Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

 from San Diego,  Jan 30, 2006

I felt compelled to respond to the prior reviewer who apparently received a sub-standard strand of pearls. I have now ordered 3 (yes 3) of these strands and they have all been excellent (close to blemish free and no pits). They are exceptionally well matched in color and luster (amazing for pearls which are a challenge to match). A well-known and reputable pearl retailer added new clasps on my strands so that all three fit together seamlessly, allowing me to wear the strands in more than 40 different configurations. I would not be wearing these all together if they were not a near-perfect match in size, luster and color. This same retailer gave me a complete written appraisal when they added the clasps to two of the three strands (I purchased the third one later). The two strands appraised for $10,000- that's $5,000/strand for pearls which cost me $829/strand (actually less than this because I purchased them during a sale). This is in line with the $3,900/strand appraisal I received from another pearl specialty retailer. The written appraisal confirmed they are AA pearls with high lustre, thick nacre, 90% matching (the highest percentage) and round shape. To the other reviewer I can only suggest returning the sub-par strand and ordering a new one because all 3 strands I've received have been better than anything I could ever have expected. I am grateful to Overstock for allowing me to purchase the pearls of my dreams for an unheard-of price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from San Diego, California,  Jan 30, 2006

When I opened the pouch I was amazed at the luster and obvious quality (*very* few blemishes, absolutely no pits) of this strand. After inspecting it closely, I immediately took it to a specialty pearl shop (i.e., direct importers from Japan, does all their own stringing in-house, has gorgeous things [many over $10k], and really fair prices but never "sales"). I spoke with the manager who advised me that these were a very nice strand indeed. Virtually all the pearls are 8.5mm (he checked them with a digital millimeter gauge), have fine luster, are exceptionally "clean," and are extremely well matched. His only negatives were that they are very slightly off round in shape and are a creamy-rose rather than a white-rose color. The color is quite beautiful (NOT at all yellow) but white rose is apparently more popular now (preferences change over time). He gave me a written valuation for the pearls based on the price I would have to pay to purchase an equal strand at his very good prices The verdict: $3,900! One note: pearls over 8 mm are like diamonds 1 carat and over-- much more valuable than those just under that mark. If you want a fine addition to your jewelry wardrobe buy the 8/8.5 mm strand; you will never regret it. Moreover, 8 mm is a better choice for the long haul because smaller pearls, while lovely, start looking a little "skimpy" on a more mature woman. Thank you Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NIce necklace
 from Gilbert, AZ,  Dec 26, 2008

I spent quite a while researching pearls as I knew nothing when I started. I know a bit more now, but not enough to say I know alot. These pearls though met all expectations that I had for them. No blemishes that I could detect with the naked eye and I haven't put them under a scope nor will I. My wife adores them and I am very happy. The quality exceeds the price. I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a good buy
 from CT,  Dec 17, 2007

The pearls I ordered arrived today. I used a magnifying glass and found no pits and no real blemishes. They even looked good when held next to a strand of mikimoto pearls that I own. I had been looking at a similar strand at a local jewelers and they were priced at $1200 (on sale from $1800). I am very happy with this strand of pearls.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from Chicago, IL,  Sep 12, 2007

I bought this pearl necklace for my mother's 60th birthday. Price: It was the best price, by far, on the internet after a 10% coupon -- and it still would have been the best price without the coupon. Appearance: The pearls were matched very well. The color was very white, with just a tinge of rose. No yellow whatsoever. Very close up, there were small imperfections in each pearl, but there were no major pits or bumps. When she put the necklace on, I couldn't see any imperfections at all. The lustre was not as good as I had hoped, but still very nice. I think for the price point, it's about as good as it can get. The clasp was tricky and not very substantial, but for the price, I can't complain. Also, as I read in a previous review, the pearls were knotted very closely. However, when the necklace was worn, it was not noticeable. Overall, my mother was very happy with the gift. I don't think there's a better value out there for a necklace of this quality. If you have the money to spend on a AAA Akoya necklace, then it may be worth it for the better lustre. Otherwise, this is a wonderful necklace.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Superb pearls
 from California,  May 18, 2006

I have many fine pieces of jewelry. When I saw the size of these akoya pearls for the price, I did not hesitate to purchase them and I was not disappointed. These are extremely well-matched in color and size, with few, if any blemishes. The nacre is excellent. Well worth the money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from California, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Just today my pearl necklace arrived. I immediately took it to my local jeweler's for an appraisal. The first words out of the aprraiser's mouth were, "These are GORGEOUS!" He got out the store's roll of about 20 other strands and said, "Let me see if I have anything as big or as nice..." He didn't. He appraised this necklace at "between $4,000 and $5,000." I'm keeping this strand!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pearl strand
 from PA,  Jun 19, 2010

I had high hope for this necklace because of all the good reviews. But it is really a big disappointment. No way these pearls are grade AA. There are noticeable flaws in every one of them. I am returning it for sure.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Akoya Pearl Strand
 from Tucson, AZ,  Jun 19, 2009

These pearls are lovely. This is the best pricing for this quality of pearl necklace I have found anywhere.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
special birthday gift
 from eastern Oregon,  May 17, 2009

I purchased this necklace for my daughter's birthday, I am very, very pleased with my purchase. I did a bit of research and I believe this necklace to be an excellent value.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Texas,  Jan 30, 2007

A beautiful pearl necklace. Local appraisal set at $1,600.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from CA,  Jan 30, 2006

Very disappointing, especially after reading the previous comments from other buyers. The strand is noted too tight, but not very noticable when worn. However, the pearls have many pits. Not worth the $800 I expected.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top