Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Well worth the effort...
 from Napa Valley,  Aug 9, 2008

After reading the reviews of how difficult this was to assemble, I almost didn't buy the desk. But I loved the price and the looks, and I was not disappointed when it arrived. I decided to take my time putting it together and I think that's the way to approach this... as a project. More than the directions, you need to understand the drawings. The finished desk is gorgeous and large. Everything fit together, the holes were properly drilled, all the pieces for assembly were included (even with some extras). The only part that took some time to understand were the special locking metal pieces. If you've done this kind of assembly before, it was a snap. But I had to work with them before I understood how they securely connected the pieces. It was hard to find the little triangular arrow imprinted on the metal, but once I did, everything went fairly quickly and easily. The desk is well-worth the effort and is very sturdy and well made. I'm very glad I decided to order it. (Oh, and you do need some help because the top is heavy and you don't want to scratch the finish. So make sure you have a friend, spouse or SO nearby.)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the Effort
 from Philadelphia,  Aug 4, 2008

Very solid piece of furniture once assembled. Attractive color looks exactly like the photo online. Very generous dimensions. I have a computer tower and printer on the desk that fit on each side of my monitor. Plenty of room to work. Assembly takes about 2 1/2 hours if you know what you are doing (I've assembled a number of pieces of furniture.) and are working alone. Most will not be able to put the top on the desk alone, however. I have a large wingspan that allowed me to get the job done. Better to work as a pair. Desk comes in two boxes, so, here again, you may need assistance. Good price according to quite a bit of internet research. Could not find a better value on the web or in stores.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good!
 from Irvine, CA,  May 4, 2008

Great desk, excellent quality, heavy/solid wood. The instructions are well-written and detailed, however, if you are not use to assembling furnture, I would recommend having some help. I didn't have the desk top 100% flush against the legs/base and it through off each drawer leaving them uneven. I had to bring another person to help retrace my steps and assemble it correctly. By the way... it looks black in the picture, but it is a true "dark espresso" as it says in the description.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love this desk!
 from New Braunfels, TX,  Jul 12, 2011

This desk was easy to put together. I did it all by myself. It is a very room desk top. Which is what I wanted. But not too massive. It has a sleek, modern or traditional look. It would go in any style actually. I love it. Just the right size. Good for setting out in the middle of the room too, not just up against a wall. Great desk for a great price!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? 100%
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fooled my furniture snob ex-husband
 from Chicago, IL,  Jul 12, 2011

My daughter and her boyfriend who are 18 years old put this together easily. They said it was no problem and did it quite quickly. They don't normally put furniture together so I'm assuming the directions were good. Except for the drawer pulls that they put in upside down (and I left them like that because it looks kinda cool). My ex-husband came over and was WOWed by it. So sturdy and nice looking, he said. He was sure I had laid down some big money. This is a guy who got all his furniture at Ethan Allen. Nice desk. Wish there were a companion printer stand.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this Desk
 from CA,  May 25, 2012

This is a great piece of furniture. It was extremely well packaged with lots of Styrofoam. Each piece is wrapped and separated by Styrofoam to prevent chipping during shipping. I've purchased many pieces of furniture online and this desk came with the best for packaging! (Tip: Donate the large sheets of Styrofoam to your local school or theatre group as they are great for crafts!) The desk is not too complex to assemble but does take some time as others have written. It is made of solid wood and heavy. It really looks great when completed. I've added a plexi-glass top to preserve the beautiful wood surface. I also found that the keyboard drawer is a great place to store & charge my laptop out of site. My only suggestion to others is to take note of the desk "height". At 31 inches it stands slightly taller than a standard desk and because of the solid wood legs is not adjustable! The height has worked great for me as a desk and as a wonderful crafts table..... but it may be too tall for some.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is dark espresso
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The desk is made of solid wood. Very good construction.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was very aaccurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect writing desk for me!
 from San Antonio, TX,  Jan 18, 2012

I love this desk. It took a while to put together (about 2 hours) but it was worth the effort. other reviews said they needed to drill pilot holes, but I didn't. Everything fit nicely with just the supplied cam screws, brackets and dowels, and it came with extras for those (like me) who are prone to lose small parts. It's very solid once assembled. Excellent value; I will buy furniture from Overstock again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big, Beautiful Desk
 from Burlington, VT,  Mar 5, 2011

Don't be fooled, this desk is indeed sturdy if you take your time while putting it together. The instructions can be daunting at first, but take it slow and you'll end up with a large, beautiful desk. I'll admit at first I thought the desk was black when I opened the box. Not until you shine some light on it can you really see the espresso/brown shine through. The workspace is enormous and the hardware is beautiful. Looks much more expensive than what you pay for, although the top does seem to scratch pretty easily. There are two side drawers with lots of space. The front of the center drawer actually fold down and is a good space for your keyboard and mouse if you're using this as a computer desk. I am using Apple's wireless keyboard though which isn't full size, so I'm not sure if you could fit a full size keyboard and mouse in this tray. I highly recommend this desk! Very happy with my purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk for the money!
 from Phila, PA,  Apr 26, 2014

Excellent desk for the money. Nice rich color. Looks like it could belong in a diplomat's house in DC. Good solid wood. I did not have any of the mismatched pre-drilled holes others talked about. All fit well. The cams are a bit weak so try not to turn it 180 degrees - it will break. A quarter turn will work fine. Make sure and be careful that cams are in the open position when fitting and assembling. When installing the keyboard drawer swing door, put washers under the hinge on the door side to raise it a bit. This will give you enough clearance between the door and drawer when closing - to close without friction or resistance.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
big desk
 from maryland,  Aug 16, 2013

this is a spacious big desk, very stable. the set-up did take a few hours for one person. So far it looks good. The only thing I am not very happy is the color: it is too dark, almost like black. Other than that, I am satisfied with my purchase.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing Desk
 from Little Elm, Texas,  Aug 14, 2013

This desk is BEAUTIFUL in person. The photo doesn't do it justice. It is REAL wood and not that pressed cork junk. It is a lot larger than it appears in the photo. Make sure you have enough room for it. I paid $!@#^& for this desk and similar products at Haverty's were nearly $!@#%^ plus tax and delivery. I was shocked at the high quality and beauty of this piece. I love using it every single day. The only issue was that two of the pieces were inverted and assembly took nearly 4.5 hours because we didn't realize the issue until the last step of the process. We had to go back and essentially start over. Other than that, this is a desk that I know will be in my home for many years.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Confusing assembly, but great result
 from greater Los Angeles area,  Aug 12, 2013

As others have said, the instructions leave a bit to be desired, but the end result is worth it. Very spacious desktop, lovely finish, gorgeous hardware.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk
 from New Hampshire,  Aug 12, 2013

Love this desk. Took a while to put together, but it is solid and provides a large surface area for laptop, lamp, papers, as well as breakfast/lunch :). The only negative is because of the too tight assembly (and that drawer came pre-assembled), the magnet latch was not strong enough to keep it closed. But I simply installed to L brakets and turned it into a regular drawer. Have used it for a year daily and it is holding up and looks new.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk!
 from Phoenix, Arizona,  Aug 3, 2013

Instructions sucked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good, except the bottom rail sags in the middle resulting in the middle drawer not meeting the magnetic catch. I had to mount a pair of brackets to pull it up.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Home Office Desk
 from Bronx, NY,  Aug 2, 2013

Didn't know what I was going to get after a bad experience from walmart when purchasing a desk online which I thought was quality. However, this desk came in two boxes and the materials were very well wrapped and protected(unlike my Walmart experience). It took some patience and time to put together, however, it was well worth it. I love the appearance, structure and quality of the desk. The desk is about the size of an office desk at my job which is something i was looking for. I recommend to all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same color as website.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy, quality weight, rich look
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described online.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product as advertised
 from St. Paul MN,  Jul 2, 2013

Excellent product, one star deducted because the assembly directions were obtuse but if you persevere it comes together and the end product is worth it

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Office desk
 from Dallas, Texas,  Jun 7, 2013

Clean lined transitional style desk is a great size, not wimpy. Three drawers are always helpful. Assembly required focus and an hour and a half, but worth it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is great! Nice dark esspresso.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is great for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurately described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Heavy Desk
 from Spokane WA,  Jun 1, 2013

This is desk is not small. I have my printer, calendar and laptop on it with space to spare. It took quite awhile to put this desk together. It is not a one person project. The top is too heavy for one person.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Desk
 from seattle wa,  May 22, 2013

Purchased for use in a busy office for a large man and he fits it fine. Price was right and desk looks nice. Really happy with espresso color and hardware finish. I am always so impressed with the speedy delivery.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect color match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good, not too hard to assemble and drawers are sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased with the quality of this desk.
 from Sylvania, OH,  Apr 4, 2013

Was a bit difficult to put together, but well worth the effort.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice, heavy, solid piece of furniture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top