Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Loves it!
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Mar 16, 2011

I absolutely love these shelves! I have had them for about three weeks now and I couldn't be happier. There was only one problem, (below) which being a single gal who knows her way around a hardware store, wasn't really that big of a deal. First, the delivery man brought them all the way up to my 3rd floor walk up apartment! Not sure if that is an Overstock thing, or delivery man thing but I'm gald he/she did it beucase they were super heavy. Happy about that! Next, I put them together all by myself. No need for help if you know what you're doing. The problem with these shelves is that the dowels included that you use to attach the shelf to the base are a fraction of an inch too small, leaving the shelves very wobbly. I went to Ace Hardware and bought new 1/4" dowels for about $3 for 30 and replaced them and now it's all fixed. No wobbles at all. If the dowels in your package slip in and out of the holes too easily they are too small. Run to the hardware store quick and get new ones before you continue. Normally, dowels should be hard to put in and you should need to almost use a hammer to get them in for a snug fit when building shelves. This is the only reason why I gave them a 4 out of 5. They seem to be very study as well - I've got lamps and glass vases on the top shelf and a 20 pound candle in the middle of one of them too. I'm not worried at all about anything falling. :-) Couldn't be happier! They are a great find!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for my needs
 from Oregon,  Feb 4, 2011

These are a nice medium to dark brown color. One person could put these together, but it is MUCH easier to have two. Instructions are easy, but the pictures pretty much show how they need to be put together. Each shelving unit is two smaller pieces put together. There is a small tapered corner where they connect. They stand about 6' when leaning against the wall. I use both of these to hold my entertainment system components (not my tv), dvd's, playstation, and some art. They aren't the sturdiest you'll find, but they hold everything well and look really nice. They are great for the price. I wouldn't return them if I had the chance.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but....
 from chicago, il,  Jan 20, 2011

these are a great color, dark brown. Easy to put together. But the mounting brackets to hold them to the wall is really a piece of white canvas? A strap? really ugly. And the shelf is not going to be sturdy enough without some kind of brace. The shelves are kind of wobbly so my husband screwed each shelf into the wall. Even if you used the strap brace, I think the shelves would need something else to keep straight. I like them, the price was right and I would buy again but you will probably have to reinforce them and I didnt realize that!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cool bookshelves
 from San Antonio, Texas,  May 10, 2011

I have more books than I know what to do with and could never find shelves that I really liked. A friend of mine had similar shelves and I began to search for a pair that would match my decor. The pair of leaning shelves matched perfectly with pieces I already own. Although there are about a hundred screws, dowels, etc--the packages do not come labled--they were easy to put together and look terrific!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? great quality--stands well next to **** and other quality furniture
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Quality
 from Palmetto State,  Mar 22, 2011

These shelves turned out to be better than what I was expecting. The quality is very nice. Sturdy for what I was intending to use them for. As a pair, they make a great set on either side of the fireplace. We use them for cd's and my husband's collection of old military books. They display very nicely.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ladder shelves
 from St. Louis, MO,  Mar 16, 2011

I like theses shelves, they were fairly easy to build. They are sturdy, and look great in our living room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cool Shelves
 from Waldorf, MD,  Nov 26, 2010

Beautiful addition to my living room; the fact that they lean adds a contemporary look. Set up was easy, requiring two people. The cappuccino color blends with any motif...I am very happy that I purchased the shelves...and you can't beat the shipping price!!! FREE!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
New Homeowner
 May 30, 2015

Awesome shelving set, cost was reasonable for 2 vs. just 1.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shelf buyer
 May 1, 2015

I have had these shelves a few years now. They are cute and look great. Just make sure you put those little felt pads on the back of the top, where it leans on the wall. Or it pulls the paint from your wall if you want to move them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Avid Reader
 Mar 28, 2015

Easier to put together than the reviews made it seem. They are strong and sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my Ladder Shelf!
 from Hollister,  Jan 7, 2015

I have ordered several pieces of furniture from Overstock and have been please will all. The ladder shelf is beautiful! I ordered two and flanked my fireplace in my family room. The construction is sturdy, my husband had absolutely no problem putting them together for me, they lean perfectly, and did not have any scratches or blemishes. I'm pretty picky about furniture and I am aware that not everything is top of the line from Overstock, but this piece is exceptional. I have received many compliments and just love they way they enhance the d├ęcor of my family room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from Ohio,  Aug 5, 2014

Perfect size for my bathroom. Fairly easy to assemble, would be easier with two people but absolutely possible to assemble with only one. The foot support on mine was cracked but I have ordered enough from Overstock to come to expect something is always a little off so now I'm prepared. A little wood glue fixed it easily. It looks great, and was very well priced. It's sturdy, doesn't move, tip, or wobble at all.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I wanted
 from Washington, DC,  Jan 14, 2014

I've had these for over a year now and they are definitely as advertised, if not better. Solidly constructed, easily assembled (if you're used to doing assembly), and nicely designed. The color was true. Only neg would be that they can streak your wall if you allow them to slide sideways, so be careful. Would definitely order more and just might..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shelves
 from Lansing, MI,  Nov 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the look and quality of these shelves. Great price to boot!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product; excellent deal!
 from Waukesha, WI,  Mar 14, 2013

We purchased the set of two ladder shelves, and have placed them on each side of our fireplace. The shelves were assembled by one person fairly easily. All parts were included in the package and the product was in excellent condition upon arrival. The color of the cappuccino shelves are a medium-dark wood, but not quite as dark as espresso. The shelves support surround sound speakers (small and large), dvr and dvd player, and numerous picture frames, candles, vases, and decorations. We have a cat who likes to climb, and we have not had to worry about anything falling over with these shelves. There is a hidden third leg on each unit under the bottom shelf that allows for sturdiness even when not leaning against a wall. We shopped around for nearly a month and this was the best price we found for this quality product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matches what was shown on site.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of the product is high; shelves are very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The on site description of the product was accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Purchase
 from Spring Hill, TN,  Jan 7, 2012

I was leery of purchasing these shelves based upon some of the reviews. However, I followed one of the reviews and purchased new dowel pins to attach the shelves. You will need 40 - 1/4 X 1 1/4 inch dowel pins. They will cost around $ and are well worth it! The shelves are super sturdy and have no wobble at all. Instead of using the included strap to attach the top of the shelves to the wall to keep from shifting, I used Velcro pictures hangers by Command Strip. Any hardware store carries them. They worked great! This is going to complete my home office! I am SO VERY HAPPY!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelves for the money
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Sep 26, 2011

Easy to put together, not stable without a wall to lean on, but look great, are a good size. Very happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great, it actually matched the furniture I already have perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. average quality, great for the cost
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good price. Good quality.
 from Alexandria, VA,  Sep 8, 2011

I really like this bookcase. I purchased two to frame my entertainment unit and I was able to put both together by myself in just a few hours. I was a little concerned, based on other comments, about the fact that the bookcase sides are not one long piece, but the two sections fit together nicely. The separation is noticable but it looks natural and is well finished. I would definitely buy these bookcases again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched the site exactly. Its really gorgeous.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

These shelves are great, the design looks wonderful and just like what you'd find at *** or something. They are fairly sturdy, but I would not trust them to hold my entire book collection (I have vases, photo frames & a few books on these). i.e. I have 4 large hardcover cookbooks laid flat in a stack on one shelf, and that amount of weight makes the shelf tilt just slightly, so not sure it would hold up to a full stack of books on it! Lastly, color description is not great. They still look really nice and I am happy with them, but they are NOT espresso/ cappuccino/ dark brown color... they have a deep RED hue that is more like a dark cherry wood. Still look great, but beware of color!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not great- this was the biggest issue I had w/ shelves. They are closer to a dark cherry wood color... not "cappuccino". They are dark so I don't notice too much, but they are definitely not the dark chocolatey color I hoped for, they have a slight deep red hue to them.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good. Fairly sturdy... i have some vases, photo frames & few books. I would be weary to put my entire book collection on... not sure if the shelves would hold entirely all books.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good. Color description not great. These have a RED hue... they are dark so not super noticeable, but I would NOT describe as cappuccino.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcases!
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Aug 7, 2011

Product was exactly as described. Very easy to assemble. Direction said that you needed two people to assemble, but I did it myself with no problems. Quality of wood is great. Looks really good in my living room and I've received many compliments on the bookcases. Both of the bookcases came in separate boxes, shipped together in one overall box. The shipping box was quite heavy, which I didn't mind because it showed that the quality of the wood was great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought