Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 64 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Product
 from Reside in Tucson, AZ,  Dec 18, 2010

The delivery communication-excellent. Packaging perfect. However, I believed I purchased Henckels made in Germany, Nowhere in the product description was it mentioned "MADE IN CHINA". This was an engagement gift - I informed recipient I was sending wonderful cutlery from Germany, I was very embarrassed. Suggested they return the product, and they are still considering. Overstock.com is terrific to work with. Where the item is made should be on EVERY product sold by you.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheapest Henckels Knives
 from Pacific Palisades, CA,  Sep 21, 2010

These knives are not good really good quality - they are just OK. The block looks sort of like gray plastic (painted with speckles like a garage floor) and the knives don't feel expensive in the hand (but they don't feel super cheap either). The steak knives, on the other hand, do feel cheap and there is no way I would put them out on the table for company. The handle is a foam-plastic type and the blade is not exactly flimsy, but sort of. The scissor is definitely cheap looking and feeling, but who buys these things for the scissors anyway... I bought these to replace a 7 year old Cuisinart set (also bought on Overstock!) and my old set feels and looks a lot better. I believe that Henckles has several product lines and my guess is that this is the cheap line. I tried using them, so I can't return them but I kick myself for buying these - I wish I had bought a nicer set. My advice is to not be swayed by the product brand and pass on this set.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty satisfied
 from Northwest Oregon,  Sep 27, 2010

Did some research on various types and brands of knives before making a choice, and chose this set due to being a veggie and fruit lover, and the price seemed average. I've had them for about a week. The set looks modern and sleek on my countertop, and the knives feel of quality when I use them. I'm not a professional chef, just an average kitchen joe, and the knives cut pretty well. They are not razor-blade sharp--but don't know if kitchen knives should be--the outer-skin on my green onions were left uncut, but tomatoes, cucumbers, and carrots were cut easily. The bread knife was great to have in this set, and works great! I do take care of them by sharpening and handwashing. I would buy them again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loves these knives!!!
 Sep 24, 2010

I love these knives!!! Not only do they look very sleek, but they slice/chop/cut great too!! Great price for the set and arrived quickly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sharp!
 from North hampton N.H.,  Aug 20, 2010

I have ALWAYS wanted to purchase a J.A.Henckel knife set- but the price was ALWAYS out of sight. I purchased this 16 - piece on sale, and it is even better than I hope for! I Love the black block they are in, and just about every type of knife is in it you will ever need! My Husband is thrill has he has the Honor of ALL the carving on the Holidays! VERY PLEASED - You will be Too!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Knives for the Price
 from Tucson AZ,  Aug 18, 2010

The Henkle name drew us to the product, but at the low price point we didn't really expect the quality we received. The only thing missing from the set is a good carving fork to grab the meat with. The knives are heavy enough and well balanced. It's like they threw the steak knife set in for free. Definitely an excellent bargain.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
don't much like the steak knives
 from Redmond, WA,  Dec 22, 2009

I like the weight, look, feel, and construction of all of the knives except the steak knives, which feel cheap and flimsy next to the others. They are all sharp, of course, and overall the set looks nice. It's good enough to keep, but I am disappointed that everything wasn't made to the same level of quality. Eventually I will have to buy real steak knives and hope they match up well enough with the others.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Average Style : Excellent
Great Knives
 from south fl,  Aug 13, 2014

these are pricey and went on sale with a *% coupon shortly after my purchase.; however they are sharp and I like them so well that we bought another set for a nephew who is about to wed. These are well worth what they cost. I hope they maintain their sharpness, but it is too soon to tell.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good Style : Good
Wedding gift
 from California,  Jul 24, 2014

It was a wedding present and well received. Exactly what was asked for.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
ECxcellent product
 from Surf City, NC,  May 15, 2014

Sharp in cutting ability & appearance. Very satisfied with purchase.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Knife set
 from Charlottesville, VA,  Mar 10, 2014

WOW! Great value!! One knife was damaged at tip, called and Overstock immediately sent replacement.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Average Value : Good Style : Excellent
So far, so good
 from Raleigh, NC,  Aug 19, 2013

We've had this knife set for about a month now. Before making the purchase, we checked out a lot of different sets. My husband is a sous chef and I love to cook, so it was time for an upgrade. We were using a Food Network knife block set that I had for several years. We checked out some block sets in the store and then narrowed it down to Wusthof and Henckles, and decided on this Henckle set because he thought it was the best value for the price. It's a definite upgrade from what we were using. I love that I can now easily slice through a tomato or a green pepper without having to saw at it! Another positive, for him, is the sharpening steel. The only thing that I am concerned with is how these knives will hold up. We do not put them in the dishwasher and he has noticed a small nick in one of them already. You also need to be sure to wash and dry them thouroughly right away because they will easily get rust spots.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love these knives
 from Boca Raton, FL,  Apr 23, 2013

I got these knives a few years ago to replace some cheapy ones I had that were on their last leg. These knives are really nice. They have kept their quality perfectly for about 3 years now. No rust or stains. I don't ever put them in the dishwasher and I sharpen them when needed. They are VERY SHARP! Great product if you are looking for a good quality knife set on a budget. They look pretty sleek in the black butcher block as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Top Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Knives are nice and sharp
 from Oklahoma,  Jan 3, 2013

I've only ever bought cheapy knives, so this purchase was a huge upgrade. I love the look this set has, very sharp and clean. I use about every knife in the set at least once a week. I have had these for about a year now and have been hand-washing and letting them dry in a dish rack, but no trouble with any rust spots. The one problem I do have is the 8" Chef's Knife came with a bent tip of the blade, which is really annoying and the reason this only gets 4 stars (would be 3, but since I never tried to return, I don't feel that I can dock them another star).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color matched the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. mostly good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good non-German made knives
 from San Antonio, TX,  Jan 1, 2013

It is the international Henckels not the the German made ones but for the price difference they are very nice. Be careful with sitting in water and dish sponges with green rough sides they will mark the steel. Overall I am happy with the purchase after 3 weeks.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lasts Forever!
 from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL,  Nov 1, 2012

To get an idea of my personal use of this product: I cook every day, multiple times per day and work especially with meats and root vegetables. I've had this knife set for over three years and I'm still as satisfied with the set as the day I received it. The handles have not come loose; the blades are still sharp. I haven't had the need to sharpen the knives yet, nor have I had to treat them for rust. Overall, a great purchase and quality kitchen equipment.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality for the price
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The cutting edge of comfort and usage
 from Louisville, KY,  Sep 29, 2012

I fyou are looking for above average kitchen knives these are the best. Making sutting and chopping a breeze. I would highly recommend them to anyone who enjoys cooking and using the best tools.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made with an excellent cutting edge.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on with description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great set
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jun 7, 2012

I bought this knife set for my husband since he enjoys cooking. We use it every day! It has been almost two years and the knives all still work great. We just have to be a little more careful in washing and drying them right away because if you don't they will rust.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value:
 from Michigan,  Mar 22, 2012

We had cheap knives for thirty-three years of marriage, and then bought these. They are great. They look good, feel good, and work very well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Knives, Damaged Block
 from Springfield, VA,  Mar 20, 2012

The knives are excellent. The block for storing them was damaged, not evident from the shipping package. The site should indicate if the item is damaged and show a photo. This is the second time Overstocks has sent us damaged goods.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The knives are excellent. The block for storing them was damaged.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Misleading.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 64 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top