Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

This product is excellent, however, if you are going to get it, make sure that you also order Weston Dehydrator Netting Roll. The netting roll is used to cover the trays so that you can actually dehydrate small items. The trays are designed for bigger items as you can clearly see in the picture, so Weston Dehydrator Netting Roll will keep your precious little items from dropping down in the unit. The unit is a little noisy, so prepare for that, however, it works GREAT!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was fine.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOISEY
 from FL Panhandle,  Apr 16, 2011

This dehydrator is an improvement from your average "ronco" type dehydrator. However, it has several irritating factors that make this a very negative item. Problems: 1. the trays are metal, which I like, BUT, the tray grids are at leat 1/2 inch wide and small items fall through easily, 2. IT"S NOISEY, running this thing is like having a badly tuned car idling in the kitchen, it's WAY to noisey, 3. it's big, takes up a lot of counter space. I could live with everything but the noise, I'll be returning this product.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? na
  • How is the quality of the product? fair
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? no
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from Utah,  Oct 31, 2009

I really like this product because it is powerful and quick. Fruit dried in record time and it holds so much on the shelves. I did have a problem with the unit shutting off after first use and couldn't find the reset button. After a call to technical support, I was sent an email with pictures showing the location of the reset button (which would be difficult to find otherwise).Technical support said that it's important to allow enough space for air circulation around the unit to keep it from overheating. After resetting the button, we had no more problems.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Weston Dehydrator
 from MO,  Oct 22, 2009

What a dream. The only drawback is that the screens have much bigger openings than I am accustomed to. I need to find something to lay over them for berries, etc.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
review
 Oct 15, 2009

excellent dehydrator love it would recomment it to everyone who is looking for a drhydrator.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High quality machine at a good price
 from canterbury, ct,  Jun 15, 2013

This is a very durable machine. I use it quite often and I've never had a problem with it. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate descrip]tion
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Weston 10 Tray Stainless Steel Food Dehydrator 74-
 from Pocatello Idaho,  Apr 8, 2013

I think this is a pain in the rear.I only had this thing for a few weeks and now it wont even turn on. I can't even find out why. I think this thing is a crappy over priced model I wish I bought the exaliber.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? looked the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not as good as it looks.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? normal
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Weston 74-1001-W ss food dehydrator
 from Bakersfield, CA,  Jan 10, 2013

IF YOU NEED A FOOD DEHYDRATOR THIS IS THE ONE TO BUY!!! IT IS QUITE AND DOES ITS JOB PERFECTLY!! I WOULD BUY ANOTHER FOR SURE....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect !!!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. 150% of what I thought it would be I LOVE THIS DEHYDRATOR
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? PERFECT
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Weston74-1001-W
 from Michigan,  Jan 2, 2013

I bought this dehydrator and 11 months later it broke. I had not sent in the warranty and it was not covered. They did tell me where to go to get parts, but the parts I was sent by another company do not match what was in the dehydrator, and since they are electronic I can not return them. No appliance repair place will work on it. I would not recommend this to anyone, unless you want a place to store pies.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I got this for drying herbs, veggies from the garden and making jerky and dog treats. So far I have been satisfied. Yes the trays have large holes - you will need to buy a stainless mesh or some other fix for small items, but I have used paper towels for herbs and foil for other items. This dehydrator has been running almost non-stop since I got it several weeks ago. It has worked great for making dried meat jerky for my dogs - I have dried lamb and beef hearts and livers, chicken and turkey breasts, sweet potatoes, and veggies like kale and bok choy and apples from our trees. I am looking forward to using it next spring and summer. It is a real money saver on dog treats as I would rather dry them at a lower temp than my oven can maintain. A downside is that you have to use the timer to get it to turn on, but I suppose that is a good safety feature. I agree with the reviewer that said the thermostat is not accurate - I just use the hottest setting for meats, and the mid to lowest for herbs and veggies, and middle setting for apples, sweet potatoes. There is a temp difference between the top and lower shelves of the dehydrator, but if you rotate trays occas it is not a big deal. I have used the cheap round plastic dehydrators and this is a huge improvement in terms of speed and capacity. I would recommend balancing your fan blades, and getting finer mesh for shelves if you need that.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not a high end appliance - stainless steel very scratched - almost looked like it was recycled or repurposed. Pretty lightweight, but adequate to the task. Made in China is not my favorite phrase...
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? okay
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Doesn't heat up to even 100 degrees F
 from Washington DC,  Dec 12, 2012

Guess I got the return from the guy whose dehydrator wouldn't heat up. The unit I received did the same thing - wouldn't heat up to even 100 no matter what I set it on. I can't tell exactly what the temp is, but I set it to 150 and I knew it wasn't getting that hot, so I put the oven thermometer in it. That thermometer starts at 100 and its not even getting that hot. The heating element won't stay on. Very disappointed as it seems to be a nice unit otherwise. Now they are out of stock and can't even send a replacement.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor- doesn't heat up! Heating element won't stay on
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine if it WORKED
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
review for Weston SS Dehydrator
 from New Port Richey, Fl.,  Nov 20, 2012

Very well build, with lots of shelf room for doing a lot at a time. Drying time is less than half of the plastic modles i've used. Very pleased with it and expect many years of use from it. the door removes to make it easy to add or remove racks. It is big so you will need a decated spot to store it when not in use. TIP: in doing jerky you get dripping on the bottom. I sprayed the bottom with oil ( PAM ) to make clean up easier.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact, all you said it was and more
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very inconstant heat
 from torrington ct,  Sep 19, 2012

this product did not heat correctly temp would fluctuate greatly and temp settings were way off heating element did not even come on utile unit was set to 135 and then only got to 110 before dropping to less than 80 degrees as heating element cycled. it then stayed at 80 for a good 5 min before getting to 90 then cycling off again. the unit has very inaccurate thermostate. and gave off a unpleasant plastic smell when heating not something I would want near my food. MADE iN CHINA and it shows. save your money and do not buy. I sent mine back as it does not function as it should.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor electronics
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? gooid
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Weston 74-1001 Food Dehydrator
 from Oregon Coast,  Aug 24, 2012

I was quite pleased with the dehydrator. I had done some homework and had decided that this was the best value in my price range and had the features that I was looking for. It has a timer on it as well as a temperature gauge but no fan speed control on it. However, for my purposes, that was not a "must have" feature. There are ten shelves, it's stainless steel (not so much danger of rust) and it is very quiet compared to other less expensive dehydrators. The door removes easily so that the unit is very easy to clean. The only negative is that no mesh sheets come with it and you need those for smaller items since the wire racks have almost 1/2 inch openings. This was not a huge problem for me, only a minor annoyance but I did have to order the mesh separately and I had to order three rolls to get enough for all ten shelves. Overall, it's a great value for the money and I'm very pleased with it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All the features I wanted at a good price.
 from Denver CO,  May 29, 2012

the only thing I woul;d changeis the grids are a bit wide half inch wirwe pattern can let smaller foods drop through. quarter inch woudl be better.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good hefty gauge ss body premium features and controls.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works great did apples and jerky so far
 from northern ny,  Nov 29, 2011

so far working well done apples slices and venison jerky all came out well kids love the apples have to make more

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome dehydrator!
 from oregon,  Nov 11, 2011

as others have mentioned, the only thing that took it from 5 stars to 4 are the large holes in the trays. i need to either use parchment paper or have some finer mesh trays fabricated to sit on top for the small stuff. but it works like a charm.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfectly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT PRODUCT, FAST DEHYDRATING
 from MORRISON MISSOURI,  Oct 4, 2011

FAST AND EASY TO CLEAN. LOOKED AT *** BUT DECIDED ON THIS ONE BECAUSE OF REAR HEATER AND FAN GLAD I DID MAKES JERKY IN ABOUT 5 HOURS WITHOUT ROTATING RACKS AND HOLDS A LOT OF MEAT GREAT PRODUCT

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? EXACT
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. EXCELLENT QUALITY
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? VERY ACCURATE
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This thing is the bomb!
 from Danville California,  Sep 23, 2011

If you are into dehydrating foods, treat yourself to this! We have used the plastic stacked one with no fan. There is no comparison.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great, but arrived with slight damage to the door. Did not effect use.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Weston Dehydrator
 from Midwest,  Aug 24, 2011

Good results dehydrating fruit,fast easy to CLEAN!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very well made product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent materials used
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Nesco Digital Square Dehydrator
Today $204.99
Compare $234.99
Save 13%
L'Equip Dehydrator
Today $119.99
Compare $216.07
Save 44%
(23)
Sahara Gold 600 Food Dehydrator
Today $159.99
Compare $238.91
Save 33%
Back to top