Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Grinder
 Nov 21, 2009

Bought this grinder a few weeks ago and made sausage with it that week. The grinder is easy to assemble and does an excellent job grinding and stuffing the casings. The grinder is very well made and the clamping mechanism holds the grinder firmly to the table. I would recommend this grinder to my friends. Overstock shipped my grinder promptly and it arrived in very good condition. Thank you for a good shopping experience.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent Style : Good
Better than expected
 from Indiana,  Feb 25, 2014

Bought this specifically to grind chicken breast. Works great! Had to order food safe silicone online as that is needed to keep it in good working order. Wish I had known this when I ordered it but I just coated the blade and plate with olive oil after the initial use for a few days until the silicone arrived. Works great for what I intended it for! As always, received quickly and in perfect condition. Just what you expect from Overstock. Thanks!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Works well!
 from Sarasota, FL,  Jan 28, 2014

I bought this grinder to use for stiffing sausage casings. I have a similar grinder that is more that 100 years old. It worked very well.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
too big
 from DC Metro Area/Maryland,  Jun 23, 2013

I should have ordered the No. 8 - a smaller one. This one is too big and clunky. Doesn't even fit on the edge of my counter. Will give it to someone in my family who might use it and who might have the right type of counter tops. Never got to use it so can't really rate it's performance.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's low cost but broke first use.
 from Southern California,  Apr 19, 2013

The unit broke after 5 lbs of grinding. The handle stripped and turned freely. So we wedged a piece of metal into the gap and it works fine now. But still, could havebeen manufactured to a higher standard imo.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Low cost manufacture. The handle opening was cut round with a flat spot so it would slip on and turn. The diameter was a bit too large.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
*****Excellent
 from Marietta, Ga,  Mar 17, 2012

For the price, it is perfect! I have used & it is easy to use, easy clean up. I an spraying with a bit of cooking oil after it dries to prevent any rust, I think simple is better ! Well worth the money, I have started grinding my own hamburger, after the whole "pink slime" in hamberger , and it is actually less expensive & far better quality..***** Perfect

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? PERFECT!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly what they said!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MEAT GRINDER
 from MASS,  Dec 5, 2011

I BOUGHT THIS GRINDER TE END OF NOV. IT CAME VERY QUICKLY I WASHED IT AND LET AIR DRY SOME OF THE PARTS HAD RUST ON THEM VERY SOON THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME I USE SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY AND GET THE STAINLESS STEEL ONE!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? OK
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. FAIR
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OLDIE BUT GOODIE
 from HARTFORD CT.,  Oct 15, 2011

WELL WORTH THE PRICE AND I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO USING IT.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? WENT TO LOOK FOR THIS PRODUCT
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. WELL MADE EXACTLY LIKE I REMEMBERED
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? RIGHT ON
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very High Quality Product.
 from NC,  Jun 29, 2011

This grinder exceeded my expectations.It works very well.It is easy to set up and easy to disassemble and clean.It was purchased as a first grinder to try out,but it will be all I will ever need.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Very good.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
broke on first use
 from Moline IL,  May 9, 2011

The blade broke on the first use into 4 pieces(i was grinding trimmed pork butt and chicken thighs). It weighed to much to send it back so I called the Weston company and they will sent me a new blade(there is a one year warranty), it just that they said the blade was stainless steel, but it broke like cast iron and that wasn't just my opinion I showed it to a guy that works with metal and he also thought it broke like cast iron. Weston customer service was very nice and polite that is why I gave it a 2 star rating. I am hoping it will crush vegetables

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Grinder for the Price
 from Reno, NV,  Mar 29, 2011

For the price, this is a great product. Easy to assemble and use. My only complaint is that it doesn't clamp to my granite counter top, so I have to use it on my dining room table. Just be sure to use almost frozen meat when grinding. Makes great burgers!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as good as it sounds
 from Midwest,  Aug 10, 2010

I wish I could say great things about this item but in truth it has been nothing but trouble. While assembly is relatively simple, you have to keep taking it apart and cleaning it many times in order to get a decent amount of ground meat, say enough for a few hamburgers. It doesn't grind the fat well at all, that's what keeps getting stuck in the mechanism. And to make sausage, you need fat. Also securing the heavy unit to the counter top is difficult because it doesn't stay put. There isn't much space under the unit to catch the meat, (in a bowl), once you do manage to grind some.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great DIY Kitchen Tool!
 from FL,  Mar 29, 2010

This purchase was exactly what I had hoped for and expected! It clamped to the counter securely. It ground beef with relative ease (gristle clogs the blades, so cut out all of the "tough" fatty sections before you start grinding). It's heavy duty, and assembles and disassembles as you might expect a hand made tool would. The instructions suggest drying it thoroughly and oiling it to keep it in shape - I suspect that's a must over time. I've enjoyed using it. It's a tool out of kitchen-ware history that I would reccomend to anyone with an interest in "Do It Yourself" meat grinding.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Seems Sturdy
 from Tucson,  Mar 29, 2010

I purchased this "Deluxe Heavy-duty Number 10 Manual Tinned Meat Grinder," as a back-up for my electrical one; with no intention of using it (except of course in an emergency). In my opinion, it was immediately obvious that it had been "returned." It was in disarray, the box was damaged, a tamper proof fastener had been cut and some foam packaging was missing. It did however, include a "Red" note saying; not to contact my supplier if Items were missing, but to call a special phone number. On the plus side, nothing appears to be missing. It seems to be sturdy and in working condition. I hope I'll never need to use it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
threw away
 from new york new york,  Oct 31, 2009

this product was so bad it was in the garbage on the second try.......ground steak into mush and would not grind a chicken breast......difficult to clean.....got so frustrated it was in the garbage with the chicken in it! You get what you pay for!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
meat grinder
 from Amsterdam, NY,  Jul 23, 2009

This is a heavy, cast grinder just like my Mother used when I was growing up. It comes with an extra blade and is very sturdy. It's easy to clean and assemble and easily grinds chunks of meat.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Deluxe Heavy Duty Meat Grinder
Today $34.99
Compare $56.98
Save 39%
Meat Grinder with Pulley
Today $54.60
Compare $106.23
Save 49%
(4)
Back to top