Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Classy
 from Byron, MN,  Feb 8, 2013

We are remodeling our main level and purchased this piece hoping the color would match up...it looks terrific! The heaviness and sturdiness of this buffet is really nice and makes it feel very high quality. The only negatives I have is that when it was delivered and we opened the boxes, there was a strong smell of "wood stain". It is still prevalent after about a week but I am hoping that will subside (or I am just getting used to it)! They missed a screw in the assembly materials but that was no big deal. I would also like to see better quality cabinet door knobs...these look cheap and don't match the quality of the piece itself. I plan to change those out...but otherwise this buffet rocks and I would recommend to anyone!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Awesome!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy and good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from North Carolina,  Jul 12, 2013

This is a sturdy, stylish buffet. Very clean minimalist lines - think mid century modern with a driftwood color. Smooth, satin finish. Mine arrived in three boxes, everything was in perfect condition. The hardware was all there and was easy to find, the instructions were clear, and all the holes and fittings were perfectly accurate. It's heavy, I put it together myself but I've built a lot of furniture. If you're a beginner or a small person you may want to get a friend to help. Once built, it's solid. The doors hang perfectly straight with only minor adjustments (the hinges are the adjustable european type, which is nice). I'm thrilled with this, it's better than I expected and I can't believe it shipped for free!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's very close to the photo, like a driftwood gray with a light cool brown undertone.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Went together easily, well built, well packaged, heavy solid wood with veneer.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful product
 from Columbus, OH,  Dec 14, 2013

I received this buffet one week after I placed the order, and it came in 3 boxes. Everything was in perfect condition, and there were extras for all of the screws (except for the ones to attach the back--those were a few short, but it didn't matter.) I set aside an entire Saturday afternoon to put it together after reading it took 8 hours to assemble. It is time consuming, but it took me about 3 hours total. I strongly, STRONGLY recommend that you only purchase this product if you have access to an electric/cordless screwdriver. If I only had a manual screwdriver, I'm sure I would still be working on it, instead of drinking a glass of wine right now! The piece looks beautiful, and I think the color is very true to the photos on the website. It's not solid gray; like other reviewers have said, it's grayish with brown undertones. I got it to match a vintage table (made of Wormy Chestnut wood, if that helps you to picture the tone) and it matches extremely well. As for the odor issues that others reported: I did smell the wood stain/"new furniture smell" when I unpacked all of the boxes, but there was no lingering odor afterwards (and I'm very sensitive to strong scents, so I was glad that it wasn't as noticeable for my buffet as it was, unfortunately, for others.) Maybe they have corrected something with the finish? This is a very attractive, sturdy, substantial piece and the style and finish are fantastic. The quality is good and it looks expensive, not cheap at all. Very satisfied!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful
 from Colorado,  Dec 4, 2013

beautiful and substantial piece of furniture. assembly was simple yet time consuming. definitely needs door pulls with more character. the pulls that are on it make it look 'ikea.' gorgeous, unique wood tone. packaged + shipped safely in 5 boxes. using as tv console. love it!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Timeless Piece!
 from Manitoba, Canada,  Nov 9, 2013

I love this buffet! It was fairly easy to put together, although I did need some help with adjusting the hinges. The color is beautiful and it looks amazing in my newly built home. This piece is timeless, and I could easily move it to several other areas of my house. I had looked extensively for a buffet without drawers that fit my style. This one is perfect. I am using it in my kids' play area to keep craft supplies, paper, etc in and the shelving is perfect for that. The shipping was extremely fast. Normally when I get things shipped to Canada from the US, shipping takes at least a month. This arrived within 2 weeks. Very impressed! Thank you!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice buffet, but NOT very charcoal grey!
 from Lititz, PA,  Aug 15, 2013

I bought this buffet to use as an entertainment center, and it has plenty of space for storage. It took this woman almost 8 hours to assemble this very solid piece of furniture, as well as replace the small knobs with high-quality brushed stainless door pulls that really "up" the mid-century look. Assembly directions were pretty straight-forward, aside from confusingly similar door hinges that made hanging the doors difficult to differentiate sides. The only thing that keeps me from really raving about this piece is the fact that I really wanted a GREY unit, and, as another reviewer stated, this is definitely a brown piece a very subtle grey wash.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish and Roomy
 from Houston,  Aug 11, 2013

Arrived timely with all the right pieces. I hired someone to put it together and it did take him a while, but the end result is beautiful. The wood looked very brown right out of the boxes, but once it went together, the gray really comes out. Looks perfect with my gray leather dining room chairs.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Nice Buffet
 from Virginia,  Jun 15, 2013

After thinking about purchasing this buffet for awhile, I'm so glad I finally did. It is a nice solid piece of furniture with clean, simple lines and it looks more expensive than the cost. It was the perfect fit for our newly redecorated living room that is blue and grey colors (including the cozy silver shag rug from Overstock, which is awesome) - it looks updated and modern. The wood is kind of soft but it's all solid wood (except the back) - I prefer that over particleboard and veneer at this price. And it's delivered right to your door! When I opened the first box, my initial thought was "this is brown!" but once it is all put together the overall effect and color is brown with a subtle grey-toned color wash over it which I think the color accurately depicts. The brown/grey was what I expected so I am pleased with the color and like that it's different from typical wood colors or stains. Assembly was pretty typical for flat-pack furniture (to give credit where it's due, my husband always makes it look easy), directions were clear and everything was labeled. Very happy with this buffet!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? What I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased with quality and color.
 from Arizona,  Jun 3, 2013

This piece can compete with any of the really expenisive buffets. It is heavy, tons of storage, clean lines and great color.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matches the color online
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very heavy and expensive looking.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality
 from Austin, TX,  Jan 31, 2014

Very worth the price. Nice, heavy and looks fabulous! Easy to assemble but we have assembled many pieces from Overstock. com in the past, so we are pretty good at it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from NJ,  Jan 27, 2014

Easily assembled an great overall product. Will continue to purchase from here now and in the future

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great piece!
 from New York,  Oct 23, 2013

This piece is exactly what I was looking for. I couldn't find a buffet under $*** anywhere that wasn't really ugly. I'm going to switch out the door handles b/c the ones that came with it are really junky looking. My handyman put it together for me so I have no idea how difficult it was to do but he had trouble aligning the doors and from fall away you can see they are a little off. This normally bothers me but i'm going to let it slide b/c the price was right and at the end of the day... you get what you pay for.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A huge, expensive disappointment
 from Norco, CA,  Jan 28, 2014

After years as satisfied Overstock shoppers, without a doubt this has been our worst, most disappointing purchase. First, the top of the buffet arrived scratched and gouged. Overstock promptly sent a new top, which was fine and attached without issue. The room in which the buffet would be used was under construction, so we didn't immediately attach the doors. A month or so later, the buffet was finally put in place, the doors ready to be installed. We were crushed to find the doors will not attach properly. On the left side, the doors line up flush with the side panel. On the right side, the doors are inset from the side panel and overlap in the front so they will not close. Of course, because we didn't complete the assembly right away, it's now too late to contact Overstock for new doors, or an entirely new piece, or whatever it would take to make this thing work. So it sits as an expensive eye sore in our family room until we can figure out some kind of modification. We just gutted and installed a brand new kitchen, so this is not an issue of ineptitude on our part. The buffet we received has a serious design flaw. We learned two valuable lessons from this experience: first, always fully assemble any purchases within the 30 day return time frame; second, think long and hard before ever ordering furniture from Overstock again.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrible Expreience Overall
 from Dallas, TX,  Dec 16, 2013

This has been a mess from the beginning. I ordered this cabinet, and it arrived in three boxes. I hired a guy to come out and put it together for me. After getting it all opened up and spread out everywhere, he told me there were some very key pieces missing (actual panels). So I called Overstock, who was very helpful and they contacted the warehouse and had an additional box sent out supposedly with the missing parts. Another box arrived, and I had the guy back out to put it together. After beginning to assemble it, he said the parts they had sent were not to this piece of furniture and showed me where it didn't fit together and was clearly not the correct part. So I boxed it all back up and returned it to OS. They sent me a whole new cabinet which arrived in three boxes. This time, being tired of paying someone to come over and not be able to do anything, I had a friend of mine who is a mechanical engineer and has put together a bunch of stuff like this over the years, come over and help me put it together. After three hours, we finally gave up. The instructions were awful, which you expect with something like this, but they seemed extra bad. Some of the parts had changed from when the directions were printed, so it was hard to figure out what parts they were referring to. Additionally, places where holes should have been predrilled were not there. We drilled our own holes and tried really hard to make it all work. Once we finally put the front doors on, using the predrilled holes that were there, they didn't fit correctly. There were large gaps around the top and side edges, even though the one edge where the hinges were was flush and drilled into the provided holes. It was clear this was just a poorly designed, very low quality product in terms of structure. I was really disappointed because I liked the veneer/color of the cabinet and it would have fit perfectly for the space and décor. I have called Overstock and they are sending someone out to pick it up, and are paying the shipping fees, which is very nice. Hopefully there is no issues with getting a full refund. While there were many problems with getting the product shipped to me correctly and with the quality and design of the product itself, I must say that so far Overstock has been very response and helpful in resolving each situation as it has arisen. So back to looking for a cabinet. :-(

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not gray at all
 from chicago, il,  Mar 20, 2013

The product was heavy so I am sure if we put it together it would have been very sturdy but I was very disappointed when I opened the first box and the buffet was brown. It is NOWHERE near charcoal grey.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? totally different
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. heavy and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top