Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Easy assembly
 from lake Placid, NY,  May 8, 2013

after reading the negative assembly comments I purchased it anyway. I was able to assemble it in about an hour alone. I think getting the screws started before tightening is key to not tearing your hair out. when starting the screws the nut needs to be correctly aligned. there were some checks in the logs but all logs check when they dry. opening and closing works relatively easily considering no prior use. the longer screws required were provided in an attached package. lock nuts were provided in addition to lock washers....redundant. I was very pleased with the directions. using them as a guide with a little thought and it was an easy assembly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very well nice finish
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Futon, but A Nightmare to Assemble
 from Chicago, IL,  Feb 16, 2013

This is a nice futon--it's very comfortable to sit or sleep on, and I love the rustic look. I ordered the burgundy color, which seemed true to the pictures on the website. The material is nice and heavy and seems durable. The mattress/futon that came with the frame is about 4 inches thick, very comfortable, and weighs a ton (ok, not really a "ton"--the box it was shipped in--separate from the frame--said 75 lbs.). The instructions to assemble it are just as the other reviewers say...TERRIBLE. The picture in the instructions don't match the parts we received, and I believe my family finally got it assembled by discarding the instructions altogether and "winging it". Yes, I'd recommend this product to my friends with the caveat that they be prepared for lousy assembly instructions.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a nice, sturdy futon
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The futon I received looked exactly like the picture on the website (once it was assembled).
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking and sturdy futon!
 from Weiner, AR,  Nov 2, 2011

I would definitely recommend this futon. My husband did have to get a few extra screws that were longer than what were sent but that was no big deal. One does need a pretty good area of space to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of futon mattress and frame was exceptional
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The product description was exactly as stated.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
avoid this futon
 from Rhode Island,  Aug 19, 2011

I would not purchase again. After a difficult assembly, the futon does not feel as sturdy as I had expected. Futon mattress is mediocre. Look elsewhere on O.com for a futon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. frame is low quality and difficult to put together
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? somewhat
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

We purchased the Yosemite futon to use mainly as a bed while one of us had to move out of state for a while; we wanted a piece of furniture that could be used for something else (couch, guest room bed, etc) when we re-merge households again. So far we have been satisfied with the Yosemite as a bed--the mattress is firm and comfortable. However, we may purchase a memory foam topper (or something similar) to improve the comfort still more. There is a slight pitch in the middle (where the bed would fold up into a couch), but I am not sure if that is due to our construction (see notes below...) or to a flaw in the design. I think a thick mattress topper would alleviate that pitch considerably, which is why we will purchase one soon. The colors depicted online are true to life; we chose the burgundy, which, if used as a couch would work very well with the honey-colored wooden arms. I docked this item one star because it was an absolute BEAR to assemble. The directions were very minimal and difficult to follow, and the packaging includes *lots* of extra hardware, which can be confusing. (Additionally, the smaller pieces of hardware came coated in grease/oil, so we had to be prepared with rags and a covering on the floor, etc.) Moreover, some of the holes on the frame--which is metal--were not drilled properly, or even drilled all the way through--! We had to "pop out" some of these holes and leave other holes unattached because there was no way to line up the frame correctly... Be sure that you or your friend helping you :) is mechanically inclined and likes a good challenge--this was tough to put together. So far, though, the hard work has been worth it and the piece seems stable and secure.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Purchase
 from California,  Oct 1, 2010

I have a log bed and several other log furniture products. Normally these have lots of cracks and splits in the wood which is normal. This product had only a few of these. The finish was nicer then I expected and was polished nicely. This futon is really big. Much larger then I expected. It looks great and we are mostly happy with the purchase. It came in three boxes each weighing about 50 pounds. Now for the bad stuff. The box with the frame had obviously ripped open and was retaped shut. All the parts inside were not in the original pakges and were loose inside. There was no way to tell we even received every thing. I ignored all this and got lucky that everything was still there. One part of the frame was bent and I had to bend it back. There are only about 7 steps to putting this together. One step, because the screws would not go in when the holes were aligned correctly, took 4 hours. I've put lots of IKEA and other furniture together. This was not fun putting this together. I'am not sure about the long term quality of the frame. Hard to tell. It looks goods, seems nice and we are happy with the purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the Price!
 from Salem, MA,  May 4, 2010

We purchased the futon and specifically searched for a queen size so that my parents have a ?bedroom? to sleep in when they come to visit us for weeks at a time. My husband put the bed together and said he was slowed down a couple of times, but after re-reading the directions and manipulating some of the screws and holes, he was able to completely put the futon together. It looks great!! No scratches. It?s sturdy. The color we got is hunter green and it matches the color on the site perfectly. It?s very heavy, the mattress is thick. The ONLY minor negative I have to say is that the mattress, when folded in a couch position, sometimes slides off or forward when you?re sitting on it. They do have ?lips? to hold it in place, but they don?t do the job of keeping the futon in place when sitting on it as a couch. The intent was for a bed, so it works perfectly for us. We?re deriving something to attach to the bed to help keep the mattress up when in the bent or sitting position. Otherwise, the quality and size are wonderful for the price. We compared to other futons and stores, and this was by far the best deal for the quality versus price. We?re very happy!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This is a great bed for the money. Very comfortable and looks nice. However, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE DIRECTIONS in the box. We had no directions and had to make guesses on what to use where. overstock.com was able to provide us directions a couple of days later, but the box still included hardware that did not even go with this piece of furniture. Just check the parts and directions before starting and give yourself plenty of time for assembly before you need to use it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
futon looks and operates awesome
 from monroe,ga,  Feb 13, 2014

awesome produts , would buy again; on time delivery

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful futon!
 from Minnesota,  Oct 22, 2013

I ordered 4 of these for the loft in our cabin and they are beautiful. They were easy to assemble and look perfect in our cabin. They are very comfortable to sleep on and make great seating for our guests. I just love them!!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impressive if you have the patience
 from Missouri,  May 29, 2013

The previous reviews warned me of the tedious work to put this together . . . my husband agreed to it anyway. There was an extra bag of hardware in the box that was not mentioned in the instructions . . . INVENTORY ALL PIECES BEFORE STARTING ASSEMBLY. My husband tried to follow the instructions until he ran into problems . . . the extra bag of hardware was placed in the box after-the-fact so the instructions don't tell you to look for the correct hardware. Only people with experience and patience in putting together puzzles should even attempt this assembly. The futon mattress and cover are excellent. The quality and weight of the wood makes a great addition to the room's theme . . . that's the only reason we were willing to go through all the trouble in assembly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matches exactly to the website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Everything good quality except the hardware
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good results after some struggle
 from Charlotte, NC,  Sep 12, 2012

Written Instructions were difficult, but someone with mechanical skills can get the job done as there are not too many steps necessary. It also required a trip to the store to buy 4 bolts that needed to be longer than those included. After the set-up, the finished product is nice. It is larger than most futons and very comfortable. When in the sitting position, the cushion does tend to slide forward some. Over all, we are satisfied. Good value.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. final product is good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description did not communicate difficult set-up and need to buy different bolts
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Didn't Come With Parts
 from Philadelphia,  Oct 31, 2012

I was beyond disappointed with this product. I expected all parts would be included and they were not. The screws needed to complete the first step were allegedly attached to another part of the box (not inside the box with all of the other parts). I subsequently had to call the help line which has the most inconvenient hours only to be met with a rather rude person who insisted I was wrong, until he finally realized what product I was talking about. Overall this was an awful experience.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Doesn't fit together perfectly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top