Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 58 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
TRUE blackout shades
 from Minnesota,  Sep 17, 2011

I work night shift and was looking for a shade that would BLOCK ALL LIGHT. This shade did just that!! When I pull the shade down it looks like night time, it makes all the difference in a peaceful sleep. I ordered the white, it isn't a bright white, none the less, it's white, not off white or tan. Very easy to hang, just a few screws, I also like there are no strings to pull, just pull down, push up, simple, neat and clean looking. As always with Overstock, fast shipping and packaged well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High end
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value for price
 from Fairfield County, CT,  Jan 13, 2012

Put these up today at my husband's request. I switched to sheer curtains a while back and the old blinds didn't block any light. These work well. They went up without a fuss once I used my own screws. The ones they provided stripped VERY easily when I was screwing them into the holes I'd drilled (I started w/ 3/32 bit and even tried a 7/64. Same result!). I scrounged up some wood screws I'd had leftover from another project and they went up without a hitch. I'd previously hung some cordless shades in our guest room and office and these seem much better quality (those I'd picked up at a local big box store...the one that has the 20% off coupons ;) They're not super expensive, high quality - and that's not what I expected for the price. They block light, they're functional. If they last a few years, I'll be happy.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems better quality than what I picked up in local big box stores
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have been through MANY blinds and shades for my daugher's room. Her windows are right in the morning sun rise and no matter what we got, the sun would come pouring in and wake her up at the crack of dawn. I ordered these shades and they are awesome!! Her room is totally DARK until we raise the shades. They go up and down So easy and look awesome. We have some in our bedroom that we paid double for and these are much nicer. I just ordered two more for my youngest daughter's room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? just as i expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfectly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for price
 from St. Louis,  Jan 20, 2012

For the price, these are good shades. Relatively easy to install (I mounted on inside of window frame). Materiall is thick and shades seem sturdy. My only complaints are: (1) they resist being pulled down all the way -- shade pops up a little -- you have to pull it past the window sill then slowly raise it to get shade to rest on the sill; and (2) when down, the shade looks crooked because one side comes out a little farther from the glass than the other -- maybe I installed the brackets crooked? No big deal for a kid's room, but I wouldn't want that look in my family room. I'm going to order another shade but will try the longer length this time in the hopes it will fully extend more easily. Also note shade is about 1/8 inch narrower than stated width.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good (slight greyish tint due to blackout lining)
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Only had for a week, but good so far
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As expected
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jan 16, 2012

These shades were very easy to install and the quality is good. Although they're the right size, there's still a very small gap between the shades and the window frame, allowing some light in. As these were put in our guest bedroom, it's really no big deal. We've also noticed the room is warmer when the shades are pulled down, which is a nice bonus. Well worth the money.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to operate
 from Phila., PA,  Jan 31, 2012

Installing was a bit tricky as the shades did not "snap" in to the bracket as intened. Had to loosen the screw on the bracket, place the shade in and then tighten. Would have given these shades 5 stars had the snapping in function worked. Shades do glide up and down very easily.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color is what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. purchased 2
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great blackout function, easy to install
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 24, 2012

On blackout alone, these shades would merit 5 stars. The shades can black 99% of the light. There's a little bit of light coming in from around the sides of the shade, but that is too be expected. They were very easy to install. The cordless mechanism is adequate, and functions pretty smoothly, but compared to other, pricier cordless shades in our home, the mechanism feels just a bit lesser quality, and I wonder about the long-term quality. But at this price for a cordless blackout shade these are a great deal.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. pretty good, but not top of the line
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shades
 from New jersey,  Jan 20, 2012

Very nice product. However because of the blackout feature they appear to be more of a light gray color than white. Nice quality and love that they are cordless.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Look more like light gray than white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great shades
 from long Island, NY,  Jan 7, 2012

i love these cordless shades, they were so easy to install and they keep the light out completely. They say white, but the color is a little more grey so be aware of that other wise the shades are exactly what i wanted

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color is a little more grey than white but they are fabulous
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality and keeps the light out completely
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does provide good room darkening!
 from Virginia,  Dec 9, 2012

Bought two for the guest room. Installation was a bit tricky (the head rail wouldn't fit into the bracket easily), but once in, they shades seem to be secure. One of the shades would not stay down, and would continually creep up. Now, several weeks later, both shades work as expected. The one drawback....the head rails are open and the shade mechanisms are exposed. My concern is for the collection of dust over time. Guess if I got up there to regularly vacuum....? They do provide good room darkening, however.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice blackout coverage
 from New York, NY,  Oct 8, 2012

They definitely do the job and slide up and down smoothly. I didn't install the plastic pulls, looked cheap and weren't necessary. I. Happy with the purchase, especially for the low price. My only complaint is that the shades sometimes hang unevenly when pushed all the way up.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Recommend these blackout shades
 from North Carolina,  Jul 31, 2012

As said in other reviews, these shades are more pale gray than white due to the blackout lining. They are very effective. Purchased to enable sleeping longer & they do the trick!! Previously had the non blackout version of shade from Overstock. Using these with a sheer scarf to dress up window a bit.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
blackout cordeless celllular shade
 from chandler, arizona,  Jun 26, 2012

it is blocking out the arizona sun on our french doors. wonderful

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice blackout shades.
 from Beloit, WI,  Jun 13, 2012

These are a good value for the money compared to retail. They are easy to install, but a little flimsy (typical for cheaper shades). So far they have pulled up and down with no problems. The handle provided is a little awkward. They blackout light really well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
They really do block out the light!
 from Fairhaven, MA,  Jun 6, 2012

We found these shades to be nice quality for the price, and quite easy to install. Our windows are exactly 27", and the 27" shade fit perfectly (shades are probably around 1/8" smaller than the window). They are actually not pure white; they are a soft very light gray. They really do block the light very well - we were pleased! Of course there are tiny slivers of light showing at the edges, but that is unavoidable. Nice buy, would definitely recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Little grayer than described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

These blinds were a good buy - and they do block light where the shade is. But - the paper honeycomb portion of the shade is recessed a bit from the top and bottom brackets (on some sides - not all - quality control is variable). So light does come in at the sides - which has awoken my daughter since her window faces east. The blinds open and close easily - but the handle is a clear plastic piece that attaches to the bottom - and gets in the way of the blind being lowered all the way to the sill. So this is another area where light seeps in. We took the handle off - but I think this risks more wear on the blinds by grasping the bottom to pull it down all the time. Even with the handle removed, the bottom will not stay all the way down. I've been taping it with painter's tape to keep it from riding up the 1/4-1/2 inch that it's inclined to ride up. The way the blinds are on the top rail, some light can seep in there as well. In addition, the color is light grey - it is not white by any stretch. For us that was actually preferable, but if you want white, this is not it. The blind looks good. Cordless is nice. If you are okay with light grey - and don't mind a little light seeping in from around the perimeter, then this is a good buy. If you want better quality control, you'll probably have to look elsewhere and spend more. For the price - and the color grey being just what we wanted, we're going to keep them. I plan to add a velcro piece to the bottom of the track - and the window sill - and hope this will keep the blind all the way lowered. I am not dissatisfied with my purchase - and plan to make it work (including adding a small strip of painted trim to the inside of the window frameb to block where the light comes in. Probably for the same time and expense, I could have custom ordered other blinds but these are fine. Depends on how particular your needs are.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's light grey - not white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Middling quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate except color
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent at keeping out light.
 from Ohio,  Dec 22, 2011

These blinds work pretty well in our bedroom. We got them to keep out an annoying dusk to dawn light outside our window and for the most part it keeps the room much darker than our old blinds. A little bit of light still seeps through the edges around the blinds, but it seems like none is actually coming through the blinds because they are lined with black inside the honeycomb even though the blinds I bought are white. Overall a good product so far.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The shades seem almost papery and I'm hoping they hold up ok in months to come. Because of the honeycomb design I'm wondering about their durability and whether we will accidentally poke holes through them.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT!!
 from Michigan,  Dec 15, 2011

I bought these blinds to replace my old Levelor blinds, & to be honest i prefer the new ones, they are thicker & easier to open & close, I love them & will be buying more for another bedroom bay window !!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Neat blinds
 from Fairfax, VA,  Sep 8, 2011

Blinds seem to be sturdy - handle up and down well - even for a kid user. Mount hardware is sizable and didn't fit as an inside mount. We had to adjust a use an outside mount which leaves more open space on the sides of the blinds but still looks fine in the room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as advertised
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from Indianapolis IN,  May 1, 2014

I have these all over my house. Low maintenance and they look great!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 58 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top