Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 118 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
I'm in love.
 from Richmond, VA,  Sep 7, 2010

I bought the 5-drawer chest as well as the 1-drawer nightstand, and I'm head over heels in love with both. Shipping did take the full 10 business days, but I guess you get what you pay for so I can't really complain. Customer service was also EXCELLENT both via chat and on the phone when I reached out with questions.<P> The nightstand was really easy to put together - it took about 45 minutes and I didn't even use the power drill. The chest, on the other hand, took extensive assembly time (about 4-5 hours), although I did it alone and not with a second adult as suggested in the instructions. The only time I really could have used a second person was when trying to line up the second side with all the dowels in the support rails, but with a little patience and some elbow grease I was able to do it myself and it came out perfectly. The instructions are very clear, but I did have a little figuring out to do, as a couple of pieces were missing their labels. If you lay out all the pieces and figure out what's what, it all makes sense very quickly. A power drill was absolutely necessary for the chest, although there are some places I had to use a standard screwdriver anyway. It's useful to add a hammer to help tap pieces into place - I padded it with a slipper (resourceful!!) and banged away pretty hard and didn't create any scuffs or dents. The only other "trick" I came up with was to tap the dowels about 75% of the way in, which made fitting the pieces together easier. Each piece is secured with a cam lock and screws anyway - the dowels seem to be mostly for guidance. Oh, and use the foam packaging underneath the pieces while you're building. I found out the hard way that they scratch pretty easily. The finished product is gorgeous. Both pieces are big, heavy, sturdy and spacious and they look much more expensive than what I paid. The drawers roll perfectly and don't stick or make odd noises. There is no wobbling whatsoever. The wood is very dark, and pretty true to the photo as it displayed on my laptop screen. I was worried about the wacky handles but they're actually pretty cute. Overall I think both pieces are impressive-looking and extremely functional. I'm very happy with this entire experience!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful
 from New York,  Nov 25, 2007

BEAUTIFUL....but incredilby hard to put together...I had to put together, take apart, and reassemble this piece more than once (with 3 people). If your going to puchase this furniture please follow my advice: DO NOT FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS IN ORDER- read the directions and put the drawers together first, make sure to put the rails in correctly, believe me, it will take you a few trys, so only do one, make sure it goes in smoothly, and then proceed with the rest by following the first one. It was very diificult, but the dresser is gorgeous.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Truly beautiful BUT...
 from NY NY,  Nov 26, 2007

This is honestly a very attractive and sturdy piece but it takes quite a while to put together. It's not hard to assemble but the instructions are not very clear. The piece is so great to look at that It is actually worth the struggle.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value
 from Boston, MA,  Mar 18, 2009

The assembly was very straightforward, just time consuming. Once together, it's very sturdy and the drawers work well and overall looks like a much more expensive piece of furniture than we actually paid on overstock. The only complaint is we tried to change out the handles, but found the 1 1/2" centers to be challenging to find.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 from Sheridan, Wyoming,  Mar 21, 2008

I already had one of the nightstands, decided the chest of drawers would look good in the room too. It is gorgeous, very solid, sturdy, and the perfect size. Only a couple hours to put together and it really looks high-end.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great dresser!
 from New Orleans,  Jul 30, 2012

Pros: This is a very heavy, sturdy dresser. It comes in 2 boxes, and it feels really solid when it's completed. One nice touch in the assembly is that they include extra hardware and screws in case you lose one. Even though I didn't need any extra, I appreciate little touches like that. The drawers are decently big. It looks exactly like the picture shown. Con: It took me about 2 hours to build. The directions are fairly clear, but I'd give the instructions about a 85%. Some steps in the instructions (like most furniture instructions) required me to stare at the picture really hard to figure out what side the drawer rails went on. That was a minor thing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid, heavy piece
 from Athens, Alabama,  Jul 2, 2012

This is a beautiful piece. I purchased two for my sons' room after dealing with lack of clothing storage once they grew into men-sized clothing (now 19 and 16 years old). These drawers hold a lot. I also purchased matching 3-drawer nightstands and it has greatly eased our storage problem and made the room look great. One side panel of the dresser had a partial split where the wood had been joined to make the panel, but my husband used some wood glue and clamps to repair and Overstock said they would credit me a certain percent for the problem. Am thinking of changing out the hardware to a brushed chrome in a modern pull instead of the shiny chrome traditional pulls to make it more masculine. Be prepared to spend time putting together as are lots of pieces, but well worth it. I did it over a couple of days. Will take a few hours to do, but second was easier as I was familiar with parts. I used a ratcheting screwdriver...didn't want to power drill as was afraid of overtightening/splitting/stripping the screws. Worked well. Didn't use the first time on nightstands and almost got a blister from it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on - very dark with hints of brown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Majority of product good quality. Have concerns about drawer slide screws holding up, but can add more if I want. Smooth gliding drawers.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a little ghetto
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jun 24, 2012

It took a while to put together. The pieces did not fit completely and some of the stain seemed off on the drawer pieces. It looks good put together, but the drawers are a little weak. Overall not impressed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? some issues with the staining
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK for the price, but I would not buy it again
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Waynesborough 5-drawer chest
 from Charleston, SC,  Nov 12, 2011

I bought this chest for my grandson's bedroom to store his clothes. My husband was able to put it together in a short amount of time without any problems like I read on some of the previous reviews. He said it was one of the easiest pieces of furniture he has put together in a long time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was what I expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the chest was good for what I paid for it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description of the product was very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Dresser
 from Hilbert, WI,  Oct 14, 2011

I bought two the 3 drawer Waynesborough night stand. I was so pleased with the nightstands that I bought two more nightstands and the 5 drawer dresser. Two things to note: Plan on spending time to assemble the furniture. My husband is very handy and it took him approx. 1.5 hours to put the nightstands together and about 2 hours to put the 5 drawer dresser together. Also, the dresser was a littler narrower and shorter than I anticipated.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the sme
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was exactly what I expected.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good looking, solid
 from Daly City, CA,  Jun 2, 2010

Be prepared for 2 heavy boxes delivered to your door. It took a couple hours to assemble, and at some point it needs 2 people. The end result: very good looking, heavy / solid. Our only issue now is the lingering strong odor from the interior drawers - so hoping this will dissipate soon (even keeping them ajar with nothing in them) - otherwise, would have given it 5 stars.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent 5 drawer chest!
 from San Leandro, CA,  Oct 13, 2013

This is an excellent chest. It is easy to put together if you can read a foreign language! Just use your own common sense and look at the pictures. I liked it so much I bought another one which was much easier to put together since I had already done it once. I received a coupon in my email from Overstock so I just ordered a third chest! I will most likely order one more in a month or tow. It is a nice real wood dresser. Very heavy once put together and looks like it will last quite a while!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but an all day experience
 from Massachusetts,  Dec 17, 2012

I am updating my home and have purchased other products from Overstock.com. While I am extremely happy with the results of this purchase. The assembly took me all day (using a drill). I have a master's degree so I can clearly understand directions but for some reason I had to continue to go back and redo. The product is beautiful and I love the accomplishment!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Piece of Furniture
 from Knoxville, TN,  Nov 29, 2012

This arrived in two boxes. The product was well packed and easy to unpack. It took us around 2 -3 hours to put together. We did use a power drill. There are a lot of parts, but each part is clearly marked. They also provided plenty of extra screws. The only problem was that one of the inside drawer tracks was incorrect. So, I had to contact customer service. They were quick and promptly sent me a whole new set of tracks. I am very happy with this product. I had concerns about ordering a product that had to put together. But it was quick and easy. We would never have been able to carry a piece of furniture like this up the stairs. So, ordering it this way worked great for us.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was exactly as shown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality. This product is real wood, not pressboard.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was exact.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice chest for the money.
 from Washington, DC,  Nov 27, 2012

This is a nice, modern chest for a good price. It is very heavy, the drawers work well. It does take quite some time to assemble this piece (and the larger 6-drawer chest). We've had ours for over three years and have been pleased with how it has held up, even through two moves.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Chest exceptional Quality
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Nov 20, 2012

After months of research, I was hesitant to purchase furniture that had to be assembled. However, this piece was well worth the effort. the quality and price is above par. Once assembled the chest is very sturdy and heavy. Individual drawers are not super deep but deep enough if most of your large bulky items will be hanging. I also purchased the night stand that is equally as sturdy and beautiful . Just a bit of advice, while assembling, place a blanket or pending on the floor to avoid scratches while sliding. I highly recommend this chest.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color better than pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality. Solid wood is very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Product as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful dresser
 from Ohio,  Nov 4, 2012

I bought this dresser for my grown son. It was extremely heavy to move the boxes to the inside of the house when it was delivered. It took my son about 2 hours to put this together. It is not only a very attractive piece but also well built. I plan to purchase the matching dresser soon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Skip this one
 from LI, NY,  Dec 13, 2010

I give the item two stars because it is pretty but it was such a nightmare to assemble I could never recommend it to anyone. I had purchased the nightstand and chest at the same time and had planned to buy the armoire but after a crappy week of assembling the chest and nightstand I changed my mind about the armoire. I have assembled a lot of furniture and so I am not a novice. And after several hours (maybe 10)I was done and guess what - doesn't even fit together right. It looks nice but it is crap. Returning it is more of a nightmare than keeping it but I would never buy it again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small Drawers
 from Clinton, MD,  Dec 24, 2008

I ordered 2 chests and a night stand. I thought I was getting 2 nice size chests but instead the way it is constructed, the drawers are extremely small. They are at least 8 inches smaller than the measured top of the chest. It looks great, nice heavy wood but just tooooooo small and I am very disappointed. I will never buy any furniture online again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
this is a great looking piece
 from spring hill, fl,  Dec 21, 2007

this took awhile to put together. that was the only thing i didn't like about it. otherwise, it looks great and it is a quality piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 118 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Wavelength 6-drawer Chest
Sale $395.99
Was $439.99
Compare $502.33
Save 21%
(72)
Aristo 6-drawer Chest
Sale $359.99
Was $399.99
(220)
Ellsworth Espresso 5-drawer Dresser
Today $197.99
Compare $252.63
Save 22%
(37)
Back to top