Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Get Ready For Memorial Day
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Decent
 from St Louis, MO,  Mar 2, 2013

This is an overall very nice bench but lacks quality somewhat. The narrow depth and slat design make it ideal for small spaces (e.g. hallways). It requires assembly, but this is pretty straightforward. The wood is of decent weight and quality (rubberwood is not “rubber” – it is actually a very nice furniture-making type of wood ;) but the walnut veneer used is very thin and chips very easily. I do not see it holding its shape if the bench sees medium to heavy use. The color is slightly darker than it appears on the website (at least on my computer screen). I would describe it as medium walnut. The quality of the paint job is not the best (e.g. you can see the paint brushing on some spots). Overall, for the money, it is a decent buy, but certainly not the best bench around in terms of quality and probably also durability.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? More or less the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great wood frame, subpar veneer and paint job
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap and NOT THE COLOR PICTURED!
 Apr 21, 2015

I wanted to love this bench and despite the reviews, i went ahead and took a risk. It is a beautiful design but the quality is terrible. The color is burgundy, not that beautiful orangey walnut in the picture that would have matched all my furniture. The veneer is bubbling in places. The reviews highlighted both of these issues but I couldn't beat the price. Overstock, if people keep telling you that the color is not what you advertise, why not just change the picture or the description to match. The box was so beaten up I took pictures in case it was damaged. I know I got a returned item b/c there were scratches. I know that Overstock is great with returns but it's too big an item and I wasn't going to haul it to ups. I'll be selling it on craigslist. If you are looking for an inexpensive piece in BURGUNDY and can deal with some of the workmanship issues, it could work for you.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Craftmanship - Unique Design
 from Germantown, MD,  Oct 15, 2013

This bench has a very beautiful design and looks very trendy in the foyer of our new house. It's fairly well made for the price, and is very sturdy once it was all put together. The only problem was the color of the wood seemed much darker than it appeared in the pictures online. I took a gamble on this and thought that the color might end up being more of a reddish/amber brown, but it really is a deep/dark walnut brown instead. This is fairly simple build, but the directions aren't too in depth. For people who aren't used to putting things together, you may want to get a friend to help you line up the pieces first. If you are used to assembling your own furniture, then this will take you about 15 minutes to complete the project. This is very unique, and provides just enough cover in the hallway to hide a few pairs of shoes out of the way.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not so sturdy, color is darker
 Mar 24, 2015

The product doesn't seem sturdy, and the color was darker walnut. This was also an interesting experience with Overstock. The packaging is so thin that it caused damage to one of the structural components (wooden dowel that holds the leg pieces together). Upon careful inspection we noticed that the area that was broken was missing paddings, unlike everywhere else that was nicely padded. So I requested Overstock to send me the part that was damaged, instead they shipped me another bench, which was fine, except it was missing all the screws and bolts that came with. sigh.. long process..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 Mar 5, 2015

My family liked the bench so much that they moved it from the lobby to the living room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bench; color is much darker
 Feb 23, 2015

this bench is beautiful; well made & easy to put together (i am a single woman age 50). Be warned that the delivery package is HUGE. My only complaint is that the color (for walnut bench) is MUCH MUCH darker than in the photo. it's more like a coffee color. I was sad because it did not match the room but it's WAY too big to exchange, so i will make do.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too cool!
 from Miami, Florida,  Dec 17, 2014

One of my favorite pieces of furniture! It's heavy and substantial which adds to the quality despite being veneer. Only complaint is that it scratches easier than I would like, but considering the price, it's not a big deal.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Use these to support luggage in guest rooms
 from Florida Keys,  Oct 9, 2014

One arrived scratched, have had these in our guest rooms at a resort to support guests luggage for about 6 months, they scratch easily and the veneer peals. We are probably using them for the wrong purpose for which they may have been intended.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not for outdoor use
 from Southern Cal,  Aug 27, 2014

I use it on my balcony, as a place for potted plants. It seldom rains here, so perhaps it was heat, but the "walnut" finish peeled off in six months. It appears to be plastic "veneer". For indoor use, it would probably be four stars, as it's attractive and strong. Assembly is difficult, a second person is a good idea.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but very dark
 from Los Angeles,  Aug 5, 2014

Its a beautiful and simple piece but the color is way off. Often times they use a ton of flash and lights to take photos of products and the color doesn't resemble what is shown on the site. I wanted something like shown in the picture but got more of a mohagany dark brown. It is still beautiful but if you are looking to match your home decor, be warned that it is a dark brown not a walnut light color. We kept it because I liked the look of it and although the color isn't what I expected, I was still able to make it work in to our home. Install took about 20 minutes with the help of my mother.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great piece for the price.
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jun 30, 2014

I was hesitant about buying a piece of furniture online without ever seeing it in person, but this piece was cheap enough I thought I would give it a try. This bench is a great piece and is perfect for my entryway. It's sturdy and has a lovely mid-century look without the huge price tag. We only really use it for sitting down while putting on shoes. Not very comfortable for sitting long durations, but most benches probably are not made for that. If you just want a nice piece for your hallway or entry way this is a great bench for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Piece of art
 from Florida,  May 7, 2014

This bench is truly beautiful. It was easy to assemble and looks like an art piece. Put it in my entryway and love the compliments I receive on it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great for my windows side plants
 May 20, 2016

great for my windows side plants

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dissatisfied customrer
 May 7, 2016

Stay away from this product. It peeled in 6 weeks, and now after 6 months the legs are wobbly and I have to drill screws in to resecure it and repurpose it as a rectangle plant display bench because I wouldnt jeopardize anybody's safety by using it to sit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Office Administrator
 Apr 28, 2016

Very Good product, great price. Durable, clean lines, and perfect for any entryway.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bench
 Apr 10, 2016

Good quality and looks great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous
 Apr 4, 2016

I have this in my mud room and its super easy to move and clean

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great find
 Feb 28, 2016

I had my concerns about this bench when it arrived with a broken part, however, I was amazed by the quick response and excellent customer service I received when I contacted OS. Within a week a new bench was delivered and it is perfect! After shopping at many stores trying to locate a suitable piece for my family room, I found this easy to assemble and VERY sturdy bench perfect for my needs. The wood finish is warm and the design is contemporary. Im very happy with this purchase. Note: This bench is being used as a coffee table between two sofas in front of a fireplace. Its the perfect length and width for our needs. and the price is much less than other options we looked at. With free shipping and the OS discounts received, this was an awesome solution for us. If I could include a photo of this bench/table you would see why we are so happy. I was skeptical after reading some of the reviews, but we are glad we followed our instincts a ordered it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 Feb 12, 2016

Easy to put together. Great look and size. I would recommend this to anyone looking to add some unique seating.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love this bench
 Dec 29, 2015

this is the second one we've purchased. made well / simple clean lines / fair price

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought