyesite who won't notice, but I wouldn't (and didn't) give these to a girlfriend or wife.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top