Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great media cabinet
 from Memphis, TN,  Mar 23, 2012

This is a great cabinet that can hold a lot of movies and CDs. It was timely putting it together but the instructions were very clear and easy to undrstand. It is pretty alarming when you are putting it together and it seems so flimsy and unstable but once you put the back piece on it is as solid as a rock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great deep brown color!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I thought it was in excellent condition.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It's exactly as it seems in the picture and in the description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks nice, materials poor
 from Spokane, WA,  Jan 11, 2013

I ordered two of these. They look very nice from 5 feet away but the materials are shoddy. Numerous nicks and dings in the finish appear to be from the factory, not from shipping. These come with fittings to attach to the wall which is recommended, particularly if putting anything heavy inside or on top. Othewise easily tips over. I am not impressed, but the pieces do exactly what I needed them to do (LOTS of storage for media), look nice from the couch, and were all I could afford. If you can't afford better - and if your household is gentle/respectful of items as a general rule - these might do just fine for ya. Easy to put together. First one took me (a reasonably 'handy' average female) 4 hours including set up time and figuring out directions and extra tools. Second one took 2 hours or less. Recommend soft mallet, electric screwdriver or drill, and Elmer's glue (or wood glue) in addition to the Phillips screwdriver indicated in the directions. The dowels do not fit tightly; a couple drops of glue in the dowel holes adds strength once it's dry. Be gentle with the drill so as not to overdrive the screws - the pressboard is not very dense and the finish mars/tears EASILY. Instructions indicate putting on cardboard backing last. Works better if backing is attached as soon as each part of the frame is secured. Item is heavy; 'flexes' when you try to move it so recommend moving entirely empty with two people. If working alone, recommend moving without shelves and doors, adding those after it's in place.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? close enough
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor to average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? close enough
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great, but poor quality
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Nov 7, 2012

I was so excited to buy this piece. I wanted something large enough to store about 300 DVDs. I ordered, delivery was fast, but it was darker than I expected and one of the handles on the door was buckling around the wood - too obvious for me too overlook. So I called Overstock and they were great. They shipped out a replacement ASAP. To no avail, the second one was of poor quailty too. The laminate on the side boards was peeling, the paint was done poorly and the quality of the 'wood' itself was awful. I had to return and ended up ordering a media cabinet from another competitor.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Darker than expected - looks almost black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great media cabinet
 from Kansas City, MO,  Apr 21, 2012

This cabinet is awesome. It is exactly what I wanted; it holds all of our movies, it looks nice, and it doesn't feel cheap like it's going to fall apart. My only complaint is that after I was done putting it together (I'm no handy-woman so it took about 2 hours by myself) the top doors do not stay shut completely. This may be my fault but can be fixed with a magnet strip or something like that. Overall though, this cabinet is great and definitely a good buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect, the color was exactly what the site showed.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Completely accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

These are very sharp looking once they are put together, although they do feel a little bit flimsy. Assembly was fairly easy. But be forewarned that it takes almost as long to clean up the mess from the Styrofoam packaging as it does to assemble the product! We found that using a brush attachment to vacuum each piece as it comes out of the box worked fairly well. Seriously, though - Overstock, listen up: Don't overshadow your awesomeness with this packaging mess! Aside from the frustrating mess, Styrofoam is so not planet-friendly anyway. There are better options! (This is the second furniture item I've purchased by different manufacturers, so I assume it's an Overstock packaging decision.)

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great design/Poor quality
 from Houston, TX,  Feb 26, 2014

This is by no means a "nice" piece of furniture, however, it suited our needs for stylish storage for DVDs and games. It is a tedious job putting it together and as the piece is made out of particle board, it damages easily. Do not wait to put on the back piece! It helps stabilize the entire unit... The Styrofoam packaging got everywhere while we were unpacking the pieces. With the piece was finally put together, in place and loaded, it looks really good in the space. I would recommend it with full disclosure that this is not a stellar piece of furniture that is going to become a family heirloom!

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Quality for the price
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Feb 23, 2014

Cabinet arrived in two days after placing order. Good quality for this type of furniture. Contemporary styling and the sliding glass doors are a nice touch. It took about 60-90 minutes to build.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Did not like it
 from CT,  Feb 18, 2014

The unit fell by itself when I was in the middle of building it. The cabinet looks great but the structural design is not good at all. The CAM screws that came with it came out by even after locking them in place. The unit swayed when I was building and fell when I stepped out of the room. Luckily it did not fall on anyone. The unit is heavy but the design is poor and cannot withstand its own weight.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't waste your money.
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 30, 2013

First of all, it came packed in a way that damaged the styrofoam packing, so there were bits of styrofoam all over the item when removed from the box. It took half an hour to vacuum all of the pieces up. They should have shipped it in two boxes since it comes in one very heavy box. Second, it might have been fine at half the height, but there are no crossbars for support, and it's a pain to put together. The doors provide the cross bar support. Even when assembled, it looks like it's made out of cardboard. It's easily warped and twisted. I would return it if I could.I doubt if I will keep it for a year. It would have been a better produce if designed better, and if it was two separate, possibly stackable, cabinets.I can't say anything good about this product.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!!
 from New Jersey,  Nov 12, 2013

I love it! modern look, very sturdy. It was easy to put together. color matched perfect. Looks very nice!!!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sent back.
 from Ohio,  Sep 16, 2013

Have sent the item back as the wood split while trying to assemble the item.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a quick assemble
 from Ohio,  Jul 13, 2013

It is a nice media cabinet, but takes a long time to put together. Also, the instructions are not helpful. They had the least amount of information possible. Had to guess for a lot of the assembly. Other than that the cabinet itself seems pretty good, but a bit tipsy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works for us
 from Washington Metro,  May 14, 2013

We were looking for a cabinet to get our media storage out of our RecRoom. This is tall, taking advantage of our vertical space, and since it isn't very deep, we could put it in our hallway. There are a lot of parts. So it takes some time to put it together. Of course mounting it to the wall is absolutely necessary. The cabinet holds a lot. We have more. However, most of our items fit. Walking down the stairs, it makes an organized impression sitting at the bottom of the stairs. I'll have to keep my fingers crossed that the dog keeps his soccor ball outside. I hate to think what would happen to the glass if he rolled it down the stairs. We just put it together, so I can't speak to how well it will serve us over time. Arrived undamaged with all its parts

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good deep Espresso
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is really good looking for an MDF product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Stand
 from Roy, Utah,  Apr 11, 2013

Turned out really good... The instruction sucked! NO English "" REALLY"" would have saved a lot of time. but went together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was right on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Matched the picture well
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unstable
 from CA,  Mar 17, 2013

I was very disappointed with this product. It is very attractive, but once put together it is not sturdy. We have put other shelves together by other companies and those are fine. This one is put together in pretty much the same way, but this one hardly can hold itself up. Since I am stuck with the shelf, we will probably rebuild it with our own supplies and a carpenter's advice on a solution for the stability issue.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was fine.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The shelf is not stable.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is a shelf, that was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely!
 from Washington State,  Feb 27, 2013

The only complaint I had with this cabinet is the assembly. It is partially my fault because I do not have a powerful drill to get the screws in so it was a pain to screw in all the screws required to make this a sturdy piece. I had a 6volt drill and the difficulty getting the screws in kept killing its battery so I had to use a screwdriver a lot. That sucked and took forever. All in all it is a beautiful piece and just what I wanted. I may need another one because I didn't realize how many videogames and movies I have!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly matched.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fine quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just ok
 from Denton, TX,  Dec 10, 2012

The product seemed like it would be sturdy, hoever the whole thing almost fell over while putting it together. There isnt any support for the sides once they go on. It was extremely wobbly until the back was put on. It seemed that the back is the only thing keeping it square and not leaning, which is probably not good since the back is just 3 thin sheets of what looks like mdf taped together. It does work for what its intended use is but don't try and move the shelf once it is together much less loaded with cds or blu rays. If it wasn't for the cost and fact once you get it out of the box there really isnt a good way to repackage it, I think I would have sent it back. I actually have to check and see if the capacity limit indicated is accurate.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? THe colors we pretty close. Expresso is very dark.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mediocre at Best
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description was accurate as far as color and dimension
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great
 from Texas,  Sep 26, 2012

Looks great in my living room...so much that I bought a second.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? A Match
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good piece
 from South Jersey, NJ,  Sep 14, 2012

I was hesitant about purchasing this piece, for a couple hundred bucks you figure it's a decent quality but you are never sure without seeing it in person. We it was delivered and unpacked I was very impressed. The quality was beyond my expecatation, assembly was easy and it all went together with no problems. i will probably buy another...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was just as I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is very nice, for the price you expect decent quality and it delivers
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Purchase!
 from Waco, Texas,  Sep 7, 2012

I bought the media cabinet for my son's first apartment. Although it was time consuming to put together, and the styrofoam messy, the cabinet itself is beautiful and functional. Its height and depth were exactly what he needed to help balance the other furniture in the room. Also, the glass doors added just the right touch of sophistication to the unit.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color appeared identical to the pictures of the product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The media cabinet is sturdy, well balanced, and beautiful.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I have no qualms about the description of the media cabinet and the product I received.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Windowpane Media Cabinet with Sliding Glass Doors
Sale $160.96
Was $178.84
Compare $299.99
Save 46%
(6)
Back to top