Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 234 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 12 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A beautiful new addition to my house
 from Washington State,  Dec 2, 2010

I am thrilled with this dresser as well as the various stages leading up to getting it. Let me run through a few: 1) I ordered the dresser on a Tuesday, payed a buck for shipping, and it was delivered to my house by Friday. WOW. I couldn't believe how fast the delivery was. 2) It was delivered in three boxes. Everything was packed up marvelously - with styrofoam and plastic to ensure things didn't get scratched or banged up in the delivery process. I had all the pieces I needed and everything was properly labeled. 3) I had a lot of fun putting the dresser together, but I think I'm probably a bit freakish in that regard. I think of self-assemble furniture as a big puzzle with a beautiful piece of furniture the prize at the end. It took me about 4.5 hours to put it together, and that was working quite constantly. I got it put together myself for the most part, though there were a few places where it really would have helped to have someone else there (and, indeed, one place where I had to call a friend to come over to help me push together the sides). By the by - wooden dowels are evil. And you'll have to deal with a LOT of wooden dowels. And many thanks to those who suggested using an electric drill for some bits --- screwing in the 20 or so screws to affix the back panel on the dresser would have been terrible had I not had the electric drill. So all in all, assembly was about as easy as you could hope for for such a huge piece of furniture. It was fun watching the dresser take shape as I made it. 4) And what about the dresser itself? It is *gorgeous*. Others have noted that it's a darker color than was depicted in the picture on the Overstock website. But it's not a bad color at all. I love the simplicity of the dresser a lot. It was a bit shorter than I expected, with the drawers being just a bit more shallow than I thought they would be...but it was my fault for not looking more closely at the height of the dresser before buying it. And even though the drawers are a bit shallow, they still fit a huge amount of clothing. The drawers slide very cleanly on their runners. This is a well made (and, if you do it right, assembled!) piece of furniture. For the price I paid I'm really quite pleased with it and I fully expect it to be a part of my house and my life for a very long time to come.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value - BEAUTIFUL!
 from Kansas City, MO,  Nov 10, 2011

I bought this dresser based on the numerous positive reviews, the great price and how attractive it looked on line. I was not disappointed. I was aware it would be a challenge to assemble based on the reviews. It was. I am not a handy person. I am not a technical person. But, I am a visual person. I carefully studied the diagrams and followed each step in the order recommended in the assembly instructions. I made sure I had cordless screwdriver as recommended by fellow reviewers. I don't think I would have had the strength to complete it had I not. There are so many screws and the wood is really hard. It took me nearly 4 hours. Yes, I know that is slow. Someone more handy won't take as long. It turned out beautiful. I was so proud of my assembly (a first for me), I posted pictures online. I got many complements. This is a beautiful piece for the price. It looks more expensive than it is. I feel it will last a long time. Regarding previous comments 1.) Smell: Yes, there is an odor to the wood but I don't find it abnormal or horrible. It will lessen in time. 2.) Design Flaw: the reviewer who gave this 1 star due to the "horrible design flaw" because the drawers were rolling completely out and falling onto the floor. The flaw is in their assembly. They clearly put the drawer runners on backwards. Drawers do not fall out.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. above average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sexy, solid dresser
 from San Francisco, CA,  Apr 12, 2011

This dresser is as sexy as the bed that it matches. The color is much more pleasing than in the Overstock picture. Works excellently to create an industrial/organic/natural ambiance in my bedroom. The knobs are sexy. Love that it's made from eco-friendly rubberwood. Takes forever to put together, as other reviewers have said because the instructions are subpar. Make sure you have a power drill. Lots of screws.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
satisfied
 from Idaho,  Nov 17, 2010

I bought the night stands first and given that the "tobacco" is a darker wood tone that I had expected, I had decided not to buy the dresser. But after searching high and low for a mid-century look dresser and finding nothing below the price points at DWR ... I took a chance on this and was pleasantly surprised. Having put together the night stands a month or so ago, this assembly took us 2.5 hours. Parts were plentiful but no damage on anything or missing pieces. Does need some strength though. the drawer fronts have a little bit of gap still on the sides. but at this price, i am not nit picking. i will switch out the drawer pulls, the black ones get lost a bit. the reason why i had to post a review for this item here is because i totally disagree with a previous reviewer's comments on how this is fitting for a child's room... this is an adult size dresser, no question. the dimensions alone will tell you that. looks great. darker than i wanted but the design makes up for it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Washington,  Sep 11, 2014

I was very hesitant to buy this due to all the negative reviews. I was mostly worried about it coming with the wrong parts. I debated buying it for at least 6 months. However I couldn't find another simple dresser with cone legs so I finally decided to give it a try and I am very happy I did! It arrived 2 days after I ordered it! It came in 3 boxes and had all the pieces. The instructions were very easy and understandable. I really do not know why people say they are useless because out of all the furniture I've put together (about 7 pieces) these were the easiest instructions to understand of all. I used a manual screw driver since I did not have an electric one and it took me about 5 hours to put together. With a electric screw driver it probably would have taken about one third the time. For the people who say the drawers do not shut it is because they have not screwed the screws holding the track rails flat. I had the problem at first but I just screwed the screws flat and now they slide perfectly. Also the drawers are not interchangeable. Three have to go on the left and three have to go on the right. They don't fit the other way around so that could have been their problem too. As for the people saying the drawer fronts are coming off I have no idea how that is even possible. I have not had that problem at all. The only thing I did not like about this is that the leg in the middle is not tapered like in the picture. It is just a block of wood and is unfinished but it only shows when you are at a low angle. I've had this for a year now and it has held up perfectly. It looks like it was just bought yesterday. It is heavy but the weight is in the drawers so if you wanted to move this you'd just have to take the drawers out and it is a LOT lighter. I would recommend this. You should always remember that when looking at reviews it is the buyers with the bad experience that tend to want to share.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High quality for loq cost
 from Baltimore, MD,  Apr 19, 2011

After looking around extensively at standard national furniture retailers including ***, ***, and ***, I am extremely pleased with this purchase. For it's very low price, the dresser is very high quality. The wood feels great and the color is very close to what it is in the photo. It took quite a while to put together, maybe 3-4 hours, but they included many spare parts. It also is really surprisingly stylish in person. There were some dressers at *** that were three times the price and far lower in quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality
 Apr 7, 2015

The piece is great quality. The wood quality and stain color are quite nice. The structure is sturdy. The drawer rollers are a very nice feature. Assembling it is somewhat of a test of patience because there are a lot of parts and the instructions and schematics are a bit basic. Make sure you have a power drill and an extra pair of hands. A rubber mallet is also be useful for gently tapping the pieces into place before locking the cams. I would recommend the dresser to others. I've bought other pieces in this collection and all have been the same very good quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Above average quality for the price range
 from Eastern Washington,  Apr 11, 2011

I was very impressed with the materials and quality of this item, especially at this price point. The assembly was long but well worth it and the directions were easy to follow. My only dissapointment is only the drawer fronts are wood the sides and back are MDF with wood veneers.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this dresser
 Aug 2, 2015

Great dresser. Drawers work well and love the design and color.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Customer
 Jul 1, 2015

This is a beautiful piece. One thing that would have made it better is a variety of matching bedroom pieces.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece
 Jun 8, 2015

Sturdy dresser that is visually pleasing, don't hesitate on this one!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the Vilas set!
 May 24, 2015

I have the bed, as well as the dresser and love both! The bed is beautiful and solid. The dresser looks amazing for the price! Would definitely buy again!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dresser
 May 14, 2015

Great dresser for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 May 8, 2015

I've bought two actually for two different homes. Great value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice dresser
 Apr 21, 2015

Beautiful dresser...a little challenging to put together, but well worth it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No complaints!
 Apr 21, 2015

Arrived, built it, now using it. Not hard, no major or minor complaints.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dresser
 Apr 16, 2015

I was surprised regarding the excellent quality of the wood and craftsmanship of this dresser. The dress will absolutely match any modern bedroom.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and beautiful
 Mar 23, 2015

I really liked it. Deep drawers, sturdy piece of furniture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad, could be better
 Mar 15, 2015

Overall, the dresser is as advertised. I'd agree with some of the other comments that the dresser "seems" smaller in person than on the website. However this isn't a problem for me as I had previously measured out the dimensions I needed. Read the directions and you'll be fine during assembly. Deviate from the directions and you could have an "oh sh**" moment. Only real "Con" is that the dresser makes use of cam locks and cam bolts.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ordered the whole set !!
 Feb 26, 2015

I ordered the whole bedroom queen set in the tobacco color. The color is as pictured online. It is very rich looking. It is very good quality and way better than the bedroom sets at the 3big "chain" furniture stores I have been looking for bedroom furniture at. There appears to be no particle board in any of the set, although the back "wall" piece of the nightstands and dresser are a thin plywood. But they are on the back and don't get any abuse. The rest of the set is a heavier solid wood, and the finish is beautiful. There are metal drawer glides that seem to be of very good quality as well. Assembly on the nightstands was approx. 20 minutes for 1 person. The queen bed assembly 25 minutes for 2 people (lining up the bed slats evenly took about half of that time ). The dresser was more of a project due to all of the drawers and took 1 hour and 45 minutes with two people. This set (Queen bed, 6 drawer dresser and 2 night stands) cost less than half of the furniture box stores and seems to be of higher quality. It is a beautiful set and I HIGHLY recommend it. I will repost this review on the other pieces of this set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 234 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 12 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought