Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 59 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Chicago,  Jun 29, 2010

I'm an interior designer and I actually converted this piece to a bathroom vanity with a Krauss glass vessel sink for my own home. The buffet is very well made, sturdy and fairly straight forward to assemble. I now have a bathroom that looks as though it easily cost $40,000 for under $5,000 thanks to Overstock. No one can believe I put it together out of items ordered on Overstock. The buffet was so nice I considered ordering another one for the dining room. Can't go wrong on this one... it's definitely worth every penny.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great solid piece of furniture
 from Yorba Linda, CA,  Mar 11, 2011

The buffet arrived quickly and was shipped in three large boxes. My husband put it together himself in about three hours while watching tv (wine was also involved!) It looked daunting, but went together smoothly. The piece is very heavy so do not assemble it far from where you are going to move it when you are done. The wood is a dark brown color, but there is a slight reddish tint to it. That would be my only negative since my kitchen cabinets in the adjacent room are a true dark brown espresso with no hint of red.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A bit disappointed
 from Vermont,  Feb 27, 2009

We have oredered many items from O and were a bit disappointed this time. My husband is a handyman by trade, so assembly is usually a snap for him. This piece however came with a warped top piece, which created quite a few probelms. In the end, he had to glue and clamp the piece significantly to get the top to "rest" on the remainder of the cabinet. One corner is still slightly upturned and there is nothing that can be done. Perhaps what we got was not typical, but I wanted to let everyone considering this piece know it took a lot more than normal to make it look like the picture. That said, it fits very well in the space and looks modern and sleek. We use it as the bar area of the diningroom and it serves that function very well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice to look at
 from Ohio,  Nov 17, 2010

This buffet took all day to assemble -- we did not rush and wanted to assemble the piece correctly. In the end, it looks great, very substantial and a nice addition to the room. The cabinet doors take a while to adjust -- you have to fiddle with them in order to get them aligned properly so that they will open and close without hitting the drawers.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!!
 from Nashville,TN,  Jul 5, 2011

Was anxious that this would not be as dark as I hoped, but it is perfect. It is very dark, almost black. It arrived with the back frame piece broken beyond repair. I contacted Overstock and another piece was shipped out pretty quickly but took a few days to arrive. When I finally got to put it together, it took me 5 hours, almost all by myself. (Don't even think about assembling without a power screwdriver.) It went together easily - just lots of pieces & slow. Excellent advice from previous reviewer - make sure to assemble on carpet or a rug to avoid scratches. The piece is very, very heavy and all solid wood. I'm extremely pleased with the quality and the style is very sleek and contemporary. Only problem with assembly - screws on drawer glides must be inserted very straight and the heads totally flat or the drawers will hang up and won't go in fully. One finally went in and then wouldn't open. Had to work on them for an hour or so to fix. Hinges take a little adjusting also but not difficult. Overall, I love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Salt Lake City, Utah,  Dec 7, 2010

This is a very contemporary, classy piece of furniture. It does take a long time to assemble, but its worth it. Very well made, looks much more expensive than it was.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just Lovely
 from Di-Cinti OH,  Aug 17, 2010

Beautiful piece of furniture even though there was some damage from shipping that I could touch of with furniture marker. I did advise with OS and they do work with you and gave me a discount that I was pretty please with.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Espresso Piece
 from Jersey City, NJ,  Feb 12, 2010

I love love love this buffet, it looks 10 times better than I expected, the only downside is that the top peice doesnt lay flat...I may have to remove some of the hardware on oneside of the top piece inorder for it to lay flat. Oh by the way, I am a 32 year old woman, and was able to put this together in about 3.5 hours, while going back in forth feeding and playing with my 5 year old. So its definately easy to put together if you take your time and give yourself space! Other than that it is a WINNER!!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yarra Buffet
 from Indiana,  Nov 23, 2010

This is a beautiful piece of furniture. My handyman put it together in about 2 hours, no problems. This buffet is sturdy and elegant, a great value. It's very hard to find a contemporary buffet and Overstock delivers. Very happy with my purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful buffet
 from olympia, wa,  Sep 22, 2010

10 times better than in picture. Wood is smooth and nice. Contemporary look but very classic. Looks more expensive thain it is. Delivery quick, 3 days arrived no damaged. One draw back, assembly time is too long 4 hours of a man .Thanks.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!
 May 1, 2010

This buffet exceeded my expectations. It is truly elegant and makes a statement. It took 2 to assemble in about 2 hours. It was worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful buffet
 from AZ,  Dec 25, 2008

We bought this one to match our $2,000 TV stand, and the color is perfect - rich dark espresso. Also, if you don't go into details, you won't be able to say that this buffet (made in Malaysia) & our TV stand (made in Canada) were not purchased together. We were very happy to get such a nice looking piece of furniture for this amount of money. Great value! It took us ~3,5 hours to assemble it, & we didn't face any problems e.g. missing screws, wrong holes, etc... It took my husband some time to figure out how to adjust the doors, but if you've done it before, it should not take more than 5-10 minutes.The unit was packed nicely & arrived very quickly.Thanks Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great, functions ok, ~4hr assembly
 from Michigan,  Mar 25, 2013

This arrived in 3 big boxes and took me almost 4 hours to build. I definitely recommend having a power drill, hammer, 1 large and 1 small phillips head screwdrivers, and a lot of patience. There are a few parts where you will probably want the help of a friend. Upon opening the boxes, the first piece I pulled out had damage to the wood finishing. Of course, after looking at the instructions, that piece was the front piece and would be highly visible. I was lucky to have a cabinet touch-up paint pen that matched the color and opted to just cover it up instead of trying to deal with trying to deal with getting a replacement piece. All other wood pieces were in perfect condition. The instructions were... ok. There was one step that really should have been separated into 2 or 3 steps because they showed a couple of pieces going together and the order that they went together was critical. I also found out the hard way that two of the pieces, B and C (the sides), were mislabeled. There was no way to identify which is which from the instructions, only by trying to assemble and seeing that they didn't fit. I also found the fasteners were incredibly soft. I sheered two of the little screws while attaching the backing and bent one screw-lock totally out of shape so maybe I'm just really strong! (I'm not...) When it all got put together, it looks really great. It looks way more expensive than it is and serves very well as a static piece of furniture. The doors operate smoothly. The drawers, however, are extremely difficult to pull for me. I believe the wood pieces that hold the drawer glides ended up being a tad to close together and it squeezes the drawers making it really difficult to open/close. It looks great, functions ok, and takes a long time to build.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dark espresso color matched pictures
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality wood, low quality fasteners
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Color and Very heavy
 from Alexandria, VA,  Jul 29, 2012

This buffet is not the difficult to put together and everything was well marked. The quality overall is just average, but it does look nice when put together. As for functionality...the drawers are small and very shallow so if you are looking to put something in them you are pretty limited. The front of the drawer is large and the actual drawer part is so small. The back of the buffet is not the best quality and a cheap kind wood like material that is taped. The doors are hard to install and to get them to sit perfectly to close correctly. I am considering trying to put in an additional shelf on each side for more storage. This looks nice and the price is nice, but if you are not good at putting furniture together then I would look elsewhere. I do like the look and for that I would say it is a 5 but for functionality and quality I would give it a 3 or 4.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate espresso color - dark brown black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wood is heavy but does scratch so be careful when assembling
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
well made
 from OKC,OK,  Apr 12, 2011

the quality of this buffet is a lot better than the ones we saw at the local furniture place. took us 3.5 hours for 2 of us to put it together, very heavy and sturdy. there are a few noticeable minor scratches.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish Storage
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Mar 14, 2011

With a recent move to a new home that significantly reduced our kitchen storage, I needed to find a buffet for the dining room to hold serving pieces, linens, small appliances and other items. I did a lot of looking around and decided on the Yarra. It fits our style and holds everything (plus more). I knew I had a lot of stuff to store and didn't want glass cabinets. I also wanted to focus on clean lines without hardware. The assembly wasn't that bad. My husband and I put it together easily (about 2 hours). My only disappointment is when we fit the bottom piece a small crack appeared on the bottom shelf. This didn't surprise me (it's rubberwood) but I was hoping to make it through the assembly with perfection. I'm not sure what we could have done differently to prevent the crack.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Santa Cruz, CA,  Jan 29, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by how sturdy and HEAVY this buffet is. It is a really solid piece of furniture. It came in 3 huge, very heavy boxes with a lot of pieces to assemble. I had a handyman do the assembling and it took him several hours but the result was in my opinion, worth it. I would definitely buy this product again and recommend it to a friend. It is an incredibly good value for the cost. Looks much more expensive in person.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Buy
 from North Carolina,  Jan 28, 2011

I've had the buffet for two weeks and I absolutely love it. It arrive with a small scrathch but other than that it is perfect. It is a dark espresso color. It is a very sturdy piece of furniture with great storage. Assembly took a little over 3 hours. This is a must have item. I also order the Yarra end table and that is just as nice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
surface wood cracked
 from Alexandria, VA,  Jan 19, 2011

We bought this piece nine months ago. We were thoroughly pleased with our purchase, although it was cumbersome and took a long time to assemble. We started to notice a small crack on either side of the top surface a few months after we built it. Over time the cracks have grown and are splitting the wood in half. It looks as though before long the top piece will split in half into two thinner, long pieces. We are very disappointed because otherwise it's a beautiful piece. We cannot do anything about it since we don't have a warranty. My best advice is to purchase the warranty and replace the piece as soon as you see cracking.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Substantial
 Dec 27, 2010

It took me about 4 hours to assemble this piece of furniture. The directions can be a bit confusing but take your time, look ahead in the booklet, and think about the implications of each step and you'll do great. It is a very attractive dark brown color and the finish is very nice. The construction is well engineered so the structure is very solid. Significantly better than most commercial office furniture. We are using it in a small office as the technology hub with networked printers on top. It is perfect for that purpose.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 59 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought