Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Beautiful watch, but QC needs work
 from Iowa City, IA,  Jun 8, 2014

I love everything about the aesthetics of this watch. The hand and gear movement is very nice. Band is easily adjustable and comfortable. As another reviewer noted, having a luminescent dial would have been useful, but oh well. The one big complaint I have was that the watch stopped working a couple weeks after I received it. After reading reports of Akribos' customer service being terrible, I found a local company that was able to repair it for $30. The repairman mentioned one of the hands was falling off the center post (I saw someone else had this problem too). After getting it repaired, I have had no more problems with it. It is my daily wearer.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful watch
 from Boston, Mass,  Aug 21, 2013

This is a beautiful watch. Great value. As a watch collector I am very happy with this purchase. It doesn't need a battery. Just wear it and it winds itself. Very tired of putting on a watch only to find the battery is dead. You'll never have that problem with this one. I have many watches and love the fact this one doesn't need a battery. Totally recommend.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant looks & affordable design.
 from Boynton Beach, FL,  Aug 3, 2013

Cool design & choice of materials, colors, & textures. The skeleton design is eye catching & gets many compliments. However, I'm not a big fan of the automatic winding feature & function. Unless you want this watch for daily wear rather than formal wear, I found the watch stopped between uses. Also the instructions supplied were minimal at best. There was no indication as to how much or often it should be wound. I have a collection of watches so I don't always wear the same watch & that means every time I want to use this one I have to set & wind it. Otherwise this watch is very cool & the Overstock.com price seems fair, but I would never pay the advertised retail price for this watch.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great watch
 from Buffalo,NY,  Aug 2, 2013

Watch looked and worked great, and met all my expectations

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was what I expected
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

My wife gave me this watch as an anniversary present earlier this month. I love the watch, it is quite beautiful and just what I was looking for. I have had two problems, first the band broke and second the watch has stopped self winding. I was able to find a replacement piece for the band and have it working so I still wear the watch daily. Every morning I wind the watch by hand because the self winder doesn't. If I didn't have these two problems with the watch it would be the ideal watch for me. I have called *** and left them a voice mail and have left them a message on their site. So far it's been two weeks and no response from them. Please call me or email me *** as I love the watch but want a working one.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish Watch
 from Tampa, FL,  Apr 30, 2013

This is my second Akribos watch. I love it - looks and feels good. I receive many compliments when I wear it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent - both appearance and function.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great watch!
 from IL,  Apr 23, 2013

This watch took my breath away when I first opened it. I got this watch for my boyfriend's and I 5th year anniversary. He LOVED it and so does everyone at his work. This watch is worth the price and really amazing. Great quality and he seems to be very comfortable with the band. If your thinking about getting your loved one a great watch, then here you go! Truly breath taking!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate
  • How accurate was the sizing? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy
 from Cape Town, South Africa,  Mar 28, 2013

Got the watch and was instantly surprised with the quality of the product. For an automatic watch, at this price it was a great buy and I am so happy with my purchase!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfecr Quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking watch, but would not keep time
 from Fort Wayne, IN,  Feb 4, 2013

This purchase was very disappointing as it looked great (both in the catalogue and when it arrived). It was a shock that it did not keep time as I have three others from overstock.com that work great. Overstock.com was good about getting the watch returned and I look forward to getting a replacement that keeps perfect time.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looked perfect (as hands were not moving)
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality looked good, but regardless of what I did, it would keep stopping after 10 to 20 minutes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it, BUT...
 from Tustin, ca,  Jan 8, 2013

I love this watch! I get mesmerized staring at it and I get many compliments on it. I didnt have the automatic winding problems that some other people commented on and it holds time very well as long as Im wearing it. I gave it 45 turns out of the box and unless I leave it laying out for a day or two unworn, its holds time without my wearing it. I didnt have any clasp problems either, quite the contrary, my clasp is very secure and was slightly hard to resize because of it (i did it myself). My only COMPLAINTS are that the band, while beautiful rubs part of my wrist raw because the chain on one end is sharp (i fixed with a light layer of hot glue that would peel off if I wanted to remove it). my other complaint is that the hour indicators for 12,6,9,3 are slightly misaligned which didnt bother me enough to return it, but is noticeable if I stare at it for any length of time. If you're wondering, like my gf was, that the blue might make the watch look cheap, dont frett because it absolutely doesnt. My favorite watch.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? the image was excellent minus 2 elements. 1st-the watch is much more beautiful in person, 2nd-at least on mine, the hour markers 12,3,6,9 are slightly misaligned.
  • How accurate was the sizing? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome watch
 from Midland, tx,  Jan 4, 2013

Awesome watch. A little fast if wound up tight but it makes up for it overnight I suppose. Haven't had any issues with the watch stopping ever since I've had it. The wrist band matches my Tiffany bracelet and ring right on also. Definitely recommended.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image doesn't do the actual watch any justice. Looks tons better in person
  • How accurate was the sizing? Is adjustable so...
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awesome
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Average at Best
 from pennsylvania,  Sep 5, 2012

Was not happen with how the clasp functioned. Seemed frail and would not stay clasped,

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? fair
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good. Sticky on time.
 from Dallas, TX,  Aug 14, 2012

Overall the watch looked great, felt great and was an eye catcher. There was one issue with it - it wouldn't keep time properly. Since it is an automatic watch it requires to be wound up and also the natural movement of one's wrist would keep the watch moving. However as much cranking and movement, the watch never kept time properly. It would stop every 20-45 minutes, especially if my wrist wasn't moving (such as periods of time where i would be typing on a keyboard. I fly a lot for my job and it's not like I'm moving around a lot. By the end of a 50 minute flight the watch would have stopped. What appears to happen is the automatic "weight" that is supposed to fall to the bottom (gravity) and naturally crank the watch wouldn't do its job. It appears that it would stick a lot. This is a common review I noticed and thought it wouldn't happen to me... though it did. I asked a friend who is a know-all on higher end watches and he mentioned that it probably needed to be tuned up by a professional (like applying oil to the gears). Automatic watches should only need to be wound maybe once a month. He said that since the watch was most likely bough in bulk by Overstock it was sitting dormant for a long period of time and causing the oil to dry and gears to stall. I returned the watch and am waiting for a refund. Went back to the Quartz battery watch style instead.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks better in person versus the online picture
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate and easy to adjust the band
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality though spotty service
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sexy!!!!
 from Silverdale, WA,  Aug 7, 2012

Great Head Turner... Just remember to set the time again if you leave it sitting for a while.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the sizing? Easy adjustment
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Amazing
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This watch is gorgeous
 from Palm Beach, FL,  Jul 4, 2012

I read the reviews and decided to take a chance and boy am I happy. Ordered for my husband and this watch is absolutely beautiful, it looks expensive and the quality shows. My husband loves it and everyone who sees it compliments it. So far keeps time perfect, so even with the review about his watch slowing at times this watch would be worth taking to a jeweler to get it cleaned/oiled. Highly recommended and fast shipping. Love Overstock!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Watch
 from Orlando, FL,  Feb 24, 2012

The only problem that I had with this watch was the first one that was sent had been used already. Product was scratched and on the face of the watch and clasp. Overstock immediately sent out a new one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Watch looks better in person
  • How accurate was the sizing? Easy to size
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good product for the money
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Akribos Watch
 from Warner Robins, GA,  Jan 19, 2012

This is a beautiful watch. It is very intricate with layered workings. It is stunning to look at and keeps perfect time.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the sizing? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. superior quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty doesn't count for everything
 from Dallas, TX,  Jan 11, 2012

This watch is kind of like that person that is really pretty, but just doesn't have much going on upstairs. I was tempted to continue the trend of rating this watch highly because it is great for what it is. It is an 'entry level' (which is really just a euphemism for low end) automatic movement timepiece with styling that draws attention to its prettiness and away from the fact that is probably isn't showing the correct time. I have several Akribos/Stuhrling watches (read somewhere that they are the same 'movements', internals, guts, or whatever you want to call them). Only one of them has not troubled me with stopping while completely wound. I spoke to a man at a high end watch store about my little toy of a watch (compared to what was under his glass counter tops) and he said that these mass produced timepieces sit on the shelves long enough to effectively 'dry up.' He cracked it open, oiled it, and I haven't had any problems with it since. The others that have occasionally frozen up just needed some exercise when they were new. I kept them wound and spinning for a couple weeks and they work fine most of the time now. When they freeze you can jiggle the minute hand w/ the winding knob and it should start up again. If not, a watch shop can open it, lube it, and get it started again. If you subscribe to the school of thought that we no longer live in an era when watches must provide utility (because we have cellphones and clocks all around us that display super accurate times), and can now serve the purpose of jewelry by being more artistic and decorative than useful, then this watch is a great choice. I've worn it for a week and have already received numerous compliments on it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very Accurate. Its a prettier in person
  • How accurate was the sizing? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Low End Automatic Movement
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Watch dosent work well
 from Delray Beach Florida,  Aug 10, 2011

It looks beautiful, but it stops working and freezes. Its a self-winding watch (mechanical) and it was working when I recieved it. Once I wore it I noticed a few hours later that it stoped working about an hour prior. I reset the time but the internals didnt spin. A few days later it worked again and I wore it but it stopped again. I complained and wanted to return it but all the reshipment and the evaluation and inspection and the charge to me for shipping it back made internet purchases very frustrating. Ill just keep the watch and wear it when it works :(

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Bad quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stunning
 from NY,  Jun 11, 2011

Bought the watch as a birthday gift for my boyfriend, he LOVES it! Every time he wears it people comment it and ask where he got it. : ) Definitely one of my best gifts till date.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yes
  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top