Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great value - BEAUTIFUL!
 from Kansas City, MO,  Nov 10, 2011

I bought this set based on the numerous positive reviews, the great price and how attractive it looked on line. I was not disappointed. I bought both the 6-drawer and 4-drawer Vilas dressers. I love them both! I assembled the 6-drawer first which took me a long time. On day two, I was able to assemble the 4-drawer much faster. Please take the advice of the other reviewers and get yourself a power drill (screwdriver). It will be an absolute bear if you don't have one. Also, take your time with the instructions. Observe the drawings carefully. Both dressers turned out beautiful but there were a couple snags along the way with the 4-drawer that I hadn't encountered with the 6-drawer. There was a cosmetic flaw on one of the pieces that I didn't discover until nearly halfway assembled. I called customer service and they offered to send me a replacement piece. I dreaded the idea of taking it apart and waiting for a replacement part so I negotiated a discount instead. Customer service was friendly and very accommodating. I ran into another snag when I was putting the drawer pulls on. One of the bolts threads was messed up and it was slightly bent. Instead of calling customer service again I just went to my neighborhood hardware store and got a new metric bolt for about ˘. Easy fix. Despite a couple snags, I am very pleased with the dressers and Overstock's customer service. I would recommend this product and buying through this company.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. above average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful - but difficult
 from Golden CO,  Sep 9, 2011

This is a beautiful piece of furniture IF you get it together right. NOTE to future buyers: The runners come grouped in sets of 4 that don't go together. The flat ones are used first in the build, the corner ones later, on the drawer build. (If you have never built a dresser before, this will help a lot). As well, the photos of the runners are terrible on the directions. We found a You Tube vid that helps me visualize this and we were good to go. Second issue is the cam bolts - the long bolts must be screwed in ALL the way to work properly. Use a flathead screwdriver to turn the bolt once you put the 2 pieces together.. turn it gently and it works beautifully. We did not realize we didn't have the bolt screwed in all the way until after the first drawer and a couple errors.. but they were fixable :) and all is fine now. Not a scratch on this. VERY well packed :) Well made piece of furniture :) Happy buyer!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? definitely darker - this is a deep brown tobacco with some variations... it is gorgeous, but not the lighter brown depicted. I like it better actually than the photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality. sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely but very difficult to assemble
 from US,  Nov 22, 2011

I purchased this with some trepidation after reading the comments about difficult assembly. Those comments were not an exaggeration. Between all of the screws, locks, dowels and pieces of wood, I would estimate 100 parts/pieces. Instructions were not very helpful. I found it so difficult to assemble I ended up hiring a handy man to do so. It took him over an hour with a drill. I have assembled many pieces of furniture and never been so stumped. The end product was lovely but I would recommend this only if you are very adept at putting together a lot of pieces with less than helpful instructions.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Much Frustration
 from Chicago, IL,  Oct 29, 2010

Pros: If you can assemble this dresser, it looks very nice—good design, pretty wood, all solid materials. Cons: Very hard to assemble, even for an experienced person. The biggest problem is that some of the bigger bolts and screws tend to snap off with little stress. Be very careful with this hardware—just poor quality. (As opposed to the wood, which is of high quality). I had to improvise a lot after two pieces of hardware broke off inside the wood.I thought about calling up Overstock for a return, but it just wasn't worth the hassle at that point. Advice: If you do buy this, read the instructions very carefully, go slow, and prep screw holes with a drill. Don't even think of assembling this without a drill.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from WA,  Mar 9, 2012

Love my night stand and 4 drawer dresser. Less than 2 hours to put the dresser together. Have a drill, philips and large philips or flathead handy. Make sure you put the rollers on correctly in the first place! Love the quality. Solid piece for a great price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? actual color as on the website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic looking dresser, great value.
 from Staunton, VA,  Feb 26, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of this furniture for the price. It is a nice hard wood with a beautiful finish. It came very well packaged, so free of any minor imperfections that would drive me crazy. Assembly was time consuming but not necessarily difficult. It would be a cinch for someone with any skill at assembling things (not me). My only criticism is that I do not care for the plain black pulls and I'll probably purchase new ones. But considering the low price I paid for the entire dresser, I didn't think this was enough to downgrade to four stars. I will definitely be purchasing the matching 6-drawer dresser and nightstand.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Nashville-TN,  Oct 24, 2013

JUST AWESOME!!! I initially bought just one, but then loved it so much that i bought every piece of Vilas Furniture out there- desk, nightstand., dresser and few more things out there. Its real wood, and NOT some crappy processed wood with paint or plywood. its the REAL DEAL and very good for the price. Looked around for furniture for 6 months and im very very happy with this furniture. I just wished they made book cases and a few more things in this series.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Vilas 4 drawer dresser
 from Iowa,  Dec 4, 2011

Very good value for the money. Reasonably easy to assemble.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece & price!
 from TX,  Dec 3, 2011

The title I wrote says it all! If you're thinking about purchasing, you should price and style can't be beat!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We had been looking for a good solid bed for a while now.. Then we saw this on overstock and it encompassed all the style we were looking for, at a price that couldn't be beat. Obviously we had to put it together, but we figured it was worth it and we'd make it a couples project (the couple the puts furniture together stays together dont ya know...) So we had bought the bed, 6 drawer dresser and this 4 drawer dresser. Here's a tip when you start putting the dressers together... TAKE YOUR TIME AND DONT USE FORCE. I couldn't quite figure out the cam bolts.. they weren't aligning right or something and i was cranking on them with the screw driver and either the bolt would snap off in the bed, or the cam lock would break. BE EASY... it will go together nicely if you get it aligned right. If it's not working.. try backing off the cam bolt a bit ... if you crank the cam bolt down into the wood too far, it wont catch the cam lock. Once we figured out the mystery of the cam lock, the dresser's went together very quickly. They are SOLID pieces.. very heavy too. The wood is a form of particle board, but what isn't at this price. We love the dressers now, and the bed is SUPER SOLID.. something we definitely need because we're a newly wed couple.. wink wink...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent Dresser
 from Cortland, IL,  Oct 27, 2010

This dresser is a nice solid wood piece of furniture which my partner and I put together rather easily and quickly. It's highly recommended that you assemble it with another person assisting you. Our only complaints are that 1) the unit is rather smallish for a large bedroom -- we also bought the matching six-drawer dresser and two night stands, 2) that most of the small woodscrews holding the drawer tracks onto the dresser body and holding the tracks on the bottoms of the drawers did not tighten adequately and seemed to be "stripped", and 3) that the cam bolt system is shoddy, i.e., they're hard to tighten and keep tightened and one of the cam bolts actually snapped off during tightening. Otherwise, it's a beautiful piece of furniture and seems good and solid. For the price, it's outstanding, and, although it won't be part of our permanent set of bedroom furniture, it will be useful in one of the guest rooms when we replace it in our bedroom.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very solid.
 from North Port,Florida,  Dec 22, 2013

It takes time to put together,but well worth it.Well worth the money.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Only as good as its assembly
 from Hollywood, CA,  Dec 18, 2013

I needed lots of storage in my bedroom, and searched quite a bit for the perfect size at the write price. All the reviews on this product helped me in making my decision. I bought two of the same to set them up side-by-side. This is total assembly. So if assembling stuff is not your thing, stay away. But I think they took all the comments into consideration, and the markings on each piece was a lot clearer. If you take the time, and you have to take a lot of time, it comes together nicely - even a girl can put it together! I have an Ikea drill, but I quickly realized that the drill may be too much for the pieces and the wood. I used the Ikea screwdriver instead. I didn't experience any breaks or cracks. The chest is made of great material. The wood looks great - keeping in mind imperfections that come with natural wood. It's sturdy, roomy, and you can't beat the price, (with the XX% off coupon offered during the holidays). The color is slightly darker than the photo, but you should expect that b/c the description says "tobacco." All in all, I'm happy with this purchase, considering the amount of time I spent looking for it. Thanks everyone for your reviews and comments on this product.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent buy
 from New yor, NY,  Dec 10, 2013

I love the shape, material and color of this dresser. I

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!!
 from Michigan,  Nov 9, 2013

A bazillion pieces but with some patience, it went together perfectly.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love these!
 from arkansas,  Jul 1, 2013

I love this dresser. It is perfectly "vintage" but up to date and looks different than all normal bedroom sets. Highly recommend!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Little Dresser for the Price
 from New York, NY,  Jun 11, 2013

This is a great dresser for an apartment. It looks lovely and has a great shape. I love that it's tall and pretty narrow, so it fits in the bedroom on the side of the bed. The drawers seem small but can hold a surprising amount. One caution: when we put this piece together, one of the drawers fell apart when we went to put it in the dresser and the dowels snapped, making them impossible to remove/replace. It's possible that we didn't tighten the cam lock properly, but either way we had to screw it together with the drill and regular screws, so test that each drawer is sturdy before picking it up.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good, though one of the drawers came apart and the dowels broke, so we had to screw it together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it but it did have a chip in it
 from Georgia,  Apr 23, 2013

I really love this dresser! I plan to buy the bigger version! My only complaint is that it was shorter than I expected but that's my own fault for not paying attention to dimensions. But it still worked out great! It also had a small chip on the drawer corner. I'm sure if I called they'd take care of it. But it's not that big of a deal to me! I highly recommend this! So gorgeous!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looked great just like picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly like the site said. It was shorter than I expected but that's my fault for mot paying attention to the measurements.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super pleased
 from West,  Apr 19, 2013

I was a little nervous purchasing furniture on-line without feeling the quality first...the existing reviews encouraged me to try this dresser and I am so pleased with the quality; it is sturdy and looks great. I did not find the assembly as difficult as some reported, the instructions were very clear and the steps went quickly with a power drill.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the tobacco finish of the Vilas products!
 from Wake Forest, NC,  Apr 11, 2013

We love the look and finish of the Vilas line of products. We found them relatively easy to put together, put the assembly is definitively a two-person job as the framework on the larger pieces is somewhat heavy. We are slightly disappointed with the drawers...the hardware used to put them together should definitely be supplemented with some type of glue/adhesive as we have had to re-assemble several drawers because we pulled off the drawer fronts when opening. Also we have noticed that some of the drawers don't slide in perfectly flush to the frame, so it takes a little maneuvering to get them to sit flush.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Finish is actually nicer than it appeared online
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the frame is quite good, but the quality of the drawers leaves a little to be desired.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurately described on website
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Sterling Antique Honey 4-drawer Dresser
Add to cart to see special price
(4)
Vilas Queen-size Bed
Today $438.29
(122)
Array 4-drawer Chest
Today $320.99
Milton 6 Drawer Chest
Today $290.99
(92)
Back to top