Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 85 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Los Angeles,  May 24, 2013

I looked for night stands for months and was determined not to spend $1500 on a pair. I finally caved in and took a chance on these, which I had been reluctant to try. Yes, there are some cons at this price point -- the drawer slides are not very nice and the back is plywood. Also, its not "made in the USA" as the Overstock Q&A claims -- it says "made in Malaysia" all over the place when you open the box. HOWEVER -- it is absolutely gorgeous. It looks identical to those I found at more expensive furniture retailers (one of which rhymes with "boom and cord") for quadruple the price. The wood is beautiful - a much richer brown than in the picture, and the piece is very solid. I am VERY picky, and I love this night stand. Again, I don't expect perfection at this price point, so the final piece far exceeded my expectations. I have it up against a wall, so you don't notice the plywood back -- I would caution somebody not to buy this though, if they planned to put it out in the open where the back was exposed...then it wouldn't look very nice. For the typical scenario where its up against a wall and you only see the front and sides, it is really stunning. As far as assembly goes, it wasn't bad. The first one took about an hour, and the second one took about 20 minutes. I had some trouble with the drawer slides the first time, but just did a quick online search on how to assembly drawer slides and figured it out. I am thrilled at the money I saved and the final look!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Better -- richer brown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mostly Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Mostly Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love them!
 from Camp Lejeune, NC,  Jul 10, 2012

Just got these in tonight :) put (2) together by myself in about 2 hours of TV watching. Very simple directions. I did find that the directions for the drawer tracks seemed backwards, (maybe a labeling mistake on my 2 and 3 pieces or on the print out) I looked at my kitchen drawers and adjusted them myself and now they work perfectly. I did this up front to be sure and it saved me on the back end. I think for the price quality is good. I would prefer the back piece to be solid. Color is a rich brown tobacco, very appealing. A few minor things (detailed directions just so I didn't 2nd guess myself, solid back) and I would give it 10 stars :) We have yet to use these very much and they haven't had to survive a move yet but I have high hopes! Would recommend. Great purchase!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very Well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good for $$, minor tweaks would make it a 5 star rating
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Night stand
 from San Francisco,  Feb 27, 2012

Love this night stand. Was not to hard to put together. You just need to be real sure when you put on the brackets for the drawer. The drawing does not really look like the bracket, so I ended up putting the first one on backwards. Other than that, a great nightstand. Looks like I spent more money and the legs give it a great look that many other ones I seen looked so cheap.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality for price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice little nightstand
 from Livermore, CA,  Oct 7, 2011

We were nervous buying an entire bedroom set online but Overstock has never let us down before. This bed and coordinating pieces are exactly what we were looking for. I'd never heard of rubberwood before so was a little skeptical but it is a solid piece. The nightstand looks sleek and modern. The color is very rich and matches todays decor style. I only wish there were more storage but I knew that before ordering. The boxes were damaged when delivered but items were packed well and arrived fast and in perfect condition. My 10 year old and I put the piece together ourselves. Fun project. We are thrilled with the price and quality. Highly recommended and no complaints at all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. hard wood
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mid century taste on a grad school budget
 from Homestead, FL,  Jul 21, 2013

I bought an entire bedroom set of the Vilas line (king bed, 2 night stands, chest, and dresser) and I am very satisfied with each piece. I love mid century modern style, but it is difficult to find a complete vintage bedroom set and almost impossible to find one in king size. After searching through both legitimate vintage pieces and reproductions, this was by far the best value around. The quality of the wood is outstanding on the visible sides of the pieces. But, like with almost all pieces made today, the back is a thin piece of plywood. Nice plywood, but it isn't fit to have show; you have to have the pieces against a wall. The knobs are actually quite cute (you can't really see them in the photos). I'm planning on painting them brass to go more mid century. The ASSEMBLY. The set came in a total of 10 boxes, very heavy boxes, most of which I could not lift on my own. For all 6 pieces it took me and my husband 2 days to put everything together. At times the diagrams were hard to read, but overall the assembly is do-able on your own with a power drill/power screwdriver. The 6 drawer dresser was the hardest of the set and had over 100 pieces of hardware. After the pieces were assembled they were very heavy (due to the quality of the wood), so make sure you assemble them in the room where they'll be staying. With these pieces you have high quality at a good price, but you're getting that value because of the considerable amount of assembly required. Take some time and after you've put them together, it's a very lovely and solid collection. I only wish it came in different wood finishes.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from New york, NY,  Mar 22, 2013

I purchased the nite stand first. I wanted to make sure the quality was good. I loved it and the following week bought the six piece dresser. My son is very happy and has plenty of room in his draws.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Basic bedside table
 from California,  Mar 15, 2013

This is a basic bedside table. It took me about an hour to put together. The quality is decent and it has a nice weight to it. Next to the Vilas bed it looks great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Vilas 1-drawer Nightstand
 from Texas,  Mar 6, 2013

I love it. I am going to buy a 2nd one as well. I love overstock.com and I buy from here frequently. The bed & night-stand really looks good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect == matches the bed
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is sturdy material
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The photo looks just like the real thing.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, as advertised
 from Washington, DC,  Feb 27, 2013

I am very happy with the purchase. I bought two of these nightstands and they look great. It took me 1.5 hours to assemble both of them, and the instructions and pieces are quite clear, I didn't have any problem in assembling it. They are sturdy and solid, and the wood looks very good. The drawers move easily in and out. Definitely worth the money!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is the same as in the pictures
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Vilas 1-drawer Nightstand
 from Hoboken, NJ,  Feb 6, 2013

I already own the bed... so I had an idea of what I was getting. Let me start by saying it is what I was hopping to be... solid, heavy and well made. If you are handy with a screw driver you could put this together in a 1 2 3... it took me just half an hour! Here is why... I read other reviews saying there were mistakes on the instructions, and yes, there are two. 1) You have to flip the two rails that attach to the cabinet, what ever the instructions say do the appositive! 2) On the back of the face of the draw, the screws go on the bottom hole and not the middle! Enjoy it I could say my bed was easier to put together =)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but small
 from Wilmington, NC,  Nov 13, 2012

I should have taken out a measuring tape and looked before I ordered this night stand. The web site measurements were accurate, but the night stand turned out so teeny in my big bedroom. I ended up buying another night stand to replace it at World Market. Overstock's info was completely correct. I just didn't realize its scale. The entire set (I bought the queen bed, 6-drawer chest, and night stand combo) was simple and on the smaller scale. I love the style. It's a rustic/modern combo. Assembling the bed took an hour. Assembling the night stand took an hour. Assembling the 6-drawer chest took 3 hours. Good quality. Just double check the dimensions before your buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was exactly what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The furniture was solid once assembly was complete
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great purchase
 from Owensboro, KY,  Dec 11, 2013

This Nightstand was easy to put together and is very sturdy. It's design is sleek and modern and looks great in my spare bedroom with its matching bed and dresser. I love it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with product line
 from colorado western slope of the rockies,  Nov 23, 2013

I really like this line of furniture. It is very heavy and has a rich brown tone. The style goes well with many other styles. I have it in A bedroom with other colors of brown toned furniture and it all goes quite well. Would buy this again.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Like Higher Quality Item
 from Michigan,  Nov 9, 2013

A bazillion pieces but with some patience, it went together perfectly.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality
 from California,  Oct 5, 2013

Bought this to go with the matching 6 drawer dresser. Looks great, very sturdy and is exactly as the photo shows. .

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Sep 26, 2013

I purchased the entire bedroom set and love it. At first I only purchased one night-stand, but decided later that we needed the second. I'm very happy with this purchase. Great quality, great design, great price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Nighstands
 from Sacramento, CA,  Sep 3, 2013

These dressers are exactly what I wanted. They are classic without being boring. The material is of good quality. It took about two hours for me and my boyfriend to put them together - do not be overwhelmed when you open the box to find a lot of parts. It all comes together beautifully in the end!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy Peasy Drawers
 from Washington,  Jul 25, 2013

Came with my bed i bought as a package deal. Over all, these little guys work great and have pleanty of height on them. After putting a box spring on my bed from this collectino, the night stands are just shy of the height of the mattress. Lastly these night stands have led to us wanting to buy the rest of the bed room set.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The nightstands were super easy to assemble and the color is just like the picture! We also got the bed and love the set! The quality and wood are solid! The drawer's pull very easily and also feel solid and secure. We are very pleased with the quality and even more pleased with the cost of it! We spent a lot of time shopping around and are very impressed with the furniture that overstock,com has available!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice nightstand
 from Chicago, IL,  May 13, 2013

Great little nightstand. Tempted to buy the dresser. The only drawback is that the back of the nightstand is particle board. But overall it looks rich.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 85 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Vilas Queen-size Bed
Today $438.29
(122)
Back to top