Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 99 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Finish Flaking
 from New Mexico,  Apr 8, 2013

I bought this desk because the dimensions were perfect for having space for my laptop and for taking notes. I am disappointed that the middle drawer is a keyboard drawer only. Other desks have the ability to latch so the space can be used as a drawer if there is no keyboard. Since this is described as a writing table, I assumed (Bad me) the drawer could hold pens or other small items. Not the case. For my purpose (laptop desk) the middle drawer is essentially a waste. However, this is not the source of my frustration. Two weeks after assembly and initial use, the finish has puckered and started flaking off from the top of the desk. This beautiful desk has quickly turned into an eyesore. I am constantly having to knock the flakes of finish off my arms and lap as I work. I do not use large quantities of lotions or oils on my hands or arms nor do I use a harsh furniture polish so I feel the finish is subjected to normal wear and should not flake.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Paint Job
 from Seattle,  Mar 24, 2013

Received this desk a few days ago. It came in two large cartons that were very well packed. Box 1 contained the desk top and a few other pieces. Box 2 carton contained most of the pieces and the hardware. Everything in box 1 is acceptable. Some of the pieces in box 1 have minor finish problems (paint uneven or thin coverage) but these were bracing rails that won't show after the desk is put together so not a big deal to me. The desk top looked great. Glossy white smooth finish. In box 2 many of the pieces have paint problems. Paint too thin, scratches, cracking, chipping, and flaking. The flaking was the worst and was concentrated on seams. These defects were very obvious and I cannot use the desk in this condition. Too bad Overstock doesn't provide for photos on reviews-- I would include some. I don't think this damage was a result of shipping, I think it was a lousy paint job. I was really looking forward to putting this desk in my office. Aside from the paint problems, I liked the look of the desk based on pieces in boxes-- I didn't assemble it. Am currently communicating with customer service to see if they will send replacement parts so I don't have to return the desk. Will update this review if possible when new parts come.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not sure since I haven't assembled it, but looks like what I expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Quality
 from NW Suburbs of Chicago,  Mar 14, 2013

We are not very handy so it took us 2.5 hours to assemble with only a few 'whoops - redos'. We usually do not buy some assembly required items, so initially I was concerned. The only real assembly problem we could not figure out; how to get the front middle drawer to open to be a key board drawer - but that was ok because I was using it as a regular drawer anyway. The white caps to cover the screw hold indents did not fit in all the holes, but if you added a little glue I'm sure it would be fine. I am using in a craft room and that wasn't important to me. When putting the runners/slides on the bottom of the drawers no matter how careful you are the wood splits, but not enough to affect the function or look of the drawer. This is a nice, heavy piece of furniture...not a cheap vaneer. I am very happy with it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, slight stress mark in wood top, not very noticable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
White Writing Desk
 from NY,  Mar 7, 2013

This is a large and sturdy work bench/desk with 3 storage drawers. Assembly was quite easy and the instruction manual was well written. It took me about 2 hours to assemble and I would recommend this item for those looking for a large (5' wide by 30" deep) workspace.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good color match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The initial shipment had a damaged section which Overstock promptly replaced.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I was looking for
 from Daytona beach, fl,  Mar 1, 2013

This desk is wider than your standard desk which is exactly what I needed. I normally have two laptops up, an extra video screen, an inbox basket, and a minimum of two piles of papers/folders and there was still room for the keyboard. The middle drawer fits the keyboard for even more room on top. It's great! It took my friend 3 hours to put together and the only complaint I heard from her was that there were not any pre drilled holes for the drawers. We put those on backwards the first time so keep an eye out for that. The desk is very sturdy and absolutely beautiful. I am very happy with my purchase. Now I need to find the perfect chair for it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is displayed true to color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This desk is extremely strong and sturdy. The drawers are a great size for all of my office materials
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So lovely!
 from Fenton, MI,  Feb 28, 2013

Bought this for my office. Love the simple lines and clean white color. Do have a problem with the center drawer not staying closed, but we are going to fix it with adding an extra magnet. The top developed a few cracks, maybe where pieces were fitted together? I added a glass top since I use it to write and some crafting. Overall I like it very much.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good. A few small cracks in the top
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wish the quality of wood was better
 from Virginia,  Feb 27, 2013

Love the size and look of the desk however the quality of the wood is very poor. Considering the price was a bit on the higher-end, I thought the quality would be much better.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was accurate - White
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the wood is terrible. The top of the desk was warped and does not sit flat. Also the wood chips easily - not durable.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description found on the website is accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Desk, but...........
 from Idaho Falls, ID,  Feb 23, 2013

Two issues I have with this desk, one, there is a small crack on the top part of the desk in the corner, not enough to deal with the pain of sending it back, but still dissapointing to have on a brand new desk! The second is more annoying and that's the fact that the pull down drawer, the one for the keyboard, will not stay latched!! We even took the piece off and stuck it to the magnet to make sure both were working! and still it hangs down, and won't latch. My husband thinks he can fix it with moving the magnet closer to the front of the desk, he thinks its just not close enough to get a good connection. If that doesn't work then we will have no choice but to send it back..The desk is beautiful and very close to what I had envisioned for my office desk, and it got to us in record time, we ordered it on a Friday night, well after any kind of closing hours, with Monday being President's Day, we didn't think we'd see the shipment until Thursday or Friday, but it arrived on Tuesday!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? White is white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems sturdy and very good size
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Desk
 from Buffalo NY,  Feb 1, 2013

I ordered this desk for my new house. Family put it together for me and it did take a while, not sure if it was because they were just not great at reading directions or becuase it was a difficult project. Regardless, it is all put together now and I LOVE it. It is beautiful yet simple. It has a large work space and looks lovely!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Average table
 from Herndon, VA,  Dec 18, 2012

The table is good-looking and it was fairly easy to assemble. The biggest issue is that the paint starting chipping away less than a month after we started using it. Now it is making my office look cheap instead of sleek. I do not recommend this product even if the design and the wood are of good quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on site matches the product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is mediocre
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but not durable
 from Rhode Island,  Nov 26, 2012

I like the size of the desk and its clean lines. It looks great but the slightest bump the paint chips and paint is bubbling in places I dont even put anything.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great it was bright white and glossy
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Its a nice product but the paint bubbles and chips off REALLY easily
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the desk
 from Lawrence, MA,  Nov 12, 2012

Follow the directions for assembly carefully, step by step, don't try to deviate from them. They are lacking, so it's important to pay attention. It took 2 of us 4 hours to put this together (I should point out that neither of us have ever had to put furniture together before so they may have played a role in it, but we moved along at a good pace). Use a powered drill vs a screwdriver to save your hand. My desk top had some imperfections, but 1 call to Overstock and their excellent customer service was put into action. Due to this, I have confidence in the company & will continue to purchase from them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? white is white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid piece of furniture, great desk!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor finish on the desk
 from WA,  Nov 12, 2012

The finish on the top of the desk is very poor. You can see where the paint job is "crackling". I ran my finger across some areas on the desk surface and the paint flaked off.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk Damaged
 from Alexandria, VA,  Oct 28, 2012

The desk looks beautiful online. It arrived in 2 packages. All of the items seemed to be in an ok condition except the desk top which has a big crack off center not only on the top but also on the bottom, so the damage is all the way threw. It was so well packaged I'm a little puzzled how it got the crack. I would almost think that it was sent damaged, although I really don't want to imagine that a seller would send a damaged product knowingly. I will be sending the product back unless I can find a way to have the seller exchange the top only. The product is made in Malaysia and not locally in the USA.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is not applied evenly on the product. In some places you can still see the substrate and the desk could have used couple more coats of paint.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The top of the desk arrived damaged. I will be sending it back.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was fairly accurate. I just wish the product was not damaged. It is such a bother to have to pack everything and deal with sending an itme back.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Deal
 from Gerogia,  Oct 23, 2012

This desk was a great find. The finish is nice and smooth, the pieces are substantial and heavy. It feels like it will last. Took a while to put together, but we are happy with the finished product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very sturdy, solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
clean and beautiful
 from West Chester PA,  Aug 24, 2012

I was worried when it first arrived in that the boxes were not well sealed and a little beat up. It did take a few hours to put together...lots of pieces and the drawers were tricky. but now I absolutely love it. It has clean lines, amble desk top space, the furniture was not scratched at all despite the flimbsy packing....I use the keyboard drawer for storage instead since I have a lap top and this works fine. I anticipate that it will last for many years.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fit description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect desk for our spare room
 from California,  Jul 17, 2012

This was my first purchase from Overstock.com, I was pleasantly surprised. It arrived in great condition. It does take some assembly but went together easily. It looks great and is a nice height and weight.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice sturdy desk
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
White Writing Desk
 from Maxton, NC,  Jul 4, 2012

The table itself is very good quality. Solid, and well made. It was easy to assemble, specially if compared to other furniture I have purchased online. All pieces fit nicely and the result is an excellent table, heavy and solid. I am giving four starts only because the surface of the top came scratched right in the middle. These are not deep scratches, but they kill the beauty of the table are they are noticeable enough. Not to return the table tough. I may eventually find a way to fix this. In sum, I am very satisfied with the purchase. I recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality. Better than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Get what you pay for
 from New York, NY,  May 29, 2012

Well, i was happy with everything until i opened the large box with the desk table top- HUGE CRACK! Overstock was very helpful, and they should be sending me a new piece or a new desk soon. Just a big inconvenience, but again for a $$$ desk, you kinda have to deal with, it right? A chance you take for a desk that size being shipped in parts. Its gonna be a project to put it together, but otherwise it seems like a good product for the price. If I didn't have this annoyance of the damaged part, I'd probably give it a 5 STAR.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. cracked table top
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent desk
 from NYC,  Apr 27, 2012

This desk looks lovely put together. It isn't GREAT quality but what do you expect for that price. Main bummer is the drawers don't align perfectly and the middle keyboard tray is useless and would have been better as a regular drawer. Because of the somewhat shiny paint it does get dinked pretty easily but if gently used should be ok. Be VERY careful putting it together to prevent the wood from cracking! All in all, pleased for the price I paid and it is a very good size table top which is what I wanted.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 99 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Bush Aero Desk
Today $143.98
Compare $375.29
Save 62%
(3)
Student Desk White
Today $134.99
(246)
Back to top