Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 102 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Terrific Value
 from Poughkeepsie, NY.,  Nov 5, 2012

I'm thrilled with my new writer's desk. There is nothing to complain about and much to rave about. I did a lot of comparison shopping before making this purchase so I am in an informed enough position to appreciate the supreme value of this desk. MATERIAL: The fact that it is solid wood (rubber wood) alone puts it shoulders above anything else in the market under $200 - no laminates to peel off and no off gassing glue holding a compressed mass of wood shavings together. And it's beautiful wood - nicely dense and powdery smooth, its natural colour so pleasing I am considering changing my mind about staining or painting it. The fact I paid only $$$ for this made it a steal. CONSTRUCTION: also solid - all parts fit together perfectly. This desk ain't wobbling! And the assembly was dead easy. I've only one hand so a girlfriend did this for me in half an hour, I think. The drawer is on runners (not top of the line but adequate) so it glides out easily. It fits snugly when closed. I've not tested it weighted with contents yet. SIZE: A perfect compromise between generosity of work space and the need to conserve limited floor space. I can spread out a big binder, my mac notebook, a table lamp, snack bowl, knick knacks, and not feel cramped. DELIVERY: Was surprised at how quickly it arrived - 2 or 3 days I think. And at under $3 for S&H I not only saved gas money but having to carry the desk to and from the car. Sweet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very, very close. The actual desk color was nicer then the photo having slightly less grey and a kind of subtle sheen of white-blond wood. .
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good. Solid wood sanded beautifully smooth. Easy assembly and all parts fit perfectly together. Drawer works well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Did not disappoint.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Desk
 from kansas city, mo,  Aug 8, 2012

What a fabulous desk! Sleek and sturdy, raw wood. Couldn't beat the price! Easy to put together, just had to put the legs on. I'm a photographer and I needed something simple with ample top space and it serves me great. If you don't need bells and whistles like drawers (it has one, that's plenty for me) or cabinets or a hutch, this is a piece for you! The toughest thing to figure out with this desk is whether or not to stain it. The raw wood look is gorgeous with visible knots and grain, but would probably take a stain beautifully! It's clutter resistant too. You will keep it cleaned off as much as possible to always see it! I highly recommend this desk!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? just right
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy, solid quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality!
 Jul 7, 2015

I initially ordered the "espresso" colored desk in this style, but it arrived more as a cherry wood, so I opted for this unfinished model. I sanded (really didn't need to), found a gel stain (para wood doesn't take regular oil based stains well) and finished with a matte polyurethane seal. The result is a stunning. Now a true espresso! Am very happy with this purchase and highly recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely writing desk
 Nov 20, 2015

Arrived in timely fashion, delivery box was beat up but contents well protected. There was only a very small indentation on the top. I applied a satin, clear polyurethane to the top. Next day, I sanded top with fine grit sanding block as the poly raised the grain ever so slightly. I applied a fine furniture wax to legs, sides and drawer. This brought out the beauty of the wood, while giving it protection from daily use. It is a lovely table for a very good price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality for price
 Aug 21, 2015

"This desk did need some light sanding before painting/staining, but I expected that. My only negative feedback is that the desk had a very unpleasant (and unhygienic-smelling) odor that I had to address. Kind of gross, but I'm assuming that was just a one-time problem. Since I was sanding anyway, I wiped it thoroughly with Clorox wipes (which made the wood fibers swell slightly) and then sanded after it dried. Probably not the best way to deal with wood! But it did the trick. Again, overall, when I consider the pricing and construction, I do recommend this desk. "

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Desk!
 Aug 15, 2015

I purchased this desk to use as a computer desk. I was so impressed with it when it arrived! Assembly was incredibly easy and simply involved screwing on each leg to the top. It took me longer to open the box than it did to put the desk together. The desk is made of a very sturdy wood and while i have not taken the time to finish it, it'd look great painted or with a stain. I am confident that this piece of furniture will last an extremely long time and I was incredibly happy with the price I paid for it. This was one of the best purchases I've ever made.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely solid wood table
 Aug 13, 2015

Studied up on how to finish the table and chose a clear satin, wipe-on poly that gave a little amber color to the wood and brought out the grains. Result was spectacular. Shipping was precipitously quick; had to take a day off on short notice to wait for the delivery; was stuck home all day, and then the package was left at the door without a knock or a ring of the bell. Needed a neighbor's help to get the heavy, bulky package inside the house. Crazy business! Table had a few bangs and dents but barely noticeable after sanding. One leg didn't line up exactly right in the assembly process but end result was a sturdy, stable table. Overall, had an adventure and wound up with a five star treasure.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is solid wood
 May 15, 2015

I put min wax on it turned out nice

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
well built
 Mar 5, 2015

Great desk for the price. Don't over tighten the legs, it puts a weird strain on the piece. The wood is indeed nice-looking, but so light in color that I chose to paint, then stain-wash & weather it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Barbara Fry
 Feb 21, 2015

This unfinished desk was easy to stain and apply polyurethane and to assemble. It has a surprisingly spacious center drawer. The size is good for a small office space. The price for this product is very good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best deal on a solid wood desk around!
 Jan 8, 2015

We were so impressed with this desk when we first purchased it six months or so ago that we've since purchased 5 more of them for our kids' rooms and other areas of the house. The wood is beautiful, whether coated with a light spray on varnish or fully stained (especially beautiful when stained as it really brings out the individual pieces of wood and their character. Buy it while they have it, because they ran out after our first purchase and we had to wait about 3 months before we could get it again!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not packaged for shipping
 from Western PA,  Mar 14, 2014

I think this may have been a return because there was no type of protective packaging in the box. The piece comes in 5 pieces and every one had at least one large GOUGE in it. If it was purchased locally I would defiantly return it - The price paid and the damage from shipping make it a piece of scratch and dent that you didn't get that good of a discount on. The positive is it is solid wood and extremely sturdy. I have decided to keep it but am not ordering any larger items from overstock again - everything I have ever ordered that weighed over 30 pounds has shown up damaged in one way or another.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Good
 from NC,  Feb 15, 2013

I looked everywhere for a nice inexpensive desk that was large enough to work on but not too long. This has generous work space while taking up Minimal space. It's really perfect in size. Woods stains beautifully. As lovely as it is natural, I wanted to preserve my investment. Any water or oil from your hands would stain the 100% raw wood over time. There was a ding to one leg that splintered a small place. Definitely from shipping. I like it enough that this tiny flaw on the inside of the leg won't bother me one bit. LOVE the ease of assembly. I have no idea how to install runners so this works for me. Drawer isnt as stable as I'd have liked but I can live with it. Definitely seems heavier than 48lbs! Can't beat it no matter how hard you try, trust me- I tried. Arrived in 2 days.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Whiter, pale blond wood
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good less a shipping ding to one leg. Drawer a tad wobbly.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect desk for what I needed
 from TN,  Nov 11, 2012

I was looking for a desk to put in my office/guest bed room. It was perfect size for what I needed. It serves its purpose and everyone has complemented it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy. Very impressed with quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This desk is great for the price.
 from San Francisco Bay area,  Mar 15, 2012

A solidly built writing table/desk which always me to finish it to fit in with other pieces in a guest room. The surface is smooth and ready to take stain or paint without prep work.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid. pieces fit together precisely
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? as discribed
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 Feb 8, 2016

It was more than I expected!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cautious shopper
 Feb 6, 2016

The desk is very sturdy. The drawer opens and closes smoothly. Both of these really surprised me. I was looking for a smaller desk that I could move easily if needed and I wanted to paint it. It looks great and was just what I wanted!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the price!
 Jan 21, 2016

We put one coat of light stain on the desk and it looks beautiful, very sturdy and well made for the price. Can't seem to find a chair that fits comfortably under the desk though and the drawer location is kind of annoying at times. Altogether, would definitely purchase again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy Table
 Jan 11, 2016

I finished this with a light stain and several coats of tongue oil. It has held up very nicely. Great purchase. Quality product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and Attractive
 Dec 31, 2015

Prompt shipping, well packaged. The desk is a little heavier than I expected, but this makes it sturdier. Just attach the legs and you're in business. The desk is exactly as pictured. The grain of the wood is attractive, but you could also easily paint or refinish to match your décor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 102 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought