Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

ok,but seriously,heres the skinny.See,I am a professional chef and i work with those big automatic $5000 hobart jobs,but i couldn't borrow for a private halloween party i was having.So i was left to find an inexpensive model for the night.After some research for a "quality"home slicer around the ballpark of a ****,i found this model to be it.OK,it makes a sound,dont they all?Compared to restaurant models,you have to go slower.The plastic part to hold the meat is not as secure feeling as a n industrial hobart.But hey its a ****...And the party was a success.now the only thing is,for my needs and counter space,when the heck am i gonna ever use it again.to storage you go until another event lends itself to a slicer.the only con....there was a black wolfgang puck model for half the price.I left an email request to let me know when back in stock and wouldn't you know it,the darned thing came back in stock the day afterr the party.oh well such is life.....but recommends on buying this.thanks overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great slicer
 from Wauneta, NE,  Sep 22, 2010

Fabulous slicer. Can slice thin, or thick. Great value.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a great slicer!
 from Lakeland, FL,  Jan 4, 2012

This is A GREAT SLICER - I owned a deli with professional slicers and this is the next best thing - and what a great price when you consider professional slicers are into the thousands of dollars. It sliced thinly and so evenly, I was shocked by it's useability. I would recommend this to anyone for home use, buy now, really.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This slices like a pro! I had a deli and this is sooo close to my slicer and what a great price. The thinness setting is the best.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works for us
 from Kalamazoo, MI,  Jan 4, 2012

We're making an effort to cut back on commercially-produced cold cuts and purchased this slicer to make our own lunchmeat from fresh meat we could season and cook at home. Thus far, I've prepared and sliced a beef round roast, a turkey breast, and a corned beef brisket. After roasting each, I sliced and put about 2 sandwiches' worth of slices in several separate zip-lock-style bags (marked with date), and froze. I just defrosted a bag of turkey breast sliced/frozen about a month ago. The turkey was still moist, with a good texture. I am not sure how long sliced meat stays good in the freezer, but it is not my intent to leave it there for too long. The plan is to use it up within a month or two for lunches and such, and replenishing the freezer on a continuing basis with a variety of home-made sliced meats. My only complaint about the slicer is: there is nowhere for the slices to land. They just kind of fall in a pile behind the unit. Putting a plate there to catch the slices works OK, but a way to 'direct' the slices from the blade would be better.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not important but was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Reasonable quality - plastic parts appear sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate enough.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I guess I got a good one.
 from Loxahatchee, Florida,  Dec 24, 2011

I read all other reviews, near and far, good and bad. The price was right; at 1/4 the price of a commercial unit. This is not a commercial unit and clearly would be inappropriate in that environment. For home use, it is just the thing you want...if...you get a good one...apparently I did. No problems, right out of the box. There is a blade guard, used for shipping, which you must remove. The blade is extremely sharp and large and easily removed. Be careful...know your limitations; you can hurt yourself easily. Pros: Fired right up...good blade speed...pork roast sliced...beef roast sliced...ham sliced. Not noisy. No serrated blade(nice). Cons: Sliding carriage is not removable(without dis-assembly) which hinders clean-up. Sliding carriage range-of-motion(or lack thereof) prevents slicing of larger items(no whole tip roasts). Weird: The sliced product must fall and cascade down the back side of the chassis as there is no open area in which to place a plate or a deli sheet. So, it's not perfect. But I would highly recommend this home food slicer. If you should get a bad one, as some obviously have, just box it up send it back. The next one is bound to be better. If you can afford a commercial unit or you want to use a slicer on a daily basis(this one recommends 15 minute max continuous use) spring for the $$$. That way, you will have nothing to complain about. If I encounter any difficulties down the road, I'll up-date my review. But for now, I'm happy

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It appears and performs as a quality product should.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Home Slicer! Just what I wanted!
 from Gardner, MA,  Mar 2, 2012

Our family goal was to get away from purchasing meats from the deli, pricey and loaded with preservatives and sodium. Now we roast our own meats and slice them ourselves. We use it to slice bread and cheese also. The 9-inch blade is nice as it handles a normal size roast without having to cut it in half to slice it. The slicer is easy to clean. The blade comes off with a turn of the locking mechanism. We keep the slicer out on the kitchen counter, as we use it frequently. We're happy with the slicer.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The food slicer works well. It's not meant to be a professional grade appliance. It does what I expected...it slices!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Just right.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Slices and dices
 from Wisconsin,  Jan 3, 2012

This is the first food slicer that I've owned but I have used commercial ones before. I was surprised at how slowly the blade turns but it cuts everything I've thrown at it with ease. The slice width adjusting knob is nice and tight and doesn't move when pushing meat against it. I really like the 9" blade as compared to the 7.5 inch models. I can't comment on longevity as I've only owned it a month but it seems like it'll last a while. I am very picky and clean it right after each use. Should keep the crud out of the key components. In my opinion, it cleans very well and easily. Nut that holds the blade in comes off easily yet stays when in use. Overall I am extremely happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not Important but it was close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far seems to be built well. Parts all function as expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does what it's supposed to!
 from Longmont, CO,  Dec 28, 2011

My husband wanted a meat slicer for Christmas, and since I had no idea on how to purchase one, I came to Overstock to do my research. I ended up with the Weston Heavy-duty 9-inch CE-approved Food Slicer because it seemed to be of good quality. My husband reports that it works great and is exactly what he was looking for. To me, it looks larger than it needs to be, so if you're looking to save counter space when you use it, you may want to consider a smaller model. In all, though, they seem to all do pretty much the same. It is fun to be able to slice up a whole turkey breast, a ham and a big wedge of cheese into professional deli slices within minutes! The end product is much better than just using a knife and a cutting board.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for a home machine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
9 - inch Food Slicer
 from Canton Michigan,  Dec 15, 2011

I think for the money its a fair value. The blade seems to spin slow and the try to hold the food in is kinda of small so if it for a small family good enough but large parties may have to cut into smaller pieces.Also the suction cups did not hold to couner well and machine moved around a bit.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Tray for food was kind of small and blade seems to spin slow, cut roast beef good but shreedee more than cut the turkey breast.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Escellent value
 from Boston MA,  Oct 4, 2011

Excellent quality product for the price and I had looked at several. Instuctions are in 'Ching-lish' so do not expect much. Need hand tools for disassembly for cleaming. Comes with spare sharpening wheels. Has a cover plate on a very high quality cutting blade. I worked a supermarket deli for 5+ years and know a good slicer - this is a good slicer for lo or mid volume cutting. Cutting surface area is based on blade size and is is a bit small - still a good value for the $$$

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Very good product
 from NJ,  Jan 28, 2014

This is a verry good product for this price.I will recommend this to other people.Cutting the turkey meet is verry easy.It will cut uniform and verry good

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
"Just good enough"
 from Arizona,  May 17, 2013

This slicer is "Just good enough" that I have to at least give it a "Good" rating. I used it rather extensively the first time (cut 4 salami sticks + a large boneless ham loaf) and it did the job. The blade turns slow, but seems to cut good enough (I'm questioning how long the blade shapness will last?). Unlike most others, this is a 8.5" blade (PLUS) and it is smooth, not serated (PLUS for fine cutting) So far, my BIGGEST gripe is that the suction cup feet seem to "Vertically Grip" OK, but they do "SLIDE/side-to-side" on the surface which can be cumbersome and unsafe. The "Meat Holder" slide is on the cheap side and again, only works "Just good enough". The price was right, but the price you pay is long forgotten if the product deteriorates quickly.... We'll see!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Adequate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
seems okay
 from Pa,  Feb 6, 2013

used it to slice an almost frozen 3lb. rump roast forsteak sandwiches had no real trouble except machine slid on counter when I tried to push it too fast other than that all sliced nice and thin and cleaned up in about 20 min instead of an hour or so with a good knife

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. appears to be well built
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Meat Slicer
 from Pennsylvania,  Dec 30, 2012

I like using the slicer. It is easy to use and it cleans up easily. I bought it primarily to slice cheese and didn't realize until I got it that it wasn't reccomended for that. I use it to cut my cheese anyway and it does good except it leaves crumbs. But overall I am pleased with the way it works.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? You left out it wasn't supposed to be used for cheese
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very easy to use
 from tennessee,  Jun 1, 2012

I really like this slicer. It's easy to use and clean.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
handy...sometimes
 from ma,  May 22, 2012

Fairly easy to clean, but..shreds get packed in near blade. Does not make thin slices. If too large a piece the blade will kick it off the carrier. If patient it slices cold/chilled meat well

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. disappointed
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good piece
 from Williamsburg Va,  Nov 29, 2011

seems to bve much sturdier then my previous slicer. bilt to last it seems, time will tell. I do wish blade was bit faster but still good piece that makes life easier

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurately
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid and Sturdy machine
 from Wynantskill, NY,  Nov 29, 2011

Very happy with this purchase. Sharp, even slices...not to noisy. Very sturdy! Looking forward to using it when we make eggplant parmigiana so we have consistent sized slices! So far we have used it slice a roast and what a difference it made...next day sandwiches were a breeze to put together! Only complaint is I wish it came with a cover.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I could not be happier!
 from Massachusetts,  Aug 30, 2011

I just finished slicing a 4.5 pound rump roast into very thin slices in preparation of making "Chicago Style Italian Beef" sandwiches. The slicer cut through all of it is a very short time, and I found clean-up to be quick and easy. I had no trouble removing, cleaning and replacing the blade. I am thrilled with my purchase!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Outstanding quality; better than expected.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was completely 100% accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Effective slicer
 from California,  Aug 30, 2011

Works well. Smaller foods are more difficult to keep lined up behind the pusher arm. Wish it came with a more thorough instruction book.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Deli Meat Slicer
Today $69.07
Compare $83.49
Save 17%
Weston 7.5-inch Meat Slicer
Today $72.71
Compare $194.69
Save 63%
(11)
Weston 5-lb Manual Vertical Sausage Stuffer
Today $146.99
Compare $184.99
Save 21%
Back to top