For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 91 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Man I'm lazy
 from Chicago,  Apr 7, 2010

I love gadgets and when I saw a self-opening garbage can how could I pass it up? Often when I go to throw something away and I put my hand out in front of the scanner I feel like a Jedi using the force to open up the lid. Really, quite sad. I've had this device for about a month. It uses 4 D size batteries but I stuck in 4 Eneloop rechargeable AA batteries with adapters and it's been holding up just fine. It does have a plug for an AC adapter, sold separately, but I felt it just looks nicer where I want it without a cable. It opens not smoothly but in several increments so it's not ehhhhhh but more like ehh, ehh, ehh but it's still very quick. After it's open if you have to waddle over the bin for a few seconds you'd better do it fast because that sucker closes fast! I find it a game to do what I have to do but try to get out JUST before it closes. The one complaint I see often here is that the sensor doesn't reach out far enough. I'm incredibly shocked every day at how people lack the most basic problem solving techniques but are quick to complain. The sensor does not shoot out an infrared beam continuously. It does so periodically. If you just happen to move your hand 6" away right after it shuts down it won't open so people get frustrated then move their hand closer then complain about how it's not sensitive enough. It's not the new proximity that triggers the opening but it's that next infrared beam that picks it up. It works fine at about 6-7" away, you just have to hold your hand there if you missed it and the frequency is not long at all. Just imagine you're commanding it with the force to open and it'll open in no time. A 13 gallon bag fits nicely but oddly doesn't reach all the way down even with all the coaxing I did at the collar. Because of its narrowness when the garbage gets to the top the bag is still not completely full which suits me great since my high rise garbage chute doesn't like a full bag. The only reason I gave it 4 starts instead of 5 was that the steel sides seem rather thin. In fact the entire mechanism was shipped inside the bin itself and a part of it seems to have banged against the wall leaving a small dent protruding out the front. I feel like if I threw something hard in there it would dent out the back side so I'm gentle with heavier garbage. Other than that it looks and works great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

After having the original iTouchless trash can for 5 years we decided to upgrade to the new wide-opening version (the old made it through 5 years with ZERO problems and only had to be replaced because our movers roughed it up too much). The new version is quieter, moves up slowly (a positive vs moving too quickly which would likely lead to more wear & tear of the mechanism), and the wider opening is absolutely a big positive. Changing bags is also easier on the new version with a frame that is evenly shaped throughout (the old one you had to look closely as the it wasn't a perfect rectangle and required a close look to be placed on properly each time) and also conceals the bag better. Overall: a sleek trash can, highly convenient wide opening (worth the extra $), easy to replace bags ea time and touchless function keeps hands clean!...plus fairly quick delivery by Overstock.com

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Totally satisfied
 from Brazoria County, Texas,  Oct 1, 2010

I've had the iTouchless 13-gallon can for about 4 years now. If you are concerned about replacing batteries all the time, don't be. We have changed the batteries ONCE. Seriously. And we use the can a lot--with toddler grandchildren experimenting with it, forcing it closed, opening it just to watch how it works, it still has held up mechanically, and the batteries kept going and going. The lid is effective at keeping odors inside. Unfortunately, a plastic part on the lid has finally broken, so we are replacing the can with the wide opening version and looking forward to many more years of not having to touch the lid of our trash can. Warning: This will make you look like an idiot at friends' homes when you just stand over their trash can waiting for 'service'!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Convenience has a high price
 from Reston, VA,  May 1, 2010

Actually, laziness has a high price. A lot of people will ask - why spend the extra money for a power trash can? The simple answer is that it is more 'convenience' over function. I own 2 of these touchless trash cans. These are my recommendations: a) DO NOT get the round one. There is a analogous round trash can that is about 13 gallons as well - it also is iTouchless; but, there is a major difference. It is MUCH more difficult to get the trash bags out of the round one than the square one. The mouth on the square one is also much wider - allowing one to easily scrape off plates, etc. b) make sure to get the power adapter. I do not use batteries - but, run it off the AC adapter. This is an extra cost that you should budget. While the rechargeable batteries could be an option - I would think it is more of an annoyance than using the AC adapter; but, that is a matter of personal preference. Overall - is this something that a person 'must' have? No. It is a novelty item and a frivolous expense. However, for me, this frivolous expense is well worth it. All of us buy junk and regret making the purchase later on - I do not have any regrets with this purchase. Hope this helps.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
itouchless trash can
 from Amarillo,Tx,  Jun 17, 2014

Much improved over the model we bought a few years ago. Totally pleased with appearance and functionality.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Solution
 from Ardmore, PA,  Apr 19, 2014

I first saw this touchless kitchen trash can while visiting a friend in her vacation home, and was hooked! But I didn't want to pay the high price of where she bought it. So I was delighted to find one on Overstock.com! I have had it now for almost a month, and it works great. It is really easy to change the bag. It's a great solution to keeping my kitchen looking and smelling so much better! I would not hesitate to buy another one.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for kitchen
 from Virginia,  Oct 9, 2013

I get so many compliments on this trash can. Most of all, I like the feature of Itouchless. It is great because I don't have to touch the device when I am preparing food. Great choice.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
well worth the price
 from Houghton Lake, MI,  Oct 3, 2013

awesome...............great product for people who need three hands

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best trash can in the world
 from NH,  Jul 3, 2013

I was on line looking for a new trash can and saw the iTouchless, its price was comparative to a regular can. I thought I would get the touchless one for fun. I would not trade this can for any thing. The rectangular shape holds more garbage. the bags never show on the outside of the can , nor do they fall inside the can because of the design. My family members liked it so much I bought 2 more of these for my Daughters. Try it you will never go back to a regular can again!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looks better in person
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great trash can!!
 from Wyoming,  Apr 16, 2013

I purchased this trash can in 2008. It has worked great for five years on only one set of batteries!!! I recommend this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looked the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, long lasting
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great purchase!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Aug 28, 2012

I have had this trash can for about three weeks now and so far am very pleased. The sensor works even in dim lighting and seems to be fairly accurate at differentiating between someone trying to put trash in (and the lid opening) and someone just walking by (so the lid should not open). I can't comment on the battery life yet but make sure you have four D batteries on hand for when it comes - I did not catch that in my read of the description so had to run out and buy them after the can arrived. So far so good with this trash can; I reccommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As described
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from Mesa, AZ,  Aug 16, 2012

I have owned 3 trash cans with food pedals and they have all given out. I decided to go with the automatic and it is wonderful!!! Easy to use and maintenance. Can be plugged in or battery operated.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? looks exactly the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was correct and other's reviews were correct
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Trash Can
 from FL,  Jul 31, 2012

This is a great trash can. It's always a source of amazement when company comes over and they stand in front of the trash can trying to figure out how to make it work. One word of warning, once you buy a trash can which opens at the wave of your hand, you will be spoiled. You will be back for more. I just wish they made the large outdoor cans with sensors like this one so I wouldn't have to touch them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice trash can
 from Pennsylvania,  Jul 19, 2012

I love the fact that it opens itself. How many times are your hands all messy and you have to open the can or at least touch it? This open automatically which is a nice perk. Plus it scares the dogs if they get too nosy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
auto trash can
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jul 5, 2012

Works well. Sensor is sensitive enough to open when needed and doesn't open as much when not needed. Doesn't seem to have a stay open function like the older version we had. I like that is has a drop in air freshener basket. Ours didn't come with anything to put in the basket though.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
i touchless experience
 from near tucson az,  Jun 18, 2012

nice product......easy to assemble.....hygienic disposal of food...........you don't have to bend down or fight a stationary lid.........only criticism is noise of opening and closing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works perfectly
 from Davis, CA,  Jun 16, 2012

Works as advertised. Some cheaper models from same maker. Don't see advantage from deodorizer but wider opening is very useful

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. pretty good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
we love the itouchless trash can
 from florida/maine,  May 16, 2012

We now have 2 of the itouchless trash cans and love them! A touchless can that we had before opened like an accordian. It was noisy and often got stuck, either halfway open or closed. This one quietly raises up, then back down. We've not had one problem with either one. The filter is great. No more smelly garbage!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
touchless trash can
 from inland empire area of southern Calif..,  Apr 24, 2012

A long time since anyone was amused and commented on a 'trash can', but this is a popular and unsual on; opens as you getd real close, closes when you move away. One problem, those with a weak heart should be pre-warned so the activity does not 'disturb' them. Great item for a 'useful' gift.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous!
 from Covington, KY,  Mar 20, 2012

I lived with a broken trashcan for a year before I bit the bullet and I bought this trashcan of my dreams. I love that I don't have to touch the yucky cover. The sensor opens when I need it too, and stays closed when I walk by or when my dog jumps up for a sniff. About the smell, it virtually disappears. Removal of the bag is easy as well. All around I am very happy. I can't speak on the battery life because I'm only 30 days in, but so far so good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great, No bugs, Opens/Closes Every Time
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 91 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top