Up to 50% off + Extra 10% off Featured Serta Memory Foam Products* Serta
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great media cabinet
 from Memphis, TN,  Mar 23, 2012

This is a great cabinet that can hold a lot of movies and CDs. It was timely putting it together but the instructions were very clear and easy to undrstand. It is pretty alarming when you are putting it together and it seems so flimsy and unstable but once you put the back piece on it is as solid as a rock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great deep brown color!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I thought it was in excellent condition.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It's exactly as it seems in the picture and in the description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks nice, materials poor
 from Spokane, WA,  Jan 11, 2013

I ordered two of these. They look very nice from 5 feet away but the materials are shoddy. Numerous nicks and dings in the finish appear to be from the factory, not from shipping. These come with fittings to attach to the wall which is recommended, particularly if putting anything heavy inside or on top. Othewise easily tips over. I am not impressed, but the pieces do exactly what I needed them to do (LOTS of storage for media), look nice from the couch, and were all I could afford. If you can't afford better - and if your household is gentle/respectful of items as a general rule - these might do just fine for ya. Easy to put together. First one took me (a reasonably 'handy' average female) 4 hours including set up time and figuring out directions and extra tools. Second one took 2 hours or less. Recommend soft mallet, electric screwdriver or drill, and Elmer's glue (or wood glue) in addition to the Phillips screwdriver indicated in the directions. The dowels do not fit tightly; a couple drops of glue in the dowel holes adds strength once it's dry. Be gentle with the drill so as not to overdrive the screws - the pressboard is not very dense and the finish mars/tears EASILY. Instructions indicate putting on cardboard backing last. Works better if backing is attached as soon as each part of the frame is secured. Item is heavy; 'flexes' when you try to move it so recommend moving entirely empty with two people. If working alone, recommend moving without shelves and doors, adding those after it's in place.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? close enough
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor to average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? close enough
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great, but poor quality
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Nov 7, 2012

I was so excited to buy this piece. I wanted something large enough to store about 300 DVDs. I ordered, delivery was fast, but it was darker than I expected and one of the handles on the door was buckling around the wood - too obvious for me too overlook. So I called Overstock and they were great. They shipped out a replacement ASAP. To no avail, the second one was of poor quailty too. The laminate on the side boards was peeling, the paint was done poorly and the quality of the 'wood' itself was awful. I had to return and ended up ordering a media cabinet from another competitor.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Darker than expected - looks almost black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Did not like it
 from CT,  Feb 18, 2014

The unit fell by itself when I was in the middle of building it. The cabinet looks great but the structural design is not good at all. The CAM screws that came with it came out by even after locking them in place. The unit swayed when I was building and fell when I stepped out of the room. Luckily it did not fall on anyone. The unit is heavy but the design is poor and cannot withstand its own weight.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great media cabinet
 from Kansas City, MO,  Apr 21, 2012

This cabinet is awesome. It is exactly what I wanted; it holds all of our movies, it looks nice, and it doesn't feel cheap like it's going to fall apart. My only complaint is that after I was done putting it together (I'm no handy-woman so it took about 2 hours by myself) the top doors do not stay shut completely. This may be my fault but can be fixed with a magnet strip or something like that. Overall though, this cabinet is great and definitely a good buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect, the color was exactly what the site showed.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Completely accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We ordered 2 of the media cabinets. There was a piece missing out of each box. BUT overstock.com customer service was FANTASTIC!!! Found the missing pieces and were sent to me within a week. We also bought a TV stand at the same time. It's quality was much better than the media cabinets, but different manufacturer. Nice looking cabinets, but only a 3-star on quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bar
 Apr 24, 2015

I use this cabinet as a bar, I only used every other shelf and put wine bottles and glasses in it...everyone loves the look. I also put lights inside so it has a nice look when they are lit

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

My new house does not have a linen closet so I bought this cabinet to put all my extra toothpaste, soap, etc in. It goes together pretty easily, but is not the best quality. That's why I gave it four stars. It serves the purpose I bought it for and I am satisfied. Not very deep and that is what I needed to not take up too much space.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I bought this cabinet to house my CD collection. Yes I still own CD's, let's move on : ). The cabinet was pretty easy to put together with two people working on it. It came out beautiful. I later had a gathering at my house and so many people loved it and wanted to know where I got it. It looks just as it is pictured. Doors slide easily and wall attachment feature is a good idea.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice!
 Mar 15, 2015

Beautiful addition to my livingroom. Product looks expensive and was fairly easy to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks nice
 Mar 4, 2015

Nice place to store your movies and CDs. Or repurpose for something else.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Wish I could give this ZERO stars. Either this product was defective as shipped or is the WORST construction design ever. First, upon opening the box, a thousand small pieces of styrofoam spilled onto my floor and took great effort to clean. Then, after spending hours to correctly assemble the product it leaned at least 12 inches in either direction from it's base. It could not be safely used in this state so I had to purchase and install 20 extra braces AND then bracket it to the wall. It looks fine but I would most strongly discourage anyone from buying this. If there had been an easy way to repackage it and send it back for a refund I definitely would have. Do not make the same mistake I did. Do not buy this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BIG
 Feb 3, 2015

exactly as described! Just a little difficult to put together, need two people. You can also fit VHS, just arrange shelves further apart or stack them on their sides. Great cabinet all around.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lc
 Jan 10, 2015

A little wobbly when assembled, need to attached to the wall.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
China Crap
 from Santa An, Ca.,  Dec 5, 2014

I would not even get this one star but they don't have a zero rating. The hardware brakes when you try to tighten it, the dowel pin are so loose,why have them. The side of the rail were puttied were they made a mistake, and with out the back panel the whole thing would collapses. Please don't buy this trash, not worth the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review
 from OH,  Oct 29, 2014

Cabinet was easy to put together & looks like the picture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great, Great Price, Does the Job!
 from Wrightstown New Jersey,  Sep 16, 2014

I purchased one of these, and It worked out so well I bought 2 more. I own an E Cigarette business and actually am using these as displays to hold my products! Love it. I do recommend when assembling the top half .1. Stand the bottom upright and put shelves on and Backing on the bottom half. 2.Assemble the top section and place on top of bottom. This makes the unit more stable and you don't need the back off to put doors on. Overall the unit was Very easy to assemble, I do suggest and extra pair of hands just to hold things and make it easier.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great design/Poor quality
 from Houston, TX,  Feb 26, 2014

This is by no means a "nice" piece of furniture, however, it suited our needs for stylish storage for DVDs and games. It is a tedious job putting it together and as the piece is made out of particle board, it damages easily. Do not wait to put on the back piece! It helps stabilize the entire unit... The Styrofoam packaging got everywhere while we were unpacking the pieces. With the piece was finally put together, in place and loaded, it looks really good in the space. I would recommend it with full disclosure that this is not a stellar piece of furniture that is going to become a family heirloom!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Quality for the price
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Feb 23, 2014

Cabinet arrived in two days after placing order. Good quality for this type of furniture. Contemporary styling and the sliding glass doors are a nice touch. It took about 60-90 minutes to build.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't waste your money.
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 30, 2013

First of all, it came packed in a way that damaged the styrofoam packing, so there were bits of styrofoam all over the item when removed from the box. It took half an hour to vacuum all of the pieces up. They should have shipped it in two boxes since it comes in one very heavy box. Second, it might have been fine at half the height, but there are no crossbars for support, and it's a pain to put together. The doors provide the cross bar support. Even when assembled, it looks like it's made out of cardboard. It's easily warped and twisted. I would return it if I could.I doubt if I will keep it for a year. It would have been a better produce if designed better, and if it was two separate, possibly stackable, cabinets.I can't say anything good about this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought