Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 41 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Well made and sturdy - pretty
 from Chattanooga, TN,  Aug 28, 2012

I bought this for my son and daughter in law for their kitchen. They needed extra storage and counter space. The thing they love the most is the pull-out leaf that allows them to sit and enjoy a meal (their kitchen is not laid out to accommodate a small dining table). It is both utilitarian and decorative. It took three of us to get it together only because we wanted to be super careful and some of the pieces were heavy. It went together quite well and the instructions were easy to follow. I'm sure they will enjoy this piece for some time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great piece of furniture!
 from North Carolina,  Jul 31, 2012

My husband and I bought this island a few months ago and we live it! It provides us the little bit of extra storage space we need as well as a great work station for preparing meals for the family. The colors were exactly what we were looking for and it is just a really beautiul, solid piece of furniture. The extra drop leaf side gives us extra space when needed but can easily be taken down when it isnt be used. We love our island and would recommend it to anyone looking for one!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Like it
 from Southwest Florida,  May 22, 2014

This product surprised me as to how nice it really is. It was above my expectations. The packing was extremely well done to the point that unpacking all the parts from the three shipping containers took about a half hour in itself. No complaints about this though. It was a pleasure to see how carefully it was done. Although the assembly was substantial, the instructions were very good and quite easy to follow if you paid attention to the details in the illustration figures and stuck with the step-by-step procedure. Each piece was very well labeled which also helped tremendously with the assembly. About the only thing I would have liked to see would be covering of the exposed screws on the back side of the unit once assembled. It seems like a small matter, but that is the only thing that kept me from rating the product as excellent rather than good as to quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Putting it together is easy.
 from New Jersey,  Jun 8, 2014

Just follow the instructions with the products and everything will fall into place. You may need someone to hold while assembling heavy parts and to put it in the final place in the kitchen.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Island
 from Neptune, New jersey,  Apr 30, 2014

My husband and I put the island together in about two hours. Beautiful wood top! The leaf easily pulls up and creates extra work space when needed. Fabulous deal on Overstock you won't find anywhere else!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big stand alone kitchen island
 from Scottsdale, AZ,  Nov 14, 2014

We bought this island to "stage" a townhouse that we were selling. It was the one piece of furniture that the buyers included in their offer. It was perfect for the space. It is very solidly built, too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 from Cincinnati, OH,  Oct 24, 2014

Unbelievable shipping service...order said would arrive in 4 days, actually came in two days! Regarding assembly...several sections came pre-assembled thereby saving much time. Directions were clear and concise. Only assembly issue was that the locking screws didn't lock securely causing some issue when 4 had to be locked at same time - kept coming apart...causing frustration. Also, there was a small space on bottom section after assembly since frame didn't seem to line up correctly. Other than that, there were no problems. These were the only reasons I rated it "Good" instead of "Excellent". Finished product is great...many compliments already. Oh, one more thing...the "distressing" part on the top leaves a lot to be desired...would have preferred plain top instead of this added "feature". I was VERY encouraged and pleased that it was not made in China...seems to be a rare benefit recently.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Perfect Island
 from Western NYS,  Aug 15, 2014

I did alot of research on kitchen islands and this one met my needs completely. The price was fair and it came quickly. It is well built and relatively easy to assemble. The directions could use a few more details and pictures would help but we figured it out. All the parts are labeled which really helps. Two people are needed for the final assembly when everything has to line up. I had some old bar stools that I cut to 24" and refinished. They work perfectly and look just like the ones that come with it as an option. Everyone who has seen it, absolutely loves it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The extra countertop space we needed!
 from Wattsburg, PA,  Aug 11, 2014

We recently purchased a new home and needed extra counter space and storage in our kitchen. I fell in love with this Island when I saw it online and ordered it. My husband put it together by himself before I got home from work, it is sturdy and was easy to put together. My husband was impressed that it came with an attachment for his drill which made construction even easier. This is a great looking island and I believe the quality is great for the money. I love the added countertop wing and I prefer the look of keeping it up all the time (also helps with the countertop space). Everyone who has visited our home has complimented that they love our island!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding Quality for the Price
 from Burlington KY,  Mar 14, 2014

Absolutely lovely piece for our kitchen! It assembled easily...however you do need 2 people to assemble properly. I love the additional counter space provided by the drop leaf. We painted ours blue to match the decor of our new kitchen, but could have left it the soft white original to the piece. I would absolutely purchase again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Well, made, easy to assemble. Had my contractor remove the top so we can put a granite top on to match our kitchen countertops. Gorgeous detail. Great choice for our kitchen remodel.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Danuta2
 Aug 17, 2015

Very happy with this island. Beautiful and well made. Love it! Word of caution- the top portion of the island comes in one piece- so it is very heavy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great island
 Aug 14, 2015

This island assembles in about an hour. Is very solid and a perfect size for all my baking. I use it for extra counter space or sit it with my coffee in the mornings reading the paper. I put a light fixture over it and it really looks custom!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This is one of the first things people compliment at my house. It comes In a ton of pieces, though, so be prepared to have a couple hours to put it together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The island was very easy to put together with 2 people and looks great. The only reason for 4 stars and not 5 is a large divit on the top which would have been clearly seen when they made the product. It wasn't worth the trouble of shopping it back but was too large to be part of the distressed look.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Packages came right on time, the UPS Driver was not too thrilled delivering those heavy packages and kinda chunked them in front of my door. Opened all of them up carefully (as instructed). I left the heavy top in the box since it was too heavy for me to move alone (had to wait for help). Everything went together fine, followed the instructions, cursed a couple of times... but all in all simple. Moved the bottom unit in the kitchen, proceeded to put the top on with my helper ......BIG DING IN THE WOOD ..... Found that 3 shelves are also damaged plus the divider for the bottom piece is damaged as well I called immediately, no answer left message. Finished the Island, looks good, if you can overlook that big Ding in the middle of the top. All the other stuff only I know. Called the next day, and sent Email no answer, left message. Calling again today ..... I am guessing there will be another Email/Message. All in all, nice piece for my Kitchen, but getting no reply from the Company really sucks.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly as pictured
 Aug 11, 2015

I couldn't be happier. It is exactly as pictured. Very solid. It arrived in 3 boxes and each had a parts in this box list. Box 3 had the assembly instructions. Easy enough to follow but I was glad to have help as some of the pieces are too large and heavy for one person to manage (in my opinion). And why bother? Grab a friend and a fun beverage of your choice and make a project day of it. Then order a pizza and admire your handiwork.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
M
 Aug 11, 2015

The Oak Island arrived on time and once put together it is very nice. It took about one hour for my son and husband to assemble it. Directions seemed clear and it went together smoothly. It looks great and is made of nice materials.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome!
 Jul 30, 2015

his island came as expected! Easy to assemble, heavy duty and looks great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Island
 Jul 18, 2015

Matches perfectly with my cupboards and I can say the directions were spot on. I'm a 69 year old woman and I put this together myself, until I came to the top and couldn't lift it. Had my son do that part. Love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 41 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought