Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Nice,Solid Desk!
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 27, 2013

Needed to move our computer room to a different part of the house and decided to update the furniture as well. I didn't want a traditional one-person desk, so I scoured the net for a table-like desk that would accommodate at least two people with plenty of leg/desktop room. Two large LCDs fit nicely on top with keyboards and mice. and there is plenty of room for writing, doing bills, whatever, just by moving the keyboards/mice up a little bit. The pull-out keyboard tray is very nice, has plenty of room for a standard keyboard and mouse, as well as plenty of leg-room underneath. However, since we aren't utilizing it for that, we have office trays inserted instead. Perfect place for pens,pencils, etc... The install took me forever because I kept having to stop and tend to the kids or take care other things. I also tend to be a neat-freak, so I organized all of the pieces, and verified that everything was there. There is extra hardware, so worry if you left-overs. Whoever put this together really took the time to do it right, and I appreciate that. I am a "visual" person, so looking at the diagrams helped me the most when using the instructions. I like to turn the pieces how they are oriented in the diagrams so that I am sure that all the hardware is placed/installed properly. For me, the top of the desk, though it lined up, was just slightly difficult to press down and make a solid connection to the dowels. I had to get my son to press from the top while I (on my back from underneath) carefully but firmly pushed up - checking every few pushes or so to make sure we weren't forcing anything and that we were making progress. On a final note, I did have a problem with the left drawer not closing properly, as some of the other reviewers mentioned, but after playing around with the cam locks inside the drawer, it opens and closes perfectly. I think my first time around I may have over tightened one or more of the cam locks, which caused the drawer not to be square. What I did to fix it was loosen all of the cam locks, and alternate tightening them (as the instructions say I believe), just like when you tighten the lug nuts on a tire. You donít tighten them one after the other, you hop back and forth diagonally. Sorry to be so wordy with this description, but maybe it will help someone. After that I had to slightly loosen one (or both) of the front cam locks, just slightly. You may have to fiddle with it a little, but it should work. I didnít have any trouble with the drawer on the right. Highly recommend this desk. You won't be disappointed. On a different note, it was tough to find a good quality lateral file cabinet to go with this desk, so I bit the bullet and opted for a more expensive one. Unfortunately, it was the only one I could find that matched the finish of this desk and was good quality. The handles aren't a perfect match, but they're nice and close enough for me. If you're interested, it is the Mayline Mira Series Wood Veneer 2-Drawer Lateral File in Espresso. The best price I could find at the time was the place that was formerly ***(dot)com.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact color. I trusted the color in the picture and ordered a lateral file cabinet from another site and they match just shy of perfectly (too close to tell the difference from afar).
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solidly built product.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Computer/writing desk Excellent!
 from Destin, Fl,  Mar 15, 2013

My experience with Overstock.com was excellent. Ease of ordering, the product arrived quickly, excellent quality and pricing. Definitely worth purchase, great company to buy from.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large work space
 from New Jersey,  Mar 5, 2013

The positives: I love how much working surface space there is. The color is great, it's very sturdy (doesn't feel like typical pressed board stuff that will warp over time), and is long enough that two people can comfortably sit and work. The negatives: This was the most challenging piece of furniture to assemble that I have ever purchased. I read similar reviews about this aspect but thought, I've assembled plenty of pieces like this before...no problem. But it took my husband and me about three days to get it all together. There are a lot of pieces and the instructions aren't entirely clear. Also, we have yet to get the middle drawer (keyboard drawer) to securely stay in place with the little magnet thatís supposed to keep the front of the drawer closed. It's a heavy piece and seems like a lot to ask of that little magnet. All in all however, these are minor things and I really do like the quality and size of this desk.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pefectly matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Besides Overstock service hiccup, desk is perfect
 from Los Angeles CA,  Feb 1, 2013

The only downside to this desk was Overstock's shipping error. They delivered two desks (a few hundred pounds of boxes, unassembled) to the wrong office, clear across our building. Not sure who signed for it, but it wasn't me and judging clearly by the large sign on our door, wasn't our company. So, instead of unpacking and assembling right away, we spent our afternoon hauling boxes thru hallways. The desk however, was easy to assemble, but fair warning: it's heavy (and that's not a bad thing.) the drawers glide easily, it's sturdy and looks great in the office. As mentioned on here before, the finish is dark and you can only see the espresso coloration in direct light. Otherwise, it looks black.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? On the money
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chair opening too low
 from Florida,  Jan 12, 2013

Although the desk is well made and attractive, the opening (height) between the floor and the bottom of the desk/drawer is not tall enough. When sitting in a chair, an average person's thighs will press firmly against the bottom of the desk. The opening is 21.75" high. I will buy and install small extensions on the bottom of each leg, probably about 2". This will raise the writing surface to 31" which may be tall for some people. This issue was also mentioned by another reviewer. I've only had it a week, but otherwise I'm happy. It is sturdy and was easy to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, sturdy, attractive
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Fort Lauderdale, Florida,  Jan 2, 2013

Love this desk. Have had it for nearly a year and it is great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great
 from Savannah,  Dec 1, 2012

The desk looks great. I put it together by myself and it does require you to plan ahead and reqd the instructions. The desl top had some minor imperfections that I'm able to live with. The magnet that holds the keyboard draw is definitely to small to hold the door shut. Aa trip to Home Depot should remedy that. The desk is stunning looking.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great
 from Elk Grove CA,  Nov 20, 2012

Looks great - was a bit more challenging to put together becasue the pictures on the directions were a bit hard to see. If they had been larger and more detailed - would have been much easier. Once I understood the bolt lock system it was a breeze. But I had never worked with that type of screw bolt lock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looks almost black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Houston, TX,  Nov 6, 2012

Beautiful piece of furniture! Not flimsy or rickety! Great buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was true by the description & picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very heavy & good quality! The desktop was split a little on one end but shame on me for not looking at it until it was already put together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice desk!
 from Southern California,  Oct 24, 2012

I have a lovely desk that I spent over $1000 on and I wanted a desk for my husband. I saw this one and liked the price. It was fairly easy to put together by myself and it looks fabulous. It looks as nice as my expensive desk, but not as heavy - thank goodness! Great quality item, I highly recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty good
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Sep 13, 2012

The other's aren't lying, this desk takes forever to put together. You think it's a simple desk...but you get to put it ALL together. I wish there were more preassembled parts but alas there weren't. It took my partner and I a good 3 hours from start to finish. The directions were frustrating as they included several steps in one step and if one thing was put in out of order, chances were that whole step would need to be redone. The holes usually lined up although some didn't and that was frustrating, there also aren't extra parts so when something doesn't quite work and then breaks you are out of luck. The desk is also higher than the average desk so you have to sit up higher in your chair and if you're like me and 5'6" that means that you then need a foot rest or you sit with only your toes touching the floor. I love the look of the desk, it was a lot of work for such a simple desk and I really wish I would have looked closer at the height.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was pretty good, the drawers didn't exactly fit so the track needed to be bent for it to be even
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HORRIBLE to put tg. not as sturdy
 from California,  Aug 19, 2012

This is a very large desk. Its color is nice and close to what has been said about it on Overstock. The quality is only fair. It easily scratches though I been very careful with the surface of this desk (coasters and all). Perhaps, I got a worse quality than other buyers. The most annoying problem is the middle drawer. It does not close. The magnet is pathetic and it is not lined up properly. Even when I lined it up, it still does not hold this heavy latch. I have bought different magnets, but they do not fit and I am having a hard time finding a powerful enough magnet, which would be the right size. Some people may be able to overlook this problem; I am annoyed by it. Additionally, a number of holes were not drilled in the right places. The printed directions are less than ideal. I had to study them quite a bit and I have experience in putting furniture tg. without problems. I have done it for years. The desk would be stable enough it they had some additional clasp, or something like that, to suppor the connection of the legs and the desk's frame. The current support is inadequate. It keeps it tg. but it is not sturdy enough. Finally, putting the top of the desk was a challenge as it requires two people to line up properly. Perhaps if you are a strong build man with large arms you may be able to do it yourself. I needed help with this part. Putting the desk tg. took a very long time (several hours!!!). Using electric tools will certainly shorten the time. The bottom line is that I would not recommend it. There got to be better designed desks in this price range. I paid a little more than what the current price is.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair only
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Desk!
 from Belle Chasse, LA,  Aug 13, 2012

I am a 57 year old woman, and after having it for over a week, decided to put it together myself. The assemby instruction pictures are very accurate, but VERY SMALL. The written instructions could be more detailed. I recommend having a person in reserve to help with the lifting, but I was able to manage the assemby reasonable well. It took me some time, but I am very happy with the end product. It is sturdy, attractive and perfect for my needs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent desk but takes time to assemble
 from Albuquerque, NM,  Aug 8, 2012

We have already owned a black desk that is 60 inches wide. When we set up our home office, we wanted another desk with the same dimension so that we could put them facing each other in the office. This desk fits the bill. It is sturdy and of high quality. However, it does have many parts and it requires two people to put it together. Once it is done, it provides a big surface for the computer, the phone, the document trays, etc. Super nice end product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice desk at a good price
 from Orlando florida,  May 27, 2012

The parts are well labeled and the instructions are clear (although some of the illustrations are quite small). The desk was easy to assemble, but it takes a few hours.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality for an assemble it yourself desk
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

the middle drawer is for you to put keyboard, but we only have labtop, so to us it is just a regular drawer. It is closed up using the magnet which is not very good. Ours doesn't really close after we put it together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid wood, good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very solid in design and materials.
 from california,  May 15, 2012

Sturdy and well designed for function. The magnet catching the drawer is weak.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy and well designed for function. The magnet catching the drawer is weak.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality
 from Miami FL,  May 14, 2012

Received the desk as in approx 5 day as stated. Instructions were fairly good and detailed. Took approx 2 hrs to assemble as I really used 40 mins to carefully ready the instructions. Once put together the desk looks great and is very solid.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Made well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product, flawed instructions
 from Sacramento, CA,  May 10, 2012

This was not an easy piece to assemble as 2 or 3 lines of instruction did not match the process. It would have been nice to have the holes marked with the appropriate pieces of hardware / dowels. The instructions were hard to read for older eyes and even with glasses. Once the piece was assembled it is a beautiful desk.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Locking nuts broke
 from LA,  Apr 12, 2012

The quality of the wood is great, all the hardware was perfect, except for the locking nuts that you have to turn 180 degrees in order to lock with the cam bolts. I've ordered 2 rubberwood bookshelves from overstock, and they had the same locking nuts. However, the locking nuts on the bookshelves required almost zero torque. These locking nuts should require alot of torque to tighten onto the cams. I noticed that they would break every single time. I know I was doing it right, I have a lot of experience assembling furniture, even metal fabrication and carpentry. Im thinking I came across a bad bunch of locking nuts, because virtually all of them would bend and start breaking. I bought this desk as a better alternative than the cheap-college style furniture you get at IKEA. I also bought this desk with the intentions of moving it in the future, with hopes that it doesn't loosen where the joints fasten together. I know my bookshelves wont loosen if they were moved. Honestly, Im disappointed that I have to return the desk, because I really like the color and the quality of the wood.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality wood, bad hardware
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought