Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
these shelves look great in my entry hall!
 from Lake of the Ozarks, MO,  Jan 6, 2012

These ladder shelves look amazing in my long entry hallway, and the price was right, so I bought 4 of them and lined them up next to each other. They filled the space perfectly. As one earlier reviewer had suggested, I left the screw covers off all of the shelves, except for the two outer sides; this way, they abut one another without any space in between each shelf. I am using these shelves to display a variety of interesting odds and ends - fossils, field guides and other books, shells, vacation souvenirs, etc. They seem plenty sturdy for this purpose. I'm not sure that I would load down every single shelf with heavy books, but these shelves are definitely sturdy enough to accommodate stacks of books here and there among the knickknacks. As other reviewers have noted, they are very open and airy and give the room a sense of space.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic!
 from Boston, MA,  Nov 10, 2011

These shelves came together really easily, and I was able to assemble them 95% by myself. Please note there is a joint where the top rails meet the bottom rails... you don't really notice this when the shelves are full. I have them full of books and the shelves are very sturdy, in my opinion. They can even mostly stand up without even being against a wall, that's how good a job that foot does. Also, IF YOU WANT TO PUT A SET OF THREE TOGETHER, leave the screw covers off the middle shelf. That way the screw covers (which are very bulbous) of the end shelves nestle right in the holes of the middle shelf. Otherwise the shelves would have gaps between them, which isn't the end of the world, but doesn't look as smooth. The shelves are very versatile.. I have them against a vibrant green wall in a modern/eclectic apartment and they look great, but they could also look beachy as someone mentioned, but not necessarily so. Also, they give the impression of taking up much less space than traditional bookshelves because they lean away from you at eye-level. Make sure you tighten the screws with a power screwdriver on high torque before putting the screw covers on, because there is no way you are getting them off without damaging them. (Also, find a rubber mallet to hammer them in; mine wouldn't go in otherwise.)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description does not mention they come with wall straps! This is an important feature!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buyer Beware
 from NC,  Jan 3, 2013

This is a great example of getting what you pay for. Buyer beware. One set was damaged straight out of the box. Repaired as best as possible with wood glue but damage still visible. After assembling all three units, each one missing parts, placed them against wall. Only ONE of the three properly leaned against wall. Other two are so poorly made they do not even rest against wall like they should. Very disappointed in these shelves. They look cheap especially since they do not properly align. I am keeping them until I find something to replace them since returning is impossible now that they are assembled with screws and glue. If returning them was possible I would. They are very wobbly and would not hold much weight.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? So so
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bright and Airy
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Feb 18, 2012

These shelves are awesome. They arrived within a week and were easy to build. They're prefect for displaying vases, shells, etc. I agree that they can look beach-y - which is exactly what I wanted - but they're very flexible depending on what you put on them. I haven't loaded them with anything heavy, and left space for the airy look I wanted. But they're really sturdy, and more solid than I expected for the price. I'll probably order another set soon. They come really well packed and all the parts fit together smoothly. The quality was better than I was expecting for the price. I couldn't be happier with them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very solid.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wonderful shelves
 from Louisville, KY,  Jun 22, 2014

Put 3 together - everyone thinks I bought these at Pottery Barn!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not all that its meant to be
 from New York,  Mar 30, 2014

While the shelf looks pretty, it cannot be used as a bookshelf. That is what I was searching for when Overstock showed me this item. There are two issues with using this shelf (1) It cannot take a lot of weight , so is for decorative purposes only (2) Unless the back wall is absolutely straight, you will start to see your shelves begin to droop. I saw the droop the very day I put my books on. My suggestion - if you are only planning to keep a couple of books, photographs, etc, buy it, otherwise get a proper bookshelf.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I was thrilled to find just what I wanted. The space is just perfect for the shelves. I finishes my newly painted Den to T.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So glad it was wood. I have a glass collection on it and it looks beautiful!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheaply made, hard to assemble!
 from Dallas, Tx,  Mar 26, 2013

I ordered 3 of these bookshelves. All 3 had at least one row that was damaged when it arrived. It was really hard to put together and not worth the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great, sturdy yet light shelves
 from Ventura, CA,  Mar 29, 2012

I received my delivery very quickly. Even though the instructions say you need at least two people to put them together, I was able to assemble them by myself. Once I figured out how to put together the first tier, the other two tiers were easy. They fit perfectly in my closet that I have removed the doors from. I took other reviewers' reccommendations to leave off the screw head covers from the middle tier and only put them on the left and right ones so that all three tiers fit flush together. Fast delivery, easy assembly and looks great! Can't do any better than that!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The white looks crisp and clean
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy pieces fit tightly together yet are light weight
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? My shelves look just like the ones on the website
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Airy
 from Tucson, Az,  Sep 22, 2011

I love these shelves. They bring a classy, beachy look to the room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy, very happy!
 from Downingtown, PA,  Sep 22, 2011

You must assemble these, which took my husband a while for three of them but not difficult. They have little screw covers that are a pain to get in at times and not always fit very well, but they're all in and the shelves look great. CD's fit perfect on the top shelf, by the way...then larger books fit as you go down the larger shelves. I don't have them loaded but they are working just fine for me, look good, seem sturdy enough, and you cannot beat the price anywhere! Just check out ***, ***, or anywhere and you'll find that out!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? bright white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, best buy
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous
 from New Mexico,  Sep 16, 2011

These can be used by young and old. The secret is to place against an accent color wall. I had a set of three set in my early 30 and here I am close to 60 and buying them again. I knew I wanted them I am so lucky they are still being made!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good and study
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish
 from TN,  Mar 27, 2011

I like these bookshelves. The quality of the shelves was A+ and they were very easy to assemble. I am currently using them in my sun-room and bedroom and all what remains is for me is to decorate them. I am considering putting books on them and I think that they are sturdy enough to hold some heavy items.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top