Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 61-80 of 162 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 3 4 5 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

If I wanted cheap furniture, with particle board backs and parts, I would've shopped at Ikea or Target. The description for all of the Vilas pieces state solid wood. We ordered an entire bedroom set and the ONLY piece in the collection that is actually solid wood is the bed. Buyer beware. The drawers and backs are composite and pressed particle board. NOT cool. Won't be purchasing from O again. Keep in mind, if you DO decide to purchase any pieces from the Vilas collection, even with the proper tools and a husband who has built homes, it will take several hours to put it all together. Such a shame.....pretty to look at, but won't have longevity as I had hoped. Honesty in descriptions would be nice.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality/false description of product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate at all
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and great price
 from Birmingham, al,  Apr 3, 2013

I wanted the mid century look without the huge price tag. This collection looks amazing and you can not beat the price. It is definitely not something you plan to forever unless it goes in a guest room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid wood top and sides, drawer bases not so much
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very happy
 from New york, NY,  Mar 22, 2013

Overall Iam very happy and the draws have plenty of room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love
 from Maryland,  Mar 22, 2013

I love this dresser set (bought both the four and six drawer dresser). Both pieces arrived in great condition. I was a little intimadated by the amount of pieces and the previous reviews, but the instructions were super easy and I was able to put this together by myself (took quite a few hours though). The dressers look exactly as featured on the website and I was really happy to see the quality was better than I expected. I would definitely recommend to someone who wants a nice set but doesn't want to pay too much money. I think this will last quite a few years.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chest of drawers
 from pa,  Mar 22, 2013

my one complaint and it is a big one, the packing of the parts in each carton leaves a lot to be desired. missing parts, wrong parts and then there is the time factor in getting the correct parts required. who ever packs this product leaves a lot to be desired. really bad.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect , a really nice match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great, except for the drawers interior
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on the mark
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disaster to put together.
 from California,  Mar 20, 2013

This has been a diaster to put together. I purchased the bedside table and bed as well, putting both together with a fair amount of ease. They look great and I'm happy with both. I had read that the 6 drawer dresser was a pain to assemble and after about 6 hours spread over 2 nights, I know have a dresser with drawers that don't quite look right. Clearly the tracks weren't put on correctly, though each drawer seems to have a different issue - it's not a uniform problem. After this much work and a product that looks funky (the one drawer that does work slides VERY heavily and without ease), I would not recommend this product. And to add insult to injury, TWO of my base boards for the drawers had bird poop on them. Yes, folks, bird poop. I had to scrub it off before putting the drawers together. I am not pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not as sturdy as I would hope.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? .Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent dresser for a decent price
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Mar 14, 2013

Decent quality dresser, that looks better than it's made (though it's not made terribly). We purchased this for my boyfriend, to match my antique highboy dresser that I've had for several years. The drawers are very spacious and deep, which we both appreciated. Assembly wasn't horrible, but it did take a little bit of time, just with the sheer amount of parts. The dresser itself, once assembled, looked fantastic. It is very sleek and modern, but with the vintage details we were looking for, which gives it an almost a mid-century feel to it. We also changed out the standard nobs, which gave it more character. The quality isn't awesome, but no furniture that you have to put together yourself ever is. Definitely a few steps above Ikea furniture, which is what we've been using for years. So definitely an improvement!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Slightly darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. About average. Not spectacular, but definitely an upgrade from Ikea
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice dresser, instructions could be better.
 from New York,  Mar 11, 2013

I had already purchased and assembled two of the matching nightstands, so I knew I was going to need to predrill holes for the screws to make assembly faster and simpler. I was surprised, however, when I went to install the drawer runners on both sides of the center piece and discovered that the screws from each side ended up hitting each other due to their length, making it totally impossible to screw them in all the way. I ended up solving this problem by making new holes and offsetting the screws on one side. The instructions also want you to stop halfway through assembling the body of the dresser to put together the drawers. I ignored this and did the drawers last. Definitely recommend having a second person to help out when needed; I don't think I could have assembled it as neatly and securely alone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Arrived in three boxes about 50 lbs each. Everything arrived on time and in good condition. All parts were there. Fairly each to put together with two people. I like it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as depcited
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No regrets, but...
 from Mississippi,  Feb 3, 2013

I purchased 2 dressers and the Vilas queen bed. Everyone will agree that it takes a while to put everything together. I did it by myself and it took several hours. That wasn't so much trouble as finding a location with enough space to lay everything out to make sure I had all the pieces and nothing was damaged. You'll definitely need a rubber mallet to get those wooden dowels in. You can use a screwdriver; that's what I used. The only problem was blistering the palm of my hand toward the end. The dressers are VERY sturdy and heavy. You'll definitely need help moving it from one room to another. Now that I've had these dressers for about 9-12 months, I have encountered a few issues: the top of the dresser is a little susceptible to scratches--nothing bad and knowing that now, I'd still buy these again. But you may want to consider having a local glass shop cut you a piece to lay on top. Also, the drawers seem to rub against something sometimes, although I've removed everything from the drawers to find out what it was, but found nothing. It hasn't affected the appearance and it hasn't affected the opening or closing of the drawers. It is a beautiful pair of dressers. We use one as a stand for our flat-screen TV in the bedroom and it has held up very nicely--no warping or anything. I wasn't a big fan of the small, black metal knobs on the drawers, but they've kinda grown on me. I may eventually switch them out, but for now, they're fine. Just like all knobs, every once in a while, they get loose, but you just screw them back on. No regrets. I'd buy again in a heartbeat--especially for the style and quality for such an awesome price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The actual wood is darker than online picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Feb 2, 2013

This dresser is a great buy. Looks very similar to a midcentury model at a well known furniture store for less than half the price and comparable quality. However, word to the wise...I would classify myself as very good at furniture assembly, I'm a small woman, and I got this together with no errors in just under three hours working alone. This seemed long to me. Do yourself a favor and use some of the money you saved to buy a cheap electric screwdriver, and take the assembly slow so you don't have to repeat steps - the instructions are not as clear as they could be. Other than that small complaint, I couldn't be happier and my husband is thrilled with his new dresser.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive
 from pa,  Jan 30, 2013

solid wood, You can't go wrong to the price. Assembly was no problem. Just make sure you have a second set of hands. It helps.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For the price, it's wonderful
 from Southern California,  Jan 11, 2013

The dresser is awesome for the cost. It's very sleek and still large enough to hold a good amount of clothes. The construction was not as bad as I had previously read. We have own this for a year now and they (we also bought the 4 drawer) are holding up very nicely. Several of the drawers tend to stick at about 2 inches out, but for the cost, these are spectacular.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Decent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not quality
 from Boise, Idaho,  Nov 29, 2012

You get what you pay for. Nice color but the piece itself once put together is not very solid. Ok for a room where it will not get much use. Not quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I own a Pottery Barn Sumatra bed and I was looking for a dresser that matched my bed. Unfortunately, the dresser at PotteryBarn is really expensive and this dresser does exactly the same job. It looks great and maches the color of my bed. The only thing I did not like were the knobs but those are easy to replace. Other reviewers said that it took them 5 hours to put it together. I am not a very handy guy but if you follow the instructions and you have an electric screw you should be done in no more than 3 hours.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Extremely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of assembly, but great outcome
 from Wilmington, NC,  Nov 13, 2012

The dresser is a little smaller than my last one. It's kind of smaller scale. Grab a tape measure and make sure you double check the size. The style is great! It's a combo of rustic and modern, which is perfect for the space. Assembly is a beast. Boxes, boxes, boxes. Give yourself 3-4 hours and lots of assembly space. For the drawers, the most tedious part, I suggest laying out all six piles of pieces and working on them assembly-line fashion. That went much faster than building all of drawer one and then repeating that 5 more times. I don't want to discourage anyone from purchasing it because of assembly. What's four hours? And you get a great looking piece at the end. Just be ready to dispose of lots of cardboard and styrofoam at the end.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was exactly what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was good once assembled
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good at first, now deteriorating
 from Folsom, CA,  Nov 11, 2012

I was pretty happy with this dresser when I first received it. It's mostly constructed of solid wood, mind you, the type with numerous boards joined and laminated together. But still, I much prefer this to laminate or particle board. Since the wood is actually numerous pieces laminated together the stain has a lot of variation in color throughout the piece. This may be a good or bad thing depending on what you prefer, but I liked that it gave some interesting character. The only particle pieces were the drawer sides and bottoms and the dresser backing. Altogether, it's a solid piece. I've had this thing for about a year, but things went downhill recently as the finish on the top of the dresser has started to bubble and turn a milky white. So far it's a spot about the size of a silver dollar where it seems like the finish is just separating from the wood underneath. Here's a picture (hope this link shows up): http://i***.jpg Nothing sits on the dresser at all so nothing really caused it. The only repair I can think of would be to sand that part off and refinish, but then the stain would be effected and the color wouldn't be even. Not good any way you slice it. Most of the dresser seems fine and the tallboy I have seems fine as well, so I'm chalking it up to a defective finish. Unfortunately overstock wouldn't replace it as they said it has been too long. I somewhat understand, but it's not my fault either that the finish didn't start to separate until I'd had it almost a year. Anyways - I think the dresser is/was a great looking piece. But it is still a budget item with the potential for defects like mine. Caveat Emptor.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Product is a bit darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great but has Put-Together Out of a Box feel
 from Jackson, Mississippi USA,  Nov 10, 2012

The dresser arrived quickly and was easy to move upstairs with the help of a friend. All in all it took about two hours to assemble with the help of an electric drill with a screwdriver bit. No problems with assembly but I really wish I had had a tube of wood glue handy since I wonder how long the locking-cams will hold out. This is a very good looking piece but it does have an out of the box, assemble at home look and feel in my opinion. I am pleased overall and the price makes it all worthwhile...I guess. Regrets? Well...not sure how long the piece will last. Nah, no regrets...I guess. Oh, I read one review that mentioned a smell from the piece. Yes, it does have a slight smell and it lasts about a week. Probably the wood stain.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very Well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wood is solid but thin and has an "assemble at home" look and feel
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, solid dresser, especially for the price.
 from California,  Nov 8, 2012

This item arrived complete and with no damage. The item was packed very well. *I'd recommend the following tools: Flat-head and phillips-head screwdrivers, a hammer, and a pair of pliers. If you are patient and can operate a screwdriver (and maybe a hammer) than this dresser should not be as complicated to assemble as some of these reviews might suggest. However, it is definitely time consuming. I am good at building things, and putting this together took me just over three hours, using both ratcheting and electric screwdrivers to speed things up. It WAS NOT COMPLICATED, just a lot of separate parts to assemble. HERE ARE SOME TIPS FROM MY EXPERIENCE: 1. First and foremost: AVOID OVER-TIGHTENING ANY OF THE SCREWS OR CAM-LOCKS. Only use a power-screwdriver if you are careful not to over-tighten. (The cam locks especially are made from a lightweight aluminum, and will snap.) 2. If you are not familiar with installing a cam-lock/cam-bolt, you might want to find a video online that will walk you through it. They are VERY easy to work with, but the included instructions are very basic and a better explanation might help. 3. Most pieces are fitted together with the help of wooden dowels. I'd recommend using a hammer and FULLY inserting each dowel while following the instructions to make assembly easier. Also, you can use the extra dowel to "pre-stretch" the holes that that the dowels will fit into while assembling. Just tap the dowel in a little bit and then use pliers to carefully twist and pull the dowel back out. Helps a lot. 4. For more help fitting the pieces together with assembling, I used a thick paperback book and a hammer. Use the book to protect the wood from hammer-dents. Helps with getting a tight fit. Other than that, just make sure to take your time and read the directions carefully before starting each step. Good luck.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Disappointingly, the color was more of a walnut-brown, with less of the cherry-red finish shown in the photo.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent quality, although the cam locks provided are a bit cheap (which is what I assume the other reviewers were complaining about).
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT DRESSER AT A GREAT PRICE!
 from Bullhead City, AZ,  Nov 6, 2012

This dresser came in three boxes with lots of pieces but went together easily using the directions. It is a nice quality dresser.....no cheap, flimsy look to this piece of furniture. The knobs are black and match my other furniture perfectly. Dark Walnut looking color. You won't be disappointed in this piece.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? PERFECT
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. EXCELLENT QUALITY FOR THE DOLLARS PAID.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? VERY ACCURATE
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 61-80 of 162 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 3 4 5 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top