Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 197 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A beautiful new addition to my house
 from Washington State,  Dec 2, 2010

I am thrilled with this dresser as well as the various stages leading up to getting it. Let me run through a few: 1) I ordered the dresser on a Tuesday, payed a buck for shipping, and it was delivered to my house by Friday. WOW. I couldn't believe how fast the delivery was. 2) It was delivered in three boxes. Everything was packed up marvelously - with styrofoam and plastic to ensure things didn't get scratched or banged up in the delivery process. I had all the pieces I needed and everything was properly labeled. 3) I had a lot of fun putting the dresser together, but I think I'm probably a bit freakish in that regard. I think of self-assemble furniture as a big puzzle with a beautiful piece of furniture the prize at the end. It took me about 4.5 hours to put it together, and that was working quite constantly. I got it put together myself for the most part, though there were a few places where it really would have helped to have someone else there (and, indeed, one place where I had to call a friend to come over to help me push together the sides). By the by - wooden dowels are evil. And you'll have to deal with a LOT of wooden dowels. And many thanks to those who suggested using an electric drill for some bits --- screwing in the 20 or so screws to affix the back panel on the dresser would have been terrible had I not had the electric drill. So all in all, assembly was about as easy as you could hope for for such a huge piece of furniture. It was fun watching the dresser take shape as I made it. 4) And what about the dresser itself? It is *gorgeous*. Others have noted that it's a darker color than was depicted in the picture on the Overstock website. But it's not a bad color at all. I love the simplicity of the dresser a lot. It was a bit shorter than I expected, with the drawers being just a bit more shallow than I thought they would be...but it was my fault for not looking more closely at the height of the dresser before buying it. And even though the drawers are a bit shallow, they still fit a huge amount of clothing. The drawers slide very cleanly on their runners. This is a well made (and, if you do it right, assembled!) piece of furniture. For the price I paid I'm really quite pleased with it and I fully expect it to be a part of my house and my life for a very long time to come.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value - BEAUTIFUL!
 from Kansas City, MO,  Nov 10, 2011

I bought this dresser based on the numerous positive reviews, the great price and how attractive it looked on line. I was not disappointed. I was aware it would be a challenge to assemble based on the reviews. It was. I am not a handy person. I am not a technical person. But, I am a visual person. I carefully studied the diagrams and followed each step in the order recommended in the assembly instructions. I made sure I had cordless screwdriver as recommended by fellow reviewers. I don't think I would have had the strength to complete it had I not. There are so many screws and the wood is really hard. It took me nearly 4 hours. Yes, I know that is slow. Someone more handy won't take as long. It turned out beautiful. I was so proud of my assembly (a first for me), I posted pictures online. I got many complements. This is a beautiful piece for the price. It looks more expensive than it is. I feel it will last a long time. Regarding previous comments 1.) Smell: Yes, there is an odor to the wood but I don't find it abnormal or horrible. It will lessen in time. 2.) Design Flaw: the reviewer who gave this 1 star due to the "horrible design flaw" because the drawers were rolling completely out and falling onto the floor. The flaw is in their assembly. They clearly put the drawer runners on backwards. Drawers do not fall out.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. above average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
satisfied
 from Idaho,  Nov 17, 2010

I bought the night stands first and given that the "tobacco" is a darker wood tone that I had expected, I had decided not to buy the dresser. But after searching high and low for a mid-century look dresser and finding nothing below the price points at DWR ... I took a chance on this and was pleasantly surprised. Having put together the night stands a month or so ago, this assembly took us 2.5 hours. Parts were plentiful but no damage on anything or missing pieces. Does need some strength though. the drawer fronts have a little bit of gap still on the sides. but at this price, i am not nit picking. i will switch out the drawer pulls, the black ones get lost a bit. the reason why i had to post a review for this item here is because i totally disagree with a previous reviewer's comments on how this is fitting for a child's room... this is an adult size dresser, no question. the dimensions alone will tell you that. looks great. darker than i wanted but the design makes up for it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sexy, solid dresser
 from San Francisco, CA,  Apr 12, 2011

This dresser is as sexy as the bed that it matches. The color is much more pleasing than in the Overstock picture. Works excellently to create an industrial/organic/natural ambiance in my bedroom. The knobs are sexy. Love that it's made from eco-friendly rubberwood. Takes forever to put together, as other reviewers have said because the instructions are subpar. Make sure you have a power drill. Lots of screws.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Washington,  Sep 11, 2014

I was very hesitant to buy this due to all the negative reviews. I was mostly worried about it coming with the wrong parts. I debated buying it for at least 6 months. However I couldn't find another simple dresser with cone legs so I finally decided to give it a try and I am very happy I did! It arrived 2 days after I ordered it! It came in 3 boxes and had all the pieces. The instructions were very easy and understandable. I really do not know why people say they are useless because out of all the furniture I've put together (about 7 pieces) these were the easiest instructions to understand of all. I used a manual screw driver since I did not have an electric one and it took me about 5 hours to put together. With a electric screw driver it probably would have taken about one third the time. For the people who say the drawers do not shut it is because they have not screwed the screws holding the track rails flat. I had the problem at first but I just screwed the screws flat and now they slide perfectly. Also the drawers are not interchangeable. Three have to go on the left and three have to go on the right. They don't fit the other way around so that could have been their problem too. As for the people saying the drawer fronts are coming off I have no idea how that is even possible. I have not had that problem at all. The only thing I did not like about this is that the leg in the middle is not tapered like in the picture. It is just a block of wood and is unfinished but it only shows when you are at a low angle. I've had this for a year now and it has held up perfectly. It looks like it was just bought yesterday. It is heavy but the weight is in the drawers so if you wanted to move this you'd just have to take the drawers out and it is a LOT lighter. I would recommend this. You should always remember that when looking at reviews it is the buyers with the bad experience that tend to want to share.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High quality for loq cost
 from Baltimore, MD,  Apr 19, 2011

After looking around extensively at standard national furniture retailers including ***, ***, and ***, I am extremely pleased with this purchase. For it's very low price, the dresser is very high quality. The wood feels great and the color is very close to what it is in the photo. It took quite a while to put together, maybe 3-4 hours, but they included many spare parts. It also is really surprisingly stylish in person. There were some dressers at *** that were three times the price and far lower in quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Above average quality for the price range
 from Eastern Washington,  Apr 11, 2011

I was very impressed with the materials and quality of this item, especially at this price point. The assembly was long but well worth it and the directions were easy to follow. My only dissapointment is only the drawer fronts are wood the sides and back are MDF with wood veneers.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality
 Apr 7, 2015

The piece is great quality. The wood quality and stain color are quite nice. The structure is sturdy. The drawer rollers are a very nice feature. Assembling it is somewhat of a test of patience because there are a lot of parts and the instructions and schematics are a bit basic. Make sure you have a power drill and an extra pair of hands. A rubber mallet is also be useful for gently tapping the pieces into place before locking the cams. I would recommend the dresser to others. I've bought other pieces in this collection and all have been the same very good quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Solid wood construction, easy to assemble and very stylish.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstading dresser!
 from Oregon, Or,  Aug 20, 2014

I am impressed with the quality and design of the dresser! I even forgot how long it took to build it ( it was not me who built it haha). We are very happy with it! It is outstanding contemporary furniture. I put on top of it to decorate a big mirror and my room look like a 5 stars hotel room. Thanks overstock.com you guys are the best!!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I own a Pottery Barn Sumatra bed and I was looking for a dresser that matched my bed. Unfortunately, the dresser at PotteryBarn is really expensive and this dresser does exactly the same job. It looks great and maches the color of my bed. The only thing I did not like were the knobs but those are easy to replace. Other reviewers said that it took them 5 hours to put it together. I am not a very handy guy but if you follow the instructions and you have an electric screw you should be done in no more than 3 hours.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Extremely accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of assembly, but great outcome
 from Wilmington, NC,  Nov 13, 2012

The dresser is a little smaller than my last one. It's kind of smaller scale. Grab a tape measure and make sure you double check the size. The style is great! It's a combo of rustic and modern, which is perfect for the space. Assembly is a beast. Boxes, boxes, boxes. Give yourself 3-4 hours and lots of assembly space. For the drawers, the most tedious part, I suggest laying out all six piles of pieces and working on them assembly-line fashion. That went much faster than building all of drawer one and then repeating that 5 more times. I don't want to discourage anyone from purchasing it because of assembly. What's four hours? And you get a great looking piece at the end. Just be ready to dispose of lots of cardboard and styrofoam at the end.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was exactly what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was good once assembled
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great but has Put-Together Out of a Box feel
 from Jackson, Mississippi USA,  Nov 10, 2012

The dresser arrived quickly and was easy to move upstairs with the help of a friend. All in all it took about two hours to assemble with the help of an electric drill with a screwdriver bit. No problems with assembly but I really wish I had had a tube of wood glue handy since I wonder how long the locking-cams will hold out. This is a very good looking piece but it does have an out of the box, assemble at home look and feel in my opinion. I am pleased overall and the price makes it all worthwhile...I guess. Regrets? Well...not sure how long the piece will last. Nah, no regrets...I guess. Oh, I read one review that mentioned a smell from the piece. Yes, it does have a slight smell and it lasts about a week. Probably the wood stain.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very Well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wood is solid but thin and has an "assemble at home" look and feel
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, solid dresser, especially for the price.
 from California,  Nov 8, 2012

This item arrived complete and with no damage. The item was packed very well. *I'd recommend the following tools: Flat-head and phillips-head screwdrivers, a hammer, and a pair of pliers. If you are patient and can operate a screwdriver (and maybe a hammer) than this dresser should not be as complicated to assemble as some of these reviews might suggest. However, it is definitely time consuming. I am good at building things, and putting this together took me just over three hours, using both ratcheting and electric screwdrivers to speed things up. It WAS NOT COMPLICATED, just a lot of separate parts to assemble. HERE ARE SOME TIPS FROM MY EXPERIENCE: 1. First and foremost: AVOID OVER-TIGHTENING ANY OF THE SCREWS OR CAM-LOCKS. Only use a power-screwdriver if you are careful not to over-tighten. (The cam locks especially are made from a lightweight aluminum, and will snap.) 2. If you are not familiar with installing a cam-lock/cam-bolt, you might want to find a video online that will walk you through it. They are VERY easy to work with, but the included instructions are very basic and a better explanation might help. 3. Most pieces are fitted together with the help of wooden dowels. I'd recommend using a hammer and FULLY inserting each dowel while following the instructions to make assembly easier. Also, you can use the extra dowel to "pre-stretch" the holes that that the dowels will fit into while assembling. Just tap the dowel in a little bit and then use pliers to carefully twist and pull the dowel back out. Helps a lot. 4. For more help fitting the pieces together with assembling, I used a thick paperback book and a hammer. Use the book to protect the wood from hammer-dents. Helps with getting a tight fit. Other than that, just make sure to take your time and read the directions carefully before starting each step. Good luck.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Disappointingly, the color was more of a walnut-brown, with less of the cherry-red finish shown in the photo.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent quality, although the cam locks provided are a bit cheap (which is what I assume the other reviewers were complaining about).
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as solid as hoped
 from Michigan,  Jun 6, 2012

Looked all over the web and local furniture stores for similar dressers. Likeed reviews for this item and shallow depth dimension which was needed. The quality of the wood was nice, but the cams for locking panels together were crappy die cast that wanted to stretch and break at the slightest tightening. Which I would have glued the dowels in case the dresser falls apart in the future. Other than that, it does look nice and is a good value for money spent.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wood was nice, the only part that was not good quality were the cams for locking panels together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice, but ...
 from Florida,  Nov 8, 2011

The dresser took a long time to put together..several hours. You have to assemble EVERYTHING. It is a nice piece for a fraction of the cost of others. However, my husband and I are not very good at DIY. I would suggest some wood glue or something to keep the drawer fronts from coming lose. My teenage son is using this and we have to push the drawer fronts on every few days. It is a great looking piece, but not as solid as I would like although worth the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color is about the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the piece is solid, good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful
 from Texas,  Sep 7, 2011

I finally broke down and bought the last piece of this bedroom set. My husband and I really loved it. Much easier to put together than it looks when it arrives. Love the final look and has lots of storage space.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice
 from Chicago,il,  Mar 8, 2011

Looked for a long time for a Danish Modern dresser that didn't cost an arm/leg. Shopped around for a long time before finally deciding to get this one. It's almost identical to ones I found at Room & Board.The term Tobaco color scarred me a little, but it's a very nice rich brown color, almost like a walnut. The only reason I gave it four stars is because I just wish it were about a foot longer. In a bit of a situation now....can't seem to get my hands on the four drawer dresser which I would like to have for my husband. I will be sorely dissappointed if I can't get it and will regret buying this one without having it's mate. But overall very satisfied with it. Sturdy and solid too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Customer
 Jul 1, 2015

This is a beautiful piece. One thing that would have made it better is a variety of matching bedroom pieces.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Sturdy dresser that is visually pleasing, don't hesitate on this one!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 197 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought