Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Unimpressed
 from Denver, CO,  Mar 12, 2012

This is one of the cheaper island range hoods available; however, at over $500, I expected better quality. We have been using this for about a month now and, were it not for Overstock's terrible return policy for oversized items, we would have returned it before installing it because it did not match the product description and other quality issues that were evident as soon as we unpacked it. As a note: we received the item very quickly after it shipped. The oversized delivery policy says the carrier is supposed to call to schedule a drop off. The carrier did not do so, only calling when they were on their way. It was purely luck that my husband and I happened to be home when they called. As far as the product itself, the description on the website was incomplete. I looked for a very long time for a range hood that did not incorporate glass into the design. The product description on this one says "Stainless Steel" (other ones do say "Stainless Steel and Glass") but when we unpacked it we saw that there is a huge top panel made entirely of glass and that glass is, in fact, a big part of the design. That was not clear from either the pictures or the description, and though Overstock representatives acknowledged this, they still would not make it easy for me to return the product to exchange it for something else. The buttons on the hood are really dinky. They don't seem to fit their holes very well and sit cockeyed. We noticed this right away. Other than this, the hood looks nice enough. I just wish it worked a little better because I cook a lot and needed something a bit more heavy duty than this. Another quality issue is that one of the lights on the hood went out after just two weeks. As another commenter has posted, it is not at all clear how you can replace the light. Regardless, I don't understand why a light goes out within two weeks of installation. An Overstock representative has submitted a request for a replacement light and instructions, as the manual doesn't cover them, and I should hear back in the next few days. Functionally, this hood doesn't have a whole lot of suction. We tested it by putting incense (so we could watch the smoke) at various points on our stove where the burners are. Quite a bit of the smoke escaped. It helps the overall atmosphere in our house to have it, but I do think other ones probably perform better. The noise level seems reasonable. I do like that it has a filter that you can remove and put in the dishwasher. This is recommended every 30 days.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not as well-constructed as I was expecting.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was not accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very disappointed
 from Hot Springs, AR,  Sep 8, 2011

Builder installed this hood in my new home in October of 2010. They did not keep the instructions. Unit worked fine until April of this year, when one of the bulbs went out. Another bulb went out approx. 2 weeks later. We had absolutely no idea on how to change the bulbs as we didn't have the instructions and we didn't want to damage anything as it is very hard to figure out exactly how to change them (there is a little compact housing unit, with a halogen bulb inside that). I emailed the company asking for instructions and never received a response. I then called and spoke to Ellen and she told me that it has a 1-year warranty but that they have replacement bulbs and she would call or email me with more info. I then told her that ours is out of the warranty and if she could just give me the information on either a) bulbs or b) buying the entire housing (if that's what I needed to do) then I would buy them, providing she give me instructions. Two emails from me and a week later, Ellen finally responds to one of my emails and says she will provide 4 housings free of charge if I will give her my shipping address. I then do so via email, and two months later I still have no written instructions and she never sent me any new housings. I called again Monday, and was told (by someone that wasnít Ellen) that I would get a response via email or phone but have not received either. At this point all 4 lights are out. So, we figure out how to take the little light unit out and took it to a local electrical supply company. It took two of their employees plus a licensed electrician to figure out how to get into that thing, at which point we figured out that it takes a 20w halogen. So, 4 bulbs later we changed them out and they worked. For approx. 6 hours. Then, all four of them went out at one time. SO, now we will probably have to call an electrician to come fix this but at this point Iím thinking of pulling it out of our ceiling and scrapping it at the recycler. PROS Attractive, looks great Ė the Flotera stencil didnít bother us that much CONS Fan doesnít pull that great, donít expect a lot out of that Lights IMPOSSIBLE to figure out how to change Apparently there are wiring/fuse/electrical issues, but canít go any further on that considering I donít want to have to fork out money for a licensed electrician to come look at it Customer Service sucks (helpful hint Ė post some instructions on your website!) If you want something that looks great but isnít that functional, then this is a fair deal. I researched a lot of these before I bought this one and apparently there arenít a lot of manufacturers producing island hoods. But, if you actually want to use it (lights and fan) then I would buy something else. We are very disappointed, as we use(d) the lights every day.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Hood/Poor Instructions
 from Morris, IL,  Aug 1, 2009

This island range hood was nicely packaged and delivered in perfect condition. I am very experienced with home renovation/repair and it took me one day to install.The owner's manual was poor. The installation instructions basically consisted of one paragraph, but I studied the diagrams and installed it with minimal difficulty. The operating instructions did not seem to match this hood, so I had to figure out how it worked on my own. To summarize, this hood is sturdy, attractive, and provides good lighting and exhaust. I believe it is a 5-star product, but it has a 1-star owner's manual (which made ease of assembly more difficult).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking and functional
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Feb 18, 2013

I have had this installed for about a year now. The fan works great (ducted to outside) and has a removable screen with a few power settings. The lights add light to the cooktop area but wouldn't use them as the sole source for lighting cooktop. One drawback was that no finish for the installation was provided for where the ceiling meets the vent. I had to purchase something from hardware store to give a finished look. Other than that, it works great and have had no issues.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's stainless
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality a 4 out of 5 stars.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Matched the description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE this thing!!!
 from San Antonio, TX,  Dec 13, 2012

Having a construction background, I was able to get this gizmo installed and operational despite the horribly incomplete installation instructions provided by the manufacturer. But, what was really great was how Overstock.com dealt with shipping damage. I was totally and completely blown away by the rapid, high-tier response customer service and oversize teams gave me. I would recommend this product AND O.com to anyone.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? slightly incomplete
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great modern design
 from SJC, CA,  Oct 4, 2012

Although I love the appearance of this hood, my contractor complained about the quality, specifically the plastic parts. I haven't had a problem, but do not use it excessively.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accuate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. accuate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Modern S/S Island Range Hood at Great Price
 from Seminole, Florida,  Jul 23, 2012

I had no idea that the island fans would be so expensive. When the contractor told me it would be around $1500. I went into the Overstock site. There were the expensive fans but also the less expensive, but they work great. These fans have no walls to hang from. They must be hung from ceiling. The fan was ordered the last week in October, I had it in November. But when I opened it the glass was all over the box. I called Overstock and within a 2 week period I had a new fan. I could not believe the wonderful staff at Overstock had replaced the fan at such speed. The price was also such a great deal. Since then I always go to the Overstock site first on anything I need. My friends call me the Overstock Queen. Thank you Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Professional
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Years after purchase
 from Valdosta, Georgia,  Apr 3, 2012

I bought this range hood in 2009 and it's still top notch. I see the price is slightly higher (by about $15 or so) but that can be remedied by adding a promo code to get about $30.00 off. I am in need of purchasing new bulbs for 3 of the 4 lights on this unit but besides that, no problems at all!! This is at a great price for the great quality and beautiful design!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Beautiful Quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description is 100% accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice for the price
 from Montana,  Mar 2, 2012

beautiful vent & unobtrusive for me as I am 5 feet tall. there is quite a distance it must go to exaust outside and maybe it would be more powerful if that wasn't the case.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. beautiful but wish it was more powerful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Range!
 from San Antonio,  Feb 17, 2012

product arrived well packaged and scratch free. Easy to install and exactly as reviews had stated...took a little manuevering for two of us to get it installed but no problems otherwise. Fan is a little weak for the size but does the job nicely. lights are great. Have had this product installed for 2 months and no problems. Found a great stainless cleaner at Lowes and it looks beautiful!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with this range hood
 from Warren, PA,  Feb 12, 2012

We had a unique situation since our range is underneath a long glass block window. We couldn't put a standard range hood over it and we didn't want the range hood to play a prominent part visually in the kitchen. This was the perfect solution for us. Since it is designed to work over an island it actually worked perfect in front of the window. Although it is modern and attractive, the slim design keeps it from overpowering the room. People hardly notice it in front of our block window, but when they do we always get compliments on it. The lighting is just right and the vent seems to do the job. I forget about cleaning the top and when I finally remember it really needs it, but it's easy to clean. The price was great and we couldn't find anything anywhere else that came close to it. Very happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
haven't unpacked it yet!
 from Austin, TX,  Dec 1, 2011

our remodel has been very behind schedule so I haven't installed the hood yet, but it arrive promptly and undamaged.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great product
 from New Orleans,  Nov 29, 2011

The hood had very poor instructions but was not that hard to put up. I am a very experienced home improvement guy so I would not suggest installation to an inexperienced person. I could not install by myself. It will take at least two people of average strength. I did not mind the name of the product being visible. There is a name on every appliance that I own. I have a high end kitchen...it makes it look even better and is a bargain at the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This hood works well and and looks good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hood looks and works great
 from California,  Nov 28, 2011

The hood is really stylish and works great. I read the reviews before purchasing. All review were right on regarding the installation instructions. They are really awful. You really have to know what you are doing if you are going to install your self. Lucky for me my husband has been in the construction field for most of his life. We did have a few challenges but all in all it went up in about 30 minutes. Of course he had to prepare the ceiling beforehand by framing in the opening, installing the electrical and venting. I like that the controls are on both sides of the hood. Very handy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Range Hood
 from Indiana,  Nov 14, 2011

The range hood arrived per O.co's information. THANK YOU! It's got the features needed and is a great accent piece in our open floor plan. The only improvement I can suggest is the seam between the pieces that extend from the ceiling to the hood.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very similar
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent for the monies
 from Albuquerque, New Mexico,  Sep 17, 2011

Received item within a week! Packaging was perfect. Works great, very impressed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched description perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality finish
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as describes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exotic island hood
 from Southern California,  Sep 3, 2011

In remodeling our kitchen, the search for an artistic, lower priced island hood ended at Overstock.com. The item is very attractive, unobtrusive with is flat design, the lighting is excellent for mood lighting or as a night light, and the price was fully $400 less for a similar unit from IKEA, and more than $500 less than a unit from Home Depot or Lowes. It was easy to install, and was delivered less than one week after I ordered it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? stainless is stainless
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Although I'vbe only had the unit for 4 weeks, it has funtioned perfectly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? satisfactory
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Qaulity Product
 from Atlanta,  Aug 28, 2011

Product was easy to assemble and install - everything needed was provided. a good price for the unit

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well built and very easy to install
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No Complaints
 from Belleville, Michigan,  Aug 26, 2011

Hood arrived before I expected it to arrive. The look and quality of the unit was very good. This was not the most expensive Island Rangehood, however, it is hard to tell any difference. I had my brother install and vent the unit to the outside with no trouble at all. The hood looks modern works well and adds glamor to my kitchen island.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from Denham Springs, LA,  Aug 22, 2011

This hood is exactly what i expected to be by reading the other reviews. I agree with the other reviews about the instructions not being good but if you are any type of DYI'er then it is fairly easy to install. Our hardest part was me trying to hold the hood while my husband attached it to the ceiling. Thankfully my sister & her husband showed up to help. The only thing wrong with the hood was the company name that is on each side of the hood was a bit scratch off one side and made it look bad so i used my finger nail and was able to scratch it the rest of the way off. I wasn't able to scratch the other side off tho so we just put the side that i was able to scratch off facing the dining room so it's not so noticable. While scratching if off with my finger nail, i didn't scratch the surface which i was scared to do if i used anything else to scratch it off with. Other than that we love the hood. It opens our kitchen up & makes it very modern!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top