Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Higher Quality than Expected!
 from Southwest Montana,  Jan 17, 2012

When I ordered this Computer Desk, based on the price and photos, I thought I'd be getting a mid-range product. I was pleasantly surprised that the quality of the wood, and the workmanship of the piece is MUCH nicer than expected! I paid twice the price for my last computer desk and it isn't as nice as this one! It was packed VERY well (extra padding is added on both sides so no worries about getting corners banged up unless grossly mishandled in shipping). I was not looking forward to the assembly of the piece -- but to find out all you need to complete, assembly wise, is screw on the legs with the little hex wrench which is supplied in the hardware pack. The instructions don't point this out -- but the legs are boxed separately and are securely put in the computer tray/drawer (with foam around the box to prevent moving around in shipping). The computer drawer / keyboard mouse holder slides out very smoothly, and to change from having it as just a drawer, to having it as a keyboard/mouse holder, you just simply unlatch two push pieces on the side of the drawer. This is a very solid -- well made desk - and is definitely a GREAT BUY!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? A little darker in person - actually nicer in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very HIGH Quality especially for the price!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate - but nicer in person.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking desk but issues with condition
 from New York,  May 24, 2013

Overall, the desk looks nice in design, and the color is a nice (dark) cherry wood stain. The legs of the desk appear thick enough and stable enough. The cord opening at the back of the drawer is sufficiently wide, and the plastic casing for the cord case is good. The drawer slide mechanism has a nice smooth glide and the front part of the drawer folds down nicely to perfectly level with the drawer base (which makes it easier to use the keyboard and mouse). Also, the assembly was fairly easy - just 4 legs to put on, with 2 bolts each. Particularly helpful is that the Allen wrench fits fully into the space where the bolts need to be turned - a design consideration that is sometimes missed, but helpfully not with this desk. The challenge with the desk is mainly quality of assembly and packaging. The first desk that I received (same model) was badly damaged - the drawer was cracked, there were large dents on the front and sides - however, the shipping box and styrofoam didn't have corresponding damage - they looked fine. Overstock customer service was excellent, I was able to get someone on the phone relatively quickly, they were very accommodating and friendly about the issue, and assisted me with arrangements to replace. The replacement desk was in much better shape, but unfortunately still had a dent on the side, a wood piece (not visible) has a crack, and the drawer when closed isn't flat against the front. (I am choosing not to replace again as I'm concerned the next one might be closed to the level of damage as the first). Also, the box mysteriously included about 5 wood screws which are not part of assembly but were loose in the box - fortunately I noticed them before my two-year old did, I haven't figured out if they came off the desk - there doesn't appear to be empty screw holes. One minor note on design, the drawer front is not secured by magnets as I expected, instead it's got latches that require a push down separately on both sides to get the drawer to open -a bit of an inconvenience to open, on the other hand (as opposed to a magnet mechanism which would be easier to open) it may keep a child from playing with it to the point of breaking it. If I could get the same desk for $100 +/- more, but have comfort that it could be delivered dent-free and crack free and have improved construction, I would go for that.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good desk, great quality
 from New York, NY,  Jul 6, 2012

I would recommend buying this desk. For the quality you get, it's a great price. The only downside was that there was one small chip on the front of the desk, so there is a small eyesore where the veneer is chipped away. Other than that, the desk was packed perfectly. Easy assembly and an altogether quality piece. The color is just as it appears on the site.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This desk looks very high end for the cost. The cherrywood veneer looks real and the quality of the hardware is equally as nice.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The on-site description of the product was great, except I wish I could have seen a demo photo of the drop down drawer. I read that in a few reviews, but didn't really understand how it worked until I received the desk in person.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy as expected
 from North of Boston,  Jul 19, 2012

This desk took minutes to put together (it actually took longer to get it out of the box than to build!). It is very solid and looks great. I am very happy with the product and would recommend highly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Heavy and solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value
 from Boston MA,  Sep 9, 2013

Buying furniture sight unseen on the internet is a bit scary, but I was very pleased with this purchase. Excellent value for the money. PS The legs aren't missing: they are shipped inside the drawer

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a Find
 from Chicago, IL,  Jan 29, 2013

I was looking for a very simple desk/table to put in my living room, when I came across this desk. Very well priced, and wood -- where the other items I found were equal to or more costly and usually composite and veneer. However, I was confused by the description that said there was a grommet for wire management, since I wanted the table to be free-standing (i.e., not up against a wall), so I submitted a question about that. My concern was whether there was a hole through the edge for wires -- so if you were facing the desk, you would see that hole. The reply to my question said this wouldn't be a problem. Well, not so. 3 inch hole with a wire guide, right in the desk edge. Although I am very bothered by this, I did decide to keep the desk because it's really beautiful, very substantial, looks like a much pricier piece and serves my purpose. Grommet and hole aside, I am very pleasantly surprised and impressed with the quality and value.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fair...
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality Piece
 from Delaware,  Oct 18, 2012

This is a piece that you will be proud to put in any room of your home. It is not only sturdy and well made but very attractive and would enhance any decor, yet the functionality of the piece is great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality-sturdy-attractive
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from Grass Valley, CA,  Apr 11, 2012

This desk arrived with a dent from shipping. I waffled about returning it, because of the hassle but decided to keep it because it is exactly what I wanted. Very nice looking! I have been searching for a writing table for my bedroom office for over 6 months and this is exactly what I wanted.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy camper
 from Los Angeles,  Mar 28, 2012

I actually wanted to buy a table but could not anything that matched my restricted dimensions. This desk seemed like a good substitute and based on its rave reviews I purchased it. Arrived in good condition, very easy to assemble, and most of all, it is excellent quality and looks great. I am a happy, happy camper.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? precise
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk at a great price
 from Portland, Oregon,  Apr 22, 2014

I read the reviews on many desks, from many stores, before purchasing this one. As it is in my bedroom, I wanted it to be attractive and not too large. It's perfect. Great quality. Nice color. There is a large drawer in center that holds just about anything you would want to put inside. I am thrilled with my purchase.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Table/Desk
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 19, 2013

Nice Table/Desk and fits my needs very well. Great value. As a woodworker, I could not reproduce this desk for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality for the price. I had to make a couple of minor repairs to the table when it arrived.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what we needed
 from Avon, In,  Jan 17, 2013

We ordered this as a work from home desk for my husband. We had looked at local furniture stores and didn't really find what we needed at the price we wanted to spend. This desk is just perfect in size and price, good quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quaility
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? nice and true descrition
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Arrived damaged and splintered when assembled
 from Pittsburgh, pa,  Dec 20, 2012

Table had been dropped in transit with two dents in the edge that I had to sandpaper out. They presented a safety hazard. The fit of the underskirt was inaccurate so when unscrewed in one leg in a corner where two skirts meet it cracked one of them - the 4" crack going right through the table being visible along the left side of the table. I really can't be bothered to return this.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Hudson Valley 60 x 24 Writing Desk
Sale $259.19
Was $287.99
(3)
Mission Laptop Desk
Today $247.53
Compare $349.00
Save 29%
(58)
Chocolate Cherry Laptop Desk
Today $206.99
Compare $430.77
Save 52%
(1)
Back to top