Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 1129 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 57 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect bookshelf, takes up very little room
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Mar 28, 2011

This bookcase was pretty simple to put together (~15 mins for a handyman watching TV simultaneously) and looks great. Excellent color - matches the picture very well. The wood has a nice, solid, "real" feel to it. And the unit itself is very sturdy when up against the wall. Things to note: At the top of the unit (where the two legs lean against the wall) you are supposed to attach two white nylon ribbons - the purpose is to attach one end to a leg, and then the other to the wall. This is a smart idea, but only necessary if you have small children who might pull/climb on the unit. When leaning against the all, particularly with the shelves full, the unit is solid and sturdy. The shelves get progressively "shallower" as you move up the unit - the shelf at the top is only about half as deep as the shelf at the bottom. Keep that in mind as you consider what will go on this. Putting books on the bottom (too deep) or top (too shallow) shelves won't look right - the bottom will have too much wood shown between the edge of the shelf and the books, and using the top shelf will result in books sticking out over the edge. So long as you have the ability to stock the shelves with a variety of items, I'm sure it will fit into your room just as well as it fits in mine...for reference, my shelves contain (starting at the bottom): 1. Wireless printer 2. Excess DVDs and travel keepsakes 3. Books 4. Books 5. Pictures

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not well made, Not same color
 from New Jersey,  Nov 25, 2009

I bought these, because of the style I was looking for. When they came, they were a bit battered. Like they were tossed around. A bit of a furniture pen will fix the scratches, not enough to return them. However, one shelf, the lip was completely off, like it had been attached 3 inches off from where it was supposed to be. My father in law, actually took it apart, and wood glued it and set it with a clamp. A lot more work than I was looking for. Though the rest of the assembly was easy.Also, it says "Walnut" which would match the other pieces of furniture in my living room. These shelves look cherry next to the other pieces. They are a lot more red than the picture indicates.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I bought this piece to tidy up my room, and it served its purpose great collecting the few picture frames I have and the mail holder. The shelves increase in width as you go lower so the bottom shelf is actually pretty spacious. It took me a while to assemble it myself though, since I tried to do everything on my own (the manual says you need two people). Pros: nice looking, practical, light weight. Cons: it is divided into two main pieces that you put on top of each other, and the part where the two pieces connect is kind of obvious. Also, when you put it on the wall, the two arms can leave marks on your wall where the shelves lean. Overall a very good purchase, and I am happy with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shoddy construction, miserable assembly
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jun 12, 2011

I actually enjoy some assembly projects, but when I opened up the package and saw the small container of glue, my heart sank. The shelf is poorly designed, and the instructions are incomplete and confusing, so assembly was a nightmare. The materials are poor quality - the shelves themselves are soft plywood covered in some material to make them look like walnut, and the so-called "phillips screws" got stripped within 30 seconds of trying to screw them in. A lot of the dowels and screws did not fit correctly. About four hours later I finally got the shelf assembled, and it's shaky though I tightened all the screws. I am not sure what we can put on the shelf without it falling over. I really do not recommend purchasing this. We bought two and I'm considering returning the second one.

  • How is the quality of the product? Poorly designed and unstable
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Quality, shelf broke in under a year
 from Chicago, IL,  Oct 3, 2011

pretty, but cheaply made. use for books and one shelf broke off and split the book already.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. one of the shelves broke with only books on it
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I wanted
 from New York, NY,  Apr 29, 2011

Love it, love it, love it. I moved into my first apartment a few months ago, and I've assembled tons of furniture. This was by far the easiest. There are actual WORDS as well as pictures, plus this was kind of common sense. To all those reviewers who said it wasn't sturdy...really? I have heavy books on each and every shelve except for one that is home to my printer. I've been using this product for a good stretch of time now, and it's held up quite well. I will admit to a flaw: no matter what you do, it will wobble from side to side. It's not nearly as weak as this makes it seem. You can see with there upper half meets the lower half, but this doesn't bother me at all. There is a little bit of a reddish tint to it that is just beautiful, though I do wish it were a little darker. I strongly recommend being generous with the wood glue. If you put enough in, the shelves will not shift. I also love that there is the an option to attach it to the wall, but unlike other products, it is not vital. It looks great, it does its job well, and I might even buy the accompanying desk at some point. Not to mention that with the already low price and coupon I used, this was a steal!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Unit
 from new hampshire,  Oct 25, 2009

This fits perfect in a small space, and while displaying "treasures" it remains open enough not to close off the space. Went together in a jiffy ! Says you need two people, but was able to do it myself

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase value
 from NE Arkansas,  Apr 27, 2012

This ladder shelf was the best price and the shipping can't be beat. I put it together without help. I don't have it anchored as I like to move it around. I would recommend putting some felt or bumper type guard behind the top sides where it rests against the wall because it could stick or scratch wall if accidently bumped.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? more than comparable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Average Value : Average Style : Average
Just Ok
 from New York, NY,  Oct 30, 2013

I've used the shelf for a few months but will probably end up getting rid of it. The color is definitely a lot more red than what the picture displays. And as another reviewer has said, it looks very cherry compared to other dark wood furniture it is next to. I had to move it to a more isolated wall so it doesn't stand out.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to put-together
 from San Jose, CA,  Nov 16, 2011

My Sister has the shelf and it was put together a bit tighter than mine. It was easy to assemble solo but there is a bit of strength needed. The shelves are not very sturdy so you can't put too much on each shelf. They tend to tip back. I do however, love the look of the shelf as it is very modern and good for the price. The color is nice and a bit deeper walnut. I do like it I just wish I had put it together tighter. I can imagine that people would think I paid more than what I did.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Small dents and not solid....
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor Style : Poor
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS
 from New York, NY,  May 19, 2014

I ordered this shelving unit thinking it would look nice in my apartment. Upon opening the box I found that two of the shelves looked like a squirrel was using them as a snack and the other 3 shelves had random scratches and blemishes. Having ordered from Overstock before I gave them the benefit of the doubt and was told I would have a new shelving unit shipped to me. It arrived in the promised timeframe. Instead of lugging this one home from my office where the unit was delivered, I decided to open the box first. I was shocked to find that another squirrel had been nibbling on this unit as well. Maybe its the same squirrel, who knows? The people at "******" should check their products before shipping them out. Both units I received were clearly items that had been damaged and returned. They decided to just ship them right back out for Overstock. Absolutely a ridiculous experience. Overstock had to issue me a credit as I did not want to wait on a 3rd unit being shipped to me as I feared they would send the whole nest of squirrels and possibly a python or two.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bang for buck.
 from Sacramento, CA,  May 18, 2013

As a "decorative" item rather than a functional one, these shelves are definitely a good value. They aren't as substantial as other ladder shelves I've seen, but they work for us to hold decorative items (a few books, frames, candles etc.). I wouldn't go as far as calling them "rickety", but these aren't heavy, sturdy shelves by any means. They work for apartment living or maybe in a bedroom, but I wouldn't recommend them for larger spaces. Overall, we're pleased with them but they aren't anything to write home about. Three stars.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Close.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very inaccurate portrayal of product
 from san antonio, tx,  Sep 2, 2012

very cheap quality and inaccurate color. i tried to return it but would be charged over $20 in shipping to return it when i only paid $2.95 for my whole shipping order. do not buy this item

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not even close to the color portrayed.. about 10 shades lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very cheap
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not at all accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5 star service, 2 star product
 from Seattle,  Aug 25, 2012

I saw similar book shelves on other sites and decided to go with this one from Overstock, since it's a website I've shopped on many times, and I was not so familiar with the sites offering other brands in this style. I was very excited to receive the shelf and get it put together in my new place, but very disappointed to discover that that bottom shelf was split up the side and completely unusable. I contacted Overstock right away, and they were amazing and sent me JUST the shelf I needed instead of having to return the whole bulky thing. The new shelf arrived (packaged better by Overstock staff than the original pieces had been by the manufacturer) and I got it put together. There is a lip that runs along the sides and back of each shelf. One of these split and began to separate from the shelf while I was putting it together. This is not a piece that is touched by the screws at all, so apparently the split was just from handling. There is one portion on another of the "lip" pieces where the wood split, and the manufacturer glued it back together and just varnished over it. It's extremely unsightly, and pretty much indicative of the all around quality of the shelf. Another annoyance is the stickers the manufacturer used to label the parts. I have tried butter, canola oil, disinfecting wipes, magic erasers, and everything else I can think of to remove the residue, to no avail. These stickers are affixed in conspicuous spots, so now my shelf has little round sticky spots in very obvious areas. My last gripe is the stabilizing bottom foot. It's held on with one wood dowel, and one locking cam. The problem here is that the head of the peg that is meant to be locked with the cam is so small that you can pull the leg back off WHILE the cam is locked! I don't know if they packed the wrong piece or what, but this bottom leg is not sturdy at all, and I sincerely doubt that this shelf will ever hold any books. It's a good thing I bought it predominantly for holding decorative items. In short, buy a different ladder bookcase!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Much lighter than pictured (on both my screens)
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very poor quality. Pieces arrived broken, others broke during assembly. Poor patch jobs in the wood, etc.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent Ladder shelf, but arrived damaged
 from Virginia,  Aug 10, 2012

Product arrived with 4 of the 5 shelves damaged. I was able to hammer some of them into place, and the damage is not enough to send back, which would have been a hassle. The color is more cherry than I would have liked, but overall, it works for the space. If you're looking for something nicer, you will have to spend more money and purchase something different.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color in person is a lot more cherry than the dark espresso pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. For the price, the quality is about as expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Mostly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Five Tier Ladder Shelf
 from California,  Jun 5, 2009

I purchased two five tier ladder shelves. They arrived promptly and boxes were in excellent condition. The instructions stated two people would be needed to construct. This is not true. I am a female senior citizen and I completed the first one in forty minutes and the second one in twenty minutes. A battery operated drill comes in very handy for this project. They look great side by side for a larger look. If putting two shelves side by side do not put the finishing "buttons" on the sides that go together. I am very happy with the look , value for my money, and the quality of these pieces. Just what I wanted for my family room to display things!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good Style : Good
Product OK - Assembly Bad
 from Chicago, IL,  Oct 25, 2013

While the product itself is good and the price was good, the assembly was very hard. They should tell you in the description that 2 people are required to assemble this product and that there is a lot of assembly.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Good Style : Excellent
Walnut Five Tier Ladder Shelf
 from South Alabama,  Oct 7, 2013

These are very sturdy bookshelves made of solid wood. I loaded them down and the shelves do not sag at all. The color is accurate and attractive (a little red tint in the brown). They give a lot of storage without looking heavy in the room. I ordered two and use on either side of a doorway. Good overall size. Very happy with the purchase.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not recommended
 from Florida,  May 14, 2013

Thie wood is too thin and the shelf collapsed under the books I had on it. Not recommended.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Comparable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ladder Shelf
 from Lincolnton, NC,  May 14, 2013

I love my Ladder Shelf. It matches the color of my Mission TV Stand beautifully. Easy to put together as every piece was marked - Huge help! But it took awhile! Directions say that 2 people are needed but I did it perfectly by MYSELF! Its study and the shelves are strong. I may order another one!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect. A deep Walnut
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality. Sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Vey accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 1129 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 57 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top