Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 181 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good, but not perfect.
 from Los Angeles, CA,  May 20, 2011

This product is a reasonably priced imitation of the Eames Molded Plastic Dowel Leg Side Chair. This is not an exact replica, but it's pretty good; especially at less than 25% of the cost of the originals. Most noticeable differences can be seen in the hardware in the base of the chair, as well as the type of wood used for the legs. The chairs are comfortable, and the plastic provides nice "give" when you lean back. Overall quality is good (though not up to the standards of the Eames chair). However, one of the six chairs I purchased came with a defective screw (four of which are used to attach the base to the seat). I contacted overstock.com's customer support, and requested a replacement. I'll post an update once the situation is resolved.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? See title of this review...
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the chairs but they break.
 from Chicago, IL,  Aug 19, 2011

Love the look of these chairs but, as previous reviewers said, they do break. We bought 6 and 4 are already crooked and bent. The metal supports under the seat have actually bent so the seat pitches forward. On the two that aren't (yet) broken, they creak so much, we expect them to break any day. These are excellent looking replicas of Eames chairs but the quality is very poor.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. They looked great initially but now 4 of the 6 we bought are broken. They are crooked due to bent metal.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Priced Appropriately
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jul 12, 2013

If you're a fan of this iconic Eames chair, but not a fan of its $*00 price tag, these chairs work. Honestly you really can't beat the price. The build quality is about that of an IKEA chair, and is currently serving as a a suitable set of kitchen chairs in my smaller kitchen. They're good, not great. The white plastic seat had a few small blackened scuffs when I opened the packaging. A Mr. Clean Magic Erasure took care of them, but also made me realize how easily the seats could be damaged if you have pants with metal buttons or grommets on the pockets. The assembled chair is also not the most solid under you and has quite a bit of flex. Not recommended for people who are rough on their things, or like to rock back in their chair.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual color matched online photo.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The chair quality is on par with the price. They're not going to fall apart on you, but I'd recommend putting thread lock on all of the bolts, and pads on the feet. The chair's seat is softer plastic and will scratch easily so be mindful of pants with button pockets.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was true to product.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Design Copy; Poor Construction!
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Mar 15, 2013

This is a great replica of a popular mid-century design. Unfortunately, due to shoddy constructions with bolts regularly becoming loose under the seat, this chair isn't even worth 1/2 the current price. We purchased 2 & the plastic seat cracked on one a few months after purchasing & we just threw the other one out. If you're going to plan on very rarely using this chair, it might be ok as a design element, but this didn't even hold up to an average sized person using it in their home office.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Shoddy constructions with bolts regularly becoming loose under the seat. The plastic seat cracked on one a few months after purchasing & we just threw the other one out.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very happy with purchase
 from venice, ca,  Nov 29, 2011

super easy to put together, stylish mid-cen chairs. comfortable, affordable and prooves there's no need to be the "expensive version."

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? pretty much the same. thought the wood on the legs would be a little darker, but still nice.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality. same as the super expensive version.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Improved students' studying habits
 from Midwest US,  Oct 10, 2011

I work for a private school in the midwest. They gave us a huge furniture budget this year so I invested in a classroom full of these chairs. I really see a difference in how the children behavior and do their work. They are more comfortable and stay on task. I recommended these chairs for their desks at home as well!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sturdy study chairs
 from virginia,  Oct 8, 2011

use these for tutoring studio. love them because they are easy to clean- just wipe them off when they get messy

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrible product
 from new york, ny,  Dec 3, 2012

While the chairs look nice the quality of the chairs is terrible, within one week of using them the screws under the chair became loose and wobbly. We'd have to tighten them at least once a week-at this point we can't even tighten them fully and they are uneven and super uncomfortable to sit on not to mention how noisy they are when you sit on them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? pretty accurate--legs a little lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. terrible
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love Love Love these Chairs!
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Oct 31, 2012

I am so happy with these chairs. The quality is great, and the price was a steal! I totally got the "Eames" look I wanted, without paying a fortune. Also, I love the quick shipping that Overstock consistently has.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Even better in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than I expected for such a great price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chairs
 from San Francisco,  Aug 21, 2012

These are great and you really can't beat the price. I have a couple of authentic vintage eames fiberglass shell chair and looking at them side by side I can't tell the difference in shape. I think the mount holes are even the same or close enough to adapt to be interchangeable. Even Herman Miller uses molded plastic these days (instead of fiberglass) now, so I don't see any reason why you would buy one of theirs for $350. Compared to fiberglass, There is a little bit more flex in the back when you lean back, but it's actually kind of nice and doesn't feel flimsy. The only problem is lack of color options. White and black match everything I guess.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Creaky chairs
 from San Francisco,  Sep 4, 2013

I encouraged my boyfriend to buy these chairs for his dining room. I'm sorry that I did. The chairs were fine at first, but they started to get really creaky after about a month or so. We have tightened the screws multiple times and they start creaking almost right away. They look good, but they are poor quality.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mediocre quality
 from Portland, OR,  Apr 7, 2013

I'm disappointed in the sturdiness of these chairs; the molded plastic is very flimsy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The chair resembles the designer chairs.
 from Kansas City, M0,  Oct 23, 2012

Very happy with the purchase of the chairs fits well in a smaller area.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very true to color as shown online.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chairs
 from New Jersey,  Oct 15, 2012

these are great copies. If you need a good chair with some style, these work well. We love that they push all the way under the table. They clean easily and feel very sturdy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good waiting room chairs
 from McCaw, SC,  Oct 7, 2011

Like this kind a chair for my home office. Got a few of these. Like the look of the legs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wood Leg White Accent Chairs (Set of 2)
 from Washington DC,  Sep 19, 2011

Overall we are happy with the chairs. The are clearly a reproduction and a slightly cheap feel, but acceptable for office use. My biggest complaint is that is did not come with hardware to assemble them (ie; no screws or washers) so I had to spend additional time trying to find a metric screw and washer just to put them together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. While the these are not the quality of the original, for the price it is about what I expected, passable.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Chairs.
 from Washington DC,  Feb 4, 2010

I've been coveting the original Eames chairs from Design Within Reach for a while, and could not justify spending that kind of crazy money for them (I think they're about $600 apiece). These are really good knock-offs, and they blend wonderfully with our 1970's table and 1920s dining room. The white plastic shells are less shiny than the photo shows, and the seat height is a little lower than 17", but neither is a problem. They're comfortable to boot! Arrived two days after we ordered them.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect gift!
 from New Hampshire,  May 24, 2014

Bought these chairs as a new lake house warming gift. Our friends have a unique modern style of design and these will look fabulous in their new place! These chairs were a great price...I've seen them on other sites for a lot more $. Can't wait to give them this gift!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent economy option to designer chairs
 from Houston, TX,  Oct 29, 2012

These are very small chairs, no doubt, careful before ordering, they won't work with a taller table, very well suited for kids i would say. That said they look the part, and are worth the money, as they are quite low priced.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK little chairs.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate, careful about dimensions, height is measured from floor to the very top of backrest, not seat level.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than expected
 from Acton, MA,  Sep 30, 2012

I bought 2 sets of these to use as dining chairs. They are great. Comfortable, well made, easy to assemble and look great. They are more sturdy than I expected. Excellent price for a well made Eames reproduction.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 181 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Retro-classic White Accent Chairs (Set of 2)
Sale $170.99
Was $189.99
Compare $210.00
Save 19%
(283)
Vinnie White Cradle Chair
Sale $97.27
Was $108.08
Compare $212.00
Save 54%
(299)
Back to top