Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 81-100 of 163 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great set
 from New York, NY,  Sep 19, 2011

Excellent Set. High quality wood. Dresser was fairly difficult to assemble, the other pieces were not too bad.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful unit and terrific price!
 from New York,  Sep 18, 2011

It took me approximately 5 hours to assemble the dresser by myself with only a hammer and a manual screwdriver. I did not use a power drill since some reviewers mentioned having worn out the heads of the nails. It is important to be systematic and organized in setting up this dresser and I chose to set up all the drawers first instead of the base first (which was recommended by the manufacturer). In setting up the drawers first, it eliminated many of the parts and whatever was remaining was for the base unit. Overall, the unit is beautiful to look at and my husband was so impressed that he made me order a second one for another room (especially now that he is confident that I can do it).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to the picture posted
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent with the exception of the bottom of the drawers as others have mentioned.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great look for a great price
 from Chesapeake, VA,  Sep 9, 2011

Like many others who purchased this dresser, I have been on the hunt for a Danish style piece that did not cost thousands of dollars. I was determined not to order online, I wanted to see the piece in person before purchasing. However, I could not resist the price, especially after reading all the reviews. Not a stranger to Overstock, I knew what the installation would involve. I purchased the 6-drawer dresser and the 4-drawer chest. My husband and I put them both together in less than 3 hours. We have not yet moved them into the bedroom but right now I am loving the look of them. I had hoped the drawer sides and back would be the same height as the fronts, but I've seen shallower. Not sure how I feel about the black pulls/hardware, I will keep an eye out for options but in no huge rush. They are unoffensive. Shipping was quick, as usual, and the cartons arrived in tact, no damages. I would definitely recommend the Vilas pieces to others... it easily saved me at least $600. Thanks Overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? A bit darker but exhibits the beauty of the wood
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems like relatively good quality, especially for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Piece
 from Pittsburgh. PA,  Aug 23, 2011

Though delicate in its assembly for the tension between the pieces' hefts and their required steps to being fastened, this piece is a great dresser. The color is strong but subtle, and the lines are clean. It's a great modern piece, especially for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Slightly weak internally, but overall solid.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Totally Satisfied
 from The rolling hills of Pennsylvania,  May 12, 2011

As soon as I saw this dresser online, I knew I had to have it. I couldn't think about anything else, and so I was so pleased when the shipping process went FAST. My darling dresser had a rough delivery process, with one of the boxes breaking open during its perilous journey over the land, but it was stewarded by an especially kind UPS driver who - thankfully - ensured no pieces made a daring escape. The assembly process was, indeed, an organizational challenge, but nothing that my husband and I hadn't seen before. Getting the right screws in the right spot isn't always easy, but with love and communication....well, you get the drift. Goal in mind of seeing my beautiful dresser assembled promptly, I kept quiet and smiled while I just put the pegs, bolts and screws wherever my husband said he wanted them (trusting, as it were, his interpretation of the obscure and imprecise directions). Lacking a drill, it was a test of endurance that resulted in no small amount of casualties in the form of minor bumps, bruises, and one slightly gruesome blister. Assembled, the dresser is everything I'd hoped: gorgeous pin legs, fantastic wood color and sheen, great size, smoothly rolling drawers, and a beloved complement to our gorgeous homemade upholstered headboard.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Dresser
 from Los Angeles,  Apr 6, 2011

After shopping around at all the big & small named stores this was an excellent deal! The dresser has a rustic contemporary look which gives the room a sense of warmth. The drawers are deep, the rubberwood is heavy & sturdy ~ much much better than all the mdf crap out there for the same price or often more expensive. I am buying the rest of the set.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Heavy & Sturdy
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good quality
 from Boston,  Apr 5, 2011

Very heavy sturdy dresser, beautiful color. We put it together (well my husband did) in just under 2 hours, not sure how other people managed to take in excess of 4 hours. he had no trouble with the cam bolts or any other pieces. the dresser we got had a pretty decent sized scratch on the top (~1 inch long), overstock responded by giving us $$$ back which is ok given that we really didn't want to have to disassemble the whole thing and send it back. We will just stain the scratch and that should take care of it. Overall really nice, can't beat the price, the hardware is a little dull so we'll replace it but otherwise great buy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Dresser
 from New York, NY,  Mar 24, 2011

I am very happy with the purchase of this dresser, especially given the low-price compared to other dressers of similar build and quality on the market. It comes in three boxes and is well-packaged to prevent any damage during shipping. It took me approximately 4 hours to put together though I didn't rush; and all the parts and pieces were in great condition. Definitely have a screw-driver drill available during the process as I couldn't imagine putting it together without the drill (probably would have added several hours and potential frustration). Once together, it looks great and I think it is very similar to the pictures here online. Has a low, modern look. The drawers are smooth and overall the dresser feels sturdy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Vilas Dresser
 Feb 8, 2011

Overall the materials are sound and this was fairly easy to put together, with no missing parts. It looks very nice and was a good value. The drawers work smoothly and it is as it looks in the picture on the site. It was packaged well, so there was no damage in shipping and it was delivered in a timely manner. I am pleased with this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great dresser, bear to assemble
 from Oshkosh, WI,  Feb 1, 2011

As my title suggests, this dresser is fantastic, although it is an absolute chore to put together. It took just about 4 hours to put together and the instructions were far from adequate as it fails to spell out which side is the front and which side is the back nor does it help you figure out the correct way for the tracks to be installed. We had the dresser all but finished before we realized it was backwards and we had to retrace a few steps. Additionally the cam bolts supplied are the worst quality I've ever seen and more than a few split in half making it necessary to use a vice grip to remove them and try a new one. They don't supply many extra parts either so if you do break any of these cam bolts expect to put the project on hold until you can get them to send you more or you can buy them at the local hardware store. Be prepared to spend the better part of a day assembling this dresser and make sure you have a complete toolbox to assist that has at the very least screwdrivers, vice grip, rubber hammer, and power drill. Once it's finally assembled you'll still have about a half hour of clean up time as it comes in three rather large boxes (packed very well) with loads of styrofoam and protective covering of which to dispose. You'll love it once you get it assembled.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good buy
 Oct 5, 2010

I think this dresser is a really good deal. I am writing a review because i find it difficult sometimes to figure out the quality of the Overstock furniture from their description, and usually find the reviews more helpful. All of the wood in this dresser is very solid, the only piece that is not is the backing, and bottom of the shelves which is more like a particle board/veneer. I think the dresser is very handsome and the color of the wood does match the image. I like putting furniture together, but this did take me a long time... and i sheered of two of the screws while I was putting it together, so be careful. this meant i had to go out and buy a special drill bit to remove the broken screws. luckily i had a similar screw at home, but if not i would have had to have called an ordered one, which would have been a drag. Overall I think it is a good buy, especially at the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Washington,  Sep 11, 2014

I was very hesitant to buy this due to all the negative reviews. I was mostly worried about it coming with the wrong parts. I debated buying it for at least 6 months. However I couldn't find another simple dresser with cone legs so I finally decided to give it a try and I am very happy I did! It arrived 2 days after I ordered it! It came in 3 boxes and had all the pieces. The instructions were very easy and understandable. I really do not know why people say they are useless because out of all the furniture I've put together (about 7 pieces) these were the easiest instructions to understand of all. I used a manual screw driver since I did not have an electric one and it took me about 5 hours to put together. With a electric screw driver it probably would have taken about one third the time. For the people who say the drawers do not shut it is because they have not screwed the screws holding the track rails flat. I had the problem at first but I just screwed the screws flat and now they slide perfectly. Also the drawers are not interchangeable. Three have to go on the left and three have to go on the right. They don't fit the other way around so that could have been their problem too. As for the people saying the drawer fronts are coming off I have no idea how that is even possible. I have not had that problem at all. The only thing I did not like about this is that the leg in the middle is not tapered like in the picture. It is just a block of wood and is unfinished but it only shows when you are at a low angle. I've had this for a year now and it has held up perfectly. It looks like it was just bought yesterday. It is heavy but the weight is in the drawers so if you wanted to move this you'd just have to take the drawers out and it is a LOT lighter. I would recommend this. You should always remember that when looking at reviews it is the buyers with the bad experience that tend to want to share.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstading dresser!
 from Oregon, Or,  Aug 20, 2014

I am impressed with the quality and design of the dresser! I even forgot how long it took to build it ( it was not me who built it haha). We are very happy with it! It is outstanding contemporary furniture. I put on top of it to decorate a big mirror and my room look like a 5 stars hotel room. Thanks overstock.com you guys are the best!!!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap construction
 from San Francisco,  Mar 10, 2014

I was happy to find a mid century style dresser for our baby boy's room. The quality sucks though. The twist lock hardware that holds the drawers together dont lock like theyre supposed to. These are similar to the ones ikea uses on their furniture to connect pieces of wood and an angle. Ikea's actually work though. The drawer faces pop off once every couple weeks. I had to use wood glue to really make the drawers solid. This dresser should be half the price considering the quality.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dresser
 from west palm beach, fl,  Oct 24, 2013

Great color, clean lines! We put two side by side to create a modern look. The only complaint is that the drawers become loose often. Use wood glue when putting together to keep everything tight.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
at long last
 from central MA,  Jul 6, 2013

OK, so I know its not right to judge others, but that reviewer who said she put this together by herself in just three short hours ... let's just say she was totally NOT a beginner and she sets the bar a bit too high for the masses! I've put together furniture before but nothing with drawers, runners and cam locks and bolts (and thanks to the other reviewer, we did watch a video to see how these contraptions work). We took breaks, sang really loud, played with the cat, snacked, napped a little and did manage to fit it a Mexican food run, and it took two of us 7+ hours to complete the assembly. (There were a few times we had to undo things I admit.) It was fun and rewarding, too, but if this is your first biggie assembly project, give yourself a full day.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. pretty much what I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? this is much heavier than it looks
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Takes some time to assemble; need to fix drawers
 from Austin, TX,  Jun 29, 2013

This takes about 2 hours to assemble at a minimum. It's best to reinforce the drawers since they're pretty weak. Overall it looks good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Medium to high
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Close
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

If I wanted cheap furniture, with particle board backs and parts, I would've shopped at Ikea or Target. The description for all of the Vilas pieces state solid wood. We ordered an entire bedroom set and the ONLY piece in the collection that is actually solid wood is the bed. Buyer beware. The drawers and backs are composite and pressed particle board. NOT cool. Won't be purchasing from O again. Keep in mind, if you DO decide to purchase any pieces from the Vilas collection, even with the proper tools and a husband who has built homes, it will take several hours to put it all together. Such a shame.....pretty to look at, but won't have longevity as I had hoped. Honesty in descriptions would be nice.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality/false description of product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate at all
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chest of drawers
 from pa,  Mar 22, 2013

my one complaint and it is a big one, the packing of the parts in each carton leaves a lot to be desired. missing parts, wrong parts and then there is the time factor in getting the correct parts required. who ever packs this product leaves a lot to be desired. really bad.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect , a really nice match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great, except for the drawers interior
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on the mark
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Feb 2, 2013

This dresser is a great buy. Looks very similar to a midcentury model at a well known furniture store for less than half the price and comparable quality. However, word to the wise...I would classify myself as very good at furniture assembly, I'm a small woman, and I got this together with no errors in just under three hours working alone. This seemed long to me. Do yourself a favor and use some of the money you saved to buy a cheap electric screwdriver, and take the assembly slow so you don't have to repeat steps - the instructions are not as clear as they could be. Other than that small complaint, I couldn't be happier and my husband is thrilled with his new dresser.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 81-100 of 163 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Back to top