Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Looks really good
 from CA,  Aug 5, 2014

The material and quality are great, better than expected. It took me about 6 hours to assemble, so be ready for that. It was way easier to put together than comparable Ikea projects I've done, since all the parts are labelled.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shabby Shic to Rustic Contemporary
 from Charleston, SC,  Jul 2, 2014

The desk arrived in 2 large boxes. My husband built it with no problems. It's pretty big, so make sure you measure. The top piece corner was cracked and overstock sent a replacement piece right away. Great looking piece, would buy again.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my desk!
 from Denver,  May 1, 2014

I have been wanting to create a workspace that inspires me and when I saw this desk, I knew it was the one! It was very simple to put together (I did it mostly by myself... my hubby helped with some of the big pieces) and it looks GORGEOUS, professional, stylish and expensive. I love the large desk top, so I have room for all of my items and the 5 drawers are great for storage. Highly recommend!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Desk ever, easy to assemble.
 from California,  Apr 2, 2014

I needed a large attractive sewing table for my bedroom, this was the perfect desk, very large and well priced. The assembly was overwhelming at first, since there were so many pieces, but it soon went together easily following excellent directions. The top is very heavy and I needed help carrying it upstairs and placing it on the desk base. I assembled it myself and I am 78 years old, so anyone could do it, My daughter did help with crawling under and finishing the assembly for me. I wanted a chair to match the desk that would change heights. At overstock I found the Office Star Delux White Wooden Bankers Chair that matches the desk perfectly and very well priced. I am very pleased with Overstock's quality, pricing and service.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This classic piece fills the need.
 from Central Florida,  Nov 23, 2013

The desk came in two heavy packing boxes and took a few hours to assemble. While all of the pieces were well labeled, the assembly instructions left a little to be desired. The overall quality of this item was good, and well worth the price paid.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing..... with minor problems!
 from Oklahoma City, OK,  Nov 10, 2013

****** THE POSITIVES: I purchased this desk because of the size; storage; and style, and it did not disappoint! The desk itself is absolutely beautiful! I also love the size. For someone who has a desk top or even a laptop, this will be perfect! You can fit your computer, multiple papers, binders, and probably even a lamp on it all at the same time. Another good thing about this desk is the fact that it has five drawers (varying in size) so that you can better organize your things. ****** THE NEGATIVES: If you look at the picture you can see that there is stain on the edges of the desk, the stain of my desk was sloppy at places (some of the stain was on more than the edges) but, for me, wasn't bad enough to return. Also, on one corner of the desk it looks like there were a few stain covered finger prints (they were pretty faint), that really bothered me but they weren't that noticeable and they were on the corner closet to the wall so I doubt someone would notice it. Lastly, the wood panels that were the bottom of the drawers weren't painted that well on most of them, however that can be fixed with drawer liners! I would defiantly recommend this desk to anyone! For me the size and storage is key and it receives a 5/5 on both of those! I think that the negatives out weigh the positives and maybe (hopefully) I was the only one to encounter the problems stated above! Great price to especially if combined with a promo code!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the desk
 from Bradenton, FL,  Nov 8, 2013

Looks better in person. The top is so large, which we love!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from California,  Oct 9, 2013

I was a little nervous when ordering this desk when I read the reviews about all the screws. I was very happy when my husband had no issues with setting it up. I love the desk and it is just what I wanted. Nice sturdy desk with a great look to it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the Desk
 from Indiana,  Aug 2, 2013

I'm always nervous when ordering furniture online - it's impossible to determine quality, durability, color accuracy, etc. But the desk and description are very accurate. I am THRILLED with this desk; very sturdy and beautiful. It came with 113 pieces to put together - a daunting task - would be nice if they could streamline some of this by adding a few of the items so they're ready to go.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You'll love it. I did!
 from Norwalk, California,  Jun 29, 2013

I love this desk. I am proud to have it in my office. It was exactly the size I needed. Desk top 60 inches by 30 inches. It is sturdy and makes very nice look in an office designed for a female. I would have appreciated a little decoration on the front of the desk where guests to my office sit. Sitting behind this desk the drawers and pulls are nice. My husband and I have lots of experience assembling furniture, and I found this very easy to understand and to do. Buy it is my recommendation. You won't be sorry.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Desk quality was great except for the drawer bottoms. It turn out to be exactly like to picture, and assembly was normal for a piece of furniture as nice and heavy as this one is.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfectly accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from New Martinsville, WV,  Jun 5, 2013

This desk was exactly as described and just what I was looking for. Fairly easy to assemble and very sturdy. It's a beautiful addition to our family room!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Good, The Bad and The Ugly
 from Albuquerque, NM,  Apr 19, 2013

This desk came to me in two boxes: one long/wide enough to fill the back floor of my SUV; the other was approximately half the length, but a little deeper. Both boxes are heavy weighing 52 lbs. each and require two people to lift. The smaller of the two boxes contains the instructions, which were fairly easy to follow. Nothing is pre-assembled; however, most of the holes are pre-drilled. It took me approximately four hours to put together by myself. The only time I needed help was when placing the desk top onto the frame. My only real complaint is the quality of the drawers and of the hardware. The drawers are mostly made of MDF, and the longevity of MDF drawers is questionable. The hardware is made of aluminum which is soft and easy to bend and/or break. I broke the head off one of the wood screws without much effort, and I slightly over tightened one of the cams which caused it to bend. Great care needs to be taken with the hardware as only one or two extra pieces is provided for the wood screws and cams. Do not over tighten anything on this piece as it will strip very easily and crack the pieces you are screwing into. As others have mentioned, it's a good sized desk. I purchased this desk for my sewing room, and it will provide plenty of space to lay my art quilts on as I sew them. All in all once fully built this desk is pretty sturdy, the finish is great for the shabby chic look Iím trying to accomplish, and the price was fairly good. I would have given 3.5 stars because I think this piece is above average. I bumped it up to 4 stars because 3.5 wasn't an option.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The desk seems sturdy enough, but I question how long the drawers will hold up over time.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The site description was very basic. Full assembly is required.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Recommended
 from VA,  Apr 17, 2013

Probably one of the worst pieces of furniture Iv'e ever bought. My husband had to saw a chunk out of one piece so it would fit properly. None of the screws lined up evenly to put the top of the desk on. Several pieces were stuck together and warped.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very poor quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk!
 from Hailey, ID,  Mar 19, 2013

Very pretty, high quality wood desk. Desk is larger than anticipated. More like an executive desk vs. a "writing desk". It requires full assembly and took my husband some time to put together but there were no missing parts or difficulties. Only drawback is it does not have any file drawers. Am very happy with it and it goes great with my country, vintage looking den. Would highly recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect color match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, heavy wood desk
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
False Advertising
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Mar 16, 2013

This is delivered in 34 separate pieces of wood, metal runners, screws, etc. it is completely "unassembled" - false advertising for sure!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Absolutely not
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy
 from Austin, Tx,  Mar 12, 2013

I looked at a lot of writing desk before deciding to buy this one, I was hesitant about the quality of desk but decided to take a chance and I am very happy about doing so. It came in 2 boxes and did require assembly, luckily my husband is very handy and it only took him about 2 hours to put it together. It is very sturdy and HEAVY once assembled so quality of wood is great, it is a nice size and having 5 drawers is great for storing my papers and such so the top of desk stays clean. The center drawer is a full drawer and not a keyboard rest which I really prefer instead for extra storage space. Just be careful when moving after assembly, if you drag it across floor some of the parts can come lose so have two people move it by lifting it up so you dont have to make adjustments again after you place where you want it. For the size and price this is a great bargain, other smaller writing desk I looked at ran around $600 or more and so that is why i was skeptical about this because of the price but it really is a bargain. If you are looking for a trendy reliable desk I would buy this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Sturdy and durable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it once it was put together...
 from Huntsville AL,  Feb 4, 2013

Only buy if your really handy. It wasn't a issue for my husband, but it still took about 3 hours for him and my 16 year old to put it together, its just all in pieces. I also had a issue with getting the wrong box sent to me and that took a couple of weeks to get straightened out, but now it's done and I'm happy with it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good, it could be better, but for the price it's a nice desk.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Desk
 from Florida,  Jan 29, 2013

Item is beautiful and sturdy except for drawer bottoms. I bought two desks and all pieces matched up allowing easy assembly. However you must follow instructions.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality material. Hidden fasteners are not the best quality but typical for assembly required furniture.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful desk, just too much work to put together
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Sep 26, 2012

I love the look of the desk but my husband and I are going to take more time (when we have it) to try to tweek the 1/4 inch mismatches so that it fits completely.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. due to diy it was difficult to put all the pieces together without things not coming together at corners and threw up the whole desk
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I wish it had been clearer about the DIY
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk
 from Eastchester, NY,  Sep 10, 2012

beautiful,solid desk - looks much more expensive than it was. It looks perfect in my room, my only complaint was they sent us the wrong size drawer inserts so we couldn't complete the desk until they recent the parts again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great, solid wood desk
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Tiverton White Writing Office Desk
Sale $397.79
Was $441.99
(1)
Wooden Desk
Today $308.99
(5)
Brennan Desk
Today $581.99
Back to top