Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
pretty cool but bulky
 from fort worth tx,  Sep 7, 2010

would give it five stars if the hands lit up in the dark very different watch though distinctive it is rather bulky but not too much so to be a complete nuisance

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AS Bright
 from Monterey, CA,  Feb 15, 2010

Overall the watch looks great but I was disappointed the hands were not luminous.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beauty
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Mar 19, 2009

I just received this watch today and its a real beauty. I've already received compliments on it and I like the styling and size. The watch is very easy to read (not sure about lume yet) and is not too heavy on the wrist. I'm thinking about getting the green model also. I highly recommend this watch to anyone on the fence about it. Nice bang for your buck. Not too sure about durability as I just got it, but the crystal is recessed so that will help against scratches.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This is a comfortable, large (but not huge) watch that is very easy to read (even without my reading glasses-except for the date). It is very attractive, simple, and people will never guess you paid so little - unless you decide to tell them. Even the band is great looking, well made, flexible, and supple and it feels even better than it looks. Twenty years ago, I liked wearing a multi-dial chronograph. It was distinctive and unique (and functional). These days, almost all chronographs (or worse, fake chronographs) are just common, unremarkable, and often highly unattractive. It's really not easy to find a simple, distinctive, attractive watch with only three hands, one dial, and no buttons. I was very happy when I found this watch. I also like that this watch has no rotating bezel with or without a tachometer, slide rule, or even minute markings. You may not share my opinion but I think bezels on most watches today tend to be both ugly and useless. If you share my opinion, you will be pleased with the simple, clean lines that seem to only be found on the most expensive of watches. I have always appreciated the look of analog aviation instruments and the distinctive shape of their pointers (hands). This watch emulates those old aviation instruments and the font used for the numbers (6, 9, 12) on this watch is very distinctive and clear as a Bell. It was a hard choice for me to make between this model and the August Steiner Bright Men's Quartz watch with the silver case, white numbers, and brown strap. I finally went with this watch because I really wanted a black watch (case and face) and I already had a similar looking watch with a silver case with a luminous face. What I really was looking for was this watch (black case and strap) with white markings (instead of yellow). I am not disappointed with yellow markings - I just would have preferred white. Just because it would have looked a bit more like the old analog aviation instruments. There is one (small) thing that I don't like about this watch - something I have seen in very many (if not most) other quartz watches. As the second hand ticks away, it does not always stop precisely at the center of each minute mark. Sometimes I will see it stop exactly between two minute marks, tick again and once again stop exactly between two minute marks. Then, at some point the second hand "catches up" and stops, perfectly centered on a minute mark. There must be some "play" in the mechanism which I'm guessing would significantly increase the cost to correct. That's no reason to decide not to get this watch. In fact, it's probably a nit-picky thing to bring up. That is why I only gave this watch 4 stars for appearance. If I could have given it 4 stars, I would as most people might not ever notice. If you're on the fence about this watch, let me just say that I am quite happy with this purchase and I think you will be too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mackster55
 from Florida,  Dec 18, 2013

I am just getting into wearing watches and this watch was a good choice for me. it is a good quality watch.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
August Steiner Bright Men's Quartz watch.
 from paul motta from Broomall, Pa. 19008,  Oct 15, 2013

Large numbers and hands. The wrist ban was and still is rather stiff. I noticed that the stitching on the wrist band was not consistent. I guess that is why it was sold at a discount. Even with these minuses, the watch is a very good time piece. I wear it with pride, just like my yankee watch. It is a good buy for someone for a birthday gift. They will thank you.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Any old pilot would be glad to have this product as a gift.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the sizing? Dead On.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Couldn't ask for more.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Time
 from Ft. Myers, Fl,  Sep 21, 2011

I needed a watch that could easily be read in a dimmly lit room. This watch does that and keeps excellant time.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? true
  • How accurate was the sizing? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good watch!
 from San Diego, CA,  Sep 7, 2011

Great product for the price. Can weare it almost anywhere. If they could add luminescence then it will be great watch to have.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the sizing? A little bigger
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bigger isn't always better
 from San Angelo, TX,  Jul 15, 2011

I returned the watch, the face on the watch was gigantic, it looked like a wall clock on my wrist. It is a beautiful watch and I wish it had a smaller face.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looked much smaller then it is.
  • How accurate was the sizing? OK
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seemed to be alright
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Casual Timepiece
 from Chicago, IL,  Oct 19, 2010

The bold, large-faced and well-constructed watches I really wanted cost more than *** (even duty free in Switzerland). Therefore, I was very please to run into this beauty on Overstock. It looks great, has a very solid feel, and seems to be well built. I wish the hands glowed in the dark, and I wish it was easier to manage the date. Still, I'd buy it again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
time for all occasions
 from southren california,  Jul 20, 2010

This is the 2nd steiner watch I have purchased. One for myself and one for a nephew headed to college. High quality and perfect blend of casual elegance. Plan to buy more in the future.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Steiner Watch
 from Staten Island, NY,  May 28, 2010

A beautiful watch...Recieved many complents. Sporty but elegant.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Watch review
 from Pasadena, MD,  May 26, 2010

Great watch, well made, but not too heavy, bright yellow tick marks and numbers make for very easy to reading. I may spring for the green companion watch to add to my collection.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice watch
 from New Hampshire,  Apr 25, 2010

Nice watch. I ended up changing out the band to a longer one, because it was a little short. Also, this watch is pretty thick. Check the dimensions against a watch that you own now, just to get an idea of how thick it is.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just right
 Dec 3, 2009

i just got this piece today and it is awesome. it's totally worth the money..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a watch that wears many hats
 from ft lauderdale fl,  Dec 12, 2008

this bright watch can go from playtime to better than business casual in a second!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought