Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 204 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 11 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great neutral base adds casual elegance to a room
 from Northwestern PA,  Oct 6, 2012

I love this rug! I've been very pleased with this purchase. It was easy on the budget, and it allowed me to add texture and a more casual feel to my formal dining room. You can visit my blog to see detailed photos I took of the rug after I first purchased it here: http://www.thewriterandresidence.com/dining-room-rug-photos/. I bought the rug over a year ago when I began my dining room makeover, and it has really held up well. You can see photos of how the rug looks in my finished dining room here: http://www.thewriterandresidence.com/virtual-tour-dining-room/. I think the rug is really rich-looking—there are very subtle variations in the color, which give it added dimension and interest. The rug is quite thick too! (I did, however, order the recommended rug pad as well.) Like several other reviewers have noted, because this is a natural fiber rug, there was a faint odor at first (nothing unpleasant at all) which quickly dissipated. There was some slight shedding initially, but this has also subsided. The rug cleans up well (I vacuum it regularly, with my vacuum set on "medium pile" to protect the weave). In summary, a great purchase, and I'm considering ordering another one when I tackle my upstairs bedrooms next!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Online photos represented the color of the actual product well.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I love the rug. It is exactly as I expected, except softer - which is nice. The only caveat is that this rug MUST have a carpet pad underneath it as it will scratch the hardwoods beneath it. I learned this the hard way. I should have known this, so I can't slam the rug for it. Great rug and order the pad.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was as expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I love the rug. It appears to be of good quality for the price point.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description is accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The picture was changed after I ordered it.
 from Miami, Florida,  Feb 20, 2012

I cannot believe this is the same rug that people bought before and wrote those great reviews about it. I'm not such a difficult customer and i find the rug to be beyond rustic. it has extremely uneven loops and so many loose ones. The picture that I remember seeing on the website is no longer there, the one that is there now is much closer in color to the real rug but I never saw that picture before ordering. I honestly think that there is something wrong with this rug in particular or reviews are no real.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? duller
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not so good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not so good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, rustic rug
 from Colorado,  Jan 18, 2012

This rug is very rustic, with a chunky, thick fiber and a large bouclé weave. It's reversible which is an advantage over latex-backed natural fiber rugs. If the decor you like is country, cottage, beach house, casual, or natural, you'll love it. If you like more elegant, formal, or refined decor, you won't like it. Some customers have mentioned an odor, which mine does not have, and I just received it today. I replaced a smaller sisal rug I purchased on OS about 6 years ago, and I like the look of this one much better. Another quality worth mentioning: my two cats haven't shown any interest in scratching on it, which they loved to do on the sisal rug. I'm very pleased with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is good -- if it had fewer loose loops in the weave, it would be excellent.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unbelievable!
 from Illinois,  Sep 14, 2011

After ordering this rug it arrived quickly and before unwrapping it I started to feel guilty. I was redesiging a large bedroom and had most everything else done and was feeling like I should not have splurged on the rug. I was considering sending it back before I even opened it. But decided to just unroll and look at it. Thats all it took. The rug is down permanently and it is absolutely gorgeous. I was going for a beachy/earthly look to the bedroom and it turned out better than I imagined. I did the walls in venetian plaster; a pretty light tan color, ordered 70" bamboo shades from Overstock for the 2 large windows and a tan matelasse bedspread and white matelasse coverlette from **** for the bed. Painted 2 old dressers a creamy linen color, installed pepple tile on top of them and hung white billowing sheer drapes on the sides of the shades. The rug made the room and brought the whole look together. I'm not disappointed nor do I feel guilty anymore. It does have a grassy smell, but it doesn't bother me and I'm sure it will fade with time....after all it is jute. Not sure how to handle spots or spills but since this is a guest bedroom I'm hoping to get many years of use from it. I believe its the fringe on this rug that sets it apart from the others. The shine from the venetian plaster along with the roughness of the jute rug and bamboo shades give the room so much texture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superb
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking rug, not so good quality
 from San Diego, CA,  Sep 15, 2012

This rug is nice to look at. That's about it. We have it in our living room. The color is beautiful. That being said, everyone in my family hates this rug. It sheds worse than a dog. It is not comfortable to sit or walk on...although it is softer than some jute rugs like the ones at pottery barn. The loops are coming undone in a lot of areas. If you have kids especially a baby the fringe at the ends becomes frayed and crazy looking. If it were only adults they probably wouldn't push things over it and such. This rug is definitely not for children. And if you like to sit on the floor than go for something more comfortable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it, love it, love it
 from Jamestown, NY,  Mar 30, 2011

Ordered this rug for my tropical motif bedroom, arrived in four days and I love it. The nubby texture feels GREAT on your feet and the color is a very nice earthy blend. There is a slight fragrance which reminds me of the beach and is not offensive. It is a heavy rug and I'm sure will last for years. I would certainly recommend it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rug that Transforms a Room!
 from Spokane, Wa,  Dec 14, 2011

This jute carpet transformed my room. As an area carpet over oak floors, it is fantastic. I love the naturalness of it. Some other reviewers said that it had to air out and for some it shed a bit at first, but I didn't have either issue. I couldn't be happier with it. I smile every time I walk into the room!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to color on site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and practical
 from Pawcatuck, CT,  Oct 20, 2011

I've had this rug for close to one month. I have been hesitant to put a rug under my kitchen table due to having three small boys. The great thing about this rug is you can't see anything that falls onto it! It hides messes very well. I just vacuum it regularly to make sure it gets cleaned. I think the color variance within the rug is beautiful and the fringe adds a nice touch. It feels great under my feet - not soft, but comfortable. It is really just what I was looking for. There are a few places where small tufts of the rug have come loose which is why I gave this product 4 stars instead of 5. But, this could be due to my cat scratching at it, although I have yet to catch him doing it. I have placed a scratch post near it to offset that problem, but it is something to be aware of.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the natural feel!
 from Seattle, WA,  Feb 8, 2012

I love the natural look of this rug. I put a cowhide on top of it and it looks amazing! Love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Some of the loops are not completely looped, but somewhat expected with the chunkiness of this rug
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rug falls apart
 from Queens, NY,  Oct 17, 2013

This rug is awful. We picked it up because it looked really nice and when we put it underneath the dining room table it did. We bought it in August and every time I vacuumed it seemed that there was real soot underneath the rug. No matter how much or often i cleaned, the dirt would not get better. I finally threw it out last weekend out of frustration and someone told me that the rug itself was probably falling apart. It also made marks of the rug pattern on my newly redone wood floors. weird.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Size is a lie
 from Richmond, VA,  Mar 13, 2013

I love this rug - the way it looks and the way it feels under my feet. The only downside was that it was 8x11, not 8x10 as described and as tagged. Even if you didn't count the tassels, it would have been at least 10.5'. The room it resides in is 10x11, so the tassels hit the toe moulding. It isn't a perfect fit, but it is a gorgeous rug, so we're definitely keeping it - we were just very surprised that the measurement was an entire foot off. Could have stretched in transit since it is jute I guess.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was slightly darker than in the photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Inaccurate. Rug was actually 8x11, not 8x10.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Negative review
 from Greenville SC,  Jan 11, 2012

I bought this rug to use on my hardwood floor. The carpet released a type of sand continuously until I noticed that the floor was permanently marked by the carpet. I would only recommend this product for concrete wood deck surfaces it ruined my hardwoods

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was close to the site color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the Quality was only good for out door use
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from DE,  Oct 20, 2011

You wont be disappointed! Gave my livingroom a warm and cosy feel that I was looking for.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description is accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
area rug review
 Sep 21, 2010

I am well pleased with the rug. It looks great in our extra bedroom. I would buy it again, and I would recommend Overstock.com to others. As I need additional items for my home, I will continue to shop the O!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fills my space with earthy, rugged warmth!!
 from Frankenmuth, mi,  Dec 9, 2013

A rug this large for less than $XXX is robbery, and I almost feel guilty...nah. It has a great knobby texture that almost feels like a foot massage as you walk, until you get to those couple spots where a twig got woven in, oh well, its VERY natural, and easy enough to pull the bark out. It readily unrolled onto my dining room floor, with minimal kinks, shipping was very quick. Thank you overstock!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Rug For the Money
 from IN,  Oct 10, 2013

I have been very pleased with this rug purchase! It's thick and very chunky, but your feet get used to it, and it actually feels like a little massage when you walk on it. The colors are great for not showing stains. It does have a slight grassy smell, but even that is fading over time. Great rug!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Highly recommend
 from Northeast,  Aug 16, 2013

After reading reviews, I decided on this rug and could not be happier. The rug is incredibly thick and sturdy. I have 3 large dogs, so this is important, but also has a slight softness to it. It looks absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend this rug to anyone looking for a durable, yet aesthetically pleasing floor covering! (****however, because this rug is so thick and chunky, I'm not sure it would be good for small children to crawl on. It is a thick textured rug.)

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful rug
 from Enterprise, OR,  Jun 7, 2013

This is a beautiful rug. Everyone compliments it when they come into my office. Nice and thick. I just love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Picture does not do it justice!
 from East Coast, NC,  Feb 11, 2012

After my MIL purchased this rug, I had to get one for myself! The price compared to so many other jute rugs we shopped for was great, but the quality when it came was even better! The picture shows a thin and floppy looking rug. The actual rug is nice and thick with a very fine quality. I will say it needs to be aired out before you place it in the desired location. It had a mildew smell when the plastic came off. Which is to be understood since it is made from rope. But do keep this in mind.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 204 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 11 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top